0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Korg KR mini Rhythm Machine Reviews

4.0 stars based on 32 customer reviews
Questions about the Korg KR mini Rhythm Machine?

Questions about the Korg KR mini Rhythm Machine?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • John
    from NJ January 18, 2016

    Great simple use!

    The KR Mini has a whole set of patterns, genres, and pads but its in a simple to use product. Is it a high-end drum machine? Nope. It's a great little device, simple to use, for under $80.

    I use it instead of a metronome and play it through the aux on my Vox Mini5 or my little Vox AP-2 when practicing or improvising.

    The speaker is pretty good for the compact size and I have it playing out loud when I use my AC10C1 Vox. Works great.

  • Customer
    from December 11, 2015

    mini rhythm

    great once amplified

  • Robert Pearson
    from Valley Stream, New York USA March 12, 2015Music Background:
    Singer, song writer and musician

    Very satisfied..

    This rhythm machine is just what I've been looking for. It meets all of my recording needs. I am very satisfied with this purchase.

  • Caster Blaster
    from northern Nevad October 28, 2014Music Background:
    various. Venturing into electric bass guitar

    Works well for regaining rhythm

    Very clean and simple. I used this with a practice drum pad. After enduring several strokes, I couldn't even do a drum roll with my right hand. It would just go limp. Within one hour of practicing with this rhythm machine and practice pad, I was able to do tight drum rolls. Also, I could by the end of the day, I could match most of the rhythms well. I was very surprised how much this helped and how quickly I improved. I got this after discussing with my tech Ryan Clapper. Thank you Ryan again.

  • Janine
    from Hamilton, New Jersey October 15, 2014Music Background:
    Piano player/singer

    Best investment I've made .

    I have trouble with my timing while playing piano and this little machine is perfect. I have been told that I'm showing a 100% difference in the way I sound. The basic metronomes make me crazy but with this korg I feel like I have a drummer right next to me to keep me on the right rhythm.

  • Yvon Champagne
    from Kingston, N.H. August 25, 2014Music Background:
    Weekend warrior with a country band. Also do some writing and "tracking" on the side.

    This thing is a "little monster"...

    Couldn't believe how fast it got here. Then, after I cranked it on, got another surprise. Couldn't believe what this thing can do and how easy it is to operate.

  • John
    from Florida April 25, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Novel Approach Pays Off Big

    This is one of the coolest pieces of gear I have seen in a long time. I only practice guitar with this rhythm machine now. Exceeded my expectations. Two thumbs up...

  • Kingsley Chong
    from Canada February 13, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist and retired

    Fantastic rhythm pal

    Just happened to find it while doing a search for a tempo buddy.
    All I can say is WOW....whether used in a quiet practice setting or plugged in via the USB aux to an amplifier this is the ultimate in portable and affordable rhythm machines! My guitar club members were just thrilled to have this addition to our weekly jam sessions. No more playing without a regular tempo and drum effects!

  • Bob Ingram
    from Shreveport Area February 4, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician 44 Years

    Korg KR Mini, Well worth the money!!!

    First, let's take a look at what you get for the money. There's nothing in this price range that'll come close. Best 80 bucks you can spend on a new machine. Almost any acoustic player will benefit from this machine that's only a little more expensive than a boring metronome. I won't get into any other aspect of this. If you want high-dollar samples, then go buy high-dollar samples. I gave one to a student/friend (acoustic guitarist) and he loves it! I gave it 5 stars because it's alone in it's class.

  • Chris N.
    from Lived coast to cast, & every other region in USA & have studied Music at Berklee in Boston, MA & also out in Recording School of L.A., as Well as MI institutes January 25, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Audio Engineer (avid Certified), Musician, Teacher, Student, etc (music is my life)

    5 Stars for Price & features! Best little rythmn & on portable Drum Machine for under $75 on the Market Today!!!

    First Off, anyone who thinks they are getting something for $75 in this category & are expecting PRO TOOLS HD BOXED SET Quality, you are kidding yourself, & if you are having trouble with the product, read THE INSTUCTION MANUAL! LOL And A lastly it helps to put batteries in it even if you are using it through a different power source whether it's via phantom powered or ac adapter etc, bc this just helps enusre you have some sort of way of power for the machine & that it also helps it remember most of you customizing fills & stuff you've done on the go and with computer workstation for another example. Now is this product Flawless, NO, But is it better than what else is available on the market these days for any guitarist, musician, and anyone else whose entering the world of grove production as well as drum machines for the money? The Answer is YES!!! It's way better than any crappy zoom or or older Digitech guitar pedals that have very bland drum beats & patterns built in them to play with! THIS IS ALSO A GUITARISTS' DREAM & IDEAL Piece of Equipment that you can take on the Go and get Back that New inspiration to play & make or write new music to or with! The Out option is also nice bc if you have a loud amp you can plug it in to a Monitor or PA or your computer workstation for instance, or just use for practicing with out an amplifier late at night or on the go with the Battery powered option with it's built in speakers & actually for 2w speakers, it gets Much louder than one would typically expect for a typical 2watt speaker. Also my band's Drummer & I also love this thing for creating stuff in pro-tools & all other major audio engineering programs that are out there today for musicians to use bc we can make Both Experimental Stuff AS WELL AS actual NEW Backtracks of drums & rhythms to new songs we just created on the fly, & I can take home both a hard copy of the track on cd or a compressed mp3 or mp4 Itunes file on my ipod to plug in to my PA to practice with when my Drummer isn't around. IT IS also cool bc my drummer can save the new rythmns, beats, &fills he just made also on the Korg KR mini itself & also just use that if your on a tight budget & still practice guitar with to your new tracks. I highly recommend for any Guitarist & musician on A tight Budget to have a NICE Clean sounding (one of best to date sounding drum patterns & fills that beats all of Zooms G2-present drum tracks & as well as All of digitechs older way out of date sounding RP series pedals drum tracks too that aren't very real sounding untill you spend bank on a mediocre RP with ipad or ios device compatibility (that still requires you to spend A LOT more $ on additional add on packs & apps)! If you have a big Studio budget, then obviously you can get a $1,000+ rhythm /drum machine or very new high tech groove production item or items that will give you what a STUDIO WOULD TUPICALLY HAVE, but for those who travel a lot & those on a Tight Budget, Spend the $ on this MINI KR & you won't be disappointed at all! Just DON'T expect to get a (MSRP $1,000+ type of product by Raising the bar too high that Realistically speaking, you know that can never be met)! Give this little guy a chance! & besides You get a Free 2 year Warranty on it, so if something is not right, Sweetwater will have your back & help you make it right bc they are Real people not just typicall other companies that are just like SELL SELL SELL!). 4.9 - 5/ 5 Stars!!! Best on the market for the $ IMO!

  • FINERS CRYER
    from WESTLAKE, LA. October 23, 2015Music Background:
    MASTERS DEGREE; 50 YEARS EXPERIENCE IN PLAYING, AND RECORDING

    OVERALL SERVICE

    SERVICE WAS FAST, EFFICIENT, AND THE PRODUCT WAS VERY USEABLE AND PROVIDED NEEDED DRUM BEATS AND FILLS WITH A MUCH NEEDED SIZE. THANKS SWEETWATER. LOOKING FORWARD TO MORE BUSINESS TRANSACTIONS.

  • Lori
    from Robinson IL December 29, 2014Music Background:
    Banjo picker in Bluegrass band

    Rhythm Machine

    It is working like a charm for my husband he wanted to be able to play and increase his speed on the banjo and this is just the thing to keep him in time while enabling him to increase his speed and accuracy at the same time.

  • Bill
    from Wahpeton ND October 28, 2014Music Background:
    Novice

    Great for the money

    I can't say much for the built in speaker. Sound like beating a can with a wooden stick. But hook it up to a amp and the sound is very good. It greatly improved my timing while playing. It is good for practice and not to bad for recording. If your looking for pro quality keep looking, otherwise I would recommend it for anyone on a low budget.

  • Bill Jones
    from Wahpeton, ND October 7, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great for hobby and home use

    Built in patterns are good, how ever I had a fun (LOL) time under standing the instructions for recording my own patterns without a base pattern as I wanted to record 3/4 count (waltz) patterns. I finely got it right.. The built in speaker sounds like hitting a small can with a stick, but connected to amp the patterns sound great.
    If your on a limited budget I would recommend this drum machine.

  • Pablo A Rosado
    from Philadelphia, PA August 18, 2014Music Background:
    Personal use

    Jorge kr mini

    Good. I use for practice with my guitar.

  • Larry Jordan
    from Normandy Park, WA February 2, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Blues

    Practice

    This is very good for what it does. I think of it like a top shelf metronome. I bought it so I could use it upstairs with my Martin and just wanted to practice my timing and basic lines. The build it speaker is more than good enough.

  • Eric
    from Illinois January 31, 2014Music Background:
    guitar player

    Awesome practice tool

    I've been dreaming that someone would make something like this for years. I don't like practicing to the monotonous click of a metronome. I always wanted a simple little drum machine with a speaker and battery power that I can move around with me. I can sit and "jam" in front of the tv, or in the back yard, or at the kitchen table. I can take it to band practice and use it to help illustrate a new tune to the fella's. If you are looking for a full feature drum machine with bells and whistles, that's not what this is, this is an awesome little tool for keeping up your timing while you practice, or write tunes, and have a little fun doing it. Inspirational tool, kudos to Korg. Well done.

  • Customer
    from May 4, 2017

    keeps the beat

    We use it to fill in at practice when our drummer can't be there. Keeps a steady beat but the little guy has no soul :)

  • David
    from Houston area Texas February 16, 2015Music Background:
    Musician

    Great for the Money

    This little drum machine does a fine job. Wish you could tell the actual beat count but other than that it's a very good device. The little speaker makes it sound shallow but hook it up to an amp or other device with real speakers and sounds very good.

  • Skip
    from Galen Hall January 3, 2015Music Background:
    weird

    Drum

    Surprised by how good it sounded

  • Sam
    from Cleveland, OH December 1, 2014Music Background:
    guitar/bass, student

    The metronome that I've always wanted.

    I just got mine today and it is beyond hopes. Incredibly easy to use, this is essentially the drum machine and metronome that I've always wanted. The drum sounds are what you would expect for the price but for practicing around the house or jammin with friends its a great option if you don't have a drummer handy.

  • William Todd
    from Islamorada October 16, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Guitarist, Singer, Songwiter, Recording Engineer, Guitar dealer VAR.

    Cool little Drum Box, Make a Pro Version!

    This is a great little drum machine for it's intended user, student, rehearsing musician, hobbyist recorder. What I would LOVE to see is a small pro box like this with more user memory. A little Pro unit designed for LIVE use. I have to say that 70 to 80% of the patches in the KR are WAY TOO BUSY for any practical use .....It's so easy to get carried away and OVER PROGRAM a drum machine. (Trust me I have DM experience since the 1980's) I suppose they burnt them in because they thought that Bump-a-chicka...Bump-a-chicka would not sell units.
    BUT What you need is Basic Rhythm - there but not there.... a groove that you can play off of.
    I love the size, love the mobility, the built in speakers... the sounds are really pretty good considering the price and the controls are simple. GREAT! Gradation in BPM for the tempo knob is essential but missing. Come on Korg, make a little Pro Drummer for $200 with a few more features that acts can jam live with WITHOUT having to go All Karaoke like everyone seems to be doing, and (soapbox now) I'm sorry but one guy standing there with the ENTIRE Track playing is Karaoke... NOT a Professional Musical Act.

  • Customer
    from June 27, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Korg KR mini Rhythm Machine

    Great little machine for the price I use it for practicing Guitar. Makes it much more fun. As others have said would be nice if the added a number on the dial for beats per minute or at least just reference numbers of some kind.

  • B. Best
    from Nashville, TN USA July 28, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Songwriter, Vocalist

    MY BOX (Easy to Use)

    Yeah, my Korg KR mini Rhythm Machine did the trick for my weekend acoustic gig. I ran it directly into the PA System/Sound Board. Sometimes when it's a small show that doesn't budget for your real drummer, this kinda thing can substitute pretty good; especially when you get there and people expect to dance. Although, I haven't had the chance to mess with the programming part of it yet, I still was able to press a button and turn a few knobs and BAM... that Latin beat made my crowd dance ! It was like White Stripes... Just me on Guitar & my Korg Drummer. Hahaha. I'll probably use it again for future gigs; but we all know that a human drummer is irreplaceable.

  • Bluesman50
    from April 21, 2015Music Background:
    Beginner Bass Guitar Student

    Korg KR mini Rhythm Machine

    Very cool and easily operated device for the price.

  • Retro
    from Hawaii October 21, 2014Music Background:
    Performing Musician

    Perfect Practice Partner

    I like it.

  • David Parker
    from Houston September 5, 2014Music Background:
    retired music minister and live audio professional

    has it's merits, drawbacks

    It has no 3/4 time presets. You can record and save a 3/4 time preset, but it does not have quantitize, so you have to tap it in perfectly. All it has for tempo is a knob with no markings, no readout to tell you the tempo. It does a decent job for what it does. The internal speakers are louder than I would have expected, you can hear them over an unplugged acoustic guitar. I sing unplugged with acoustic guitar in nursing homes and it will suffice to give me a steady rhythm to follow. It is a very decent practice tool.

  • Randy Ferden
    from Algona, IA October 5, 2016

    Review Korg KR mini Rhythm Machine

    I thought this Korg KR-Mini rhythm machine was just what I have been searching for, for a long time. It kind of is, but it falls short of what it could have been. I know they say this is a practice machine, but why can't someone make a simple usable drum machine for a solo performer? I don't want to copy and paste and all that stuff. I just want a usable drum machine. I like that it is push-button, and potentiometer operated, but it should have a dial to PRE-SET a bpm so you can set it for a song, and go. It should also have a PHONE plug output jack, so you can use a regular guitar cable to plug into an amp instead of a 1/8" that you have to go out and buy an oddball cable to make it work. Also, what happened to the WALTZ beat? Don't these guys think that exists anymore? So, it is what they say it is. A PRACTICE machine.

  • Customer
    from October 15, 2015

    Disappointment

    Bought this to use with an acoustic group - bass, guitars, mandolin. The sounds are OK for the price but the patterns are not that great. The pattern programming is not intuitive but it can be done with some practice.

    My main complaint it the lack of a count-in. Pressing the START just starts the pattern playing making it useless for live performance and really not that useful for recording. It may be possible to get the count-in but I have not found it after several frustrating hours playing with it, reading and re-reading the meager users guide.

    If you just want a cheap drum box with OK sounds, then this works. Anything more, don't waste your money.

  • Jeffrey Ramsdell
    from Massachusetts March 27, 2016

    Lots to be desired

    This thing has easily got the worlds worst owner's manual imaginable!Very tiny print,very vague and switches from five or more languages on both sides of the folded "manual".I can't figure out how to make my own patterns with this.Very poor sound quality for live use.I wanted it as a practice tool,so that wasn't a big deal.The only practice I got out of this thing was seeing how much self control I have to keep from throwing it into a wall.Don't wast your time on this thing.

  • Emery Benoit
    from Lake Charles , La. June 28, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    KR Mini

    I'll keep it , cause it was a Demo. It keeps the beat that you set it at.
    Poor sound quality . It sounds like someone beating on some pots
    and pans. "Sorry" But it is what it is .

  • jerry brogden
    from United States January 15, 2014Music Background:
    60 years musician

    korg mini rhythm machine

    can not figure out how to set rhythms - poor quality sound of horrible one beat that it made - not suitable for anyone with ears

Questions about the Korg KR mini Rhythm Machine?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway