rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

QSC KLA12 1000W 12" Powered Line Array Speaker Reviews

4.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the QSC KLA12 1000W 12" Powered Line Array Speaker?

Questions about the QSC KLA12 1000W 12" Powered Line Array Speaker?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Wexford, PA April 21, 2017

    Wow.

    I have to say, I was not expecting this system to do so well. I am absolutely astounded at the quality of this line array system. Combine 4 of these units with a sub on top, hang them on either side of your venue and get ready to experience a loud and clean sound. I frequently work with dance groups using our venue and they never complain about the volume and I still have quite some room left on the fader. Those speakers produce crisp highs and have great low end response. One of the huge pluses for me at least is the fact that these units are powered. No more bulky amps clogging up your rack turning your work area into a mini furnace and a mess of wires!

  • from California April 28, 2015

    Mini rig bold sound

    If you ever heard those Vertec 4889, this QSC KLA sounds similar but in a smaller scale. I have been a big JBL fan, but those VRX's turns me off specially the powered version.

    Recently sold all of my SRX series and I wanted something scalable, easier to deploy. Of course with good sound quality. I have auditioned these KLA and I was blown away by the sound. This is not the same as those K or KW series like a lot of people would think that it's the same module or drivers. This is a totally different animal than you would think off.

    I have four of these KLA12 and four KW181, they just sound incredible! Some say that the K or KW sound better but you will need to properly tune these KLA. Don't just throw anything on these speaker and expect the presence like those trap boxes. It's really easy to tune these and they do have a high gain before feedback, which is a plus.

    This rig is a keeper and the only speaker that I can replace these with either Vertec 4889 or much better Meyer sound.

  • from Holland, MI May 19, 2014Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Consultant, AV integrator

    Excellent!!

    I recently installed six of these boxes, three per side in a 300 seat theatre room. Installation was extremely easy and quick.

    The sound quality we were getting was incredible. There was detail in the mids and highs, and the low mids were super smooth. I would not hesitate installing more of these in the future.

  • from Pekin, il April 1, 2014Music Background:
    Live sound engineer and pro musician

    Tone +

    I have been using kw153's for my system's mid highs for the past 2 years and loved the sound of them , however was looking for more scalability and coverage . I am currently using 4 kla 12s taking the place of 2 kw153's and I am blown away by the coverage and Tone of these speakers . Looking forward to adding 2 more and some lifts .

  • from Sc June 29, 2012Music Background:
    Live sound engineer

    Great product

    This is a great product. It is very well built. Supper easy to rig. I tested two of these boxes with one kw181 in an 1200 seet room and was blown away. These boxes can hold their own. The auditorium would need 4KW 181 speakers and 8 tops to have proper coverage. But I had no problem hitting 100 plus db 100ft from the speakers in the room. My favorite thing about this speaker is they don't sound harsh. My jbl prx 600 sound harsh at the same volume. Kw181 with these hits harder then my jbl srx 2 18" subs. Love the product and will be buy more for installs.

  • from Athens, GA June 18, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician

    Outstanding!

    I recently installed two of these per side over two KW181s in a 500 seat auditorium. The results of such an efficient box have been truly amazing! The ability to have such pristine stereo imaging at over 100 ft. away in the rear of the auditorium is such an impressive feature set which has wowed so many of our clients thus far. The mechanics of the SOLO rigging system have been extremely advantageous when receiving assistance with individuals never before trained in the process of rigging.

  • from Florida March 24, 2017Music Background:
    Pro sound

    Awesome mid high end

    These lock together great. Match them with a sub with 2 or 3 stacked and you have a serious FOE!

    Buy the totes or road cases that make them last

  • from MI March 17, 2017Music Background:
    Audio/Visual Production

    Great Lightweight Powered Array Solution

    The QSC KLA12 is a great solution for small a/v, production, bands, DJs, etc. For those unfamiliar with the difference in sound coverage from an axis symmetrical speaker to an array, the difference in clarity is huge - particularly in very live, high reverberation spaces.

    Compared to larger array systems, this is very easy to deploy but also is not going to reinforce a touring rock show.

    Lastly, when comparing this to the JBL Powered Line Array system (JBL VRX932LAP), our team has used both and we do prefer the QSC system. There are advantages to the JBL (wood cab), slightly wider coverage angle. However, in a listening comparison we just prefer the QSC KLA.

  • from September 11, 2015

    Own 4 of these

    We own 4 of these and run them with the QSC touchMix 16 with 6 KW 181 subs. Nothing sounds better. They fill width wise much more than the specs say they should. WAY better than the JBL's. They have a warm sound to them, never harsh. Bose Like quality sound. Sound great anywhere.
    We have failures though. We play every weekend so about 100 shows a year. After 18 months weve had one module fail. Did not powwer up. QSC replaced. Free. We've had one 12" woffer fail. The cone froze up and does not move. Ordered replacement part.
    For the subs weve had two drivers fail. The glue let loose. QSC replace both free. One the warranty had just expired. QSC is slow to respond when you need service but they seem to stand behind it. Would be better if they didn't have to replace parts so often though.

  • from January 31, 2016Music Background:
    Venue and Tour Co Owner

    Horrid Speaker

    Constant curvature box, not a line array unit as advertised. I was recommended this speaker over the JBL VRX and am really sorry I listened. I bought 8 boxes and have had to have QSC repair 3 boxes every couple of months. I have had to have them replace the drivers multiple times and finally the figured out the crossover in the amp was causing the problem that kept blowing drivers. Each time I had to send them in it cost me money and QSC will still not just replace the defective boxes. If I had it to do over again I would have stuck to my gut and got the JBL. It's a stronger box in terms of sound plus it's 52lbs of real wood vs 50lbs of brittle plastic that cracks and breaks. Not recommended for tour use.

Questions about the QSC KLA12 1000W 12" Powered Line Array Speaker?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway