0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance

Mesa/Boogie King Snake Limited Edition 1x12" 100-Watt Tube Combo Reviews

5.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews
  • from Germany October 9, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Guitar Player/Producer

    Mesa Boogie

    I started playing Mesa Boogie in 1988. My first one was a hardwood Mk2c which I loved. That I took with me when I moved to London and swapped it against a Mk3c Head with a Marshall 4x10". That was my UK gear. After that I used a Triple Rectifier for many years which I sold when the rock tours finished. In 2014 I was lucky to having snagged one at a music store. It was literally the last one in Germany. I own Vintage Fenders,Marshalls and also have a 96 Blueface Diezel.All amps sound phantastic. I must say, my Boogie is simply the No1 amp which I use day in day out....recording or live........

  • from Concord NC June 7, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Ultimate Mark 1

    Ive been playing Mark amps since I got my first one in 81 and this amp is the ultimate mark 1. The 10 watt power option is sweet and the new speaker sounds so perfect in this amp. The amp is such a perfect refinement of a classic design,

  • from Candor NC June 7, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician/ Producer

    ultimate mark 1

    Ive been playing Mark Boogies since 81 and this one is special. The 10 watt mode is really sweet! I hope they will keep a version of this amp in their line-up.

  • from birmingham, england May 8, 2014Music Background:
    hobby guitarist.

    mesa boogie king snake.

    i am a 68 year old guitarist from england and i have played through many amps in my time here. the boogie king snake as far as i am concerned is the best amp i have ever used. thank you all at mesa engineering.

  • from Summit, IL March 17, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist!

    Boogie does it again.

    Great job from Jim Cooper of Sweetwater on getting my King Snake to me at such speed,I got amp #3.
    I have a collection of original Boogie Mark 1 and 2 heads,combos and cabs with very low serial numbers for over 23 years now.
    When I first heard Carlos Santana in the early 70's with his Boogie amp,that tone is what made me want to play guitar.
    Started playing at 15 now at 54 years old still jamming with great bands in the Chicago and Indiana area.
    My King Snake has that GREAT TONE just like rest of my Boogies with the modern features it's AWESOME, this amp makes me and will make a lot of people happy when that SWEET TONE flows into their ears,everyone calls me Mike Boogie. That's how much I love the Boogie Mark 1 and 2 amps.

  • from Forest Lake, MN March 13, 2014Music Background:
    Heavey duty rocker

    Love the King Snake

    Thanks to the hard work of my Sweetwater sales advisor Bob Mondok, I received my King Snake yesterday! I play out professionally part-time, and have done so since the 80's. At home this amp joined my other 5:50 Express, Mini-Recto, Orange AD 30, Marshall JCM 2000, Fender Super reverb, Hot Rod deluxe, Line 6 and Peavey 5150. (I share with you my amps not to impress you, but to impress upon you I know a good sound when I hear it!) When I opened the box, this is very high quality, the fit and build of this amp is fantastic, Really a cool look, better than the pictures show, I also noticed how easy it was to load in my car, (compared to my other amps). When I plugged it in I was wowed! Really great tone clean and dirty. Also, the presence knob and Blackface/Tweed options are huge! Reverb excellent! I rate this 5 out of 5, only 400 are being made, mine is number 40! Oh, as with any tube amp, you can blow a tube at some point, especially with the bone crunching volume I play at--so--this is cool, the 12" speaker cable that plugs into the back of the amp is long enough, so on gigs I will bring my mini Recto, and if I ever have a tube problem, the mini can sit on top of the King Snake and I can plug the Snake's speaker right into the Mini-Recto. Lastly, read the review in the January cover story in Guitar Player Magazine about the history of this amp! it's a fun story to tell your friends, then show them Carlos Santana's and Randy Smith's signature on the serial number plate! It doesn't get better than this!

  • from New England June 14, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist and lover of music

    Organic sounds in a small package

    I received #501 a while back. I've had Mesa's before and understand that the EQ is very interactive, so I started with one of the recommended settings and worked it to my own taste. It took about a week but now I am 95% there. This amp is beautiful in the way it shapes sound. It is the ultimate single channel amp because is it so responsive to attack and volume/tone controls. That is the essence of single channel - to go from clean to crunch with a volume control. This does more. You can ease up on the attack and the amp takes on a new character, not just lower volume of what you had been playing. I run in the 60W mode and have the bass pretty high. That adds a wonderful depth to the crunch sound with power chords. For that sound I have my guitar at 7-8 on the volume. That gives me a little more for pushing a lead sound if I want to. I use the midboost at around 7 and play with the Master to suit the room or mood. There are other tweeks that let me season the sound. The base sound, though, has a depth and feel to it, like honey opposed to refined sugar. It is as if the amp is an extension of my guitar (an 90' Les Paul Standard) and my fingers. Every time I plug in and go from standby to on there is tone waiting for me. It is a pure joy. If you want a single channel amp with dynamic character that yo can control with your guitar and attack, then this is the ultimate. With the ability to go from a 10W to 100W stage sound you can take it anywhere (if you do some weight training first). It let's you get to playing music and not tap dancing around. Oh, and it takes pedals very nicely up front and thru the FX loop. Nice work Randall, Nice work.

  • from San Jose, CA March 27, 2014Music Background:
    Played in a Santana cover band in the 70's, now play at home as a hobby

    Powerful Amp

    I was unfortunate that my amp had bad power tubes. Thanks to Greg Savino's quick next day replacement tubes I was able to get my amp going right away. What a great service from Sweetwater. The King Snake has a nice compact size amp and it is very powerful. Nice clean tones. Nice classic Santana gain tones in channel 2 and nice modern gain tones in Channel 1. The only reason I am giving it a 4.5 rating is that the reverb is not as good as some as the other Mesa amps. You know there is a reverb but not warm enough for my taste.

Questions about the Mesa/Boogie King Snake Limited Edition 1x12" 100-Watt Tube Combo?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway