0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Gibson Custom Les Paul Custom - Ebony with Gold Hardware Reviews

5.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Gibson Custom Les Paul Custom - Ebony with Gold Hardware?

Questions about the Gibson Custom Les Paul Custom - Ebony with Gold Hardware?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Philadelphia, PA August 6, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    A Must Have for Every Serious Guitarist

    I have been playing for over 30 years and the Les Paul Custom is the real flagship of Gibson solid body line. I own dozens of guitars including several Les Pauls and the custom black beauty is just a gorgeous, beautiful instrument. It's sound is iconic and it is a very versatile guitar It sounds equally fantastic playing jazz, country, blues, pop or rock and has many excellent tonal possibilities from shimmering cleans, to singing rhythms, to screaming high gain leads. This is truly one guitar that can do it all, and do it very well. Gibson got the look, design, feel and sound right with this one back in the 1950s and it remains the same today. There are many variations of the Les Paul, but with its Ebony fretboard (make sure to get this and not richlite or any other substitute), non-chambered body (also insist on this), and double humbucker pickups, the Custom is the real deal. Also, it is a wise investment grade instrument that with proper use and care will appreciate in value over time. Save up and get one and you will not regret it.

  • from Creede, CO May 30, 2014Music Background:
    professional performer

    no peer

    I brought this new 2013 ebony LP Custom home and five days later performed two 4 hour solo gigs in a gazebo in Creede, Co with it plugged into my two Fender Twins with a Fishman SA220 on either side for my vocals. I never put the guitar down. It sounded so good that I got tears in my eyes twice. On the second song of the first gig, I held it up to my lips and kissed it. It is without peer.

  • from United States January 31, 2014Music Background:
    Regular guy

    Gibson Les Paul Custom

    This is the easiest and most fantastic sounding guitar I have ever picked up. This thing almost plays itself. Vast variety of sound choices for all types of playing. Sits well in the lap and can play all day long.

  • from Bay Area, CA June 12, 2013Music Background:
    amaeteur gigger, collector

    A real dream guitar

    The Les Paul Custom is to me, the epitome of classic electric guitars. It is the King of Les Pauls. Mine is from 1989. I got it in mint condition in 1996 and it has outlasted many of the other guitars I've had and still have. It has seen a lot of action, gigs, rehearsals and abrupt weather changes and it has more than paid for itself many times over.

    Sentimental value aside, this guitar is capable of so many tonal shades. Together, we've worn many hats. I've done metal, Mott the hoople style glam rock, blues, pop, jazz and most recently, performed with a hip-hop and R&B group with this same guitar. I've really learned how to control tones out of a Les Paul. I used to be "knobs on 10" but try using the separate volume and tone knobs and your friend, the toggle switch, to milk contrasts out of your guitar while you're playing. The tone is always rich and bold but is more versatile than people often give it credit for.

    Yes, it's an expensive guitar, but if you gig and record, you'll have a reliable friend for the long haul. And if you don't gig or record, hey, you can enjoy the guitar anyway! I still have love for my Ibanez JEM and my other shredsticks, but nothing beats the Les Paul tone.

    It's a joy to play and beautiful to boot. The first scratch is always tragic, but after about 3, it's all character from there.

  • from Vinton, Va. January 22, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Nice guitar

    It's by far the best piece I have put my hands on. I own several guitars including a 58 and 59. Although the reissue guitars are great the custom piece just feels right if ya know what I mean. Expensive but worth the price

  • from NYC November 21, 2011Music Background:
    23 years of musical demolition

    next level

    When you feel you are a serious guitar player, get a serious guitar. This is a sledgehammer amongst fly swatters for rock and roll. Is YOUR playing worth 4 grand? Only you know the answer. If it is, a custom is pretty tough to beat.

  • from Athens, Georgia, USA February 23, 2011Music Background:
    Longtime Hobbyist, Semi-pro

    Worth the Wait

    Been an "axe-man" over 45 years and this is far and away the ballsiest, 'pluck a note and come back tomorrow to hear it finally fade out', 'kiss you on the neck and blow in your ear sweet' or 'shred till you scream and give in' range, 'do whatever you want and then STILL be capable of doing more' Les Paul I've ever played. That's why it's the Gibson Les Paul Custom I finally bought.

    Didn't want a sports car and got a wife that's way too good to trade in, so it was the midlife crisis gift to myself that everyone agreed with. My only problem is figuring out which I like more, playing it or looking at it..........NOT!

    Definitely PLAYING IT!

    To all of you who say it's too expensive, this kind of quality involves a huge investment of time, the years of experience of the luthier, the equipment and everything else that goes into an instrument of this renown. You want something less expensive look to an assembly-line guitar...and you'll likely get what you pay for. I think this "Fretless Wonder Black Beauty" is worth every penny! Besides, there's something to be said for waiting until you can afford to buy what you really want instead of just being willing to "settle". Yes, it takes more time but at least in my case it was absolutely "Worth the Wait!"

  • from Milwaukee, WI October 16, 2007Music Background:
    Rocker wanabe

    Awesome Guitar

    Best guitar I have ever played...like the guy before me said, the sustain and sound is incredible. Seems like all the guitars I have had seem to have something harmonically off on them all in there own ways, but this one is dead on. Maybe there is a better guitar out there somewhere but I have yet to find it. One thing keep in mind, I have a black one and it scratches easily. Not sure why but Gibson guitars seem to get fine scratches easily on the surface...nothing severe but its not a bullet proof finish. I have had $300 yamahas with a more durable clear coat. Otherwise amazing sound!

  • from Fayetteville, Nc September 1, 2004

    Best of the Best

    I've played alot of guitars in my 13 years of experience. I've played SGs, Flying Vs, numerous ESPs, Ibanezes, Washburns and Deans... None can even come close to this guitar. I own a gibson explorer, a melody maker and a stratocaster. Getting the Les Paul Custom was the best decision I ever made. It's a bit heavier than a normal guitar, but that's a small price to pay for the God of all guitars. Pick one up... You won't be disappointed. The tone and sustain is simply amazing, and virtually unattainable by lesser guitars. I rarely touch any of my other guitars now.

Questions about the Gibson Custom Les Paul Custom - Ebony with Gold Hardware?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway