0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Shure KSM44A Large-diaphragm Condenser Microphone Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Shure KSM44A Large-diaphragm Condenser Microphone?

Questions about the Shure KSM44A Large-diaphragm Condenser Microphone?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from OH January 23, 2017Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer/Composer/MusicianGear Reviewer

    New Favorite!

    This is definitely an underrated microphone. For the money, you can't beat it. Fantastic on male vocals and acoustic guitar. It sounds awesome on kick when paired with a dynamic kick mic and also makes for a great overhead mic. No mic is perfect on everything, but I give this a 5/5 because it is DEFINITELY a microphone you want to have at least two of.

  • from Southern California May 2, 2014Music Background:
    Songwriter, Producer, Multi-Instrumentalist

    The Best

    This is easily the best mic I have ever owned. Super detailed, high resolution sound, very versatile mic. Female vocals sound angelic!
    I REGRET selling mine when I closed down my project studio a few years back and this is one mic that I want back!!

  • from Tampa, Florida June 23, 2012Music Background:
    Composer, Lyricist, Vocalist, Musician, Comedy Writer(stress relief for serious writing).

    REAL! Absolutely silent, absence of self noise, and with accurate reality of sound!

    The silence of this microphone is stunning.
    It makes you stop, and pause, just, and only to listen, to it's 'nothingness of quiet'!
    But then when you make a sound for it to hear, it is a natural and authentic accuracy of reproduction, if you will, with fine and clear clarity.
    Thanks once again to our Friends at Sweetwater Sound.
    Your shipping and packaging is outstanding over and over again!
    A special gratitude to Mr. Shaun Friedman.
    You have helped to make Sweetwater Sound my Professional Sound company of choice.

  • from Tifton, GA May 5, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician

    Neutral, Shimmering, a workhorse

    I have owned the predecessor of this mic, the KSM44 for years and I can say I have no complaints with it. In fact, I bought a second so I have a matched pair. It's great as drum overheads, lead vocal, acoustic gtr, electric gtr cabs, etc. There's just nothing that won't sound good through this. I have recorded projects and never EQ'd the material recorded by this MIC. Love it!!!

  • from Rochester NY January 16, 2011Music Background:
    Home recording studio/ Bass player in worship team

    What you play/say is what you get!!

    I just bought it!!! This mic is very flat in its response. What you hear with your ear is what you'll hear in the recording. I tried this mic in front of an acoustic guitar, bass amp, and vocals. Its very clear, clean, and un colored!!! One thing I noticed in particular is that vocals really stand out!! I've waited a long time and I've done a lot of research but I've finally found my mic! Great shock mount and accessories!! The polar patterns are amazing!!!!

  • from United States November 4, 2013Music Background:
    Tracking Engineer, Student, Songwriter

    If you can't make great music with a KSM44A, you're doing it wrong

    Like the title suggests, the KSM44A, is the most versatile, great sounding mic I've ever used. With it, you can get a fantastic sound from male or female vocals, any guitar, drum, etc. With the polar pattern settings, you really get an assortment of tones than all sound fantastic their own way. For some low male voices, it might be a little bright, but this is easily fixed by running it through a low-impedance preamp, which is exactly what I'm doing to a record one of my clients who has a very smooth true-bass voice, and it is the best sound I've ever gotten out a vocal. Fantastic mic for any source.

  • from United States March 2, 2013Music Background:
    Composer/performer

    Longer review of the ksm44a

    Many of Shure's products have become industry/studio standards throughout the years because they just work, and work well. Their mics seem to " get the job done", without frills. Their products remind me of a 'military grade', constructed to be functional and to last . I've read somewhere that they actually do test and torture their products way beyond other manufacturers. I have no affiliation with the company. This is an honest review.
    I recently purchased the KSM44a and am in the process of selling my AKG c214, which I bought on a whim. I have owned about 10 different mid-range mics..most I consider good, but over time ended up tiring of them, and selling them. I mainly used them for vocals as well as acoustic guitar. This Mic is heavy and seems built like a tank.
    The best subjective way I can describe the sound of the KSM44a (in cardioid) is somewhat of a slight color. Of the 3 polar patterns, the cardioid is the hottest (+6db), and the brightest. The upper-mids are accentuated, giving the vocalist a very present 'up-front' sound; a mid-lift without any harsh high end. I have become allergic over the years to mics with any kind of harshness to them. The sound of this mic is very pleasing to my ears..more than any other mic I have owned.. Unlike many other mid-priced mics I owned (the ksm44a happens higher priced, but you can get god deals on them) that seem to try to shape the sound to be appealing; this one seems to give you back what you put into it, but in a more mid-forward and flattering way. This is not a 'WOW' mic, but more of an 'A-HA' mic…gives me back what I've imagined I am supposed to sound like, only slightly better. Put another way, although this mic can be used as a home studio mic, it seems its main purpose is as a STUDIO mic. You'll know the difference if you have used many other mics. The other polar patterns add to the functionality as they have different frequency responses (and are not as 'hot' as the cardioid mode)'.
    To summarize there is NO one mic that fits everyone/everything, but this is a very, very good honest mic that seems especially well tailored for vocals. I give it 5 stars and I ain't sellin' this one. Shure really did their homework.

  • from San Diego, CA December 23, 2011Music Background:
    Classical Musician

    Shure KSM44A - clean and clear

    A great microphone- very clean and clear. Love the selectable patterns for different recording applications. Great for adding depth of sound to a recording. Solid construction but also comes with a rugged travel-case.

  • from New York October 24, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Studio Vocalist/Producer/Entertainer

    A Solid Workhorse

    The original KSM44 (non A version) was my first professional microphone. I purchased it when I built the first incarnation of my vocal studio. It beat out a ton of microphones for me during a shoot out of mics under $1000 and was my workhorse for years recording vocals, guitars, cello, viola, room mic, etc. I used this to record my vocals on a major international release that I was a part of and featured on. It's still in my mic locker, although used a bit less these days. The KSM44 is a very neutral mic, capturing the source as it is without coloring the sound much. It is bright, but not overtly so. It does not have a huge low end like some of it's more expensive competition, but the low end is solid and balanced.

Questions about the Shure KSM44A Large-diaphragm Condenser Microphone?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway