0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Happening Now

Akai Professional LPD8 Mini Pad Controller Reviews

4.5 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Akai Professional LPD8 Mini Pad Controller?

Questions about the Akai Professional LPD8 Mini Pad Controller?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Carson McClain

    The Akai LPD8 is perfect for the traveling DJ or performing electronic musician. It's inexpensive, has great build quality, and fits in a backpack.

  • from August 10, 2016

    Wow! Fantastic

    I simply love it. Came in a perfect condition and on time.

    Serves my every live and production need

  • from Kinston NC January 26, 2016

    Very handy for mainstage

    Small enough to carry in my laptop bag. Using it to control the blend of 8 instruments in my mainstays setup. The hands on makes it much easier than a mousepad. I would recommend this for anyone using mainstage.

  • from Santa Clarita, CA. USA September 6, 2013Music Background:
    DJ, Recording Engineer, Composer

    Weak Hardware

    I loved using this with my DAWs, but this is terrible in a DJ setting.. The midi port has broken 3 times now. I treat my products with care, but this simply is too fragile. Also, don't expect this to come out of storage intact. I wrapped this in bubble wrap and put it in its own box. This is just a weak piece of hardware.

    Might work in the studio if you never move the thing.

  • from Irvine, CA July 1, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Nice for desktop recording

    Bought to use this with Structure and Reason. Took a little work to get it to cooperate and I occasionally have to restart the computer because Structure won't recognize it if it's not plugged in when the computer starts.

    But having a small desktop, it's a great tool. I had planned on spending $300+ on a desktop controller keyboard with knobs. But for what I'm doing, I found that for $100, I could grab this and an M-Audio Keystation 32 which meets my financial and space needs perfectly.

  • from October 25, 2012

    love it

    Its great its small enough so I can bring it to class and work on things. It has nice sensitive pads.

  • from Prescott, AZ. USA April 5, 2012Music Background:
    Student, DJ, aspiring music producer

    LPD8

    Works great with Ableton. Love using the banks to automate tracks on the fly.

    Also, fantastic for djing. Personally, I midi map the buttons to turn on/off the tracks'(1-8) effects. The knobs are mapped to control the strength or wetness of the effects. The LPD8 allows you to map four banks of controls, which is like having 16 programmable VELOCITY SENSITIVE buttons and 16 knobs..but with convenient portability.

    More on the velocity sensitive pads...they make the product. Yeah, it's already great for controlling effects, but I would also recommend using it when traveling. Came up with a good beat? Wanna work on a hip-hop track? Pull it out and jam away.


    Good DJ tool, production tool, and portable device.

  • from United States April 4, 2012Music Background:
    Home Producer and Musician

    Love it....hooked on Akai.

    I have actually had one of these for a couple of years, and these are the best feeling pads I have ever tried. The knobs, though not necessary, are excellent. The only downside is that, to do any real recording, you need two of these. Not Akai's fault, since they can only do so much, so I am picking up a second one soon. Until you have the funds for one of the new MPC devices, I would recommend a couple of these over the MPD16 anytime. I only wish Akai made a portable controller similar to the nanoKontrol to go with it.

  • from Trinidad & Tobago West Indies. March 1, 2012Music Background:
    I'm a Recording & Sound Engineer for the pass 7 years.

    Great piece of Instrument.

    My guy's in the studio thinks it can only get better when you deals with Sweetwater for music equipment, and as the CEO of a studio I'm happy to share this with the public

  • from Massachusettes (USA) September 20, 2011Music Background:
    Self taught musician, engineer, composer and sound designer

    LPD8 A Nice Touch

    Took it on the road for a theater sound design/original music job. Used it for Persian music percussion tracks with DP6 and StormDrum2 on my Mac laptop. Easy to set up, program and use, nice weight, pad feel, no problems. Used it in the theater and at the hotel in combo with the LPK25.

  • from Odum,Ga USA June 9, 2011Music Background:
    Singer/Song Writter/Vocal Coach

    Like a Rock!

    This thing is the most solid pad controller for its size ive ever used and I've used alot of them over the years. The pads have great response and the roto knobs are tight and solid giving you good control over your envelopes/filters ect. The Software the comes with the controllers its Awesome! It can edit muti patch modes with different settings for each pad and knob and you can easy scroll through your preset sellection on the fly with your 2 program buttons on the far right bottom on the device. Get this thing, I use it for live show in corilation with an M-audio Oxy 25 and fast trax Pro and a Lap top running Reason five...Its a great rig and I can do so much with it with it that ppl ask....What are all the guys making all those other sounds standing??? CAll your SWEETWATER REP. right now and pick up the LPD8 up TODAY!

  • from Arkansas USA February 14, 2010Music Background:
    Engineer, Musician, Producer

    Perfect Portable Pads

    This is a great addition to Propellerheads Reason 4 - even on a desktop. I use a keyboard controller as well, but this fits perfectly in front of it to allow much easier access to the pads than those at the top of most keyboard controllers. It sits lower than the keys on most controllers so it is out of the way when not in use. The knobs can be assigned to control software parameters, but the pads are the best part in my opinion. The pads have four banks available and are stiff, but touch sensitive. The included editing software is easy to use as well.

Questions about the Akai Professional LPD8 Mini Pad Controller?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close