0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Neumann KMS 105 Handheld Condenser Microphone - Nickel Reviews

5.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Neumann KMS 105 Handheld Condenser Microphone - Nickel?

Questions about the Neumann KMS 105 Handheld Condenser Microphone - Nickel?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Carson McClain

    Slick your hair back, button up your shirt, shine your shoes, and straighten your tie. It's time for a night on the town. You need to look good for your show and sound even better, that's why you choose Neumann. This is my favorite live mic for any of my barbershop, rat pack, or crooning customers. If your music demands high quality at any price, the KMS is the mic for the show.

  • from Baltimore, MD January 10, 2017Music Background:
    Professional singer/Actor since 1997.

    The best decision I could make

    Before buying the Neumann KMS 105, I was using a Sure SM 58. The first thing that I noticed was that it picked up the resonance in my voice in a way I never heard. It freed me up to enjoy singing the song i was singing for my coach who also said that she noticed the difference even though we were on a Face time call. I would actually like to use this mic now whenever I perform because I know the quality is going to be there.

  • from October 9, 2015

    Believe the hype!

    I have gone thru about six handheld mics in the past two years as I have gotten into singing. Home recordings in regular home surroundings and no desire to set up a home studio--which has lead me to use handheld mics. I use a voice play live to connect to my computer for recording.

    I own:
    Audio-Technica ATR2100
    Blue Yeti
    Shure SM58
    EV ND 967
    Blue Encore 300 (handheld condenser)

    I have tried a few other mics as well but not owned them

    If you look up reviews of the Encore 300, you will find that they are VERY well reviewed and indeed it is a very good mic. I used it for over a year and was pretty happy with it.

    As I have become a bit of a mic geek, I read reviews on this mic and was very tempted...despite the steep price. By comparison, the Encore is around 200....vs 700 for the Neumann. Having had the Neumann for about a month now....I can say that this mic is simply amazing. So much better than the Encore and it is hard to describe how it helps your singing...but you seem to need less effort...you do need a pop filter for certain songs and it probably is not the best for hard rock. For everything else it is amazing. If you can afford it, this has to be among the best if not the best handheld mics available. I have never once felt that I overspent on this sucker! It is really that good! Give it a try and you will be hooked.

  • from Cape Coral June 11, 2015Music Background:
    sang live for 25 years. 2 bands.

    Neumann kms 105 Nickel

    Best every! Didn't imagine it would sound this good. Very rich looking too, love the classic retro nickel look. I wish I bought it years ago, worth every penny.

  • from Concord NC November 9, 2012Music Background:
    30+ yrs Bassist, Studio owner

    Great Live Mic

    I found a write up that intrigued me a bout this mic. Couldn't find a bad thing written about it. Talk to Ryan and he said go for it.

    My wife has used a beta 87 since it first came on the market and this is the best mic I have found for her vocals. Just perfect for someone who really sings and know how to use a good mic. I am using it with the Bose L1 Model 2 and it's a match made in heaven

  • from Los Angeles CA. October 29, 2012Music Background:
    Keyboard player, Engineer, Arranger

    Amazing Difference

    WIsh I could have found a cheaper alternative, but this mic is well worth the money. I can now tell sound people just to leave the eq on the board flat and it sounds great (using it on a light soprano voice singing jazz and latin jazz). Great intelligibility on spoken word between songs as well (that was always a problem with a soft voice).

  • from Palm Springs CA January 28, 2011Music Background:
    Musician

    Studio Quality on Stage

    This vocal mic is exceptional. We first used it for a Cabaret show. It captured every nuisance in the vocals. It captures the thrill in the voice as well as the smokey low intimate notes. It stands up to both whispers and belts. A good singer can really work this mic and sound great. We have rerecorded some vocal tracks done in the studio using a lesser quality condenser mic. What a difference! This mic is worth every cent and then some. Buy it and try it. You'll love it. The nickel finish looks fantastic on stage too.

  • from Warren, Pennsylvania January 9, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Church Musician

    This is IT!

    I have had difficulty with mics in the past as I have a very big voice and always had trouble with rattles. I don't have to be right on top of this mic and yet it still sounds amazing. Even untrained parishioners have commented positively.

  • from USA November 27, 2012Music Background:
    self-employed musician

    very nice

    very, very nice mic. clear and very transparent. a double-edged sword, this mic will bring out your best but will also show you where you are not so good (i.e. intonation). comes with a nice carrying case to pack away for gigs. tight pattern nearly eliminates feedback. this will be a wonderful live vocal mic for years to come.

  • from Austin, TX USA June 29, 2008Music Background:
    Composer, Sound Engineer, Vocalist, Experienced Live Performer

    Awesome Microphone!

    Absolutely wonderful and useful piece of equipment. I chose the nickel because I don't particularly like the way it looks when someone is performing with a big black mic covering their face plus I'm female and I thought the nickel one looked classier. The KMS105Nickel is durable, great looking and great as a live or studio mic. It captures the voice superbly creating a sound of pure voice quality leaving the singer with confidence when hitting that next note. This mic is a ton of fun and completely worth the price. I give it 4.5 stars only cause in this industry we're always wanting more and better, let's keep it that way. ;)

Questions about the Neumann KMS 105 Handheld Condenser Microphone - Nickel?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway