0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Kurzweil KORE 64 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Kurzweil KORE 64?

Questions about the Kurzweil KORE 64?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Wash DC July 5, 2014Music Background:
    Ex-Pro

    Nice Card

    I got this at Gearfest 2014 and just now got around to installing it. The instructions were extremely easy and complete, with step-by-step contingency explanations that really helped. There really wasn't any possible way to screw it up, since the test function tells you. The new sounds are awesome. I put this into a PC361.

  • from Metairie, LA December 22, 2013Music Background:
    Keyboardist, professional recording, mixing and mastering engineer; Composer.

    Excellent upgrade to PC3 series keyboards

    Truly fantastic expansion for all PC3 series keyboards.
    The Brass & Saxes are particularly good. The guitar sounds finally bring a level of realism and usefulness that I've rarely heard in previous synths. The added pianos, keyboards and drum/percussion sounds also do not disappoint. A few extra synth treats as well.
    Easy installation and no need to reload my user sounds.. A most worthwhile addition and well worth the price.

  • from December 4, 2013Music Background:
    amateur musician.

    Kurzweil Kore 64. great toy.

    Kurweil Kore 64 it's like a palette of colors and brushes for the musician. Possibility of unlimited creativity. Thanks for helping me get it Sweetwater.

  • from Greensboro, North Carolina March 21, 2013Music Background:
    University grauate in Music, 40 Plus years as a Music Hobbyist and performer.

    A Brand New Kurzweil PC3x For Less Than $300.00!

    The Kore 64 Expansion has some Monster Sounds. It installed seamlessly and makes my 10-13-2010 purchase of the Kurzweil PC3x from Sweetwaters, like a brand new updated instrument!!. I could not be more pleased.!!!

  • from Louisiana March 20, 2013Music Background:
    60s 70s classic rock band

    wonderful enhancement

    Like getting a new keyboard! Greatly improved horns, new synth sounds, guitars that sound real, tons of drum kits.

  • from United States January 27, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great Addition

    A nice expansion for the PC3/PC3K that really adds some fresh sounds. The guitars in particular are nice, and a few have some programming that make the pitch wheel behave much more like a whammy bar, nice!

  • from January 3, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Hobbyist

    Excellent addition to the PC3

    I received my Kore64 much earlier than originally estimated. Many thanks to my sales rep, Nick, who made sure I got it as quickly as possible.

    The new sounds can be put into four main categories: synth, guitar, horns, and drums.

    SYNTHS: A good collection of lead, bass, and pads. But I have a few excellent VST synths, so the new Kore64 synth sounds won't be replacing those for the most part. However, there are a few more modern sounds that are very expressive and fun to play.

    GUITARS: Outstanding!! The Les Paul and Fender sounds are great. But the distorted guitars are just something else! Loud, gritty, lots of feedback, excellent velocity control. They're a real joy to play - especially with a ribbon controller! With these new sounds, the PC3 will be the only instrument I go to for guitar sounds.

    HORNS: I don't use horn and brass sounds much, so I only went through these sounds very quickly. But in general, they sound much better than the original PC3 sounds. The trumpet is especially expressive.

    DRUMS: Excellent! Another highlight of the ROM. Great new ethnic and world sounds, as well as fantastic acoustic kits. All of them have great velocity control that really brings out the drums' character. I usually use samples for my drum tracks, but I'll be going to these sounds much more from now on.

    I was having so much fun with the new sounds (especially the guitars), that I didn't look much at the new setups and songs - but the Metallic setup had me occupied for a couple of hours! Given the excellent quality of the programs, I'm certain that I'll be having fun with those once I get to them. Also, all the new ROM samples will provide a wider pallet for my own sounds.

    In general, the sounds are very good and the programming that went into them is excellent. One of the many things I like about the PC3 is that the sounds are so expressive - the Kore64 definitely does not disappoint. Highly recommended!

  • from Sellersburg, IN December 15, 2012Music Background:
    Pianist, Keyboard Player over 30 years

    KORE 64 Makes The PC3 Even Better!

    The guitars are quite good. I also have a Motif ES (and regularly play a Motif XS) and I think the Motif line has some of the best workstation guitars. I would say these are different but a similar level of quality. There is some nice programming going on with velocity that make them sound more realistic when fully utilized. I will definitely use these guitars. There's also a few layered programs that have guitar, pad and piano in the lower register. These are really neat programs and inspiring to play. Some of the more aggressive guitars had me playing in those aggressive styles (something I don't normally do), but the sound causes you to play a certain way. One other thing to note about the guitars is they are playable across most of the keyboard. Lot's of workstation guitars only sound good in a two octave range, but these don't fall into that category. Also, many of these programs split the keyboard into different ranges to enable more a more realistic style of playing.

    The drums are very nice. I especially like the velocity switching going on with bass and snare drums. It adds a lot of realism. Lots of different drum types represented here. The drum riffs are pretty impressive.

    Percussion stuff is very cool. Both ethnic and otherwise is impressive (the gourd and talking drum are really neat). I expect to use a lot of that. There's a lot of expressiveness in the programming of these.

    Liked the mandolin a LOT. I can't believe I'm saying that because I don't really ever use that sound. But it is so real sounding it just makes you want to play it. Same for the banjo, except I don't expect to being doing much with it (but that's just me).

    The pads are nice and some of them are quite impressive and unique. Also liked the analog stuff. A lot of it is focused on electronic-based music. There a lot's of things that could be done with those sounds in a setup. To those that are interested in analog synthesis, those waveforms may justify the price of the ROM alone.

    There were a few atmospheric piano sounds that are quite cool. I'll use them.

    The new solo horns were pretty neat too. I just didn't spend much time with them.

    If you want better guitars, better drums, more pads and analog synth sounds as well as more programs and setups, or if you just want to get more out of your PC3, the KORE 64 expansion is a worthy investment.

  • from Georgia, US December 14, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Synth Nerd

    Great addition

    This is fantastic add-on to an already potent synth. The install is fairly straightforward--the included instructions are sufficiently thorough (note that you really do have to press down a good bit on the board to get it to snap in).

    Soundwise, there's a lot to like. Synths: delightfully weird new percussive and lead synths, gorgeous pad sounds, rude basses.

    Brass/Woodwinds: punchy trumpets and saxes. I thought the stock sounds were good, but these are more "hi def".

    Guitars: really sweet Les Paul and Strat sounds, with some decent articulations. While these may not go as deep as, say, a Motif, they are miles better than the stock sounds. The clean strats in particular... gorgeous.

    Drums/Percussion: this was the standout for me. Really huge sounding drums and loads of interesting new percussion bits.

    Programming is excellent as always, and there are MANY new steups included. These do a great job showing off the sounds and providing fun beds to play over. The Kurz site lists all the objects and new keymaps, so check it out!

    I knocked off half a star only because it may be a bit hard to recommend this to some folks expecting a "brand new synth on a board". It's only a 64MB ROM (ha! only!), and for some it may not cover enough new territory. However, for folks who love their PC3 and want some fresh sonic material, this is a no-brainer.

  • from United States May 28, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Student

    Inspirational!

    I am very impressed with this new ROM. The new Synth programs are very unique and will inspire you to play differently.
    The Drums are fantastic as well. All of the new drum kits sound great, better than anything I have heard in other keyboards and software drum plugins.
    The Guitar sounds are decent, not the best, but a few of them are "playable" especially with single note phrases. Don't expect this to replace a real guitar as they are still sort of weak and you can't get a convincing strum or chord with them.
    The Mandolin and Mandocaster programs are very good. With the right velocity you can get some freakishly real results and it may inspire you to create something unusual.
    The new Horns are great too, very playable and realistic especially in a live band setting. You will be amazed overall with this ROM. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because the Guitars are still not 100%. The single notes are cool but they aren't convincing enough to compete with a Motif or something like Electri6ity software.

Questions about the Kurzweil KORE 64?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close