0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

M-Audio Keystation 49es 49-key MIDI Controller Reviews

4.0 stars based on 12 customer reviews
  • Cody
    from Ar, USA December 2, 2013Music Background:
    Recording engineer/ Musician

    Great little midi controller at an even better price!!

    This this is such a steal at 49.99... you WILL NOT find a better controller in this price range. Thanks again Sweetwater for passing along the savings!

  • Angel Contreras
    from November 30, 2013Music Background:
    DJ/ Live Sound Eng. & Musician / Producer

    This Is A Must Have Midi!!!!

    This is a must have Midi! This Controller is easy to setup basic plug and play. The Drivers are easy to download and install. Works Great!!!! with FL Studios. Its Super Light Weight doesn't take much space. Overall its a 5 star Midi Controller!!!

  • Sam
    from Lynchburg VA November 24, 2013Music Background:
    Worship Leader, Music Student, Hobbyist, Guitarist for half of my life. Guitarist for the rest of my life.

    Perfect For What I Needed!

    I love this controller! It doesn't feel cheap or poorly made. It is an excellent option for portability (much easier than my 70lb Akai) and the software that comes with it is KILLER! The guys at SONIVOX really outdid themselves with Eighty Eight Ensemble 2! At this price you will be kicking yourself for not getting it! Best $50 I've spent in a very long time!

  • Cyreen Yahya
    from United States November 12, 2013Music Background:
    High School Student, Beginner Musician

    AFFORDABLE ,EASY, WORTH IT!

    This product is really affordable in my opinion. Its really good quality and works great with Fruity Loops. This is really helping me get into Music.

  • Tony M
    from Van Wert, OH October 31, 2013Music Background:
    Songwriter, Engineer, Hobbyist

    A PERFECT fit for my home studio!

    I am not much of a keyboard player, so I don't know if it's as good as a steinway, but the keystation is exactly what I needed to use the virtual instruments in my Pro Tools setup. It was plug and play for me - definitely worth the hundred bucks! No complaints at all - five stars

  • Julio
    from United States April 13, 2014Music Background:
    Producer

    Works perfectly with ipad

    Plug and Play with Ipad CCK...!!! Minus .5 for not having any knob controls at all, but still good for full sized keys on the go!

  • Joe Tilton
    from Oklahoma, United States November 29, 2013Music Background:
    Radio engineer/Producer/Live Sound Engineer

    Still Trying

    If I could figure out how to use it, I'm sure I'd be delighted. Every product from Sweetwater has been great! I'm not a kid, so the software is something I have to learn. I do look forward to doing some writing with the Keystation.

  • Mike Walters
    from IL November 21, 2013Music Background:
    Home studio

    Don't think about it, just pull the trigger.

    At $49 there's no reason at all why you shouldn't buy this. The keyboard is worth a hundred bucks alone and the piano software is an unbelievable added value. Of course I was skeptical, but I already own an M-Audio controller, so I'm familiar with their quality.
    The action is fine for adding an extra controller to your studio or bedroom set up, hell..I'd even gig with it. I'd expect to pay $49 for shipping for a decent keyboard, but the shipping was free so I figured this was a no lose situation, I was right.
    I expected the software to be a cheesy entry level piano, but it is really frikin good. The download process was pretty clunky, not Sweetwaters fault, but I installed it all without ba hitch and it sounds beautiful!
    Just buy the damn thing before the're all gone!

  • Richard Martinez
    from Valparaiso, IN USA November 20, 2013Music Background:
    Recording/Mix Engineer/Musician

    M-Audio Key Station Review

    Very nice small compact MIDI keyboard. Perfect for small studios. Give us who are in audio for a living an added bonus for onsite production. I look forward to using it more and finding out its potential.

  • Aaron Hamilton
    from Houma, LA November 11, 2013Music Background:
    Multi-Instrumentalist, Recording Engineer

    Great Product for a Great Price

    For me, this was a spur of the moment purchase... as I wasn't necessarily in "need" of a keyboard. Well, I wound up snatching this thing up on a whim when Sweetwater put it on a super sale at half the normal price, so I couldn't be more pleased when I unpacked it and tested it out.

    Being a guitarist by nature, for me this product does exactly what I need it to do, and what it describes ... no bells, no whistles. It's just a straight forward MIDI keyboard. It connected right up to my PC, installed all the necessary drivers (with no internet access mind you) and synced right up. Opened my DAW and it was recognized and operating without any issues. Dropped in an instrument track and was plugging away in no time.

    Many reviews will probably say that it feels like a cheap Chinese toy, plays like crap, velocity is set too high, yada, yada, yada. I can understand the view points on most of those reviews, but let's not get too far from the brass taxes. Honestly... you do get what you pay for. I'm absolutely positive that you can find one of those "much better" keyboards out there on the interwebs, and I'm sure that you'll pay a pretty penny for it too. But, if you just need a simple, stripped down keyboard for some basic keyed tracks, triggering some MIDI events, and don't need all the pads, faders, sliders, buttons, and control surface capabilities... you simply can't go wrong with this keyboard.

    I gave this a 4-star rating ONLY because it's missing one extremely useful feature (for me) ... there are no transport buttons. Really and truly it's nowhere near a deal-breaker for me, but I had gotten really use to that feature on my old MPK49.

    Overall, I would recommend this a friend, an enemy, and my grandmaw... if it were stolen, I would purchase it again in a heartbeat for the full retail price.

  • John F. King
    from trafalgar , in December 2, 2013Music Background:
    own my own studio , ( legend has it studio )

    key station

    Great software and key board , keys are really nice

  • Melodic
    from Los Angeles, CA December 9, 2013Music Background:
    Musician/Producer

    PROCEED WITH CAUTION!!!!

    Be Careful buyers, if you are a mac user this product WILL NOT WORK, if you are running OS 10.8.5 or higher!!!! I repeat WILL NOT WORK. Apparently M-Audio has not released a driver/update since OS 10.8.4!!! The 49es version that I bought is not even listed, as of right now, in there support section, nor is OS 10.8.5, nor is 10.9! This is often advertised as plug and play, but my mac does not recognize the board at all.

Questions about the M-Audio Keystation 49es 49-key MIDI Controller?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway