0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance

Hartke LH500 500-Watt Bass Head Reviews

4.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Hartke LH500 500-Watt Bass Head?

Questions about the Hartke LH500 500-Watt Bass Head?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Kyle
    from Chicago March 16, 2017

    GREAT AMP!

    I get an incredibly punchy and great sounding tone out of this amp. My friend with an SVT-3 head says he wishes he would've saved his money and bought this head instead.

  • Customer
    from August 8, 2015Music Background:
    Metal and Rock

    LH500

    Drives my Eden 410 XLT and 15 like a champ. I can easily overpower any guitarist.
    I play thrash metal, and with this setup I have never had to turn it up past 7.
    Good even frequency response over the entire range. I have spent twice as much for a lot less.
    Made in China. I guess that is the only way they can be so cheap.
    I am guessing it is pretty durable. We shall see.

  • Drew Haydn
    from North West Indiana United States December 30, 2012Music Background:
    Teacher, semi-pro

    Great Amp

    I love the sound of the amp and the power it has. I've never had to turn it up all of the way. The EQ is super simple and idiot proof which I love.

  • David S
    from Bloomfield, NJ June 6, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Luthier, Recording Engineer

    Great sounding, power head

    I have to agree with others that this thing sounds great right out of the box. But it does sound different from the old Trace Elliot head I was using. I understand how the vintage style passive tone stack works (same as my Blue Tube pedal or what you find on an Alembic preamp), so with that in mind I set all the controls at about 6 to start with. From there I was able to tweak the mids and highs to get just about any tone I wanted.

    it's a very clear sounding amp, and took me a little bit to get used to, but I'm really enjoying it now. And it's loud. It doesn't song like the solid state Hartkes, but it does have a great warm tone, while being clear as a bell.

  • Brian Wright
    from Newport News, VA April 19, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    I'm Lovin It!

    I love this amp! It's well made, sounds great, and doesn't have a ton of knobs and buttons to make things confusing. I just set the bass, mid, and treble to the neutral position and then dial up my tone on the guitar with active EQ. It's so simple it's stupid. Thank you Hartke for giving us a great sounding amp at an affordable price! It's warm and punchy and has all the power I need. If you are planning on playing a big hall then I would suggest the LH1000. But for a 2-300 person venue with a decent P.A. system the 500 is more than enough for on stage presence. HARTKE ROCKS!

  • Mike
    from Missouri May 3, 2011Music Background:
    Church praise band, home recording, neighborhood jams.

    Fantastic amp

    This head sounds great right out of the box. This is plenty powerful, and the tones are pure musical sweetness. It definitely is a no nonsense amp with minimal tweaking capabilities but that's what I love the most about it. I don't have to spend weeks and weeks messing with a hundred knobs and switches to find a great sound. It has everything you NEED and nothing you don't. If constant tweaking and tinkering is your thing then get something else, but if you want to set up, plug in, and play get this amp.

  • Rick Carlos
    from Martinez CA July 17, 2013Music Background:
    Semi pro 40+years.

    Hartke LH500 500 Watt Bass Head

    This one had a noisy 12AX7 tube. I replaced the tube and all is well. This has to be the best under $400 bass amp on the market. Great tone with lots of power. This is my 5th Hartke amp. All 5 are still working perfectly since 1996.

  • Customer
    from August 5, 2016

    Really disapointed

    Sold my 1990s 410 transporter cab and 200 watt transit attack head about two years ago and thought I would upgrade. Purchased a 410 XL cabinet and LH500 head. My god what a mistake! Amp has no power unless your cranked to the max. My old 200 watt would blow this POS out of the water. I'm presently looking for used amp like the one I sold and going to use the LH500 as my boat anchor. Very disappointed.

  • Dan
    from New Orleans, LA April 5, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Bassist

    don't waste your money

    You just can't get a good sound with this head. I have owned a Hartke 5500 and thought I would try this because it supposedly pairs nicely with the Hydrive speakers. The speakers are great and I would recommend them, but the head is just awful. It is noisy at high levels. There is no way you could record with it. Move along and get a 5500 if you like Hartke stuff.

Questions about the Hartke LH500 500-Watt Bass Head?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway