0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Gibson Les Paul Studio Faded - Faded Blue Stain Reviews

5.0 stars based on 7 customer reviews
  • from Northern VA September 23, 2012Music Background:
    Gigging Musician

    Killer Tone!

    Was looking for a no nonsense humbucker-loaded guitar to compliment my Fenders and PRS guitars. Saw this one on the Sweetwater site and the Burstbucker Pros and 59' neck (a personal preference) made it a no-brainer - especially for well under $1000. My concerns about Gibsons are their notoriously unstable tuning problems. I got the guitar just this past Friday and gigged with t Friday night then again on Saturday. Tuning is just as stable as any of my Fenders - very nice! But the really good news is how great this guitar sounds. The burstbuckers and resonant body give a tight focused punch that really made my rig come alive. This may be the best sounding guitar I own - especially for the blues and harder rock stuff - it flat out smokes! The clean sounds are certainly respectable as well - a nice crisp snap. Playability is really good right out of the box, the action and intonation are spot on...though I may lower the action just a tad later - but it sure does feel right and I bonded with the guitar immediately. Body is light too - which is good for my back! The blue may not be everyones cup of tea but I love it and it got quite a few compliments - its really a minimalist work of art - looks great on stage. So far no real cons - its an excellent value and a fun guitar to play.

  • from Newburg, pa September 13, 2012Music Background:
    20 yr guitar player

    Awesome!

    Amazing guitar! Setup great right out of the box, beautiful guitar!

  • from Minneapolis, MN USA July 12, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Awesome guitar

    Plays really well and I love the sound. Played it through an Ac50 and a blues jr and loved the breakup in both amps. Sounds really full with a lot of control between clean and distortion

  • from Mobile, AL USA May 24, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, Songwriter, Producer

    Outstanding Guitar

    Bought this one to add to my collection of six Les Paul's
    and Gibson never disappoints. Beautiful color and arrived set-up and ready to play. Great tone and fast action makes this an excellent guitar for those wanting to experience what a Les Paul is all about at a great price.
    The support and follow up by Sweetwater is second to none and I will
    be shopping with them again.

  • from USA April 11, 2012Music Background:
    Player, Recording Engineer, Song Writer

    The Blue Wonder

    First, I have owned a great variety of guitars, from ESP to Fender, Ibanez, Epiphone, Jackson and Gibson. I keep comming back to Gibson, this is my third go around, my first LP was a BFG Gold top and then a Gibson Menace. I teetered back and forth about the studio guitars in general. I couldn't decide if they had enough flare for me. I knew I did not want the 490t pickups. I loved the PUPs in my BFG. I finally decided I was going to buy a Fender 72 tele deluxe. I went to a local music store and tried a 72 tele deluxe and while I really liked the wide range humbuckers, the guitar itself didn't do much for me. So I put it back on the wall and started rummaging through the other guitars and decided to try the studio again.

    My experience:

    I plugged in the cable, guitar and amp and hit my first chord....... Hmmmmmmmmm I thought that sounded pretty amazing. "Um excuse me" I said, "What pickups are these ? " The salesman said they are Burstbucker pros..... Ah Ha, I said to myself ... we must hear more the voices in my head told me.... so we played some more and I put the guitar through my usual regime of single notes and chord patterns and the bonding began. I don't need glossy finishes and neck and body bonding .... well sorta ... I DO need tone, and this guitar delivered. I am a new fan of the burstbucker pros, they are warm, clear, aggressive, tender, full, grouchy, sensitive...well you get the point. Its a studio, so other than the fantastic finish, awesome pickups and the new Obeche fingerboard ( which is every bit as playable as its counter woods) it doesn't have the frills of the expensive models, but it does have the tone ! All in all this is a LOT of guitar for the money, it looks even more pleasing in person. Mine played fantastic right of the wall and had a great setup as well. Its a wonder how such a great guitar can cost so little, Great buy !

  • from Winter Haven, FL March 15, 2012Music Background:
    beginning guitarist

    Awesome guitar!

    Recently purchased Gibson Les Paul Studio Faded Blue Stain. I have been a fan of Gibson for a long time. This is a beautiful instrument with that great Les Paul sound. Great tone, looks, & quality for the price. Unless a standard or traditional is just a must this is an awesome guitar with great sound.

  • from NC, USA February 2, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist; play in church string band.

    Everything I wanted, nothing I don't (except the gig bag)

    This guitar is a 5... without reservations! The included gigbag, on the other hand, falls short: no neck/headstock support whatsoever. I am searching for an adequately supportive case, because this guitar is a KEEPER! Mine has a gorgeous figured maple top on the traditional mahogany body, touchable as well as visible through the thin BLUE nitro finish. Yes, I have already scratched it, but light marks do not show up so much on the satin finish. I LOVE the blue color, along with the clarity of the Burstbucker Pro pickups. The sound has richness and depth, yet a whole range of tones can be dialed in. I had avoided Gibsons for quite a while because they sounded too "muddy"... not this one! The entire body and neck gives off musical vibrations while playing, even unplugged. Volume and tone controls are smooth and offer a broad range of sounds. I am a simple person and did not need a lot of binding and glossy finish, so this no-frills Les Paul is perfect for me. Everyone's concerned about the Obeche fingerboard; WHY?? Gibson is one of the foremost manufacturers, and if this wood meets their criteria, then geez, give it a try. My ears and hands can't tell the difference, and the uniform appearance of the fretboard is pleasing to my eyes as well. It does NOT dent easily and seems as durable as any other wood. Do yourselves a favor and try one of these beauties. I've changed the black plastics to ivory on mine, because I like the symmetry with the vintage tuner knobs and fretboard inlay. The electronics are working 100% and the "bottom line" is: I'm so glad I bought one! Sweetwater's photos of individual items in stock allows you to pick out the exact guitar you love... and that is what sold me! Unbeatable customer service and follow-up, too. This purchase was not nearly as scary as buying from strangers on that big auction site. Well worth the price... even though I'm buying a decent case ASAP.

Questions about the Gibson Les Paul Studio Faded - Faded Blue Stain?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway