0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Motion Sound KP-500SN - 500W 2x12" Keyboard Amp Reviews

4.5 stars based on 19 customer reviews
Questions about the Motion Sound KP-500SN - 500W 2x12" Keyboard Amp?

Questions about the Motion Sound KP-500SN - 500W 2x12" Keyboard Amp?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Nick Schenkel

    Playing a keyboard through a mono amp is like watching a 3-D movie with one eye closed; it totally misses the point. Motion Sound makes some of the best-sounding stereo keyboard amps I've seen (or heard). You owe it to yourself, your keyboard, and your sounds to plug into one and hear what you've been missing.

  • from Pennington, NJ July 4, 2016

    Love This Amp!

    Without a doubt, this is the best keyboard amp I have ever used. Puts all my other keyboard amps to shame, and I love the fact that it is a stereo amp. Beautiful sound and lots of power. My neighbors may not always like it, but it was the perfect addition to use with my extensive synth collection. I had one small issue when it arrived: most of the control knobs were floating loose in the box, with a few missing. As is always the case with Sweetwater, they got on the horn to Motion Sound and got a fresh batch of knobs out to me ASAP. While this amp is heavy to carry or move around, it is a beast in the performance department and well worth the weight and cost. Nothing else I've seen or heard even comes close. I truly appreciate all the support and care Sweetwater affords its customers, and especially appreciate Carson McClain, my sales rep. Carson is knowledgeable and always ready to help or make suggestions. He's never steered me wrong.

  • from Roseville, MI April 23, 2016Music Background:
    Professional, Keyboardist, Organist, Music Director, Producer

    Took my breath away....Literally!!!!!

    So first I'd like to thank my Sales Engineer, Aaron Rom for recommending this awesom amplifier to me. I've gone through using the Spacestation V.3, 2 JBL PRX715 powered speakers (HEAVY!!!) and even Roland amps which I just found to be God awful. The JBL PRX715's gave me quality sound but I wanted to get away from two heavy speakers, a mixer, cables, stands etc. I must have asked 100 questions, researched this amp for months and went back and forth in my mind about "Price", "Would it be any different", "Will it be just another typical keyboard amp".

    Finally I decided to purchase one and try it out. I got the amp the very next day (Thanks Aaron Rom & Sweetwater!) and when I opened the box I just knew it was gonna be like falling in love all over again. Quality build, perfect amount of weight to it, well packaged and it came with casters! The finish on this amp is not only very professional but also durable!

    I hooked my Yamaha CP-33 up to the Kp-500sn and was literally amazed at how much sheer, pristine quality was coming out of one box!!!! No compromise on sound at all; and to think all this time I've been living beneath my privilege playing through mono amps or speakers that were too heavy and/or just didn't cut it. Pianos (with and without the expand effect), EP's, bass, organs (Especially), Horns.... Everything sounds amazing through this amplifier! I spent hours on top of hours playing around with the eq, expand effect and even pushed it a little and I really do believe it it's almost impossible to get this amp to distort. I can't wait to get this amp out with me at church and on some gigs to show it off and brag a little!

    Yes this amp is expensive but I PROMISE you that it's SO WORTH IT! If you're on the fence about purchasing this amp, get off and call your sales engineer and place an order for one of these... I'm so glad I did!

  • from NY April 6, 2015

    Motion Sound kp500sn

    This amp never disappoints! Plenty of bass, very easy to set up mids, highs, and stereo spread for piano, organ etc. I keep it simple using an SK1 usually with organ through a Ventilator in one channel and the extra voices in the second channel. No need for a mixer and the MS delivers the goods; plenty of volume, and keeps the keys up high in the mix. I have used it live with a 7 piece Soul band, 5 piece R&B band. Great monitor as well as a stage amp. Easy outs on the back if you need to go to the FoH system; no 2 sets of wires, speaker placement issues using this all in one box. At just under 50 lbs. it is a manageable lift in and out of the car. Wish it came with a cover.

  • from Nashdulle TN April 1, 2015Music Background:
    pro

    Excellent

    I previously used a MotionSound KBR-3D with my Roland RD700GX stage piano and Hammond XK-1.
    This amp is superior because it has better low end and weighs significantly less.

  • from United States January 16, 2015Music Background:
    Musical Director, Producer, Pianist, Worship Leader

    Incredible, has beautiful pristine tone.

    I received this amp last week. I finally got it hooked up last night via stereo mode. It is spectacular, My Korg Kronos, and Motif XF sound totally different. I have been using the Roland KC-550 for years, but this keyboard amplifier is a must have. It is expensive, but it is definitely worth it. I am very happy so far with the clarity, precision, and tone. This amplifier brings my Kronos patches to life, the imagery of the pads, strings, synths, and Rhodes pianos are spectacular. I actually purchased an on stage amplifier stand, and my motion sound KP-500SN is suspended in the air so I can hear the amp directly at my ear level. This amp is pure ear candy, it is full of fabulous tone, and has amazing volume and head room. Only downfall, was that I had to wait 5 months for it, because it was on backorder, but it was worth it. I ordered it in September 2014, and received it in January of 2015! So be patient, they take awhile to ship, but it will be well worth every penny!!

  • from Dallas, Tx November 14, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    WOW

    This amp is simply awesome!!!! It is everything I was looking for in an amp. I have the roland Kc-550 and when i play my Kronos with it i can tell I'm missing fullness of sounds. And yes I am running left and right with the Kc-550. And when i turn the volume up on the kc-550 the bass and mids gets muddy. But the motion sound stays clean and clear and precise. I think i will get the Kp-200 for smaller gigs.

  • from Old Bridge, NJ June 23, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Great Amp!

    At 48 lbs, this amp is definitely the right stuff! Short of patching through a board at large venues, at smaller gigs, It cuts through the rest of the band like butter during keyboard solo's, and the clarity and dimension is worth the money. I also want to thank Brian Rick at Sweetwater, who handles all my purchases with a personal touch, which is why I wouldn't buy my equipment from anywhere else!

  • from Long Beach, CA March 21, 2014Music Background:
    pro keyboardist - studio & stage

    Finally, a good keyboard amp

    This amp projects, has tons of power, and doesn't muddle the sound you spent so long dialing in at home. We've all messed with those "Boland" key amps - boomy, overdrive easily, and make pianos sound dreadful. The KP can battle guitars, swirl a room in actual stereo, and I've yet to peak it out slamming organs and Moogs through it. The one bit is I wish (like all keyboard amps) it titled up easily to aim at my head - I stand and play. Totally worth the price.

  • from Santa Cruz, CA July 15, 2013Music Background:
    Auralwizard

    Great Keybpoard amp

    Great sounding Stereo Amp!
    No Need to say more

  • from CA, USA September 10, 2010Music Background:
    pro musician

    STEREO!

    I've waited several months after purchase to write a review, in order to use the amp in a variety of venues, with several different bands. I have used a Motion Sound Pro 3T and Pro 3X for years, with another keyboard amp (not stereo) for Hammond XK-3 and various Roland synths and VK8. I no longer carry the Pro 3 real rotating horns, because the KP-500SN makes even the Hammond's built-in Leslie simulation sound big and fat and warm. My synths have come alive - especially stereo pan/wah/chorus patches. I've played several outdoor gigs and several indoor gigs of differing sizes, and the power has been plenty. The stereo XLR outs are easy and hi-fi. My bandmates have consistently said that they hear me better, like what they hear better, and don't miss the real spinning horn at all. I'm having a lot more fun playing music these days.

  • from Seattle, Wa, USA April 11, 2010Music Background:
    Semipro Musician (my night job).

    A small(ish) amp with very big sound!

    I play guitar & guitar synth in a techno-metal band and our following is getting quite sizeable thus the need to upgrade for bigger venues. The plan WAS to aquire better stage volume with a (stereo) line out to the p.a. or to a slave. Well, with this thing, the line out/slave thing is now optional. It's sound is clear (deep) loud (tall) & huge (wide), the way the band describes it. For this kind of application, there's a lot of excellent solutions on the market. But, Motion Sound is without a doubt, the best keyboard/synth amplification available. Oh, and it's easy to pack around too. Cheers!

  • from Portland, OR USA January 18, 2010Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    the best keyboard amp I've ever heard!

    The Motion Sound KP-500SN stereo keyboard combo amp arrived on Friday and sounds fantastic. I ran my Yamaha Motif XS into the amp and tested out my favorite patches, especially the Full Concert Grand sample of a 9' Yamaha CFIIIS grand piano and was blown away with how real and accurate it sounded compared to an actual acoustic piano. This Motion Sound amp is by far the best amp I've ever used, and now I don't know why I suffered so many years with inferior mono keyboard amps from Roland, Alesis, and Behringer. I'll finally be able to enjoy playing jazz piano gigs with this setup instead of cringing and being forced to switch to a Fender Rhodes patch just to get a decent sound that doesn't annoy me. I'm very happy with my purchase!

  • from calgary October 27, 2009Music Background:
    Professional Keyboardist and Pianist.

    Motion Sound KP-500Sn - the HOLY GRAIL of sound for the gigging keyboardist

    I received the motion sound kp500sn about 2 weeks ago. This is the FIRST amplifier that I have ever had that was only limited by the quality of the sound that is input to it! The frequency response, control, richness, power and stereo sound is outstanding. It is very clean, bass to high response is excellent and it has the controls available to tweak to taste. I am currently running Pianoteq, Native instruments B4, Lounge Lizard rhodes, Omnisphere, and Sampletank from a notebook. WOW! The quality is amazing. The stereo expander is great for the piano, tremelo on the rhodes and the leslie emulation of the B4. For a while I gave up on keyboard amps and started using 2 peavey pr15a's to get a great, flat, full range rich stereo keyboard sound. Other keyboards amps were mono and did not offer the rich, flat response I needed. The kp500sn has raised the bar and set a new standard. It is also light (50lb) and has a set of wheels that are great for long hallways and big rooms. I have played keyboards for over 45 years and can highly reccommend this amp to EVERY keyboard player. It's worth every penny and will last you for years. I have NO criticism of this amp. My jazz trio gets great feedback where ever we play and I know that the kp50osn sound quality is a part of it

  • from North Bend, OR June 17, 2009Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    KP-500SN

    I just got this cabinet. I have not had a chance to gig with it. So this is a first impression. I'll run two boards through this cabinet: A Diversi Duo (Hammond clone), and a Roland RD700GX. I played it for several hours last night with the Roland. It is fairly straight forward: solid state, 250 watts per side stere amp with two channels, 500 watts total, integrated into a portable, 48 pound combo cabinet. Each channel has four 1/4" inputs, volume, expander, bass, mid and treble controls. In addition, there is a master volume and master bass cut/boost knob. As a really nice feature it has R/L XLR outs for your p.a., a mic input to channel 2, and outs for a slave unit and sub-woofer. Each channel is coupled to a 12" speaker and two horns. As a result, stereo piano samples come out sounding as they were intended. And the old suitcase rhodes piano panned vibrato sounds that panned from left to right are clear and present. It appears to have enough power, but I haven't played a rock gig with it yet. And it's quiet. Even at max volume settings the hiss is minimal. For jazz gigs it should be great. I'll let you know when I hook my organ whether it's got enough bass to kick left hand bass in a jazz trio without slaving a sub-woofer. Reports are that it can handle it at reasonable volume levels. This is a nice piece for the guy that wants fidelity, power, and doesn't want to load a bunch of heavy gear at 1:30 a.m., and wants to play his stereo piano samples and leslie simulation in stereo!

  • from Malden on Hudson, NY May 29, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Great, but beware

    As other reviews have stated, this is a powerful amp with great sound. However I had to return 2 amps to Sweetwater before getting one that had no issues. Problem: persistent buzzing. This was not ground-related or instrument-related, it was definitely something in the amp components. We tried everything, but they were just defective. Sweetwater were excellent in handling this, and finally pre-tested a new amp before sending it out to me. I now hope to have many years of trouble-free stereo playing.

  • from Maryland May 22, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Motion Sound KP500

    Excellent reproduction of the YAMAHA XF8 Piano

  • from Rutherfordton, NC April 1, 2009Music Background:
    Pro musician, live sound engineer

    Better than Expected

    I own some of the best keyboards in the industry. I have three setups most keyboard players would die for. Each system is powered by QSC Powerlite Amps, biamp speakers, really a full blown sound system that would do a small club on it's own. I have trouble finding the space on most stages to spread it out, and get the full advantage of the stereo effect I worked hard to get. When I received the amp i was very surprised by how light is was. The controls are straight forward, and this amp really sounds good. I used the stereo expander about three forths open, and was very pleased with the image I got. I was playing through a Motif XS 8 which has the sonic power to give this amp a work out. No matter what program I tried, sequences included it rocked. Destined to be with me on a bunch of gigs in the future!

  • from Nashville, TN June 7, 2011Music Background:
    former pro kbd player, and glad to be out of it

    Powerful Stereo Amp

    For perspective, note that I have been playing a Roland RD700GX and Hammond XK-1 through a MotionSound KBR-3D for 2 years. I have never liked the sound (no "presence"), so I bought the KP500SN because (a) It has two separate and equal channels (no 1/2-baked rotary horn + crappy low-rotor simulator); (b) It has more low-end because of the 2X12's; (c) It's lighter; (d) It has more than double the power.

    The crappy, brittle, mid-heavy, boxy Roland RD700GX pianos sound only marginally better on the KP500SN, only because the amp has better low end and is not as mid-heavy as the KBR-3D.

    The Hammond XK-1 sounds much better, thanks to its built-in stereo Leslie simulator which sounds FAR better than the mono signal running through the KBR-3D's rotary horn and low-rotor joke simulator.

    The KP500SN has two internal cooling fans. You won't know this unless you (a) read this ad; (b) open the amp.

    I am not impressed with the four horns used in the KP500. My amp has two horns with annoying distortion artifacts- they crackle when the Hammond's fake Leslie is running..

    The KP500SN also has several annoying buzzes and rattles. One was due to the grill, so I was obliged to add a 1/8-inch layer of foam behind the edge of the grill. Another annoying buzz is in the amplifier case, which I have not yet addressed.

    In sum, I guess this thing produces a better stereo field than any other self-contained unit. I could have bought an EON set but then I'd have to fool around with more cables and stands and crap. So the KP500SN is a practical solution, but certainly not perfect.

    I will probably add the MotionSound SW15 powered sub.

  • from Seattle, WA March 12, 2010Music Background:
    Serious hobbyist, 25 years playing

    Not sure what all the fuss is about

    Perhaps it was my own experiance, but I ordered one of these untis expecting great things and was VERY disapointed. I owned this amp for about 2 weeks and had to return it. It's very loud but did not make my keyboards sound anything like all the other reviewers are raving about. The bottom end is terrible (it's there, but just sounds bad), and the highs are all but missing. This sounds more like half way between a keyboard amd and a guitar amp.

    I finally returned it and got 2 QSC K12's and it BLOWS this amplifier away. I will submit that it's more of pain to carry two speakers around with some guitar stands that I prop them up on, but in terms of quality, there is NO comparision.

    Now perhaps I had a shoddy unit and would love to hear another one of these amp's sometime, but I was not impressed at all and I've heard a lot of different keyboard amps. Definitly a step up from the Beringer, closer to on par with a Roland, and no comparision to my QSC's. I will say one thing, it is loud! :)

Questions about the Motion Sound KP-500SN - 500W 2x12" Keyboard Amp?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway