0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

KRK KNS 8400 Studio Monitoring Headphones Reviews

4.5 stars based on 27 customer reviews
Questions about the KRK KNS 8400 Studio Monitoring Headphones?

Questions about the KRK KNS 8400 Studio Monitoring Headphones?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Eaton, OH August 13, 2015Music Background:
    Playing only 2 years, Church Praise Band, Hobbyist

    Superb Headphones

    4.5 Stars because I've not tried them all, but these are the best I've ever used. I bought them for dual purpose, silent guitar practice and better sound from my iPod. Couldn't be happier. The volume slider works well, but I only operate in upper 1/2 of it's travel. Mike Baldonado is my Sweetwater rep and it was his recommendation-I'm glad I listened!

  • from Utah May 26, 2015Music Background:
    Part-time professional engineer, musician, full-time project studio owner.

    Surprisingly good for closed-back

    I own a pair of Sennheiser HD 650s. These are open back cans that articulate as well as anything under $1000. I have owned the KRK headphones for even longer. When I first listened to the Sennheisers, they sounded awfully familiar... like my 8400s! I did a bunch of A/B tests on different genres of music, and I was forced to admit that the difference between the KNS 8400 and the HD 650 is pretty subtle - the Sennheisers sound slightly more smooth in the midrange frequencies, but I have to switch headphones very quickly to discern it. I use the amp in my id22 interface, which is no slouch. I'm beginning to wonder if there is any point to my keeping the Sennheiser headphones, other than they are more comfortable - the headband extends over my big head further. Practically, the KRK headphones have a single-sided detachable cable and an inline volume control going for them. Closed back is better for tracking and privacy. And they are less than 1/3 the price. The Sennheisers may do better with a high end amp and DAC, but for my humble little project studio, the KRKs are nearly identical in sound. You can't go wrong with the KNS 8400s.

  • from Indiana March 26, 2015Music Background:
    Sound engineer, recording engineer, musician, music lover

    Solid

    Smooth! No hyped bass. For me they are very enjoyable to listen to. Better than the last set of cans I purchased and those were twice the cost!

  • from Waterford, MI USA February 26, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician, Hobbyist, Student, etc.

    Excellent Monitoring Headphones

    When KRK says these cans are designed to have the closest response as possible to their monitor speakers, they aren't kidding.

    I have used a pair of Rokit 6's for nearfields in my home studio for a few years now and have been extremely happy with them. What I haven't been happy with are the inexpensive "studio headphones" I bought 10 years ago or more - way overhyped low and high frequencies. As soon as I put the KNS8400's on and fired up one of my mixes, it was almost EXACTLY like sitting in front of my Rokits. The only major difference is the exaggerated stereo width you get from (any) headphones versus (any) proper speaker setup. Finally my mixes ARE my mixes on a pair of cans!

    I also wasn't terribly enthusiastic about the inline volume and detachable cable because usually those are places where you can eventually have issues, but the inline volume is a separate section of cable and doesn't have to be used if you don't want it. The detachable cabling seems to have a very positive locking system, so my mind is at relative ease about possible failure points in the cable.

    Overall these are a well designed, comfortable, and sonically accurate set of monitoring headphones. If you like your headphones to have synthetic hyped bass response that rattles your skull or if you normally monitor with a cranked up subwoofer, you will likely be disappointed by these cans. If you're like me and monitor with a pair of decent nearfield monitors and are looking for headphones that will replicate your normal monitoring experience, then look no further.

    Thanks and cheers to KRK!

  • from Maplewood, MN February 1, 2015Music Background:
    Amateur

    Great for the cost

    These replaced my Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250 ohm headphones, which cost more than these KRK phones and do not have an easily replaceable cable like the KRKs. I'm not sure the sound is better on one or the other since my 770's cable is detached and I don't trust my aural memory. But for the cost and the convenience of a replaceable cable, I have no complaints about these KRKs. They are also comfortable.

  • from Akron, OH November 27, 2014Music Background:
    Commercial post-production studio owner, voice actor, recording engineer

    Disappointing

    I bought these headphones based on the reviews I read here. Specifically, some said they were sturdy (which seems probable), some said they fit large heads (true). Others wrote that the KNS 8400s are comfortable, which I don't find to be the case because of the narrow headband. As for those who said they are flat, neutral, etc, it's obviously not possible for this product to be voiced like a particular set of speakers and be linear at the same time.

    My reference for years has been AKG 240 Studio headphones, which don't give you a low-end bump, and don't sound boxy. But the AKGs aren't very tough, and I got tired of replacing them.

    I do like the inline volume control, which was not a consideration at all in purchasing the KRKs. How brilliant in a studio setting.

  • from San Jose, CA. July 23, 2014Music Background:
    Producer/Artist/Recording Engineer

    Great Headphones for the price!

    These are good sturdy headphones!

  • from Atlanta, GA April 24, 2014Music Background:
    30 year musician, 4 year recording hobbyist

    Great set of headphones

    I already had a set of HD280's that I used for tracking and for pre-mixing to double-check panning and background noise in my tracks. But, I needed a second set of headphones for my wife, who is also a vocalist. She doesn't like the HD280's because they fit too tight to her head, and giver her a headache after only 15 or 20 minutes. I explained she had a big head... then I slept on the coach that night. The next day I put in a call to Brian, my sales engineer and let him know I needed a set of comfortable headphones for tracking vocals. He recommended the KRK's. I already know the brand because I have a pair of their studio monitors and so I figured the quality would be good. They were here a couple of days later and my wife loves them. She wore them for over an hour listening to music and no headaches.

    I listened to them to get an A/B comparison with the HD280's and they actually sound slightly better. I still use the HD280's because that's what my ears are used to, but I don't regret getting the KRKs and would gladly recommend them for anyone who has a big head (wants something more comfortable than the HD280's) Dang, on the couch again!

  • from USA March 31, 2014

    A true story...

    If you are considering getting these, please read:

    I've been mixing an album and had a different pair of phones forever, before they died. When I first got these and listened, I was like "eww...". Took awhile to burn in. I brought them into the studio and while mixing I noticed incredible detail in every frequency I haven't noticed in other headphones. I went to my mastering engineer's studio to review the mixes compared to older mixes (with monitors etc.) and the tracks I mixed with these phones were the best! Of course everyone says not to mix exclusively with cans, but if cans are all you've got, you've got to get these cans!

  • from Ithaca, NY March 16, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist Songwriter.

    Worth it if you own Rokits

    If you have Rokit monitors like me (The 5) and want some headphones to complement and match the flat character of the Rokit, make informed mixing judgements while wearing headphones, then my advice is to buy the KRK 8400. My pair sounds almost exactly the monitors. A match as good as you could wish for in a headphone. So I can zero in with headphones with confidence and finish it off with monitors.

    The KRK's have excellent clarity. It is a surgical cleanliness. My pair, is non-fatiguing out of the box. No harsh highs, no booming bass. The bass is on the lighter side, but it is there and keeping it light, where it doesn't bleed into the mids is one of the secrets to its clarity. Probably the most clear and flat headphones in the $150+ range. Don't get me wrong, it is still a balanced sound.

    It is not perfect, bass is a tricky thing to evaluate in a bedroom studio, so you'll have to adjust for it, find ways (and equipment) to achieve proper levels. Keep that in mind. While mixing with the headphones, don't instinctively turn the bass up, it will be too much bass.

  • from Columbus, OH January 6, 2014Music Background:
    Student

    Wonderful

    Great headphones, easy to wear, spectacular sound.

  • from Memphis, TN December 30, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician, Producer, Artist, & Graphic Designer

    WOW These are the purest headphones I have!

    Once you learn how they sound with your mixes, you will be blown away! I use these headphone to closely listen to the panning & and other Fx! These headphones are awesome! They will fool you on Bass monitoring! That's the only reson why I didnt give them a perfect mark!

  • from San Diego December 4, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist Recording / Mixing Engineer

    Great!

    I purchased two pair of these for tracking and mixing. I record and mix my daughter’s singing in a small home recording studio that we setup in a spare room. Before getting these I could not mix with headphones – had to use the studio monitors which eliminated mixing at night when the family was asleep.

    Previously I had tried mixing with consumer headphones (beats and others) – but these all boost the bass. To make it sound right in those cans I would inevitably EQ down the bass and turned up the highs. Then when I played the track in my car, home stereo, computer, iPod ear plugs, etc. the result was a tinny high mix. Eventually I gave up mixing in headphones.

    But with the KRKs the mix I hear in the cans is basically the same as what I get when I play the track in outside world (in my car, etc.). Now I can mix at night with headphones. Yeahh!

    I also tried the Sennheiser HD 280s –these are supposed to be flat, but I find they have a lot more bass then the KRK 8400s and I get the same problem – thin, tinny mixes. So I only use them for casual listening. The KRK 8400s are also lighter and more comfortable then the Sennheisers.

    The KRK 8400s come with a long high-quality thick cables with a high-quality inline volume control. My daughter sometimes uses it to adjust her headphone volume when she is tracking. You can separately buy different cords for these phones. I think they have three sizes in straight cords and a coiled option. I purchased the shortest straight cords which is great for most applications.

    These cords have a twist-locking mechanism to connect the cords to the headphones. This end of the cord (that connects to the phones) is proprietary so it cannot be used with other phones and the phones cannot be used with standard iPod extension cables. So if you want a shorter cord you must buy the KRK cord – I ordered from another online retailor and it took quite a while to come in (3 months or so). Of course the other side of the cord (that goes into your equipment) is a standard mini jack (iPod size) and has a high-quality screw-on adapter for the larger quarter inch phones jack.

  • from Charleston SC December 3, 2013Music Background:
    Piano, horns, bass guitar.

    KRK KNS-8400 Studio Monitor Stereo Headphone review

    The KNS8400 may shock customers who expect a bass-centric headphone (which is the consumer norm today), but for people who want to get past those enhanced-sound headphones and hear what's actually coming through the mics or coming off of a recording, the KNS8400 is a great choice. Most of my headphones are in fact bass-enhanced, but today with my music sources, with all EQ's and enhancements turned off, I'm enjoying the KNS8400 like I never would have expected. Add to this the light clamping force, the soft and high quality earpads and overall superior build, and the KNS8400 may be one of the best bargains in audio - but only for those who insist on unfiltered sound. Highly recommended.

  • from nj October 16, 2013Music Background:
    musician, engineer, writer, ect....

    wow

    I have quite the headphone collection. Started with akg240's, have the 99 dollar shures, beyerdynamic dt880's, and a bunch of others. These aren't as revealing as the beyers, but damn....man....for the price, these are easily the best headphones I have. I can hear right into mixes with these and make good decisions. Really a pleasure to listen on. Highly recommended.

  • from Gillette, WY September 12, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound, 18+ years Professional Vocals, Guitar, and Keys

    Honest Review of KRK 8400

    The KRK 8400 Studio Monitor Headset is absolutely the flattest Headset I have ever experienced. They Eerily have no artifacts that let you know you even have headphones on! But... with the rather extreme low frequency response of this KRK Headset of 5 Hz (approx. 20 Hz is as low as the human ear can hear), you will find that using them "out of the box", you must make the bass in your mix nearly inaudible. However... spend a small amount of time and run them through an EQ or Mixer; and in short order, you can make your final mix or master sound in the Headphones, EXACTLY like the final product will. Just like tuning a Speaker Monitor to the room, you need to do some small adjusting which should be expected. . But the final result will be astounding! I can't express in words the quality & transparency of sound you can achieve with this set.

  • from Grimesland, NC September 9, 2013Music Background:
    Songwriter, Worship leader

    True studio sound

    These KRK's are true to the sound of your project. A great way to mix your project if you are challenged with studio monitors or a bad room. I recommend them.

  • from July 19, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician and producer

    For me isn't good

    Lack bass is too much for me

  • from Bellevue NE USA March 27, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist, avid listener

    These slay!

    Incredible headphones for a very attractive price. Great for listening to music, monitoring whilst tracking and for mixing.

  • from Los Angeles, Ca February 25, 2013Music Background:
    Music Producer, Mix Engineer

    Best for the price

    Let me start by saying..I hate KRK monitors... but I Bought these headphones couple days ago and WOW! These are actually $150??. I figured I would give them a chance considering the reviews on line about how "transparent" and "flat" they are.. and that is beyond true. They are not boomy like many other headphones I have owned and they do NOT color the mix which is why you are buying these right?
    The stereo image is nice and wide
    They take awhile to burn in but after a few hours of mixing or playing music through them they sound better and better.

  • from January 30, 2013

    Best in class

    These headphones are comfortable, closed around the ear. Good Isolation. Class-A stereo imaging, flat-response, clean with no coloration of signal. Best headphones I've ever had for quality mixing and composing. Sometimes I prefer to use them instead of my monitors.

  • from Oviedo, Fl. USA December 3, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer. Producer, Teacher

    KRK KNS 8400

    One of the best sounding studio headphones in the $150. price range.
    Extremely comfortable, more than adequate Bass, cables that can be replaced easily extending the life of the headphones and a convenient 1/8 jack for IPhone type listening. As far as bleed isolation I haven't recorded with them as of yet.

  • from Camp Atterbury October 17, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Delightful

    Great deployment headphones for military artists! They've taken a harsh beating and are still working perfectly.
    The sounds is nice and flat, helping me see where my mixes sit, I can't wait to get back home and hear how these translate!

  • from USA August 31, 2012Music Background:
    singer/songwriter/producer

    Best headphones ever

    these are the best headphones i've ever had. awesome sound, soooo comfy, sturdy as hell. love em. i'll never use any other brand. thank you KRK!

  • from Iowa July 17, 2012Music Background:
    semi-retired pro

    KRK KNS 8400

    Possibly the best sounding cans I have ever had. I do have the KRK Rokit 8 monitors and the sub. The cans really closely match the sound, but let me hear the stereo image more detailed.

    I am curious to see if the fake leather flakes off like my AT cans did.

  • from Seattle December 19, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    KRK KNS 8400

    A full range, non-hyped phones monitor.

  • from Hollywood, CA USA November 9, 2011Music Background:
    Filmmaker/Post-Production Sound Designer

    Finally some headphones that goes well with my KRK setup.

    Excellent ceiling overall. Doesn't seem to feel compressed in overall sound dynamic range. Has the KRK feel. Everything is very upfront for you. I can now hear the mixes correctly the way you want it . Bass is tight and not overbearing. Sounds are very tight and crisp. But no hifi...very flat. Construction is top notch and much better made than my old Sony 7506's.

Questions about the KRK KNS 8400 Studio Monitoring Headphones?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway