0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

M-Audio Keystation Mini 32 Compact 32-key MIDI Keyboard Controller Reviews

4.5 stars based on 40 customer reviews
  • from March 5, 2014

    Great little keyboard

    I'm amazed at the incredible value and quality of this keyboard! The price, the Sweetwater service and the free shipping all added up to a great experience!

    I'll definitely be back!

  • from February 19, 2014

    great controler

    this is such a great controler... amazing construction quality and runs flawlessly , the keys feel nice and solid unlike some other controlers in this price range.. i use this more than my full sized controler

  • from January 9, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, teacher.

    Great portable MIDI controller.

    Portable, fits in my laptop bag. The action is good for such small keys, and I like the minimalistic design. Working with zero issues on Reason 6.5. Recommended!

  • from Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. November 14, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer & DJ.

    Keystation Mini 32

    Excellent tool, is a quick fix for any job, anywhere.

  • from Kansas City, KS September 16, 2013Music Background:
    Audio Engineer

    Great Mobile Station!

    I ordered this keyboard because I have a lot of down time in between classes. I'm always working on something, and this seemed like the perfect portable keyboard to get my ideas down.
    I love that it has 32 keys, it gives me that little extra space to play without having to constantly switch octaves. I didn't realize that it came with Sibelius First when I ordered it, which was a lovely surprise! I love that software and it flows perfectly with my Pro Tools. The mod buttons actually have great response and sound fantastic when I'm scoring out a guitar solo.
    As for the keyboard itself, pretty sturdy. It's a little bit bendable since it's made of plastic but it doesn't seem like it's going to break very easily. Plugs in and works right away, the set-up is easy, it was really no sweat at all. The keys a little bit small, but you have to expect that when you're buying portable keyboards. In comparison to some other keyboards in this price range, I prefer this one the most. The keys react well, and all the buttons feel well-built and sturdy.
    Overall I really enjoy this keyboard and definitely recommend it to anyone who has a mobile studio, or needs something they can use to put all their ideas down.

  • from North, Carolina September 10, 2013Music Background:
    Musician/Recording Engineer

    Ready Gear!

    This piece of gear is Ready, Right out of the Box!!!! Get yours NOW!

  • from Parker, CO July 23, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Awesome!

    For a tiny keyboard this fits well on my desk and helps me to write music in Garage band perfectly.

  • from Santa Rosa, CA April 20, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    The expressive small keyboard I've found

    The wondrous keybed on this sweet little keyboard is set up to work perfectly with this size, not to emulate a larger keyboard, and it works so well. I've had several compact keyboards and none had this level of expressiveness...I wouldn't hesitate to perform with it, for solo parts or chord comping... It just sits on the far side of my computer keyboard with Reason open in the background, ready to play anytime I get an idea in my head. A perfect companion to my Axiom 61. M-Audio delivers again.

  • from Ridgeland sc Usa March 20, 2013Music Background:
    Everything

    Mini 32 keys m audio

    I knew it was going to be small ,so I was thinking that it's was not going to be all that boy was I wrong ,I have done every thing i think that can be done with and it has not let me down at all and I'm still pushing it as far as I can . It plays great sounds great the fill of it soft or banging or how ever you play it rocks you can't go wrong with it it's a must get.

  • from Fort Wayne, IN March 12, 2013Music Background:
    Pro musician, educator, performance, composition

    works like a dream!

    So easy to use, plug in and go....simple controls! Love it!

  • from February 25, 2013Music Background:
    Producer

    M-audio key station mini 32 key

    This is a great item, very compact. Good for on the road or when you just want to chill out and have a session. Overall I rate this 10 out if 10

  • from ridgeland, SC February 23, 2013Music Background:
    drums guitar bass and keys lern it all my self

    M-Audio Mini 32

    Man was i taken bye shock when i got this bad little boy home , i have not or can not keep my hands off it . it does more than i ever was thinking that it could do by the it plays and the feel and the way you can you set the way how hard or how less you have to play makes it the way it is .you just have to have to realy under stand all of what it can do .it can play and do the job as the big boys can do and its small you can take it with you any where in a flat sec thats a plus with me .have fun i no i am.

  • from Houston tx December 2, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Fun, simple, effective

    Great deal for a portable midi controller. Does everything it's intended to do very well. Very happy w my purchase.

  • from Cincinnati, OH April 10, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    A new way to jam with M-Audio

    The M-audio Keystation Mini 32 works great writhe the iPad 2 and GarageBand piano sounds. We even use this on stage now. Less equipment to carry how wonderful.

  • from Bronx, New York March 21, 2012Music Background:
    Producer/Mixing Engineer

    best thing for traveling

    Amazing on the go to work on your track right when you get your ideas

  • from United States January 23, 2012Music Background:
    Recording,Engineer, Producer, Singer-Songwriter, Musician, etc. (The list goes on)

    Best piece of eqipment I've had in a while

    I was looking for something small specifically for when I'm traveling but also for when I just need to write in a quick part in a track. I originally had gotten the Korg Nanokey but it felt cheap and gave me all sorts of problems when trying to get it to work. This controller is really amazing. Feels good, plug and play, I've even managed to play a two-handed part with it. Sustain is great. the Modulation and pitch shifting take a bit of getting used to but after using it one or 2 times you'll figure it out.

  • from February 25, 2014

    Great controller!

    For the price, this is a steal. The installation was easy with FL 11, it was just plug and play, and setting it up in the MIDI options. Sadly, it lacks a Pitch Bend and Mod Wheel, but for the price, it is understandable.

  • from United States October 2, 2013Music Background:
    Praise and Worship Drummer, Live Sound, Hobbyist

    Great Little Keyboard

    Nice little keyboard. I think my daughter finds it less intimidating than a full size unit, so she is really playing around with it more than I thought she would. For the basic parts I need to track, it works great. iPad/Garageband compatibility is a big plus also. Sweetwater can't be beat. For the level of service I've received, you would have thought I spent ten times what I did on this piece of gear. I will definitely use and recommend Sweetwater for my future purchases.

  • from Fort Wayne, IN. USA September 26, 2013Music Background:
    Artist, Producer, Recording Engineer (Learning)

    Cool Lil Controller

    I got this for my mobile studio so that I can lay down instrument parts while traveling or whatever. I like the overall size of this unit and it has a pretty nice feel to it. It works great with Reason 7 and Studio One. No drivers needed, just plug and play.

  • from September 3, 2013

    Simple and great!!

    Its great tool, size is perfect, light, but solid.. Nice feel and no latency!!!

  • from Glenwood Springs CO July 25, 2013Music Background:
    Sax/Flute professional for 45 years

    Great for the money

    Works as advertised, and I love the compactness for traveling.

  • from Chicago, IL July 22, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer

    Perfect

    Perfect in terms of size when paired with my 15in Mac... the key response seems to be a delayed, but overall an amazing... music having for the traveling/mobile producer/editor.

  • from United States July 10, 2013Music Background:
    recording & gigging musician

    sweet lil' keyboard!!!

    this keyboard is wonderful. i moved and that created some space constraints for me but this item really saved the day. it plays real well and it feels great, once you play with the velocity curve presets and match them to your playing style. your not going to be able to play bruce hornsby type runs but, as long as you're ok with this reality, i'm sure you're gonna love this lil' keyboard.

  • from Orlando, FL February 23, 2013Music Background:
    Live sound engineer / and project recording keyboardist/ drummer.

    Great for traveling people.

    It would've been 5 stars if it actually came with a manual or even a paper that told me how to program the thing. The keyboard is labeled with common ways of programming but there is so much more. Not sure why M-audio didn't just label it with every option. I had to print the labels and tape it to the bottom for quick reference.
    At first I didn't think any of the buttons could be reprogrammed but it can.
    I can make the volume knob any MIDI function like PAN. The octave key can be a MIDI channel changer for 16 of the channels if you want!
    This is a great unit. I'd recommend this.

  • from Columbus, OH September 11, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer, Pro Musician, Keyboardist

    Lets me make music anywhere

    I really enjoy this keyboard! It fits in my bookbag so I take it everywhere and when I have an idea i get it out and start making music. I've used it for live performance with pad. Since it has 32 keys I can use two hands, I will say it comes no where close to feeling like real keys but it gets the job done and when I'm done it goes back in the book bag. I've even sat at Starbucks with my macbook pro, headphones and this little guy and had a great time writing and chill in at the coffee shop I even got a few looks from people who ended up listening to the stuff I was making and really enjoyed what I wrote. Overall its worth it.

  • from Clearlake CA November 27, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Excellent

    Great keyboard....this little wonder really plays and sounds great...perfect for my new recording studio!

  • from Fort Lauderdale, FL USA November 12, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Value, Quite Playable

    I am a guitarist, but I know my way around a keyboard. Although the keys are small, they are playable, and the 32-key range is enough to not feel limited when performing keyboard parts.

    However, the problem I had was that I could not get it to play right out of the box. The issue was that it runs on Windows drivers, and I had to go to a lot of forums and help pages to figure out how to properly configure the Windows drivers. I don't think I even knew what a driver was, or how to control them. Now I'm practically an expert.

    Perhaps the MIni Keystation 32 should come with detailed intstructions about how to configure your Windows drivers, and your DAW. Took me a long time.

  • from Santa Cruz, CA May 28, 2013Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer

    Handy on the go

    This is a great little keyboard for people who want to have the on-the-go convenience of a portable midi keyboard for your laptop. It's perfect for working remotely at Starbucks, a friends house, etc. I would not recommend using this as your primary keyboard by any means though. It can be a little annoying if using day-in and day-out for your musical needs. The pitch bend and all other extras are nice. I didn't use the software that came with it, but that's a nice addition for anyone who is just starting out. Reason 7 found it right away and was able to use without any extra software or patch installations. The keys have a semi-weighted pressure to them so that you can play hard or soft. For the price this is an amazing keyboard and I recommend it for a wonderful grab and go use.

  • from Nashville May 11, 2013Music Background:
    Home studio enthusiast.

    A neat inexpensive controller

    It's small, playable, and for the price, it's perfect for my bedroom "studio."

  • from Houston Texas April 18, 2013Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Mini 32

    small foot print with acceptable playability. Plug and play!

  • from Ashtabula, Ohio March 27, 2013Music Background:
    Retired HS Band Director

    The M-Audio Keystation Mini 32

    Bought this mini keyboard to take on trips with me so I can work on FINALE arrangements during down times. Fits perfectly into my carry-on and does most everything my full sized keyboard does.

  • from Conway, AR March 10, 2013Music Background:
    Musician & Teacher

    Easy to use, feels a little cheap

    For me, it has one what it should, plug & play, from the beginning. That earns it the high rating. One or two of the keys squeak consistently, giving it a bit of a cheap feeling. However, I expected a compact data entry tool, not a live performance instrument. So, expectations met.

  • from San diego August 9, 2012Music Background:
    Ableton

    Still an Maudio

    Very thin keyboard. Does what it says. Don't take it apart though. The cheap cheap maudio midi ribbon is haphazardly soldered on and will tear off. Also the keybed is slightly warped due to shortcuts in manufacturing. Still the thinnest board though and a good feel..

  • from July 30, 2012

    M-Audio Keystation Mini 32

    Its a Good Portable keyboard that's easy to acess and to carry on the go if u need a small portable keyboard u will be satisfied on this!!.

  • from March 31, 2012Music Background:
    student

    mini 32

    Bought this for my teenege son for simple recording stuff. He loves and we were very impressed with the customer service. Had a call the night we ordered to confirm our order and had a call after receiving it to see how we liked it. Would definitely order from here again

  • from Eugene, OR February 20, 2012Music Background:
    Computer Engineer, Audio Engineer, Music Technology Engineer, Member of the music cult

    Pretty nifty button pushing!

    This keyboard is a life saver! I commute a lot and a full sized keyboard is just out of the question. I can fin this keyboard, my Maschine, Komplete Audio 6, and a Novation Nocturn in a laptop bag. Its 100% USB bus powered, super light weight, relatively cheap, and quick & easy to setup up so you can get to work right away. The only draw backs are that there isn't a pitch bend or mod wheel, and there is no after-touch; but those features would have marked up the price quite a bit though and made it bigger... so a 4-star is appropriate. Every thing else is solid. The only other keyboard this size with more then 25 keys is the Korg model and its bigger then it looks in the pictures and suitable for most laptop bags.

    I would defiantly recommend this keyboard to anyone regardless of if you have a full sized keyboard. Its cheap, looks good, and does the trick. Its perfect for Maschine/(MPC Studio) users looking for something that will integrate with a laptop setup.

  • from Los Angeles, CA December 2, 2011Music Background:
    Film composer, glass armonica

    Does the job

    I needed a midi keyboard for note entry to get a job done sitting in a hotel room. This did the job nicely. Don't expect to really 'play' it very well--the keys are narrower than standard and feel very mushy. But it takes up hardly any space in my suitcase. Doesn't need any special drivers either, although a couple times I did have to go into Cubase and reset the midi devices to get it working--easy enough.

  • from Pittsburgh, PA March 31, 2012Music Background:
    Guitar hobo, recording hobbyist

    M-Audio Keystation Mini 32 - Does what it does

    An extremely simple (and that's a good thing for me) piece of equipment, that has made me realize how little I need a MIDI controller. I record guitar, bass & vocals into Garageband, and I thought it would be nice to have a controller to lay down quick basslines, kick-and-snare, etc.

    I have found, though, that I barely use it, but that is no reflection on the quality of the unit. It seems sturdy enough for light studio use, but I doubt if it would take much abuse. Very simple to set up -- I plugged it in, and it worked! That's on an iMac, so I can't offer an opinion on PC operation.

    I have no complaints whatsoever, although I'm not using it heavily, so take that for what you will. Looks nice on my desk though :-)

  • from January 2, 2014

    Great little keyboard but poor usb port

    I liked this keyboard initially. Nice portable solution except...
    I'm marking this down for one main reason. The usb port is poorly made. Actually it is a surface mount to the circuit board there is nothing mechanically holding it except a tiny bit of solder. One small bump on the connector and it is time to throw it away. And of course it is surface mount and so tiny that it can't be resoldered even with the proper equipment. The traces get pulled right off the circuit board.
    When it worked, it was a nice keyboard. But that mini usb port should be mounted better. The current design is poor, especially when considering that this is meant to be portable.

  • from Milwaukee, WI July 23, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Musician.

    Physical wheels.....

    This is an ok portable controller. For $69.00, one really I wish they had put a physical mod/pitch wheel on it though. I would also like to see a portable controller with a sustain slot on it for a pedal as well; not too much to ask, right?

Questions about the M-Audio Keystation Mini 32 Compact 32-key MIDI Keyboard Controller?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway