0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Native Instruments Komplete 8 - Standard Version Reviews

4.5 stars based on 25 customer reviews
  • from Appleton, WI USA March 4, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Hobbyist.

    Limitless possibilities

    I have been a guitar player and singer for 30 years. I have dabbled in Recording and Computer production ever since I booted up my Commodore 64. I have been digging into software production more heavily for about two years now. There is so much depth in this package. I could spend years uncovering all the little corners of this software. This has become my go to package for sound design. If you need a sound it is in there.

  • from West Bloomfield, MI USA January 6, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Komplete 8

    It's exceeding all expectations, the only limit is your fantasy. I had to use the support for 2 times and they were FAST and FIXED all issues.

  • from Tampa, FL September 27, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Full Time Music Producer & Engineer

    First Impressions

    I've been playing with this for the last 24 hours and wanted to share my initial impressions. First - there are 12 DVDs, it takes a while to install this! Second - once you install, you'll get notifications of all of the updates available to your software, sample library, manuals, etc. NI provides a pretty slick interface to keep all of your products up to date and working. I had well over 20 updates, so the total installation time was quite long.

    Once I started digging into the music, I was truly blown away. This might be the most musically inspiring gear purchase I've ever made. There are so many wonderful options for composition, arranging, and sound design. From very human samples to incredible synths, to mind blowing sonic manipulation - this package has a little of everything. Integrating it with pro tools was ridiculously simple.

    NI has paid attention to a lot of little details, such as putting in a simple recorder in Guitar Rig so that you can record and save little ideas instantly without having to create a session. They've also gone out of their way to make orchestration arrangements simple by setting up intelligent arppegiation , interval, and chord generation. The included drum grooves are great and the tweakability factor with the drums is just fantastic. Without reading any manuals I've been able to already dig into to the basic tools, as its fairly intuitive, and I can tell that if you spend a little time really learning all the features that the horsepower from this bundle is simply an amazing value. Definitely one of the best "bang for the buck" purchases that I have made in years.

  • from ARLINGTON, TX. August 2, 2012Music Background:
    Por Musician

    I Love using this product to do my midi recording

    I used the product to do my midi recording the sounds are great and I love the Kontakt 5 player and sampler.

  • from San Francisco,CA July 17, 2012Music Background:
    Composer , producer , Pro Musician

    Best sound design bundle

    These instruments and effects are simply the best most cutting edge on the market . Sound quality is the best . Arturia sounds warmer but they are real analog emulations . These synths are as powerful as you can get without using actual code or max msp . Reaktor alone is a playground of sound design . Masters I did long ago using only reaktors mastering processor almost sound as good as my recent crops of plugs like ozone(which also rules) . With this , a good sequencer and maybe some mix and master plugs your ready to go . Between the 3 synths , 2 samplers ,Reaktor and guitar rig youll be busy for a long time .

  • from United States July 5, 2012Music Background:
    Pianist/Bandleader/Composer/Producer/ Publisher

    Very Pleased

    When I first heard Native Instruments, I knew I had to have the software. Through my initial search, the cost was more than I was willing to pay. When I was ready to search again, I checked out about a half dozen reputable music equipment sources. I was happy to see the price had been lowered to $799. by all the store except one, Sweetwater Progear. They were offering the KOMPLETE 8 package for $499. I immediately called Dennis Konicki @ Sweetwater and ordered it. He put it on a three month plan. It arrived in a timely fashion and after loading all 13 disks, I am continually amazed at the magnitude of this product!! Dennis emailed and called me to make sure everything was functioning as desired. It is am I'm Blown Away!

  • from Rota,Spain June 25, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician

    Native Instruments Komplete 8

    This program is absolutely amazing to use. The
    quality of the sounds are stunning. This program is
    very user friendly with any daw you have and I we definetly
    recommend this program to anyone out there.
    SIMPLY OUTSTANDING!!!!

  • from NY, NY USA May 22, 2012Music Background:
    Film Composer

    Komplete 8

    Get it. You'll be happy you did. Period.

  • from Indianapolis, Indiana May 20, 2012Music Background:
    Composer, Hobbyist

    Must Have!!

    I really like this product. I consider it a must have if you are working with a DAW . Works great in Logic 9. So intuitive and easy to operate. Can't say enough good things about Komplete. Sounds are amazing! You need this program.

  • from The Green Earth May 10, 2012Music Background:
    Producer/Artist/Engineer/Session guy - worked on over 500 records

    WISH I WOULD HAVE DONE IT EARLIER

    GREAT SOUNDS (TONS OF TEHM) AND INTERFACE. FOR A TRAVELING GUY, ITS REALLY THE BOMB. I FEEL CHEATED THAT I DIDN'T USE THIS BEFORE. YOU CAN BUY WITH CONFIDENCE HERE.

  • from May 4, 2012

    WOW

    This is an amazing product with sounds that I will continue to use for years. easy to manupulate in Kontact or is LIVE, where I use it most. Seemless loaded into LIVE. Easy interface

  • from Winnipeg Canada April 23, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Producer

    Great Value

    I purchased this a few weeks ago and I'm loving it. The quality and selection of sounds are great for the price. I've been mainly playing with just kontakt and all the libraries that come with it, and that alone would make it worth the price. Plus I can't say enough about the service from Sweetwater. My sales rep Chris Lewis knew the software well and was able to answer all my questions. . Be prepared to spend a half day loading the huge library.

  • from Puerto Rico April 22, 2012

    The best!!!!!!

    Studio Drummer,Kontak 5 vintage organs the perfec tools for better sounds!!!

  • from Orlando, FL April 17, 2012Music Background:
    pro musician/ composer/arranger/producer/ pianist

    Great purchase !! Nice selection.

    I purchased just recently the Komplete 8, and so far I can say only positive things about the entire collection. For just a little bit of money compared to just Kontakt 5 ( part of Komplete 8) you get the whole array of sounds, extra virtual instruments ( also as stand-alone applications). Highly recommended for the price.

  • from New Orleans,La.Pro January 4, 2013Music Background:
    Pro. musician

    Good news/"challenging"news

    The sounds&plug-ins are drop dead gorgeous! They trump the austerity of a very challenging installation/registration/activation.The suggestion of an external hard drive should be emphasized.The NI pdf. manuals & the Groove 3 tutorials will make learning this collection a little easier.

  • from NY, NY August 21, 2012Music Background:
    musician, writer, producer

    Komplete 8

    This is an amazing value & collection. It takes a while to load. Native Instruments is good about updates. Quality of samples varies from good to stunning. I haven't got through every product and I'm already beyond satisfied.

  • from April 27, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Hobbyist

    Great sounds, but be weary of CPU

    The sounds in Komplete 8 are Kompletely fantastic, though the CPU can be an issue with plug ins such as Studio Drummer. It's nothing unmanageable, but with my i3 processor (duo core) I was up to 20% just with studio drummer engaged. I wouldn't suggest this if you have anything lower than an i3.

  • from Tifton, GA March 6, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Musician, Technician, Live Sound Engineer.

    Komplete 8

    I am thoroughly enjoying getting to know the features and sounds of these great products. I have only scratched the surface with these programs, but every sound and ability to tweek them just right makes the imagination tingle. Thanks Native Instruments for this bundle.

  • from February 3, 2012Music Background:
    Producer and musician

    Amazing!

    Is good to me, you also a good machine to run this.

  • from Vlaneica, CA January 29, 2012Music Background:
    Classically trained pianist, Jazz is my forte and rock too...

    Komplete 8 and Logic Pro Studio

    I am very happy with the purchase of Komplete 8. It contains tons of patches and sounds that will keep me busy for years...

    I am primarily a performer and not an engineer that understands all aspects of sound manipulation... Komplete 8 has taken care of providing a nice menu of great sounds.

    I use Logic Studio Pro to write music and wanted a greater variety to choose from. Once I figured out how to access the Komplete library and bring it into Logic, the fun began to happen for me.

    I would love to have Vienna strings to play with, but I simply don't have $15,000 laying around.... that said. Komplete 8 is a great addition to my library of patches and sounds.
    Many thanks to Nick Church for his suggestions to help me decide on Komplete 8 and thanks to the Sweetwater staff for the exccellent support.

  • from Atlanta, Georgia November 25, 2012Music Background:
    Performer, Occasional Recordist

    Not Quite Komplete, But Close

    I'm a live classic rock guy, so I'm more about meat and potatoes keyboards than cutting edge sounds. First the good: I'm completely blown away by the edge and depth of the sounds you get from the clavinet, Wurli, Rhodes, DX7 (both FM8 and Kontakt), subtractive synthesis on Massive, and (wait for it. . . ) Hammond. The factory package and retro machines fill a lot of gaps that are left. Absynth adds some lush pads that have a place in what I do.

    What fell a little short? #1 There are no satisfying sampled string pads. #2 I prefer the Scarbee Pre-Bass over the included MM bass for general use #3 Although perfectly usable, the huge selection of piano sounds lacks some "Wow!" that leaves a market open for Alicia's Keys. #4 For live playing (not sequencers), it's hard to get beyond using just Kontakt (Use the "bank" feature!) because the multiple platforms get in the way. #5 I set up transposed splits for live use in Kontakt. If you transpose your splits, you will get stuck notes. NI congratulated me on isolating a software bug.

    All in all, great stuff. You may want to use two+ keyboards live instead of splitting (maybe a dedicated piano?). You can fill in the palette gaps with add-ons. I'm happy with my purchase.

  • from USA January 6, 2013Music Background:
    Writer / Composer / Bass/Piano/Guitar/Viola Hobbyist / Student (always) / Technology Junkie

    STANDARD is great, ULTIMATE is Awesome

    This IS a great collection for most, I got the wrong one.
    Standard has an incredible collection of:
    Drums / Synths / Guitar tools / Piano / Tools to 'Tweek' everything / Unique World Instruments / and much morr

    Ultimate also includes Orchestra Instruments (morr for what I do) and to upgrade was only $400-$500 morr.

    Kontakt 5 is definitely helpful for anyone and is included w/ both. I benefit because of the death of GigaStudio. It will convert GiG samples, and many other formats, into NI friendly .nki instruments (patience required)
    Guitar Rig is like having a 12' Tall flight case filled with morr Rack Mount Amplifier 'Heads' and FX then I've seen since 48th St. NY, NY, ...but morr than enough, is NEVER too much.

    Anyone that chooses this Version will definitely be happy with all of the Plug-In, VST, AU, RTAS, Standalone, etc... because of the flexibility. You might wish it had something unique/specific to your personal tastes and/or experience, but it would be hard for any Company to put every sound ever heard into one package. NI tried, and the quality they provide may not be the ABSOLUTE BEST ever heard, but the Price is way below that kinda stuff ( K8$1000 )

    I believe that it's morr for the $$$, than most of their competition!

    Good luck in all that you do!
    cMorr

  • from Southern California October 18, 2011Music Background:
    Composer/producer/keyboardist

    allrounder - good value

    By now you should know what to expect from Komplete; if not, read up on it. If you need a wide variety of usable sounds in one product Komplete remains the first choice. I'd have to say that 110GB is a hefty chunk of data, and I wonder whether that is really necessary or just another way to discourage piracy. To me Komplete is not the most inspiring, but it a solid selection of sounds for a reasonable price.

  • from NEW YORK February 7, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    KOMPLETE 8

    To be honest, I have not owned Komplete 8 long enough to fully explore the huge number of sounds in this package. My 3 star rating? I am not really a synth head, I love pre made sounds that are ready to go to use in jazz/classical type of settings. Traditional instruments in Kontakt 5 are, in my opinion, rather weak in sound quality and I really don't need 4 acoustic pianos, 1 good one would be better. Truth is, I will probably never use 90% of the sounds in this software, I do not have the time/patience to spend hours tweaking digital noise in Reaktor,Massive or Absynth..

  • from California January 1, 2012Music Background:
    About 10-15 years with keyboards and software

    Komplete 8

    Komplete 8 is a mixed bag. The Guitar Rig 5 is an excellent guitar program. Users will find Guitar Rig under Effects (not Instruments). Absynth and FM8 are found under ( MIDI) Instruments. Absynth and FM8 have both good samples and weird music samples. A major frustration is that Native Instruments doesn't make it easy to find the manuals or demos for the components. Some information on their website, but it's very time consuming to find what you need.

Questions about the Native Instruments Komplete 8 - Standard Version?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway