0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

KAT Percussion KT3 Advanced High-Performance Digital Drum Set Reviews

4.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the KAT Percussion KT3 Advanced High-Performance Digital Drum Set?

Questions about the KAT Percussion KT3 Advanced High-Performance Digital Drum Set?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Jared Kalish

    I've been very impressed with my KAT Percussion KT3 Advanced drum kit for a variety of reasons. First, the build quality is outstanding. All the pads and cymbal are durable yet sensitive, and have a great realistic feel. Second, it's a breeze to set up and get going. Finally, I love how easy it connects my to DAW when triggering all my drum software apps such as Superior Drummer and Steven Slate Drums. Having both USB and standard 5-pin MIDI really provides connection options when I need them. An electronic drum kit at this price and with so many features is just insane!

  • John hudzik
    from Mississippi January 10, 2017

    Kat kt3

    I played on lots of electronic drum kit and this one is my favorite by far

  • charles vicknair
    from baker la April 3, 2016

    kt3

    this is the first set of drum's I've had scents I was 10 years old. never forgot what it was like to play, now I have drums again 40 years later. love them! not hard to set up, I did have a few problems like it didn't keep it's memory, but I played with it and got it right. read the manual, it got me there. sweetwater I never ordered from, just got a gut feeling this was the place to buy from. I had no problems with them. shipped fast got here in good shape, i'll order from them again. love my drums! thank's

  • Shay
    from Ma June 1, 2015

    Love it

    Satisfied with shipping speed. Sweetwater helped set it up for me so that the shipment was held at the fed ex location near me. First company ever to do that for me.

    Assembly had minor glitches, but not enough to cause any headaches. The labeling could have been a little better. The velcro straps make for a nice touch. I did go out to my local hardware store and purchase a few more straps. The number of included straps was a great start but still left some wires sagging. It's very strong and sturdy. The metal support brace for the snare and the kick pad in front of the center pole are great added features.

    Playing feels very natural and I haven't experienced in crosstalk. The extensive sounds, versatility and the ability for the various customization will keep this kit feeling brand new for a long time. I love the large pads. I have played other kits that have dual zone snares but the small size made it feel very uncomfortable. Playing rim shots are great with the Kat kit. I opted to purchase the respective Kat kick pedal, very quiet and smooth operation. I love the beater.

    I would recommend this kit

  • David Lamb
    from Lincoln NE April 11, 2015Music Background:
    Hard rock (hobbyist)

    Best Electronic drums I've ever played

    I've had my KT3 for a year now and couldn't be more pleased with them. It's nice to plug in my mp3 player and spend hours jamming. (A quality set of headphones is a must. I use JVC phones).
    The variety of settings is astonishing. I can spend hours just playing around with the possibilities.
    The tech support has been phenomenal. Every concern or question I've ever had (and there's been few) are answered within 2 days often by a simple explanation via email.
    I very highly recommend the KAT KT3!

  • Customer
    from United States March 12, 2015Music Background:
    Music Tech degree; lifelong musician

    Perfect for My Studio

    For $1000 I don't see how there can be anything negative said. They work flawlessly and offer high versatility as a MIDI controller, making them an ideal affordable studio solution. I highly recommend the KAT kt3 kit.

  • Heath S.
    from Jasper, AL December 29, 2016Music Background:
    drums, bass, guitar, vocals - hobbyist

    Good set for the money

    Not bad... There was a couple of small features that the brain doesn't offer you, but overall, the set is good quality and should hold up well. I have had several sets over the years, and my favorite configuration was an acoustic set triggering a Roland module. My least favorite was a Pintech set triggering an Alesis DM-10. This set is pretty decent, and one of my top 3 sets ever. I have been playing electronic drums since 1988, and that is a good place to be is a strong third.

    Honestly, the third cymbal needs to be moved to the rack to get a realistic usable position. However, try finding a 3 cymbal and extra tom set for this price.

    I recommend this set, or the Yamaha DTX522 Kit for this money. I've owned both.

  • keith bergeron
    from South Louisana December 21, 2014Music Background:
    Band Name is ( LA Gray,) ( Underground ) Lead Guitar

    KT3 set

    I just purchased this set , I find the ability to set sounds on this kit is rather nice . my only concern now is that I also bought a set of cobra 2 double bass pedals I was told the head on these pedals could still be used on the bass pad after a couple of jams we noticed that the bass pad is now not responding like it did . so be careful when getting double bass pedals I would recommend you use the tennis ball hammer for the pad we believe the heads on the cobras are too hard for this pad and the results are not good . I will have to purchase another bass pad due to this .all in all the sound is awesome ! we are passing this through a peavey 3000watt DBS system punching lows and nice Mids and highs ,

  • Les Gruwell
    from Litchfield, MN February 12, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    This product is great. Exactly what I was looking for

    This kit is great lots of options to choose from. I am a beginning drummer and I live in a town home. I needed something that would not disturb the neighbors. It has lots of kits and teaching options.

  • Customer
    from Palm Beach Shores, Fl July 9, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Below Expectations

    I recently bought the Kat 3 Pro electronic drum set. I only paid $800 for it so I thought I got a good deal but having the set a week now it leaves a lot to be desired. I like the rack and the way it looks, the three boom cymbals, the two floor toms, the bigger trigger pads for the snare and floor toms but the sound quality of the module isn't there, there is not one dry drum sound in the module and anyone that has mixed a live band knows where that's going all the sounds are these ringy long sustainable sounds that you can not adjust, it seems to be geared more for hip hop and rap drummers than pop or rock. I have a Yahama Dxpress set from the 90's so I am using that brain, the sounds are of much better quality.

    Two of the the 8in" drum pads are all ready not working properly the are intermittent. I sent in the warranty. I have sent them emails to there "costumer service" about replacing the pads but have received no reply. If this is their Pro Set I shutter to think about the cheaper ones.

    In short unless you can buy this set very cheaply and are prepared to start buying pads for it then stay away from it, save up your money and buy a Yahama DTX 562 or better and add some more pads to it.

    A J

  • Robert
    from Columbus, Ohio September 28, 2014Music Background:
    Percussionist since 1992. Teaches and performs weekly.

    It is made in the same factory as Simmons

    Like everyone I look for deals and quality instruments to perform with. I do love the feel of the drum pads and having bigger sizes on this kit and I love Sweetwater and purchase from them because of the customer service however I am shocked they still carry Alesis and now Kat. This kit is made in the same factory as Simmons and has the same issues. Pads stop functioning or working after a time, varies depending on users. Sounds are 5-10 years behind unless you use midi to access drum programs but you still have the issue with the pads failing. I have read many reviews of people having the same issues with pads failing, and customer support is low quality. Even when I go to the other music stores to hang with my fellow drummers, the drum department is hesitant to sell it to any drummer that plays well because they know it will fail after a while. Even the local Five Star percussion shop will not carry Kat or Simmons. Beware if you purchase this.

Questions about the KAT Percussion KT3 Advanced High-Performance Digital Drum Set?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway