0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Electro-Harmonix LPB-1 Nano Linear Power Booster Reviews

4.5 stars based on 15 customer reviews
Questions about the Electro-Harmonix LPB-1 Nano Linear Power Booster?

Questions about the Electro-Harmonix LPB-1 Nano Linear Power Booster?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from July 22, 2016

    LPB-1 -- A solid Booster

    Can't go wrong for $40!

    Along with being a solid clean boost, it can really help you drive your amp and get your guitar to interact with your signal chain in different ways.

  • from Ohio November 5, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Electro-harmonic LPB linear power booster pedal

    First one I ever own. I was really impress when I users it on a gig. Wow.

  • from September 3, 2013

    electro-harmonix LPB-1 Linear Power Booster

    GREAT PEDAL I LOVE IT IN THE EFFECTS LOOP ON MY AMP
    JUST GET ONE ITS A GREAT BUY and DOES WAY MORE THAN JUST BOOST IT CAN CONTROL OUTPUT OF OTHER PEDALS

  • from Auburn, WA May 27, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician for 30+ years

    Best Boost for the Buck

    Best $40 I've spent .. I wouldn't have been disappointed if this cost more $$$.. this is a very versatile pedal.. placed in front of my Twin or any of my smaller combo amps gives me a thick bluesy lead tone..
    I currently use it in my effects loop of my main gigging amp for a lead/volume boost, which simply adds volume without coloring my tone like other pedals I've tried, or if it does, it's just the upper mids, which is what I want anyway .. it sounds better than using an EQ pedal which added way too much noise..
    Like I said, do yourself a favor and get this pedal if you need an inexpensive way to give yourself a fat sounding lead/volume boost..

  • from Poplar Bluff, MO March 26, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Hobbyist

    Tone Booster

    The LPB-1 is a killer and affordable volume booster. For the price, players really go wrong with this pedal as it can be used in a variety of ways.

    For a clean boost, simply plug into the effects loop of your amp, and it merely spikes the amps volume without altering its tone. Looking to give your solos something extra? Plug it into the front of your amp and it will not only add volume, but a little overdrive, as well as boost your bass and lower mids. It takes the rhythm channel of my 6505+ and adds enough gain to make it sound like my lead channel. It's also a great buffer between tone-sucking pedals.

    This is the most affordable signal boosting pedal that I've seen on the market, and has become the secret weapon on my pedal board.

  • from February 27, 2013

    LPB-1 a must have

    I bought this used and I use it in front of my Bugera 333XL. I was blown away by the fatness and sustain I obtained for lead parts with this pedal, this was exactly what I was looking for. Works well for anemic signals when you want that extra push for your tube amp. Good quality and shurely I`ll buy more EH products in the near future.

  • from February 13, 2013

    Saturation, the easy way

    I got this because it's difficult to get a heavy distortion sound out of my Blues Deluxe without cranking it all the way up, which I obviously can't do all the time. Putting it in front of the amp on its 'Drive' channel, it's like a second gain knob! As a volume boost for clean pickers, it may not be so great, because that's not what it's for. "Linear" means that a linear pot is used for the control, so that dialing it at 12:00 gives you exactly half-power. That's why there's a volume jump just past 9:00, because the ear perceives sound logarithmically. A linear power boost is useful for compensating for signal loss from a long effects chain, or (the way I use it) fine-tuning front-end gain depending on the guitar pickups, being careful to get just enough of the amp's natural overdrive tone that I want, without losing definition (which can happen if you just crank it all the way with powerful pickups). Simple, rugged, and affordable...and made in the USA!

  • from LAFAYETTE, LA August 15, 2007Music Background:
    20 YEARS OF PLAYING IN NUMBEROUS BANDS (ROCK-METAL-BLUSE)

    JUST WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR

    BOUGHT SEVERAL PEDALS TRYING TO GET A GOOD LEAD BOOST
    A VOLUME PEDAL ALTERED THE DRIVE/GAIN OF THE SOUND, EQ GAVE A GOOD BOOST, BUT CHANGED THE NATURAL SOUND OF THE SIGNAL, SPENT $170 ON OTHER THINGS WHEN ALL I NEEDED WHAT THIS $40 PEDAL, RECOMMEND IT. THE ON/OFF SWITCH I WISH WAS MORE LIKE THE BOSS TYPE, YOU KINDA GOTTA STUMP ON IT (THUS THE THE STUMP BOX)BUT STILL LOVE MY NEW SOUND (LES PAUL/MESA BOOGIE)

  • from July 2, 2015

    Booster Pedal

    I purchased this pedal to boost the signal of my Fretless Bass that does not have active pickups. My main basses have active and I wanted to keep the same level when switching between the two during a show.I had to crank the boost all the way up but it did the job nicely.

  • from Franklinton. Louisiana May 23, 2015Music Background:
    11 years

    Nice pedal

    very nice boost pedal.

  • from Ft Wayne, IN. January 8, 2014Music Background:
    Professional

    LPB-1

    Does exactly what I need it to do. Great product, well build.

  • from Hampton, VA USA May 9, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist, recording engineer, project studio owner

    Linear Power Boost

    Good Pedal. I like what it does. I can not compare it to others of its type, but I like it and plan to keep it in my chain. I gives a nice drive to my effects loop and compensates for signal loose nicely and when turned up a little more adds a bit of saturation to the tone.

  • from Jackson, Ms. February 27, 2010Music Background:
    Blues, Jazz, Jam Band

    LINEAR POWER Booster

    This is a great pedal that met my expectations. It is not a complicated holy grail kind of thing. This pedal can give you some(not much for me) overdrive saturation "crunch" when used to saturate your tubes much like having another volume pot, But the sound is LINEAR in terms of distortion and tone from the input to the output. So if you like that lower guitar knob volume and want to boost the signal without distorting it, this is for you. It has behaved differently in different situations, so I can see why some people find it unreliable. The lesson learned is that extra power does different things to different products and electrical systems within my rig. Used alone, enjoy a noticeable power boost that is LINEAR. I wasn't looking for "Crunch" anyway, so this made me happy. Its a great clean booster. It is like adding more power to your pickups. It also works great when placed correctly in your rig, depending on what you are using and what you want the boost to define, like a pog or envelope filter to define your tone. EHX makes awesome products, and for the price this one can't be beat. This is only $5 more new than to make it yourself from a pirate Do It Yourself pedal site. Built like a tank, it will surely give me years of use. No confusing knobs to screw up playing live, just a single easy to spot knob and tough foot switch. This pedal has been around since the 70's (LPB2 and LPB1), and beloved by many.

  • from Utica, NY April 30, 2009Music Background:
    Avid Guitar player, student of music

    Good Pedal if used correctly

    Let’s get something out in the open right away. This is NOT a good boost pedal. If you are looking for a “blown amp” sound, this pedal will achieve that sound with the dial at nine O’ clock. That’s only a quarter turn from the off position. Anything below that lowers you signal volume. This was nott what I was looking for. I tried the pedal in every position on my pedal board and still got the same result. I am using an Elite Epiphone Les Paul Gold top through a Peavey Classic 50 Tube 2x12 combo. HERE IS WHERE THIS REVIEW GETS POSITIVE! As a last resort I put this pedal through my FX Loop and it works great. It still doesn’t act like a traditional boost pedal where after about one O’ clock it starts to give you some overdrive. I use it simply as a signal boost for solos and it works perfect. It adds a nice fat clean boost. For 40 bucks…I think it’s worth it if used right.

  • from Central Florida October 12, 2008Music Background:
    Playing professionally

    Not bad for the price

    I'm not gonna slam it cause it's conveniently inexpensive, but after a few gigs in my pedalboard, this little guy came back out. I think "linear" isn't quite the right name, cause there seems to be a spot (somewhere around 9-10 o clock on mine) that it just goes from being an unnoticeable difference to TOO LOUD! I've used several other boost pedals where the increase was more even accross the range, and if your foot accidentally brushed up against it and moved the knob a little, it wouldn't make such a HUGE difference. But on this one it does.

Questions about the Electro-Harmonix LPB-1 Nano Linear Power Booster?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway