rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Shure KSM313/NE Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Shure KSM313/NE?

Questions about the Shure KSM313/NE?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Sam Hillman

    The Shure KSM313 is a true workhorse ribbon microphone. I recently won a recording competition using the KSM313 when tracking drums, aux percussion, electric guitar, dobro, upright bass, and vibraphone. It excelled at capturing the perfect combination of detail and vibe that only a ribbon mic can deliver.

  • from Philadelphia October 24, 2016

    Perfect VO Mic

    I was looking for the best ribbon for voice overs when I bought this. I do mostly audiobooks so the less sensitivity to mouth noise is a big plus with a ribbon. Saves hours in post.

    The sound is fantastic (I use the back side). No one can believe I am adding no EQ, it is that warm. The raw file sounds like it has already been mastered.

    Have not used anything else in months now. Blows away my Sennheiser 416.

  • from Tulsa, OK October 2, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer / Mixer / Musician

    Wow. Seriously.

    This mic is special. I was looking for a mic that could excel on outside kick, guitar amps, loud vocalists, so naturally my impulse said something like a condenser with high SPL handling. The problem was, most condensers I tried were far too bright for guitar amps and loud vocals. I wanted more detail and less honk than a dynamic though. I assumed ribbons were out of the picture because of plosives on vocalists and heavy air movement from the kick. However, after reading about the Roswellite material that can withstand air blasts, I figured I'd give it a shot. MAN - this thing kills! So smooth, so versatile, totally durable. Doesn't flinch. Sounds amazing on all those things! Almost similar sound to a 67, actually. Not nearly as much low end as most ribbons (which is good, I usually had to roll that off anyway). Fits in the mix great!

    Highly, highly recommended.

  • from iquique Chile June 16, 2012Music Background:
    Owner Recording Studio, drummer.

    Great! buy one now!!!!!

    is the best microphone I've used for recording guitar, combined with the SM57, is the perfect combination ..... captures the voices and exquisite quality, very happy I bought

  • from Bellingham, WA December 16, 2009Music Background:
    Aspiring professional guitarist.

    KSM 313 For Electric Guitar

    I recently purchashed this mic to use with my live electric guitar rig. I put the 313 right in front of my AC30 when i got it, and was completely blown away by the sound quality coming from the PA. It pretty much sounded like i was playing directly into the system...unreal. Not to mention this mic is hott looking!

  • from The Great State of Texas April 8, 2015Music Background:
    Owner Rough Wood Recording Studio

    Versatile Mic!

    I have 2 of these we were just using for tracking acoustic guitar. The sound is right even before EQ, etc.

    Read reviews using for drums and other loud/plosive sound and Wow! They were right!

    These mics sound great whatever you throw at em'. I even have a singer who uses the KSM313 for his very dynamic vocals. A very clean, low noise mic.

    You can't go wrong. Upgrade to the KSM313 and 353.

  • from New Orleans, La. June 17, 2013Music Background:
    Keyboards, vocals, AVID studio since '99, engineer, producer, teacher... 40+years

    Gotta'get another !

    This is my first Ribbon Mic . . . after reading about them for years and years Nick at SW and I decided this Shure313 would be my best bet for a 'starter' Ribbon. WOW! What a sweet sound... from both sides noless. It's a different kinda'mic and took a bit getting use to, ear-wize but it's sweet. Oh, and I'm only using the 003's preamp. I'm gonna'get a real Ribbon pre (probably an AEA) and a.s.a.p. I'm thinking a Royer for my next Ribbon. Thanks Nick.

  • from San German, Puerto Rico March 21, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarrist, producer, recording eng. , Grammy voting member

    Nice sound for kick drum

    Placed it outside the drum hole with a Senn e901 inside the drum to pick up the batter. Got a nice round sound that needed minimal EQ.

    This mic has endless posibilities and could turn out to be a Swiss army knife for us here

  • from Paonia, CO. October 9, 2009Music Background:
    Performing songwriter, Live and studio sound engineer. 10 years.

    Did The Job...

    I told my sales engineer I was looking for a solution for a live singer songwriter situation in the studio. He suggested the KSM 131. I used it in conjunction with a large diagram tube condenser and the results were exceptional. The guitar bleed was reduced DRAMATICALLY; the vocal was relaxed and strong. Mixed in with the tube mic it was just about perfect. It made my session a 100% more workable. My mix time was reduced dramatically and my client was thrilled. I did not expect to drop a chunk of change on this mic but it was worth it. I can see this mic making it's way into a bunch of recordings where I need a nice clean, full, relaxed sound. Thanks Sweetwater. Yippeee.

  • from NY April 27, 2015Music Background:
    Mastering and mixing engineer, musician.

    Oh yea... It's worth it.

    It's a re-branded Crowley and Tripp. Remember those? If you don't... Well let's just say Shure liked the designs so much that they bought the whole hog. These mics are all over big studios and voice-over facilities. Great for vocals and guitar.

Questions about the Shure KSM313/NE?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway