0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Gibson Les Paul Studio - Vintage Sunburst Reviews

5.0 stars based on 13 customer reviews
  • from Missouri September 15, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Guitarist, Drummer, Hobbyist

    What A Great Guitar!

    This is a great guitar! I love Gibsons and Fenders! Everyone out there have there own opinions on what guitars they think are the best and there's alot of great guitars out there. Even guitars in the budget price range. So to each there own but I prefer my awesome new Gibson Les Paul Studio and my USA made Fender Telecaster 60th Anniversary, both of which we're purchased from Sweetwater. Shout out to Matt Masek at Sweetwater who is the best in the business! Sweetwater is always top notch so I couldn't loose either way. Thanks!

  • from Omaha, NE August 8, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Gibson Les Paul Studio 2013 Vintage Sunburst

    I am so pleased with this guitar. About a year ago I purchased a Taylor acoustic guitar. Every time I play my Taylor I think to myself "Man! I LOVE this guitar". About 6 months ago I set out to find an electric guitar. I wasn't really after a specific guitar, I just knew I wanted that same feeling that my Taylor gives me every time I pick it up. I went to GC and played tons of different guitars. I had owned several Strats in the past and was leaning that direction. Finally I pulled the trigger and ordered one from another company online. Needless to say I was completely disappointed! I sent it back and started my search all over. In the meantime I had a friend that had a Les Paul he let me borrow until I found another guitar. After playing it for a few days I decided to look more seriously at some LP's. I found this baby on a demo deal from Sweetwater and ordered it. I've had the guitar for about a week now and I must say that every time I open the case I find myself saying "Man! I LOVE this guitar!" It came quickly, was setup perfectly, and plays, sounds and looks beautiful. I am VERY picky about the way a guitar feels and plays. In my opinion, this guitar feels, plays, and sounds like I think a guitar should! Of course it is heavy, but it makes up for it in tone and it plays perfectly. Thank you Gibson, and thank you Sweetwater! This was my first purchase from Sweetwater, however, it will not be my last!

  • from Carolina July 11, 2014Music Background:
    World's Okayest Guitar Player

    Awesome Guitar

    This guitar is sweet. When I first got it, I loved the finish but didn't spend a lot of time with it. The past couple days I havent been able to put it down. The finish and build quality are outstanding for this price and the hardcase makes it a no brainer. I had never heard of sweetwater, once I called in, my sales engineer, Aaron Regenold was really great to deal with. Very professional and no pressure at all. I've already called back and consulted him several times. Just purchased a new amp and looking forward to many more purchases!

  • from United States June 28, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist/student

    Worth every penny and then some

    I bought a 70's model SG last year and the craftsmanship was terrible. Terrible fret buzz, neck warped, etc. I immediately returned it (different vendor) and bought a Jackson Pro Dinky from Sweetwater and was very, very pleased. However, with a Floyd Rose it's a pain to play alternate tuning songs, change strings, etc., so I decided that I need a hardtail guitar. I decided to give Gibson another chance and boy am I glad I did. For what's suppose to be a "stripped down" model, this guitar looks beautiful, plays great, no problem with the knobs, and sounds awesome. You'd be hard pressed to find an american made guitar with coil taps, set neck, quality wood (the fretboard plays just like rosewood), for less than a grand. I can't put it down and I just stare at it in disbelief that I own something this nice, let alone for what I paid for it. Sweetwater was awesome as usual. Set up was almost spot on, the truss rod needs relief, the action is a little lower on the 1-3 frets and higher on frets 12+, but not terribly and a minor set up will be all it needs. I was skeptical because I love the Jackson speed necks, very fast and easy to play. I found that playing the Les Paul from fret 1-12 is actually easier. Totally blown away, very impressed.

  • from Rochester, NY May 16, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist who used to play in bands but at 57 I just play with and for friends.

    The ABSOLUTE BEST Bang for the Buck!!!

    Blow away doesn't come close to the excitement of owning this amazing guitar. I was looking for something special for myself and after a long talk with Luke Herein He had me check out the studio Les Paul's. He helped me pick one with a top so good that it looks like the front is one piece. To say I;m delighted doesn't do this guitar justice . Between the amazing workmanship nad by far the BEST case ever made I am delighted. It's sound is nothing but amazing and the coil tap is fantastic. By far the most versatile guitar I have or will ever own. This guitar is a KEEPER. I have bought and sold too many guitars to talk about but this is the first guitar I have ever owned that I KNEW I would own for life. Luke and Morgan are a credit to salespeople everywhere. They made me feel like the most important customer Sweetwater has ever had. Answered every question (no matter how trivial and always were as kind, courteous and informative as anyone I have ever dealt with in my LIFE. Sweetwater should hold classes for other companies on how to treat customers they are FANTASTIC. I would never consider going anywhere else. The guitar came in PERFECT Condition, IN TUNE and the intonation was spot on. I could not have asked for more and I will NEVER shop at ant other retailer. Luke was honest and made sure I got everything I was concerned with handled. Luke and Morgan were a delight to deal with and this guitar is the finest guitar I have ever owned. I've had PRS's (and not just SE's) a ton of Fenders (including the Deluxe editions) and nothing I have ever owned looked better or played half as nice as this. Versatile is an understatement. I have never been happier with an investment and I will own it forever. All I can tell you is this is probably the best guitar for the money you will ever own. The pickup combination of 498/490 with Coil Tap is by far the best I have ever had and I've had more than a few in my day but this is a KEEPER. I can't believe it's a Studio. You will be getting a guitar that goes beyond amazing and you will be incredibly happy with this guitar.The case itself is the best you will ever see! It is not just an amazing instrument, It's also a work of Art. GREAT job Gibson and even Better by Sweetwater. These guys treat you RIGHT!! Thanks for all your help, Luke and Morgan or I would have passed right by this and I have NEVER been happier with a Guitar in my LIFE!!! Steve

  • from Anderson, SC September 4, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Gibson Les Paul Studio - A workin' man's axe!

    When I took this guitar out of the case I was Blown Away at how nice it looked. It was FLAWLESS!! All I had to do was tune it up and make a few adjustments and this guitar screamed through my Marshall. Another thing I noticed is that in recent years Gibson has stepped up their quality and now they're making guitars that are worth the price's their commanding for them. I couldn't be more satisfied with this guitar and my sales engineer Zach was very helpful. Thank you sweetwater for sending me an awesome guitar.

  • from Burlington, MI June 8, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Beautiful guitar and excellent service!

    This is one beautiful guitar!!! It looks as great as it sounds. My experience with TJ was excellent. All I can say is, WOW!! Thank you Sweetwater, and thank you TJ!!!

  • from Albany, GA February 1, 2013Music Background:
    recording artist

    Stoked

    The neck humbucker is actually useful and sounds great in humbucker or single coil mode. The middle position is the one I set my amp controls to. The bridge pickup sounds amazing tapped or humbucker and is super bright but in a nice smooth way, not a harsh way. The neck is nice and slim. The guitar came in its vanilla cream smelling white furry case. It was actually in tune when I got it and the intonation was spot on. Fresh strings came on it. I could tell it wasn't pawed very much. The finish on the body is not too flashy but pretty flashy enough. I was expecting the Studio to be kind of plain looking, but it is actually somewhat ornate. The guitar is fairly light compared to other LP's I've tried. You will need to put strap locks on it immediately as the angle of the front button guarantees no strap will stay on without some help. The guitar "hangs" perfectly. Very well balanced. I'm stunned at how good the clean sounds are as I really bought this guitar to play stoner metal with but I'm actually digging the richer, smooth treble over the bright twang of my Jazz and Tele for recording clean tones. I see no need at all to replace the pickups as these sound awesome. I must have gotten a really good specimen as I always read on forums about peoples bad experiences with quality control, pickup volume levels, and fret finishing with Gibsons, but my guitar came ready to roll. I'm pretty ticked off, though, that I didn't get any candy with my order. I paid $1400 for a brand new Gibson and didn't get any Tootsie Rolls or Smarties. My wife got a pair of headphones here and she got like 20 pieces of candy. Other than depriving me of the candy that I deserved, Sweetwater gets a 10 out of 10!!!

  • from Detroit,MI July 16, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist for 20 yrs

    great

    Great guitar.My only complaint would be that the truss rod tool's screw driver end doesn't fit the screws for the cover and is no longer magnetized .The finish looks like glass.Frets are perfect.Just what i wanted ,no binding no flame just a straight ahead Les Paul.The Granadillo rosewood is nice, other than the lighter color you would have no idea it is not the Indian rosewood that has traditionally been used IMO.

  • from Mechanicsville, md May 14, 2014Music Background:
    Been playing for 8 years and counting

    First gibson les paul

    Let me start by saying that this is my first USA made les paul. I have owned and played quite a few epiphone les Paul's and really have nothing bad to say about them even though they are an import. My gigging guitars currently, are a '97 USA tele, a 2007 USA strat, a Japanese strat and a PRS SE tremonti. While all are different in their own ways, this gibson just like the others have a very unique tone to it. In my honest opinion, this gibson has a more treble-ish of a sound than the others. Notes definitely ring out longer on this guitar than my others. I am a firm believer in the old saying "You get what you pay for". As always, sweetwater was awesome. My sales engineer was Spencer. It truly is a pleasure doing business with them.

  • from Nashville October 1, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Player

    2013 Les Paul Studip

    Haven't owned a Les Paul for years, I've been playing Strats. The single coil mode is what I like besides the look and feel. This is a really cool guitar.

  • from Michigan USA July 22, 2013Music Background:
    Part time pro musician

    Les Paul Studio 2013

    Great guitar. Bought it basically for a backup to my better Les Paul, but was really pleased with the quality, sound, and the way the Studio 2013 plays.

  • from United States June 13, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist for almost 20 years

    Go To Guitar

    Man this thing plays good! This guitar is very tonally diverse, sometimes almost getting Strat like sounds from the coil splits and getting signature Les Paul beef from the unaltered humbuckers. Its a nice weight at around 8lbs, the neck is a nice medium thickness and it's easy to play with a flatter radius and med-jumbo frets. When you open the case on this baby it just screams classic Les Paul but at a price and fancy factor that a working musician can afford. The only negative for me was a little wobble in the push/pull coil splits, but I think that is the nature of the beast and I don't get the impression they will fail, it would just feel more solid if the tolerances were tighter. The other issue was some glue residue in the case that could have scratched the guitar but it was easily picked out and then the white fluff got a good vacuuming out and problem solved. Still need some strap locks for those teeny tiny strap buttons, but all in all this 2013 model is far better than the 2014 equivalent. Get 'em while you can!

Questions about the Gibson Les Paul Studio - Vintage Sunburst?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway