0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Korg Kronos 88 Reviews

4.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Carson McClain

    With nine synth engines, the Korg Kronos 73 takes the idea of a modern synthesizer to the next level. Your capabilites are going to be endless. The Kronos' classic '80s design mixed with cutting-edge technology are going to change the voice of modern music.

  • Raymond Dobbs
    from Minneapolis, MN USA July 23, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Student

    Solid design, innovative enough to keep up...

    Being a relative beginner, I moved up from a PSR series keyboard to this beast - having hit the limitations of the consumer level nature of the previous board. This board is, without a doubt, the best high end workstation I've ever had the privilege to work with. Compared to it's nearest competitor (Motif XF), it's quite contemporary - it's menus well thought out and intuitive. Not once since I've own this board have I felt like I've hit the limit of what the Kronos can do, or can be upgraded to do in time. The only nit I have to pick is that this board really SHOULD have had a video series made for it by Korg - they could easily up-charge or sell it extra for those of us who want to see the features explained in more detail with examples and tutorials, something the manuals do not do.

  • Jon Colon
    from St Louis, MO USA June 22, 2012Music Background:
    Amateur Keyboardist and Recording Technician

    As Good As It Gets!

    Now of course I can't play keyboards anywhere near as good as Jordan Rudess...but with the Kronos 88 I can fake it with the best of them. Getting a new "toy" like this one, you always compare it to the last one you bought. Well, my last keyboard was a Korg Triton ProX 88 that I bought back in 1999 in Japan. Let's just say that Korg has come a very long way! The 9 onboard engines are like having 9 separate keyboards in one. And sounds this thing can generate...WOW. I mean with the KARMA engine it reacts and adapts to what you're playing...and you can switch between 8 different preset variations on a single combination, and of course, create your own. The grand piano samples alone are several GBs in size, not to mention that the Solid-State drive onboard makes changes between programs/combinations completely seamless, and the notes sustained remain throughout the change...that's power. Having the ability to record external audio sources was a huge selling point for me. I can now record my background vocal tracks straight into the Kronos and use the onboard effects on them! Not too many keyboards out there can give you that kind of flexibility. I'd have to say that this one does "change the game" just as Korg claims. My Sweetwater rep, Bart Good was phenomenal! He keep in contact with me throughout the entire purchasing process, and ensured that my Kronos was pre-installed with OS 1.6 prior to shipping. It was a great experience, and my board arrived on-time with no issues...I was like a kid on Christmas! I've have it for almost two weeks now, and instead of lugging 3 keyboards to my next band practice I'll be bringing just "The Beast"...my new Korg Kronos 88. And thanks for the candy Sweetwater!

  • Jon Remy
    from Dallas, Texas February 14, 2012Music Background:
    Certified Audio Engineer, Producer, Artist, Composer, and Music Lover

    Excellent Studio Skynth Workstation

    With 9 sound engines, I have almost every sound I need at my fingertips with the Kronos 88. I just wish the rotary dial had an indentation for a finger, as my finger keeps slipping off the dial and I end up using the Data Slider most of the time. Perhaps Korg can manufacture a cover to snap over the rotary dial that has a finger indentation (just an idea). It's just a minor issue. Otherwise, an excellent keyboard similar to the much higher-priced and now defunct OASYS. I really love that it now has 12 insert effects instead of 5, and it also has STEP RECORDING and EVENT EDIT, both of which I love and some of the reasons I purchased this "black beauty." Also, all engines work together in sequence mode! I haven't found a velocity slide in any of the guitar patches, and only falls/doit on the brass (no shakes). Perhaps I'm not looking deep enough and they might be included in the sample waveform set. I'm very satisfied with the KRONOS! The pianos (German and Japanese) are stunning.

  • Rick
    from Flint, MI February 1, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording

    Korg Kronos 88

    Absolutely amazing instrument and workstation!! You will not be sorry if you buy one of these. Incredibly powerful and capable of virtually anything musical your ears/mind can create. Feature packed and sounds phenomenal. Every little nuance and subtlety of an instrument has been replicated in the Kronos.

  • L.
    from NY January 12, 2012Music Background:
    Engineer/Producer

    Beautiful Keyboard

    After working with the OASYS, and having messed with the M3 as well as like keyboards from other manufacturers I can honestly say this keyboard takes the cake. It has everything the OASYS had sonically, but with more sounds. The grand piano's, the EP's they really just blow away anything they've previously done as well as annihilate the competition. Don't hesitate buy this keyboard.

  • Peter Ace
    from Portland, ME. December 6, 2011Music Background:
    Lifelong student

    Korg Kronos 88

    I think that after reading the manual, watching the 1 hour tutorial, then reading the manual again, I can now accomplish about 3% of the capability of this keyboard. For now, I have learned how to reproduce the exact sound of just about any synth / electric piano / keyboard sound I've heard before. Between the control stick and the various sliders and tone wheels, you can tweak a certain tone / voice just about out of anything. The keys are phenomenal and the action is better than my baby grand. Display is very good, sound engines for the most part are excellent. Some reproductions of certain instruments are not a 10 out of 10, and often only prime at certain levels on the register (some register's narrower than others to be more accurate). Only had for 30 days, so composing and mixing is going to be the primary use, and the functionality is tremendous for an "all in one box".

  • Chris D.
    from Chicago December 28, 2011Music Background:
    Producer

    Korg Kronos 88 (88-key)

    I haven't stop playing it since I got it BUT, I have been experiencing the same keybed glitch problem that I've seen on the Korg forums. Hopefully Korg will resolve this soon because I absolutely love this board and plan to use it as often as possible.

  • Steve
    from Bakersfield, Ca November 5, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pianist, gear specialist

    Good pianos

    I really enjoyed the Piano sounds on this piano however, when listening to other acoustic instruments I was a little let down. I did not like the strings, in all honesty i thought the string sounds were the equivalent to a cheap beginners keyboard. was expecting something more spectacular.

  • Mike
    from Louisiana June 29, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Keyboardist, Educator

    Very little realism

    Feel free to disagree, but my church bought this for me to try out and it doesn't do what we need. If you're looking for modern synth sounds and nice rhodes, this may be the keyboard for you. But If you're looking for realistic-sounding brass, strings, etc., this doesn't have it - at least not without a level of programming that I'm not prepared to tackle. The horn sections were all synthy, with a warm 'weow' sound, not the spittle-laden brassy edge of real trumpets and trombones. The Kronos strings were better than the brass, and opinions about the strings in general varied around here. The engineer says the fit in the mix a little better than my tried-and-true Roland XP-80 "St Strings", but all agreed the Kronos strings didn't sound as realistic on their own as the Roland. We were looking for something to sound better than what we have, so I guess we'll keep looking.

  • Amr Shaker
    from Egypt November 27, 2011Music Background:
    Music composer

    Great workstation, too bad RH keybed

    Great sounds and engines, but too bad RH3 keybed with many cut off notes while playing

Questions about the Korg Kronos 88?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway