0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

Roland KC-110 - 30W 2x6.5" Keyboard Amp Reviews

4.5 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Roland KC-110 - 30W 2x6.5" Keyboard Amp?

Questions about the Roland KC-110 - 30W 2x6.5" Keyboard Amp?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Hanover, PA January 18, 2017Music Background:
    Producer

    Great Little Amp

    This is an amazing piece of equipment. Finally, something sounds good without a lot of weight. For small venues, this little gem packs a punch. Acoustic guitar and synth sound good when you only need sound reinforcement in a small space. The vocals are clean and the effects are Roland quality. Ben Robinson's enthusiasm sold me on this and I am glad that I got it. Used this at a Gallery Opening and it was perfect for adding two players' ambience to the art show.

  • from Portland, OR June 12, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Multi-Instrumentalist

    I use this every day!!!

    Love this amp so much, it's light, loud enough and sounds great!!!

  • from United States June 21, 2014Music Background:
    50 years of playing Jazz Saxophone

    Great Little Amp

    I am using this mostly on Battery, and playing Street Gig in Littleton, N.H.
    I use the KC-110 for my Backup recordings and my Alto Sax. It has great effects and the Reverb is just what is needed for those outside gigs.

  • from Riverside, CA June 17, 2011Music Background:
    Ex pro, now do it for hobby.

    Don't hesitate

    What can I say? For the money this is just a bargain, as well as intended use (street gigging with MIDI accordion) ended up using it as another music player and for BBQ's etc. packs a real surprising punch and I've only used it on batteries!

    Previously I had the street cube which I thought was a little 'nasally' in sound, but this one is much better. I think the street cube is probably more orientated to guitars but this little chap sounds good with every input thrown at it so far! :-)

    Believe me, for the money I don't think it can be beaten, It's one of those pieces of gear that you'll have for years as opposed to other stuff that gets swapped and changed.

  • from Annandale, NJ March 29, 2011Music Background:
    Gigging classical guitarist

    Excellent for battery powered gigs!

    I am a gigging classical guitarist. I don't play large rooms - mostly smaller venues for receptions and parties and sometimes at outdoor events. I've learned, over the years, that it's in my best interest to keep my set up quick and easy. I used to bother with a PA speaker and a mixer and external mic. What a hassle. The set up that I've used for the past, two years is this: Sony ECM-44 lav mic clipped on to the edge of the soundhole (inside the guitar - treble side - pointing down toward the bridge) into a Fishman Pro-EQ Platinum preamp. From the Fishman I output to a Roland KC110 on a speaker stand (not a mic stand, as incorrectly stated in the product description).

    The results are excellent. It's an all battery powered set up. The Fishman takes a 9v and the KC110 takes 8AA. The Sony lav mic takes 1AA. Not only is the sound clear and natural, the whole thing sets up and breaks down in less than 10 minutes. And because it's battery powered, I can set up wherever I'd like (in the shade, for instance, outdoors). I'm not tethered to an outlet.

    With the AA batteries, the KC110 will output at 20 watts max. And so I keep the channel gain and master volume at 100% and control my volume from the Fishman preamp. With the unit up on a speaker stand, it is clearly audible above civilized chit-chat at well dressed affairs. It couldn't compete with a rowdy bar crowd, however. Use it accordingly. I use reverb sparingly. At about 25% applied, I find it to be pleasant sounding.

    Bear in mind that you'll need a speaker stand with a 1 1/2" inch diameter. If you have a speaker stand with a 1 3/8" diameter you'll need an adapter.

    Another nice feature of this unit is the mic input on Channel 1. It's not phantom powered and so you'll need to use a dynamic mic. I highly recommend the Shure PG48. It has an on/off switch and comes with an XLR-XLR cable. Useful for those situations when I need to make an announcement while playing.

    Oh, yes: I almost forgot! The unit also has auxiliary inputs (RCA and mini) so that I can plug in my iPod to keep music going during breaks.

    The whole shebang is only around 10lbs and has a solid feel (wooden cabinet) to it to with a metal grille in front. Tough stuff. As opposed to the BA330 which is 20lbs heavier and looks more fragile (and is $200 more - for what, exactly?).

    This one's a winner, kids. Now go make some music!

  • from Destin, FL May 9, 2013Music Background:
    BS in music and "weekend warrior"

    Great Little Amp!

    Bought this amp to use on the beach for backing tracks and to put a little reverb on my sax. It does a great job! I patch my tracks into the RCA jacks and my sax through channel 1 - reverb is versatile and very usable..adds a nice character to my sound. Overall, a very nice piece of gear. Would like to have had one with a bit more power but this one still works great for me and is very lightweight and stylish. Also love the stand mount! Thanks Roland and Sweetwater!

  • from United States May 30, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great amp

    I purchased this amp for portability. If you are looking for an amp that will blow the doors off any large room or auditorium then move on to a bigger amp, but this unit does exactly what it is intended. The sound is great for smaller venues and with it being two speakers in one you get a lot of stereo sound. No lugging two speakers around with extra wires, speaker stands etc.

    The battery pack is a very usable addition. Granted you do loose 10 amps of sound when running on battery, but you are RUNNING ON BATTERY! Really you can take this unit anywhere whether there is power or not. As long as your batteries are fully charged you can still perform/play for hours.

    Again it is a small compact unit, but for what it does, it is excellent!

  • from Chesapeake Virginia December 26, 2012Music Background:
    Musician and professional gear buyer...just ask my wife!

    KC 110

    The K in KC stands for kickin!!! Does everything as advertised. I use it as my keyboard monitor placed on the floor tucked nicely under my stands. Can't believe how light it is!

  • from Dallas TX December 30, 2011Music Background:
    Weekene Warrior

    Great Little Amp

    Pleasantly surprized at the compactness/power of this little beauty.It's great for small to medium clubs with enough volume for the job.I use it with my WK7500 and can carry one in each hand.I could use some advice on KC-110 tone for a natural piano sound (A01 Stereo Grand Piano).

  • from Philly, PA March 27, 2016Music Background:
    Pro musician

    weak on power

    This very nice small amp can run on battery power great feature. BUT it is a practice amp and not powerful enough to play on a gig. Played with two acoustic guitarists but could not produce enough sound to keep up. The sound is clean and the reverb is nice but the lack of output makes this just a good practice amp. You really need more power to make this a gig amp as it does not get loud at all.

  • from Marietta, GA July 9, 2015

    Disappointing Treble

    This is a decent little amp for the money. It has the typical excellent Roland build quality, and an array of features that are hard to match in this price range. The size and portability are fantastic - and it's stereo!

    I bought this to go with some portable Roland vDrums. I talked this over with my rep when I ordered, and we were concerned that it would have enough bass output. Surprisingly, the problem wasn't bass - this little guy kicks! - it was the treble. Roland used cheap paper coned tweeters of a very sad quality. High frequencies are simply not reproduced; instead, you get exaggerated midrange, boomy mid-bass, and an overall lack of definition to your sounds.

    Admittedly, this is marketed as a keyboard amp, and it probably excels where the majority of what is played is in the midrange. But it's simply not for me. I would rather see them leave off the effects and the battery power and upgrade the tweeters.

    For the money, i am MUCH happier with the pair of Behringer Eurolive B208Ds I replaced this with. They are fantastic and not that much less portable than the KC-110.

Questions about the Roland KC-110 - 30W 2x6.5" Keyboard Amp?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway