0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Hartke LH1000 1000-Watt Bass Head Reviews

5.0 stars based on 31 customer reviews
Questions about the Hartke LH1000 1000-Watt Bass Head?

Questions about the Hartke LH1000 1000-Watt Bass Head?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Jared Kalish

    Simple, easy to use with great tone. These are the features that I seached for when looking for my next bass head. The Hartke LH1000 delivered on all these points, giving me unbeliveable power and superior bass tone with a super-simple EQ section. I love the 12AX7 Tube preamp - it adds such warmth to an already great-sounding head.

  • from Cleveland April 25, 2017Music Background:
    Rock

    Fantastic, great value.

    I purchased this amp when my Ampeg 1000watt svt-7 pro shorted. Did my research and I'm very pleased with this amp. At 500 bucks its not cheap but not extremely expensive. I can't see myself needing another amp any time soon though. A lot of the pros use Hartke amps and I can see why. The controls are simple, without an ounce of pretentiousness. This amp gives you what you need without changing the tone in a huge way. If you're looking for an amp that's going to drastically change your tone, this probably isn't it. But if you're looking for a very high quality, rugged, good value amp, than this ones for you. This amp pairs beautifully with my rickenbacker 4003, something that my ampeg svt-7 just didn't do. It just takes all those great tones on brings them to the forefront. Super pleased with this purchase and super pleased with Sweetwater's customer service.

  • from Jacksonville, FL November 10, 2016

    Simply a Great Amp

    Easy to use. The EQ section is simple and functional plus there is power to spare.

  • from Jacksonville, FL October 30, 2016Music Background:
    Celebrating 50 years as a Weekend Warior

    Blown Away!

    I am so very pleased with the LH1000. It's simple to use, has plenty of power and sounds terrific. I couldn't be happier. Paired with another brand 4x10 it sounded very good. Paired with the HyDrive 4x10 the sound is amazing. I really like the power options IRT the speaker outputs. Thanks to Sweetwater for another job well done.

  • from August 11, 2016

    Won't buy anything else.

    I finally got back into playing bass again after 14 years and could afford some good gear. After Fender and Ampeg heads, I finally got my hands on one of these. As with a lot of the others, it's simply amazing. Straightforward, powerful, and versatile. Best tone (even after running with a Fender 300 PS for a while). It is such a great amp that I even grabbed a second when the chance came up, because, hell, who doesn't want to play with up to 2200W of power through a couple of 810's ;). Cheers.

  • from Greenville SC July 25, 2016Music Background:
    Musician for over 40 years

    LH1000

    Wow what can I say it blows me away

  • from Louisiana April 29, 2016

    Hartke

    Nothing But POWER,I NEED SAY ANY MORE. ......

  • from March 2, 2016

    I like it

    Replaced an SWR 750. The old boy had seen many years of giging and had developed numerous problems kinda like an old car where something quits working at least once a month. Was a great amp.

    This is a clean amp. This is a simple amp. This amp has plenty of power. I run it through my SWR Goliath 6 pack. I play a Warwick Thumb fretted, a Shector fretless and an NXT EUB. The two bass guitars have plenty of tone shaping themselves. I use a fishman with the EUB. Most of my shaping comes from my fingers, always has. A roll a little off the treble knob on the amp. No change there. I've only had the amp for about a month. It's a fine amp out of the box.

    I give it 5 stars because it is perfect for me. I place my speaker column out front with the main PA speakers as PA speakers muddy a bass. We use IEM's, so the di is a must to feed the aux sends. Very clean feed into our Presonus MR32ai. I set the volume where our FH eng. wants it and I go to work playing music. Simple. I don't care for fiddling with knobs.

  • from Albuquerque NM January 15, 2016

    But this amp!!

    I ended up buying the demo amp from Sweetwater and it works perfectly fine. This amp is fantastic!! I have the Hydrive 410 and the 115. I have the amp bridge and the speakers daisy chained. I have the amp volume at 2.5 and it just thunders. My band was very impressed with my tone. I highly recommend getting the amp. Running it in spilt mode offers lots of different watt options for certain cabs.

  • from Branson mo November 17, 2015Music Background:
    Geezer

    Hartke LH-1000

    If ya have like 4 cabs ...big and small , for different venues...and ya need a head to power them all, or one at a time...you can't beat this amp, for the tone...and durability ...and the money ....

  • from September 9, 2015Music Background:
    15 years

    Best head ever.

    Hartke always was in my mind but somehow i've never wanted to get one of it's products(maybe because of it's cheap price)
    15 years of Ampeg's,Gk's,Mesa's and a lot of other brands and i finally found the perfect sound for me!
    Never thought it can be so good and at this price!
    Clean,punchy,warm and simple.
    Cannot be better!

  • from South Lake Tahoe July 13, 2015Music Background:
    Rock, blues, funk, soul.

    Awesome amp

    Works as advertised, super loud, great tone and simple eq. And at this price, how can you say no?

  • from June 4, 2015

    Love it!

    Tons of headroom, more power than I'll ever need. Using an Ampeg 4x10 cab and a Hartke 4x10 and it sounds great! Very easy to operate and I can get practically any tone I desire! This thing is a beast. Best amp I've used in my 30 years of playing!

  • from Storm Lake Iowa November 23, 2014Music Background:
    weekend warrior

    Awesome tone and POWER

    I love this amp! It has great warm tone and all the power I will ever need. I really like the minimalist design, it's so easy to get a great sound.
    My Sweetwater rep, Jared, really helped me in making the decision to get this head and it has proven to be great advice. I had been thinking about going with a power amp and pre-amp set up of some kind. This is so much easier and again, the sound and warmth are perfect.
    I also really like the ability to run several different cab configurations... this thing has the flexibility for anything I need now or could possibly need in the future. I am running just one 4 ohm cab at the time but I'm thinking about adding another one soon.

  • from United States May 13, 2014Music Background:
    bass player for 23 years. christian rock, praise and worship

    Great Amp!!!!!

    Best amp I have ever had. The tone is great. Very easy to dial in the exact sound you are looking for. I upgraded to this amp from a 750 watt line 6 amp head. The first time I plugged in to this amp I could feel and hear a HUGE difference. The Hartke LH1000 is the best purchase that I have made in a long time. Extremely satisfied with it.

  • from MD, United States May 12, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Awesome Amp!

    I have now gigged twice with the new Hartke LH1000 and all I can say is WOW! This thing rocks! I have been playing for almost 30 years and have had many bass and guitar amps and I will be perfectly honest, this is the best bass amp I have owned by far! Hey, if it's god enough for Victor Wooten and Billy Sheehan, it's good enough for me! Plain and simple, plug it in and play! Perfectly clear and powerful! Buy this amp! You will not be disappointed! You will not find a better one for the money!

  • from January 9, 2014Music Background:
    Bass Guitarist

    Hartke LH1000

    Just bought the Hartke LH 1000 in combo with the HY Drive 410 (1000W) and HY Drive 115(500W) Cabs. Well what can I say. Blown away!!!!!!!. Previously had Ampeg PF350 with Peavey 2 x300 Cab . Hartke. You Rock .

  • from Chicago January 6, 2014Music Background:
    25 years Gospel, Jazz, Funk

    Powerful and Clean

    I replaced my Genz-Benz head 250W driving my Edens 210 XLT cabinet. My cabinet is 350Watt 8 ohm. I bridged the head for 750watt and 8 ohm, volume at 4.5. W00000000W i was really hearing what my bass sound like. I have a Cort Artisian 5 string. I've been playing the Genz-Benz for 6 years and it sucked. I found the Hartke at a great deal.

  • from Fargo, ND December 13, 2013Music Background:
    17 years playing pro

    Best Value For A Gigging Bassist

    I've owned this for about 5 months and played about 30 4-hour gigs through it, and can tell you it's a phenomenal value for the working player. It has more than enough power for any gig (if you plan on using 1-2 cabs). It gives me flexibility with the pan switch, allowing me to give more power to my SVT 610 than my SVT 410 HLF cabs. That's right, this baby has more than enough power to rock 10 Ampeg HLF 10's. Let me tell you, when your standing in front of that set-up, everything jiggles :-). I can also bring either of the cabs alone for a smaller gig. The mids are way scooped out, so if you're like me and like a fairly flat response you'll have to turn the mid up to almost 3/4, It sounds wonderful though, every bit as good as the Ampeg heads I've owned.

  • from LAS VEGAS July 28, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    The Hartke LH1000

    HI BASS WORLD I JUST GOT MY HARTKE LH1000 AND THE HYDRIVE HX410 CAB THIS RIG IS JUST AWSOME SOUDING I HAVE USED SWR FOR MANY YEARS! I HAVE TO SAY THE HARTKE LH1000 AND THE HYDRIVE HX410 IS VERY POWERFUL. I USED THIS RIG @ THE 2012 NAMM SHOW @ THE JAMES JAMERSON TRIBUTE AND I WAS BLOWN AWAY!!!! BY JUST THE BIG SOUND IT HAD!!!! THANK U HARTKE FOR DESIGNING A GREAT BASS AMP & THANK U SWEETWATER FOR YOUR KNOWIEDGEABLE STAFF! ROBBY RESNICK -:)
    PEACE & LOVE BASSIST JIMMY ALI "KEEP-N-THE MOTOWN FUNK ALIVE"

  • from Denver, CO, USA June 16, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Wow just what the doctor ordered

    To all of my bass playing friends. I highly recommend checking out the new Hartke line. I have been playing bass for almost twenty years and have always fought my amps. I have used SWR, Ampeg, Eden, crate and now Hartke. As a bass player I hated lugging heavy gear, and having cabs that weigh around a 100 lbs it became a pain to sound good. The new Hartke weighs nothing!!! The head itself I have only have turned up to 3 and it is crazy loud.
    Also the head is easy to set up. Not much going on as far as tone controls go lows, mid, high, a speaker balance and volume. with this in mind I feel you can get the true sound of what ever bass you are playing, so if the bass isn't all that great your sound is still not that great, but if you have a bass you love the sound of you will love what you hear. (I play Pedulla and warwick. The EQ that I set up for me if totally flat and I can make small changes on the bass to get what I'm looking for.)
    So in short I love my new rig, I get the sound I'm looking for with plenty of head room left, I can move it around without breaking my back, and the price point is amazing for what you get. Tube preamp to 1000 watt solid state power amp for about $500. That is like 50cents a watt. Anyway please don't take my word but if you are looking for a new bass amp I would check it out.
    thank you

  • from Fayetteville, GA June 16, 2012Music Background:
    25+ years live/studio

    Blows the SVT 7 Pro away...

    My workhorse was an Ampeg B2R for many years. It sound great and has never failed me through many, many live gigs. It finally came time to retire the B2R, so I bought a new SVT 7 Pro. After 2 weeks of the SVT 7 Pro fighting me, I decided to try the LH1000. The other reviewers nailed it...within 5 minutes I had a beautiful tone from the LH1000 and played for about 2 hours non-stop.

    I used my Yamaha Attitude Limited 2 and my Fender Steve Harris Precision as my test basses through my Ampeg SVT 8x10". Trust me, playing the LH1000 past 2 in the house is almost impossible.

    Hartke has simplified the 'feature set', and done so brilliantly. The 3-band EQ is unbelievably responsive. You will not miss a gain knob. You will not miss a graphic EQ...I was very wary of not having these features, but immediately found that they are not necessary on the LH1000.

    I was literally shocked that a $500.00 amp could sound so warm, rich, and articulate. No mud in the lows, clear and defined mids., and amazing, shimmering highs.

    My Sweetwater rep, Ben, was extremely professional and my LH1000 arrived 3 days after I ordered it [ground shipping].

  • from Birmingham, AL April 23, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician 36 years

    Power, Affordable and Tone

    I got this amp when I was just sick of blah tone and not being heard in the mix. Wow now I am heard and the tone is fantastic. Simple and easy to use. Took me about 5 minutes to get my tone. I play mostly with passive basses and I assumed I would need a preamp to dial in a decent tone. Boy was I wrong. Anything from heavy scoop to flat to bright and it will do it. The bright switch works great for you slappers to. Heck Victor Wooten plays this amp so you gotta know it's good. I use this with the 4.5 xl and it is perfect I use a single 15 with it when needed in larger venues. I would love to try the hydrives with it and that will be my next GAS attack I am sure.

  • from humble tx December 19, 2011Music Background:
    Full time bassist

    The sound is UNREAL!!

    Little did i know when i plugged it in i was going to be Blown away!Ive been useing GK amps for a long time,so i figured it would just be another amp...Boy was i wrong..Easy to use..i get the sound im looking for and its loud!

  • from Sidney, OH October 11, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist (was pro years ago)

    Hartke LH1000 WOW!

    I've been out of music for almost 20 years now, but want to rekindle my passion for it. Previously, I had a couple of Fender Bass Amps and more recently a Peavy 1810 cabinet with a Mark V head. I loved that setup.

    But the Hartke cabinet along with the Hartke LH-1000 Amp head is by far the best rig I've ever owned. Its powerful with really bright sounds!

  • from Manchester, TN September 22, 2011Music Background:
    Student

    get it

    i am a fairly simple bass player....now. i used to be obsessed with different effects and lots of knobs but because i got this head i ve changed my ways of thinking. a flat eq does it on this thing and you hear the bass tone no unwanted color its just your bass the way it was meant to be heard. its amazing to only have to show up to a gig now and plug in a single cable with no tone altering effects to mess up the tone. at first i wasn't sure but it took no time at all for me to know why vic uses this as well as bello, ellefson and others. get this and the hx810 and you will hear bass tone as it was meant to be heard.

  • from EAST YAPHANK, NY September 20, 2016

    Great Amp!!

    As a long time SVT owner, I was skeptical about any amp other than Ampeg. I have to say that this amp has blown me away. The tube preamp gives it a warm feel, and it is very easy to dial in a variety of sounds very quickly. This thing can rumble with the best of them. While it is not as light as some of the other new solid state amps on the market, it is certainly no where near the weight of my SVT head. It fits very nicely into a Gator 2 space soft rack carrying case, as well. I am using it with a Hartke Hydrive 2x10 on small gigs and with a Hartke Hydrive 4x10 on medium size gigs. I use both cabinets together for larger venues and outdoor shows. All in all, I am very happy with Hartke and with Sweetwater. I've ordered several pieces of gear from them, and they are always very helpful and knowledgable. Thanks Kyle Malone for all of your patience with helping me find the right rig for my situation.

  • from CA USA June 19, 2013Music Background:
    semi-pro musician

    Just what I needed

    Nice! Ordered this for an outdoor gig and it delivered. I happen to play with a very loud drummer and had to hit "4" with this thing to hear myself. Even through all the noise I still could hear myself with clarity. In some ways I think it needs more EQ options like it's big brother Hartke KILO but I probrably just need to mess with it more to get out of it what I need. Couldn't beat the price, It's built very solidly and I went out and got a rackcase to further protect it. Very nice, simple and very tasty (dialed in) yet workable tone. Worth every penny!!

  • from parkhills mo usa July 9, 2012Music Background:
    death metal, grind core, hard core punk, and funk

    hartke

    Hey every body I just got the hartke lh1000 amp head and I absolutely love it. ive ben raised around hartke pretty much my hole life. My moms bf has 4 10 aluminum cone and I 15 aluminum cone and just got the hartke lh500 so me getting hartke was pretty much no thought. And it also helped that what they are asking for is pretty cheep to. I thank the head is rather heavy but it sounds grate with my 4 10 aluminum. I only have one speaker at the time being and plan to get another in the next few months but this bad boy kicked my drummer toled me that with my other amp that he could make me out but with this amp im there plus this is what I thank a bass amp should look like. But im happy with it and I wouldn’t go any way as far as bass amps go.

  • from UT September 6, 2016

    Hits the spot.

    Great amp, simple, powerful, wonderful tone. A bit on the heavy side, but well worth the trade off for such good high quality amp.

  • from eastern montana June 22, 2012Music Background:
    been playing for about 30 years,

    Hartke lh1000

    I have yet to use this amp in a live situation, but, so far I really like the tone, and the growl I get playing my active jazz deluxe thru this amp into an ampeg 410. like the simple front panel layout, only what you need.

  • from November 30, 2016

    Missing Pro Features

    This amp may sound good, depending on the speakers you connect it up to. But line-out doesn't seem isolated, has no ground lift, no pre/post eq selection, phantom voltage may fry it, level changes with master volume. Bad for the sound guy.

Questions about the Hartke LH1000 1000-Watt Bass Head?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway