0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Roland KC-150 - 65W 12" Keyboard Amp Reviews

4.5 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Roland KC-150 - 65W 12" Keyboard Amp?

Questions about the Roland KC-150 - 65W 12" Keyboard Amp?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Jeff Hollman

    Roland has long been making the clearest, loudest, and most useful keyboard amps in the industry. It's rare that I sell any other keyboard amp in this price range.

  • from MD September 11, 2015Music Background:
    musician

    i owned this amp. also the kc 350. and kc550 and kc60. they are great. i bring the amp that i need depends on he venue.

    Buy it. No regrets.

  • from La Jolla CA August 20, 2015

    Full range sound for small venues

    I have been using these with my SV-1 keyboard for about 5 years. They are very well built, reliable, and provide great full-range sound for keyboard and electronic pianos, suitable for small venues and as stage monitors. The 12 inch speaker covers base and midrange sounds, without any real necessity for a subwoofer. If there is any room for improvement, it may be in the higher range piano sounds. I highly recommend this product within its class range.

  • from April 13, 2014Music Background:
    pro player

    roland kc-150

    what a great keyboard amp. everything included you could need. love it and perfect for home or light work

  • from USA April 8, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Good sound quality, very portable

    I own this model and also a KC-350 120W model. The KC-150 is easy to tote and sounds great. I find it a bit noisy at higher volumes, but suppose that is expected of a smaller amp. I use it at home and also when heading out to play with others. Roland makes great keyboard amps so you really can't go wrong with this model if it fits your needs.

  • from Traverse City, MI August 22, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great smalll amp

    The KC-150 is a great keyboard amp for small events that portability is a priority. I had the KC-60 which needed to run a higher volume level than I liked and was prone to distort. The KC-150 is only 3 lbs. heavier and offers a much fuller sound. It does improve if you use a speaker stand to elevate the amp. My keyboards are the Roland FP-7 and a Casio Privia 330.

  • from Baltimore November 25, 2009Music Background:
    Old bluesman playing worship.

    Great little workhorse

    I use the big brother, KC-550 at church and have no desire to lug it home each week. I use this amp to duplicate my set-up for practice at home. I play a synth access guitar and run my RP-1000 and GR-20 through separate channels. I can pop in the headphones and jam at any hour. With multi channels, I can run a line out from my studio and practice against what I'm recording over with a truer mix feel. The 65 Watts is more than enough for most situations, although if you're a keyboardist, the larger unit will give you more bottom end.

    My only drawback is the same with all the KC series. I know it's a keyboard amp, but it's billed as a mixing amp and it really ought to have a modest amount of FX - C'mon guys, it's got a mic input, would a touch of reverb have killed the design?

    All in all, a great amp. If I play out somewhere, I still keep the big unit at church and take this wherever I go.

  • from Prescott, AZ October 6, 2016

    Just what the doctor ordered!

    I recently bought the KC880...it is, well, probably the best bit of kit you can get for keyboards...but it's heavy!!! So I use it only for big gigs. I had to get something so my back would be happy too. This KC150 is the ticket. It's not a big boomer, but it has very nice sound after you tweek the EQ knobs a bit; and its so light its wonderful! It is plenty loud for small venues, but take note that it doesn't have any balanced out jacks (XLR) to send to the mains. I think this will even suffice for medium sized gigs...I hope so. I used to have the KC60 and it is not up to any significant task unless you're playing on a street corner to passersby. If you need more boom you can go with the KC350 but be advised, it is in the 45lbs range - I think little more. At 30 lbs this is just what the doctor ordered. :-)

  • from Irvine, CA February 3, 2015Music Background:
    Rock organist in high school, cocktail pianist thereafter

    Living Room Use

    Just bought a CP4 Yamaha Stage Piano, and hooked it up to the KC-150. Had to turn down the amp's treble and bass knobs from 12 o'clock high down to about 7:30, for the amp was too bassy and too brilliant, - needed to bring out the mid-range. Now sounds more realistic. The KC has all the bass and treble you'll ever need., and can easily be adjusted for a natural sounding balanced EQ for acoustic piano. Plenty powerful if you want it. Happy camper. 4 star just because you have to turn down bass & treble.

  • from Haverhill, MA June 19, 2012Music Background:
    Semi-pro

    Nice amp

    The best feature of this amp is the multi-channel input. It's no problem to run 2 keyboards and a mic at the same time. As a vocal amp, it's very dry - you'll want to add your own reverb or other vocal processing to avoid sounding like a high school public address system.

    Its master and volume sweet spot seems to be between 2 and 7. Anything over 7 starts to break up, and it's not the good distortion like a tube amp - just noisy.

    For a solo act, it's plenty loud. You'll be very happy with it. In a band situation it's a little weak. It's not really loud enough to compete with drums and guitar amps of similar wattage.

    The look is sort of dated as it is black & blue with a cheap looking black screen and gold letters. Roland should consider an upgrade to all black or black & silver. Or take a cue from Fender and consider different tolex or front screen.

    Despite the slight criticism, I would recommend this amp. It does the trick at a fair price. And it's a Roland. 'Nuff said.

  • from Edmonds, WA USA August 17, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    A Compact Powerhouse

    For a traveling keyboardist/vocalist, this amp. works well. It has presence and works well in open settings with my small combo.

  • from pa March 2, 2011Music Background:
    musician

    Great for Keyboard

    I use this with my keyboards with sampled grand piano sounds. It is clear , does not crack and brings out the bass notes! This is the only amp I would ever use with my keyboards!

Questions about the Roland KC-150 - 65W 12" Keyboard Amp?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway