0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Hartke Kickback 12 1x12" 120-Watt Bass Combo Reviews

4.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews
  • AreGee
    from PA November 27, 2010Music Background:
    All styles

    Outstanding

    After owning all the 'best' amps in the world, regardless of cost, this little sucker keeps providing me with the best overall sound and value. I now own 3 of these and take one with me everywhere. From the studio to the gigs, I am never let down. A great monitor configuration, XLR out, headphone out (may be used as tuner out) and infinite EQ options are its best features. The speaker holds up well with a drummer and two guitarists. It will damage your ears before it damages itself - be careful!

    Hartke better keep making these. The model has been around for almost 20 years and Larry Hartke himself provides tremendous service if necessary.

  • Clickityclack
    from Fremont, CA USA August 30, 2007Music Background:
    Student

    First bass amp I bought and i'm not giving it up

    I thought this amp wasnt going to be very good for every style of music but boy was I proved wrong!

    This little mother is probably the best combo I have ever played heck it gave me enough lows to knock down a few picture frames without a cabinet.

  • Treblok
    from Burlington, NJ August 20, 2015Music Background:
    Semi Pro (Wedding Band/Casinos/A Rooms)

    Great combo for any pro or semi pro gig

    I bought my first one in 1994 and it treated me well till 2014 when an electrical accident occurred and burned out the amp, I think? I should get that fixed. I bought a new one from Sweetwater.

    This amp is great, light weight, loud and good for Casinos, Weddings, Small rooms and any big room where you can use the DI.

    I would suggest you getting a (Shure A15AS - In-Line Pad with 15, 20 or 25 db of Selectable Mic Attenuation - XLR Barrel) for that sound guy who doesn't have a PAD to lower the signal when using a hot active electrics bass with EMG's or Bartolini power style pickups.

    My go to amp and I have several. Get the optional cover too and it'll stay nice for a long time too and protect if you moving it in the rain.

  • Customer
    from June 15, 2011Music Background:
    recording, semi-pro/part time musician

    Outstanding

    Great sound and value packed in bass combo amp that I can actually lift. It has been used for several outside shows, and has proven very effective for what it does. This little amp also sounds nice when used as a recording amp. Nice features and value altogether make this an outstanding buy.

  • Jason
    from Florida July 12, 2008Music Background:
    Pro

    Tremendous Value

    This "little" amp comes with a big sound that will fill up small to medium sized gigs. The tonal clarity is astounding thanks to the aluminum cone speaker. The 12inch size is perfect as the 10's don't carry enough lows and the 15's get to wobbly on the low end. And there is plenty of low end goodness with this amp to boot!

    Highly recommended!!!

  • T Kolber
    from Burlington, NJ April 22, 2014Music Background:
    Semi Pro, playing 50-60 shows a years. Wedding, Rock Show, and subbing

    Second Kickback.

    Great wedge amp with Direct out in front. Simple to use and doesn't weight a lot. 120 watts way more then enough for gigs and very road worthy. Get the cover to keep it even nicer. Had one for 15 years but was damages when it got wet. The speaker and cab are still good, but time for a new one.

  • William J Walker
    from Bellingham WA October 27, 2008Music Background:
    I keep a day job but am always in a band that goes out and plays

    HA1200 keeps on truckin'

    I have been using this amp for 9 years playing mostly upright bass and banjo and even electric bass on stage. With the electric bass I used this little amp to power up a 4x10 cabinet. Depending upon your specific needs or applications this may work for you. Be realistic. It's a 12" combo. Sound quality is there but you can't compete with a loud drummer. Bottom line is absolute reliability in my experience. Hasn't failed me yet.Knock on wood every day

  • T. Moore
    from Houston, TX October 13, 2013Music Background:
    retired pro

    Not What I Hoped For

    Wanted to spend about $400 on a bass combo and decided to go with this baby brother of the gear used by Will Lee & Victor Wooten. Sounded ok but knobs were jammed into panel, had to pull off & reseat. Headphone jack ate the tip of my cord, pulling the cap off the plug. Speaker wouldn't work with that in there, so went to slide the head out of cabinet and found all 4 screws very loose. The jammed jack was a completely enclosed plastic box with no access to inside and jammed plug cap. Then I noticed the PC board was cracked and broken and decided "That's it." I closed it up and sent it back. Bought a Fender Rumble it's built like a tank and works great. Fender's cheap gear is better than Hartke's cheap gear.

  • Dude Stewart
    from Park City, KS May 10, 2006

    The more I use it, the more I wish I'd bought one a long time ago!

    This is one amazing little workhorse! Hartke invented the kickback amp, and now every company is copying them. When you play through the original, you'll see why.

    It has simple and intuitive tone controls - a "Shape" knob that controls a movable notch filter, then Bass, Mid, and Treble. I had my sound in about 8 seconds.

    Onstage, it has a very large presence, even at low volumes. You can hear it almost as well behind it or in back of it as you can in front. Everyone around you hears and feels the bass, which helps keep the band in the pocket.

    Small enough to ride to the gig in the front seat of a VW Bug, light enough to carry up a couple of flights of stairs with one hand, versatile enough for just about any gig. In its price range, there's nothing close to it. I wish I'd bought one of these a long time ago!

  • JONC.
    from AKRON, OHIO May 7, 2006

    VERY COOL AMP

    I BOUGHT THIS AMP BECAUSE I NEEDED ONE FOR BAND AND HOME PRACTICE. WHAT MADE ME CHOOSE THE HARTKE WAS THAT I WENT TO A BLUES AND JAZZ FEST AND ONE OF THE BASSISTS WAS USING THIS AMP, GOING THROUGH THE BOARD FROM THE AMPS D.I., AND HE HAD THE AMP IN FRONT OF HIM, TILTED BACK, USING IT AS A MONITOR. ANYWAY, THIS LITTLE AMP SOUNDED GREAT THRU THE P.A.
    AFTER I GOT THIS, I STARTED GIGGING WITH IT AT SMALLER PLACES. I CAN CARRY ALL OF MY GEAR IN 2 EASY TRIPS, AND THIS AMP FITS IN MY TRUCK OR BACK SEAT. PEOPLE HAVE COME UP TO ME AT SHOWS ASKING ABOUT THE AMP. IF YOU'RE GETTING OLDER, LIKE ME YOUR BACK WILL THANK YOU. THIS IS A GOOD, SOLID, BASIC LITTLE AMP, WITH JUST ENOUGH POWER AND FEATURES. GLAD I BOUGHT IT.

Questions about the Hartke Kickback 12 1x12" 120-Watt Bass Combo?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway