0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

KickPort International KickPort - Black Reviews

4.5 stars based on 14 customer reviews
Questions about the KickPort International KickPort - Black?

Questions about the KickPort International KickPort - Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Dyer,, Indiana March 31, 2016Music Background:
    Guitarist

    KickPort bass drum port

    I am not a drummer, I am a guitarist,,but I do owe a drum kit for my studio and do know what good sound is. The KickPort solved a large problem in recording the kick drum..I was so impressed I purchased the FX system for the entire kit,, with the smaller port on the batter kick head and WOW, was BLOWN AWAY.. the sound on the recording was awesome and live thru the monitors incredible chest slamming very intelligent sound. Installation super easy. The smaller FX kit for snare and toms eliminated the ringing odd tone. You mike the ports off center and the sound is great.. Think of it as a port on bass cabinet, yes adds efficiency. This product is Great!

  • from Henrietta, Texas August 31, 2015Music Background:
    27+ years as a percussionist, gigs, originals, studio engineer

    BAM! King Kong sized Bass sounds!

    I placed this on a 27 year old Pearl 22x18 I refurbished last year and am astounded at the difference in tone. I'm using a Sennheiser e602 II and have never dreamed my recording could sound this clean and powerful! This was the best money I have spent on my set in 27 years of drumming.

  • from Seattle, WA April 12, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Massive bottom end

    Pearl Session 22" bass drum with Evans batter and Remo reso. Watched installation video on Kickport site and the whole process took only a few minutes. Bam! The Kickport added an additional lower octave that the bass drum did not have previously. Watched the mic video on the Kickport website for tips on mic placement. Used a Telefunken M82 with both EQ's on. Boom! Now I have a demonic kick drum from hell. Not sure I have heard many recordings with this much bottom and power. Can't recommend this thing enough!

  • from seatte November 7, 2014Music Background:
    pro live and studio

    My KickPort Story

    I heard a KickPort at a local drum shop and said "I have to have one". It felt like being kicked by an angry kangaroo and it sounded like nothing I've heard from a kick drum. Like suddenly I have a 24" subwoofer. I get compliments from house engineers too. Many gigs I have not even mic'd my kick and it still felt punchy to dancers or listeners. Thanks for a great product Donn Garrett

  • from Petaluma, Ca October 30, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Artists, Touring Artists

    The Midnight Transit here and we Love Kickports!!! Absolutely The Best Sound For Your Drums!!!

    Hey there all you musical people!!! The Midnight Transit here and we love Kickport products. Whether on tour, or recording in the studio we make sure every bass drum, snare and floor/rack tom is loaded with a kickport or fx-port! Definitely helps deliver that deep punch and rockin tone! A Rock Drummer's (or Hip-Hop Drummer's) MUST for that super deep BOOM IN THE BASS!!! Every show we play get a ton of compliments on how awesome the drums sound!!! GET SOME!!!

  • from San Francisco, Ca October 30, 2014Music Background:
    Lead Singer of The Chambers Brothers

    Lester Chambers LOVES Kickport!

    Hey Lester Chambers here of The Chambers Brothers! I LOOOOVE Kickports and make sure all my drummers use em! The incredible bass enhancement really adds a rich tone to my sound! The Punch from the kick-port bass drum really puts a Boom in my Blues! Every singer needs a drummer using Kickport!!

  • from Los Angeles, CA August 28, 2014Music Background:
    Audio Engineer, Musician

    phenomenal

    This kickport is fantastic and the customer service is phenomenal. I always work with a guy named Zach and he does everything in his power to make sure you enjoy the new toys exactly how you want. This kickport is great for increasing the frequency range of your kick drum especially the lower ranges. I'd recommend this to any drummer because who wouldn't like a little more KICK in their kick?

  • from Ohio March 15, 2012Music Background:
    All the above!

    My New KickPort

    I bought this based on a recommendation from my sales rep and I have to say I am amazed by the sound diffrence the KickPort has made. The bass is more deep, defined, and has a killer punch. Thanks Wayne for telling me about the KickPort.

  • from palm bay December 23, 2011Music Background:
    desturbing the neighbors still at 40.lol

    love the water , it is sweet, the kick port works.....easy install

    This product works...no overtone cutting a hole or for that reason removing the outer head , NoNo. prefect tone easy instalation, it'seasy to get that Bonham feel, thick rich and solid. LOVE IT! Thanks sweet water and more thanks Nick. enuff said.

  • from Modesto, CA. February 23, 2012Music Background:
    Drummer In Christian Blues Band

    Changed the sound of my bass

    This product made my bass drum really boom! It brought out the deep low end that I was looking for.

  • from Lexington,TN January 28, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Bassist, Guitarist, Keyboard Player.

    Very Noticable Difference

    I bought the KickPort for one of my drummers, who reported that installation was quick, simple and easy.
    The increase in projection was immediately obvious from the first kick. The drum's fundamental frequency, around 55 Hz, was increased considerably, as was a much lower sub-harmonic that wasn't even noticeable before the installation. Even though we haven't tried it anywhere besides a 12' x 15' practice room, I'm quite anxious to hear what it sounds like on stage with an Audix D6 in front of it. I hope it puts my subwoofers to the test!

  • from United States December 17, 2014

    Great Sound

    Adds that extra punch

  • from March 18, 2014Music Background:
    Drummer

    Good product

    Got the new kickport yesterday and installed it. I haven't mic'ed it up yet to hear the difference, but the bass drum sounds great acoustically with it. I thought I'd share a few points in case other drummers have questions about this product:
    -the port has a foam seal around the hole of the head. So because I play with a super kick II on the kick side, and a regulator on the resonant, I was able to remove all dampening from the inside of the drum, to get a great fundamental tone.
    -on most resonant bass heads with a prefab'ed port hole, the hole is 4.75" in diameter, so the drummer will have to use the template to cut/increase the hole size
    -the Aquarians regulator bass resonant head has a felt strip circle around the inside of the head that ends right at the porthole. The millimeter or so thickness causes the kickport to not set flush against the head. Drummers shouldn't be alarmed though because it doesn't appear to affect the sound

  • from BETHLEHEM,PA February 8, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Drummer

    KICKPORT FOR BASSDRUM

    Great Product! Made my 20 x 16 Pearl Reference kick drum sound
    much larger than it looks. Just the right amount of sustain without sounding boomy and uncontrolled.

Questions about the KickPort International KickPort - Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway