0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

QSC KSub 1000W Dual 12" Powered Subwoofer Reviews

4.5 stars based on 25 customer reviews
Questions about the QSC KSub 1000W Dual 12" Powered Subwoofer?

Questions about the QSC KSub 1000W Dual 12" Powered Subwoofer?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Caledonia IL April 13, 2017Music Background:
    Blues and Contemporary Christian Music

    QSC Sub

    Love this K series speakers and subs. I'm blown away at its clarity and spatial dimensions I would recommend it to all amateur musicians that are tired of lugging around passive speakers and amps.

  • from Georgia September 6, 2016Music Background:
    Performer, Studio Guy

    Know What You're Getting

    For the guys who are dissing the KSub, you should have known what your needs were. The KSub is not meant for major shows, but for small to medium events & rooms, and it does an incredible job. I actually prefer the punch of the 12" dual speakers with country / rock and smaller r&b / jazz settings. The clarity is ridiculous when paired with K8 /10/12's. Nobody needs an 18" sub unless you're playing bigger shows & events or hip-hop / rap, or if you just simply want more sub-harmonic extension. (I'm sure I'll end up buying KW181s in the future for bigger shows.)

    If you're doing a 4-5 piece band and have good mains, this sub will provide good punch and low end extension on kick drum and bass guitar. Obviously, consider your needs before purchasing a sub that you think is "not enough". I have used this sub in 250-300 capacity venues and wedding events with my K12's and the power is more than enough for my needs, and the clarity simply tickles my ears every time. As a matter of fact, I used it last night to DJ a small wedding reception, and the clarity was just ridiculously good. My business partner even commented how "modern" the classic songs sounded (Kool & The Gang, EWF, Stevie Wonder). I also play a small-ish bar & grill venue in a college town with in-house PA, and this is the only sub they have, and the only one they need.

    For you who don't really understand how to set up a good sound system, here are a couple of things to consider: Needs.., what is the average size crowd you will play to? Clarity.., harmonic clarity actually carries further and is louder when your system is "tuned" properly. Music.., will you be performing dance music or live music? If this is for a band in a smaller setting, then one or two KSubs would be plenty. If you're doing DJ work for more than 200 people and want that low-end extension that only an 18" speaker can provide, then go with an 18" subwoofer.

    In closing, I have two QSC K12's for my local gigs, and the quality and sound are amazing on them when coupled with the KSub. I plan to buy another KSub in the future just to have a pair for my K12's. Love my QSC gear.

  • from Oregon March 23, 2016Music Background:
    Electronic, prog rock, blues; 20 years

    THUNDER!!!!

    This thing thumps! From quiet passages to pumping low end bass drum, mono synth bass line, or...well you name it, the KSub can handle it and sounds excellent doing it!

  • from Minnesota March 14, 2016

    Love Sweetwater & QSC

    Just reserved my Ksubs today in great condition. Added K12 to the KSUB , the bass to the highs were amazing. I jammed some of my favorite tune from hip-hop, praise and worship, to 80s rock. Can't wait to use they this Friday at my gig. Sweetwater , Paul Allen and Treena his assistant ( hope spelled right) love you guys they always outperform for me.
    Thanks again for all you do.
    Thunder Music DJ Service.

  • from Chester, SC January 21, 2016Music Background:
    have traveled and sung for 0ver 50 years.

    The KSub is awsome

    I have two Bose Towers and two KSubs. I run a Mackie mixing board. and a computer sound tracks. I do Southern Gospel and haven't found anything that sounds better and easy to transport. The QSC products are the best.

  • from Southern MD September 23, 2015Music Background:
    Almost Rockstar, Working Musician, & Hobbyist

    Sweetwater(AGAIN!!!) & QSC Delivers!!!

    Several months back, I joined an all-acoustic group (two guitars, bass, hand drums, 4vocals) with NO amps, and we needed a PA for upcoming gigs. With hours upon hours of research, QSC was the way to go. So, we splurged. Sure we could've gone with lesser expensive equipment, but didn't wanna end up spending MORE in the long run. So, I bought the KSub, and my singer/guitarist bought a pair of K10s. The KSub came perfectly intact, but the K10s came dented. My singer contacted his Sales Rep to see about his options. Well, my singer apparently "dropped" my name, and my Sales Rep, Derek Senestraro contacted me to see if I was connected to my singer's name. That goes to show that Sweetwater promotes teamwork even between Sales Reps! Anyways, Sweetwater made good on us, and further proving my faith in the company! As for the QSC PA, it's SO awesome! As I've read in some research, the sound is very "hi-fi". Our band plugs directly into the board(no amps), and the power & clarity that comes through is ridiculously great and LOUD! We haven't used it out yet, but after gain staging, we run the K10s level at 7-8 o'clock!!! And the K10s DO sound great with the KSub. They're almost overkill, and could've went with the K8s! Now, for the KSub itself, it's great for our sound. The KSub goes low, but it's also very tight/punchy. The cajon comes through very nice, like a tightly packed kick drum. It's not gonna pound your chest in. It's NOT gonna make you feel like you're "In Da Club". Coming from a bassist's standpoint, it supports low end, but a smaller amp may still be needed for the mids and highs of the bass to be heard, especially for your own ears. My Boulder Creek EBR6-N5 has a separate balanced XLR AND unbalanced 1/4" out, so I send the XLR directly to the board, and may run the 1/4" to a small amp for the other tones(i.e. MarkBass MircoMark801, or such). The K10s can produce the tone, but with two guitars and vocals coming through as well, the bass doesn't come though as well as we'd like it to. For our acoustic band setup, the K10s/KSub are PLENTY! If we were an electric rock band, I'd probably wanna move up to K12s, and two KSubs, along with any amps. Until then, we WILL be in the works trying to get another KSub anyways. Thank you again Derek Senestraro, and the Sweetwater crew, for all your help & support!

  • from Clintonville, WI November 15, 2014Music Background:
    Performer, recording artist

    Super great!

    I'm a one man band. I use a farmer footdrum, modified guitar with bass and other stuff. This sub kicks butt man! I mic'd up the drum kit and the bass drum immediately 10 times better than without. Excellent kick to it. The K10 actually sounds better now that I'm running it with the sub cuz none of the lows are going to the K10. Plenty of power. You could play in a band and rock the crap outta most medium sized rooms with this. Unless you're doing Rap or something that needs super boomy bass, this is great. Don't worry, it sound awesome on a bass drum!

  • from United States December 18, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Musician, Artist

    Wonderful! Wonderful!

    I bought one to go with the pair of K12s that I have. Wonderful! I needed to feel in the low end so I could push the K12s up where they belong. They did that magnificently! My group does Southern gospel is small venues and it provides a very clean punch down low. I may get a second one sometime just to balance it out, but for the venues we use it for, I am not sure that I need it, unless I was to go outside. If I were doing rock music I would need 2 of them for sure or move to the KW181 sub. But this sub is perfect for what I am using it for! I have never liked a muddy sub which everyone seems to be running. This thing is really clean and is tuned to the K12. Beautiful sound!

  • from Charleston, SC October 14, 2012

    Wonderful leap forward for my band!!!

    My "local bar band" has been stepping it up lately, so we bought a pair of K12's and one Ksub for some weddings. Great decision. Easy load in and load out. The sound was awesome...best we've ever sounded. The Ksub is a very professional sounding piece of audio equipment. Worked great with the mains. Made the kick drum kick and the bass guitar (me) sound big and phat. Sax/guitar/vocals went through the mains. We ran music through everything during breaks. Sounded like a high-fi home audio system...only MUCH BIGGER.

    I gotta say...I read some of the Ksub reviews on here and I almost went with the 18 inch QSC. So glad I didn't. Easier to transport, and for our needs this is more than adequate. We played with it in front of a 150 person event, and then a 200 person wedding reception the next day. The dance floor was rocking both nights. Not the right sub if you're a DJ rocking the sub frequencies at a 500 person event, but if you're a band that plays wedding events and medium sized clubs this is for you.

  • from Charleston, SC October 14, 2012

    Wonderful leap forward for my band!!!

    My "local bar band" has been stepping it up lately, so we bought a pair of K12's and one Ksub for some weddings. Great decision. Easy load in and load out. The sound was awesome...best we've ever sounded. The Ksub is a very professional sounding piece of audio equipment. Worked great with the mains. Made the kick drum kick and the bass guitar (me) sound big and phat. Sax/guitar/vocals went through the mains. We ran music through everything during breaks. Sounded like a high-fi home audio system...only MUCH BIGGER.

    I gotta say...I read some of the Ksub reviews on here and I almost went with the 18 inch QSC. So glad I didn't. Easier to transport, and for our needs this is more than adequate. We played with it in front of a 150 person event, and then a 200 person wedding reception the next day. The dance floor was rocking both nights. Not the right sub if you're a DJ rocking the sub frequencies at a 500 person event, but if you're a band that plays wedding events and medium sized clubs this is for you.

  • from Hawaii September 16, 2011Music Background:
    Weekend Performer

    Great Purposeful Sub!

    I used to gig with just mains and then I recently added the K-Sub. The difference was night & day. Hit the high-pass filters on the mains and your system actually runs louder & cleaner with less strain because the K-Sub will take the "lows" burden off of the mains. The K-Sub is meant for small to medium venues when you just want to really fill the lower spectrum of your sound and not shake the dentures loose off grandpa! The K-Sub give me a tight, punchy bass and made my sound really full. So then picked up the KW 181 when I need earth-shaking bass. Now I have the beauty & the BEAST....the best of both worlds! Great Job QSC!!

  • from Somersworth, NH August 26, 2011Music Background:
    DJ, Jazz Pianist

    Sick

    Sounds amazing..easy to transport, easy to set up. Don't worry about crossovers and everything. QSC engineers figured that all out for you.

  • from San Jose, CA July 28, 2011Music Background:
    Musician, Live Sound Guy

    Sweet Addition To Audio System

    Just finishing up a church A/V update project. Decided to add one KSub to round out the sound in the sanctuary of our small church. I dropped by to see how the contractor was doing and he says "listen to this". He played a few tunes off his iPod and I could not believe the difference. The speaker placement is totally out of view on the stage but the sound seems to be coming right from the speaker cluster on the ceiling. I think more than a few parishioners will be scratching their heads trying to fiqure out how that could happen considering we are still using the same original speaker cluster! Great product QSC!

  • from Burlington, Vermont July 20, 2011Music Background:
    Working musician, sideman, bandleader

    A huge improvement to our sound

    The low-end "push" from the KSub, in addition to a pair of K10's made an instant impression on my 9-piece soul band, The Real Deal, and our friends and fans. The shaking on the dance floor proved to be the ultimate test and the KSub passed with flying colors. Now I'm saving my gig $$$ for another! Many thanks to Sweetwater and to QSC !

  • from BRYAN.OH July 1, 2011Music Background:
    LIVE SOUND ENGINEER

    K SUB'S AND K12'S

    HAVE OWNED AND RAN SEVERAL PORTABLE SOUND SYSTEMS AS WELL AS RAN SEVERAL CHURCH SYSTEMS.( 30 YEARS EXPERIENCE) THE WORDS TO DESCRIBE THESE SPEAKERS ARE "MORE THAN EXCEEDING YOUR EXPECTATIONS" WHEN YOU POWER THEN UP. I HAVE COUPLED THEM WITH BOTH A PEAVEY BOARD AS WELL AS A PRESONUS LIVE STUDIO. MAKES EACH ACT FOOLISHLY DELIGHTFUL. CALL GREG AND
    HOLD ON FOR A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE !

  • from Phoenix, AZ April 20, 2011Music Background:
    Full Time Musician (Over 8 Years)

    Amazingly Powerful and Clear

    I recently purchased the 18 Inch KW 181 from QSC. I loved the sub, but found that it was more than what I wanted, and the extra bulk didn't make it any easier.

    I decided to purchase a K Sub instead, and I'm blown away by the power. Like many people purchasing a sub, I was curious how powerful 2 12 inch speakers would be compared to 18, and I must say I'm impressed.

    If you're using this for a full band (drums, bass, etc), I would definitely reccomend purchasing 2 of these subs, to fill in the bass, but I use just one my solo/duo/small band and it's plenty enough power, and the clarity is unmatched. It's powerful but not overpowering if that's make sense :). Another amazing product from QSC.

  • from TEXARKANA, ARKANSAS USA December 31, 2010Music Background:
    JUST FINISHED RECORDING MY NEW ALBUM I'D RATHER HAVE JESUS JUST WAITING TO BE PRESSED AND WRAPPED FOR RELEASE

    GOTTA HAVE ONE THESE

    I HAVE A PAIR OF K12 SPEAKERS. AND YES YES YES THEY ARE AWSOME. BUT WHEN HOOKED UP TO THIS KSUB IT IS THE ICING ON THE CAKE. IF YOU HAVE A PAIR OF K12'S AND WANT THE BEST SOUND IN THE WORLD THEN FORK OUT THE CABBAGE FOR ONE OF THESE BECAUSE IT ADD'S THAT PERFECT BASS DEPTH THAT IS NEEDED.

  • from Anaheim, CA February 25, 2010Music Background:
    Working Pro Musician

    working band's dream sub!

    The K-Sub is the most compact AND powerful sub I've ever used. My band, 7k, recently used them on a 7-week US Tour and used them in every kind of venue imaginable. We also loaded them in and out of every one of those places! They are truly well-designed, reliable, and sound fantastic. In addition to live vocals and instruments, we also ran full-range loops through them and we never ran out of headroom ... ever! For even more detail, please watch my YouTube videos.

  • from Central FL December 22, 2009Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Making 18" subwoofers obsolete dinosaurs?

    I have 2 of these (Along with 2 k12 tops) and they are AMAZING. Plenty of low end kick, and in a warm, pulse-your-heart way. They deliver the results needed, and sound fantastic. A 4000 watt system that can cover a large crowd but be moved in and out of a small vehicle by 1 person in about 5 minutes? I remember only 10 years ago it took twice the van, manpower, space and 4x the weight to deliver half the power.

  • from Naples, FL September 3, 2015Music Background:
    Vocal Jazz Group

    Great addition to QSC K12

    Needed for our setup to get proper sound from our bass player ... once we bought this speaker and paired with QSC K12s our sound improved 100%

  • from San Juan, Puerto Rico, USA January 2, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Performance and sound

    Excellent low frequency and round sound. Perfect coupling with my QSC K12.

  • from Washington, DC August 31, 2011Music Background:
    Full Time DJ

    A great specialty product

    This isn't a pounding dance club sub. It's a musical and punchy sounding well designed solution to a very specific need: how to fill out your frequencies with a small, portable, relatively light design. If you've got a truck, an assistant and more than 200 guests to entertain, you're probably lugging around at least two 18's. This is not for you. If you're running small solo gigs that need a full sound but not boom, here's your sub. There are smaller less expensive options, but I prefer the extended warranty and reliability of QSC.

  • from Seattle, WA April 11, 2011Music Background:
    25 serious keyboard hobbyist & band member

    One piping hot bowl of deep dish bass!

    I own the K12's and added these to complement the setup. WOW does it sound great! I vacillated between the new KW181 as I've seen lots of reviews of people using the K12's & KW181 setup, but decided to go with the Ksub as it's small and fits into my SUV with the rest of my gear.

    Because of it's 12" design, I noticed that the bass is really tight as opposed to 15": and 18" designs that tend to be boomier. With the drivers enclosed in the box, it doesn't get as loud as a direct radiating driver (if the power amp was identical), but it's plenty loud all the same.

    If size/weight is an issue, I would definitly go with this sub....especially for a tighter, but not as loud sound. If you want to make your chest (and other body parts) vibrate, go with the KW181. Either way, you will not go wrong using QSC!

  • from July 29, 2012

    Could Be Better

    Now the reason for my rating could be due to picking the wrong type of sub for the venues, however if I could go back I would not buy this sub. I play in a contemporary Christian band and I purchased a pair of these with a pair of K 12's. CD's sound great but it really falls short of delivering good punch for anything medium size indoor venues or greater. My buddy bouth the exact same rig and when we combine the system it still falls short of chest thumping punch, especially with the kick. We have all high quality mics, tuning is acurate and use a dbx drive rack and presonus kick settings on our new studiolive 24...... My recommendation....go with the KW 181's instead.
    I will be purchasing a new system shortly (trying to decide whether to go jbl unpowered stx series with one top per side of the 825's and dual dual 18's or go with QSC KW series....2 KW 153's per side with 4 KW 181's per side, yes a total of 4 tops and 8 subs) Regardless, if you are set on going qsc powered, which I do believe are great speakers, be sure to go KW, at least for the subs. My buddy also dj's and he really misses the low end club thump!

  • from Baltimore, MD October 3, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound Hobbyist

    I can't make these sound good

    My Experience: I've been handling the live sound for my band for 3-4 years now. We gig 2-3 times a month, mostly in small to medium sized bars.

    Equipment: We use a 16 channel mixer with a Peavey PA system management unit and JBL Mrx515 tops. These subs are the 3rd pair of subs we've had.

    Sound Quality
    These subs sound great with CD's but not so much for live sound. When in a bar (usually with tons of hard surfaces) these sound way too boomy. They also seem to have no definition in the 80-100 hz range. I play bass, and i've never been happy with the sound coming out of these subs. I end up cutting the lows some (20-60hz) and then they barely have any output. We have not had this problem with our old entry level 18" subs or our custom horn loaded 12" subs.

    I think the problem may have to do with them being a 4th order bandpass design.

    Loudness:
    Not as loud as you'd expect for "1000 Watts" 2 of these are enough to handle small bars. Not much more than that. Pretty disappointing for over $2,000

    Portability:
    This was the reason our band chose these. The only weigh 75 pounds and are not awkward to carry at all. It's a 1 man job. Even fits into most sedan trunks.

    Conclusion:
    These this are super light, loud enough for small gigs, but I cannot for the life of me make them sound good.

Questions about the QSC KSub 1000W Dual 12" Powered Subwoofer?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway