0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Lakland Skyline Darryl Jones Signature - Lake Placid Blue, Rosewood Reviews

5.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Lakland Skyline Darryl Jones Signature - Lake Placid Blue, Rosewood?

Questions about the Lakland Skyline Darryl Jones Signature - Lake Placid Blue, Rosewood?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from January 15, 2016

    PLACID BLUE LAKLAND SKYLINE

    This is a review long overdue. Plays like a dream. Tones are beautiful and the simplicity of this bass guitar is more than words can express. The tone knob can produce so many different styles and tones ranging from all styles of music. Big shoutout to my boy Tom Maxwell. He assisted me with the purchase of this bass guitar. He was prompt on all of his email responses, calls, and went above and beyond to provide true great customer satisfaction. Thank you so much Tom. Will be purchasing more gear through sweetwater and specifically through Tom.

  • from December 3, 2015

    Life changer

    I've played for 20 years and have owned/used high-end Fenders, Warwick, Washburn, and MusicMan. My process and research in buying this bass was insane. I took months comparing this, a standard Fender Jazz, and the Fender Adam Clayton Jazz. The immediate differentiation is the neck -you will not find a better Jazz like neck in the $1000-$2000 price range. I also found this bass to be thumpier than a Fender Jazz which I love. I put the sound between a Fender Jazz and a Fender P.
    Ask for Tom Maxwell - He went above and beyond with my million questions.

  • from July 21, 2015

    Perfect Tone!

    I was looking for high quality bass for a while but was unsure if I would go with a Fender American Standard or a Lakland DJ4. Once I made my mind of picking up the DJ4, I coulndn't have done a better choice! The bass is beautifully looking, light and has the most perfect tone one could imagine. It's punchy, and crispy, as if it had been through dozens of equalizers.

    One of the things that blew me away in this amazing bass was the neck. My god, it fits your hands so perfectly, that you almost make no effort on playing it, and it is smooth sliding all the way down for the higher octaves. The 21st fret is a need, and this bass has it covered.

    The bridge has Lakland's signature design, and fits the Jazz Styled bass very well, and is string through body. The matchihng headstock is beautiful and gives a vintage look to it.

    Finally, the 55-Point Evaluation that Sweetwater provides made it playable and amzingly-looking out of the box; a service that certainly is a differential and that will definetely get me purchasing at this store again. The customer service is top notch and really helps to sort out any doubts or inquires about your purchase.

    You can't go wrong with this bass!

  • from eldersburg, md December 13, 2012Music Background:
    weekend warrior

    Laklands are "it!" for me

    This is my third Lakland (all Skylines), my first one from Indonesia, and my first bass purchased from Sweetwater. I played a Korean DJ4 when they first came out in 2004, but walked home with an HB instead. Then the DJ's were discontinued, and then they came back, so I had an opportunity to pick one up again! I picked this up from the guitar gallery in May this year (2012).

    I love this bass! I've been playing a Jerry Scheff skyline as my main ax for several years. The DJ is quite different (passive, 21 frets, blocks and binding, 1.5" at nut), but she's grown on me, and gets almost equal playing time as the Scheff. The things I love about this bass:
    - the neck heal, great access all the way up to 21st fret.
    - 21 frets vs. 20 on most jazz basses (full 3 octave range)
    - the small medium frets (like all Laklands - nice vintage feel)
    - the Hanson J-style pickups have a very nice tone and good output
    - the controls and pickups give quite a range of sounds
    - she's a looker! Blocks and binding, matching headstock.
    - the thru-body bridge
    - lake placid blue and pearl white pg are a favorite
    - pretty light - 8 lbs 9 oz. Can wear it all night.
    - that J sound!

    Given it's Plek'd, I can get an insanely low action (2/64" on G), which is actually too low for me (unless I play light all the time - which I can't). Have it set for a progressive height, 3/64" on G to 4.5/64" on E (0.5" more each string), and there is zero buzz. This Indo Skyline is just as nice as my Korean Skylines, and quite the value.

    Laklands are my favorite, and I'm trying to decide if I need yet another one and what to get. The Sweetwater experience was great (thanks, Ben), and I've since bought a Zoom H2n and will be back for some other things soon.

  • from Germantown md usa October 11, 2012Music Background:
    pro musician

    cool bass

    This is by far one of the best purchases I have ever made I own a few high end basses and I was planning to used this one as a backup but it plays and sounds incredible the quality and craftsmanship is far much better the a fender instrument in my opinion if you are considering on buying this particular model you won't regretted ..

  • from long island city,newyork June 29, 2012Music Background:
    semi -pro-

    very nice bass

    I agree as the previous poster said this bass is awesome.The quality is something to behold,I have the metallic grey one.Dont let the import label fool you,these stand right up with the US versions,and thet play and sound great Lakland does a great job with all there basses,plus guaranteeing affordability

  • from United States June 19, 2012Music Background:
    Weekend warrior

    Great Passive Jazz-style Bass

    I own one of these Skylines in Lake Placid Blue, built in 2012, and its just a fantastic passive jazz-style bass. Fit, finish, and playability, and VALUE is off the charts for these Skyline basses. For full disclosure, I opted to order mine with the upgraded chi-sonic pickups, and they are worth the upgrade, IMO. Still, I have played the previous iteration (circa 2009) of this bass, with the standard pickups, and find its all you want in a jazz bass. The neck pickup purrs, the bridge pickup growls, and the BNB neck just adds the extra touch of class to the instrument. When you add in the BNB neck, the sleek compact body-shape, the curved control plate, these are things you just can't find on similarly priced import basses from other manufacturers, its a winning combination. Highly recommended.

  • from New Jersey August 8, 2016

    Just...WOW!

    Okay, maybe I've had this bass for only a few days, but it's already exceeded my expectations in every way possible! The setup right out of the box is proof that Sweetwater does it right, so the first impression was outstanding. Its beauty is even better when in your hands, and I didn't think that would be possible. I set it up with flatwounds and my lock strap and it was ready to go. The sound is awesome, and I must admit I thought it was pretty awesome how much you can get out of the three basic control knobs. I gotta give my props to my salesman, David Hess, as he's promised me for nearly two years that I would LOVE a Lakland when I finally got one in my possession, and boy was he right! Two big fat thumbs up for this bass! In love!

  • from michigan April 5, 2016Music Background:
    hobbist,occasional gigs

    lakland daryl jones skyline

    Just got mine! great tone,punchy with a great bottom end! I normally play active spectors,wanted a worry-free passive bass,and this bass has an output that gives my spectors a serious run for their money! A great bass! Exceptional customer service,thanks sweetwater!

  • from Woodhaven, Mi October 1, 2014Music Background:
    Drummer and Bassist.

    Lakland Skyline DJ-4 Bass

    Upfront this is a 5 star bass, The 4 star rating is based on my personal preferences so here we go.This is a very nice bass, although to tell the truth I thought it would play and sound(passive)better than it does. I don't like the twin volume and one tone which is my biggest gripe, but I guess it will take time to figure my sound out. Plus I'm hooked on a P bass neck width, which the DJ-4 is not. It is a Jazz neck all the way, once again I guess I'll get used to it. Outside of that the construction, electronics, and fit and finish of the bass is top notch and it is a beaut to look at. Of course my sales rep Mark Stein(and Evan)is the man and the Sweetwater crew in the shop had this bass set up perfect and they delivered it to Michigan the next day. So if you like a passive bass with a Jazz neck you can't go wrong here,order one today.

Questions about the Lakland Skyline Darryl Jones Signature - Lake Placid Blue, Rosewood?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway