0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

QSC K8 1000W 8" Powered Speaker Reviews

5.0 stars based on 38 customer reviews
Questions about the QSC K8 1000W 8" Powered Speaker?

Questions about the QSC K8 1000W 8" Powered Speaker?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Austin Moss

    If you can carry a baby then you can carry these babies. At only 27 lbs, you have no idea how much weight the low end carries. The only indicator on paper of how fantastic these things sound is the 1,000-watt amplifier. The QSC engineers have defied laws of physics and genetics. There should be no way these 8" babies can sound this good and go this low!

  • from December 26, 2016Music Background:
    DJ

    Small unit, BIG sound!

    For an 8" speaker, this thing packs a punch! The range is ridiculous on this speaker as it hits the highest of highs and the lowest of lows in Deep Mode. Two of these K8's worked out perfectly at a wedding of 120 people. Would definitely recommend these to anybody who is looking for a high-end speaker.

  • from Vero Beach, FL December 11, 2016Music Background:
    Longtime weekend warrior

    Should be a staple for every performing musician

    I bought a pair four years ago. Sold them, missed them, and decided to buy another pair. If you can only afford one pair of PA speakers, these would be the ones.

    I also have a pair of K10s and K12. Unless we're doing something special, it's the K8s that get taken to every gig.

    We use them as a vocal-only PA for our electric bar band. As per other reviews, they sound great. They also have excellent horizontal dispersion, which means that everyone can hear you. Don't be a size snob, 8" is plenty unless you're playing synth bass. Great, clean sound without overpowering people.

    Simple, light, powerful, great sound and utterly reliable. Also great resale value if you need to go there. I also will occasionally use a pair for my stereo keyboards. Acoustic pianos sound exceptionally nice through them. I also have buddies that use them for guitar modeling, so they're versatile in that regard.

    In my book, these are classics. The only thing in this form factor that's better would be the RCF TT08a units at $. The only thing you can't use them for is floor monitors unless you want to build yourself a floor cradle. Wrong shape. If they had that, they'd be absolutely perfect.

    If you're looking for a pair of killer self-powered PA speakers that are also light and reliable, these would be the ones you want. Unless you're looking for floor monitors, that is. I'm not selling these anytime soon.

  • from November 29, 2016

    QSC K8

    I just brought my third pair..that says it all..been in the biz 40 years + the best!!!

  • from AZ November 22, 2016Music Background:
    Audio and lighting tech

    These speakers are amazing

    This is a phenomenal speaker for its size. Gone are the days of lugging around 90lb amps and 15" speakers. One would think you would have to crank it up to get sound to the back of the room and to feel the bass but i find they are often under-driven in most small to mid sized events. With the 105 degree coverage you dont overwhelm the people in the front trying to get sound to the back of the room. Sure they would probably sound better with a external sub, but the bass setting is great-you get alot more deep bass without sounding muddy or distorted. I got these Because audio was secondary service to my lighting business and needed something simple lightweight and small foot print. These are well made-i honestly cant find any cons. Originally budget would only fund one speaker, but i finally was able to get the second one. If your on the fence between a pair of speakers now or just getting one of these for the same price.i think you know my answer. Start with one and add the other later. The Sweet water staff is the best!

  • from S.W.Colorado October 4, 2016Music Background:
    Singer/songwriter, performer and ''sound guy''.

    Great Speakers

    A bit pricey, but worth every penny in quality. This is my 4th QSC speaker, I have another K8 and use these 2 for stage monitors. I had to build wooden stands for them since they don't have the angled side like the bigger ones. I use 2 K10's for my mains and they have been more than adequate for every gig I've used them on. I love their clear crisp sound.

  • from Jupiter, FL May 19, 2016Music Background:
    Masters in Music

    QSC K8

    This speaker was purchased to be used as a monitor. I also have the K10's used as monitors. The sound is incredible.

  • from Beacon, NY April 30, 2016

    Great for medium sized club

    A pair of K8s found a home hung in a room that seats about 110. We use it for open mics, small acoustic performances, jazz brunches, etc. with a soundcraft 8-input board. Not only is there plenty of throw and headroom, these things sound crystal clear and make even somewhat challenged singers sound like pros. Love 'em.

  • from Crossville, TN January 9, 2016Music Background:
    Pro Audio/Live Musician

    Best Powered cab period!!

    We used two of these babies as main cabs in an outdoor amphitheater context. These sounded great even in this "pushing the limits" type of scenario for a speaker like this. Clarity and punch through and through... Amazing sound!

  • from July 23, 2015

    These little guys pack a punch!

    Just what I needed. Light weight but heavy on the sound. Crisp, clear with plenty of input options.

  • from West Chester, PA June 8, 2015Music Background:
    Singer

    LOVE THESE SPEAKERS

    I sing in a Rock band and a smaller Acoustic Trio and use these speakers as my mains. When it comes to sound these things are phenomenal. Don't let the size fool you. This speaker is powerful and the sound quality is fantastic. The size and weight makes setup and breakdown so easy. Believe me when its 2am and your gig is finished, its a blessing not having to carry huge and heavy speakers to your vehicle. Really happy with this purchase!

  • from April 1, 2015

    Powerfull !!

    we use this speaker for our lead singer monitor. 5 piece rock band and this little killer is the best.

  • from United States March 28, 2015

    da bomb

    K8's have amazing power to spare...and a great feature set. I have even used them for my entertainment center when not gigging with them. you can't go wrong!

  • from Mapleton, Illinois January 26, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    QSC K8

    I did a side by side listen to larger driver self powered speakers from other brands and this little K8 had better separation and clarity with a great low-end.....and its extremely light, but solid as a rock. I have had it about 3 weeks and have used it in quite a few gigs for my Key rig amplification. It definitely rocks.

  • from Butler PA October 23, 2014Music Background:
    DJ

    Well worth buying!

    I was impressed by the throw of this speaker. Clear highs and mids. Would use this as a main if you back it with a KW181.

  • from Northeast PA September 4, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist/keyboardist/programmer - weekend warrior

    This Was Almost Kept A Secret!

    I was "old school", stuck in a belief system that anything this small couldn't possibly sound great. Based upon our positive experience with the K series sub, my band mates and I decided to lose our big heavy (great sounding) cabinets for something more portable with a smaller footprint. We were and still remain blown away by these K8 cabs. Powerful and crystal clear and crisp sounding beyond belief. We are a power trio - bass, guitar and electronic drums, play at moderate to high volume and run everything through the PA. These things handle it no sweat. I've been at this a long time and have NEVER heard the likes of these. Unbelievable! Our first night out with the K8s, several mentioned how great the band sounded. We know they were hearing the difference!

  • from Colorado January 5, 2014Music Background:
    Live Performer

    Powerful, Rich, and Versatile

    We used just one of these for our gig last night, mounted just over 6' up on a pole stand and carrying the bass guitar direct into the mixer, a 2w tube guitar amp line out into the mixer, two vocals and a harp mic. The K8's gain was about 2/3, the mixer main output throttled back (nowhere near "unity gain", plenty of headroom left).

    With the K8 positioned stage right, slightly behind the 2nd guitarist's shoulder, and angled towards audience center, we didn't need any monitors and had no feedback problems. The venue was small but packed, and we played pretty loud - as loud as I'd ever want to be standing right in front of. Genre was hard blues-rock and cranked-up rock and roll.

    Everything running through the K8 sounded rich and separated. With the DEEP switch on, the bass sounded much better than the bassists regular small-gig amp, and just as good as her high-end big-gig amp. You'd never know it was such a small and portable (if not truly "light") unit.

    I may purchase a second K8 for broader coverage at outdoor venues, but we don't need one. What we need is more mixer channels to make better use of the K8!

  • from Benton Harbor, MI USA November 6, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician/Multi-Instrumentalist

    Great Speaker!

    This speaker is incredible! I'm a solo act but perform with backing tracks so I'm pumping drums, bass guitar and other prerecorded tracks through the K8. This speaker has plenty of power and when you switch on the "deep" switch this thing sounds like you have a 15 inch woofer hooked up to it. Can't say enough about how great this speaker is!!!

  • from Raleigh NC May 7, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound, DJ, Recording, Pleasure

    WOW!

    I have the K-12s and now the K8's! Well dayum! I mean to tell you these sound so great! Nice power and everyone is really impressed with the low end for an 8 inch driver! Put it in Deep Mode and step back and let it wash over you! I love these! Incredibly clean sound without ear fatigue. I love these! You are missing out if you don't try these! Ask my sales associate, Jim Swain, at extension 1228! He hooked me up with both the K12's and K8's!

  • from Waco Tx. April 28, 2013Music Background:
    singer/songwriter guitarist,uke,recording engineer

    all smiles!

    I just did an outside gig playing red dirt country and blues with one of these on a pole outside on a street and i am in love! made $75 in tips and didnt get it to half way and i sounded great because this is a great p.a. speaker/solution--twice as good as the fishman sa 220 and cheaper and more powerful...talk to Matt Adams and get one or two--they are money!

  • from Saranac Lake NY April 18, 2013Music Background:
    professional musician/entertainer/guitar teacher.

    Amazing!

    I use K8's for solo and K8's, 10's, 12's and a sub in a Celtic band.
    When compairing the QSC against other systems as I did, it becomes evident that the QSC is far superior live sound.
    The compliments at the gigs increased dramatically! Of course I'll take the credit but its "clearly" the QSC. I am also very impressed with Sweetwater and how they interact with a customer. We can pretty much get the same deal anywhere because of the internet but I've only seen this level of customer service At Sweetwater. I will return again and again.

  • from Tampa, Florida April 8, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Revolutionary audio quality

    I was originally going to purchase passive speakers to drive with an amp. My Sweetwater rep pointed me in the direction of these speakers. I'm glad he did. The volume that comes from these speakers is impressive. Especially if you are gain staging correctly and using compression and limiters. I recommend the DBX driverack PX to go with the K8s. The sound is unbelievable. But more important than the volume is the clarity of these speakers. I guess you could call it HD sound. I got the K8's because I do shows in small venues. The dispersion of the K8's is well suited for that environment. If you are doing medium sized venues or have significant room between you and your audience you may want to K10s or K12s since they throw further. I'm using a subwoofer in tandem with the K8s so aside from dispersion I didn't need the larger woofers in the k10 or k12 for bass. I've had them for five months and have had no problems with them.

  • from Midwest April 2, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Paradigm changer

    My K8 doesn't look like what it sounds like. Bass is incredible and clarity uncolored and crystal clear. Register on the QSC website for double warranty (6 years). Pricey, but money well spent. I am saving to buy a 2nd.

  • from New Jersey March 30, 2013Music Background:
    Amateur songwriter - musician

    K8 surprisingly powerful

    Just got a pair of K8s to supplement my friend's KW153s for an event (lecture) we do each year. last year the KW153s were adequate but way loud in the front and soft in back. With the K8s placed on the sides at halfway point we had a balanced fill in the whole room with the gain set at the same point on all 4 speakers. That was with voice - I played some background music during set-up and could barely turn up the mixer, tons of volume available. On the other side - i am now using them as near-field monitors in my basement studio and they are accurate even at lower levels.

  • from Grand Haven MI. USA March 13, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, sound Engineer

    These things are ridiculous! "Very impressed"!

    Purchased two of these to use as front fills in our church sanctuary which seats approximately 400, and the results are incredible. We have had multiple complements on how the room sounds since adding these little QSC K8 speakers. The salesman was very helpful and professional. I look forward to working with Sweetwater again soon.

  • from Bangor, ME January 29, 2013Music Background:
    Keyboardist, Home Studio, Live Sound

    Loud, crisp, tiny, and light

    I play keys in a 5-piece rock band, got this as a keys monitor.

    I mount it on a speaker stand and place it behind my back about a foot away

    Loudest, clearest keys monitor I've ever owned.

    The band was so impressed with the K8, we're planning on a sub and a K8 in Normal mode as a little system for acoustic coffeehouse sound.

    Although the bass performance in Normal mode blew away my expectations, don't expect it to do the job of a sub.

    For the price and performance-range, I couldn't find another monitor that was louder, cleaner, lighter, and smaller than this. Looking forward to using it for other applications, like a pair for small conference centers and speech-heavy events.

    I'm ridiculously-pleased and would buy another in a heartbeat if a thundercat barfed or spilled her drink on it.

  • from Texas November 15, 2012Music Background:
    professional keyboardist

    Compact with great quality

    2 of the greatest purchases I've ever made was getting the small, lightweight, great-quality QSC K8 (27 lbs) and playing the small, lightweight, great-quality Hammond Sk-1 (15.5 lbs) through it. I can walk into a gig with my gear in 2 hands. Playing keyboard in bands was never that way a few years ago. No more back strains. Fantastic products in my opinion.

  • from Virginia April 27, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist, Live Sound Engineer, Drummer, Singer, all 'round music person thingy

    Size isn't everything!

    These speakers manage to produce all the snap and clarity needed for any situation. Without a sub, they produce most of the body, but naturally, they can't quite produce the groundshaking thump you'd want. When coupled with my JBL Eon 518S, the sound is perfect. I'm running a full band (with electronic drums) into these, and the sound is very near perfect. I would highly recommend these to everyone!

  • from USA April 26, 2012Music Background:
    Professional musician

    Replaces older heavy equipment

    I purchased this to replace a cumbersome and heavy keyboard amp. Very easy to move around with the K8 tote that I also purchased. Very clear with plenty of power. Highly recommended.

  • from Dallas Texas April 25, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Acoustic Guitar And K8

    While waiting for my keyboard to arrive,( the real reason for my K8 ), I hooked up some acoustic guitars just to experiment. Awesome!!!
    Plugged in to the mic-line input with no mixer, and crystal clean sounds emerged. When I hit the Deep setting I noticed a slight booming, however, in normal it completely disappeared.
    When using high quality TRS plugs I could hear No hiss unless I stuck my head right up to the speaker!!!
    Who needs an acoustic guitar Amp?
    I do not know how loud this puppy will play...because at about 1/5 th volume I was worried about the neighbors!
    I highly recommend this for guitar...and can't wait to try it on keyboards.

  • from Mancos, CO January 5, 2012Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter

    Outstanding Sound Quality

    The clarity and punch of these little speakers is amazing. I was looking for something more portable than my Mackie 450's when I got these. They are definitely that, but the real bonus is how much better they sound. I'm sold on QSC. My Sales Rep was spot on when he recommended these to me.

  • from Indianapolis, IN October 3, 2011Music Background:
    World Percussionist, Audio Engineer, Programmer

    Good things come in small packages

    Was in need for a pair of speakers that were not cumbersome to carry to the gig, being that the rest of my equipment is heavy & awkward, & on top of that needed it to fill an outdoor event (Farmers Market). I am a solo artist that plays world percussion (Middle Eastern, Latin/Afro-Cuban & African Percussion), Native American Flute & Didgeridoo. Alongside those instruments I run my samples & loops so I am in great need of clarity, excellent frequency response true to the timbre of my instruments and voices of the samples & loops. These speakers filled the area I was performing in no problem and the sound quality and clarity was so good I did not use my in ear monitors, lol. The flutes sounded fantastic through the amphitheater/court area and the didgeridoo actually had some nice low end coming out of the speakers as well. These speakers are fantastic for the solo world musician on the road needing versatile speakers that perform great outdoor & indoors. And at my performance at the market the entire area was able to hear me & had plenty of head room on the speakers and from my audio interface output.

  • from Outer Banks, NC June 24, 2011Music Background:
    Acoustic Solo Musician

    One powerful speaker

    I'm an acoustic solo artist and I'm using this to boast the sound with my fishman solo amp. What I was looking for was more volume when I needed it and more sound dispertion for the outdoor gigs. I got every bit of it and then some. This speaker is now going to every gig with me... Even the smaller indoor gigs. This thing sounds crystal clear and is extremely loud for it's size. Other features I love: small and light weight, two inputs in the back plus an input for iPod, and there's a switch in the back that adds more bass - which I've found very useful! 5-stars. I plan on buying another one and using my fish man solo amp as a monitor.

  • from Anaheim, CA February 25, 2010Music Background:
    Working Pro Musician

    working band's dream sub!

    The K-Sub is the most compact AND powerful sub I've ever used. My band, 7k, recently used them on a 7-week US Tour and used them in every kind of venue imaginable. We also loaded them in and out of every one of those places! They are truly well-designed, reliable, and sound fantastic. In addition to live vocals and instruments, we also ran full-range loops through them and we never ran out of headroom ... ever! For even more detail, please watch my YouTube videos.

  • from Nashville, TN July 21, 2009Music Background:
    Professional Audio Engineer, Mixer, Composer and Musician

    Killer Speaker!!! Nothing like it in it's price range or size!!

    I've been looking for this kind of product for 20 years and hear it is. I hooked it up to my keyboard rig and was blown away at the open, warm and beefy sound. The dynamics are nothing short of a miracle. I heard more expression in my piano sound than I've ever heard before. It's because of that 500 watts going to the horn alone. Most companies just put 50 to 100 watts and this extra power really changes the game as far as dynamics and the sound!!!

  • from Matawan, NJ USA June 21, 2009Music Background:
    Orchestra Leader of the 18 piece Somers Dream Orchestra & professional full-time freelance musician

    Amazing Little Beast!

    As promised this little dynamo is nothing short of AMAZING!

    Don't let the size fool you! The components are exactly the same of it's Bigger Brother's K10 & K12 models except they have larger woofers.

    You would think how much bass response could an 8" woofer have? I thought the same and was pleasantly surprised! You will be too!

    With plenty of power onboard everything just seems to "sparkle" even at lower volume levels.

    I compared this product to my JBL G2 15" EONS and this little K8 won hands down!

    Power, clarity, input options, EQ settings this unit has it all!

    I'm totally impressed by this little beast and think QSC has a homerun with their new K-Series speakers!

  • from Scotts Valley, CA September 19, 2013Music Background:
    Long time guitar player

    QSC K8

    Let me start out by saying this little powered speaker sounds AWESOME. And I love the size and portability. I'm a guitar player in a rock band and I bought this as my floor monitor. I hesitated because QSC does not have this spec'd for that purpose (e.g. not enough angle to the side due to package design and 105 degree throw). Don't let that stop you. I bought a $2 10mm bolt and put a rubber cane tip on it and use it as a kick stand. It screws into a lug located at the bottom back side. PERFECT! Best floor monitor I've ever used period. Worth every penny.

  • from United States July 18, 2013

    Bulletproof quality

    We are using these K8s as monitor speakers for our vocal band and they have a great sound, very full for an 8" speaker. Using them as monitors, it is also nice to have the level controls. We got the soft cases which makes them easy to haul around. They are very durable for the road. I do recommend having a power conditioner as they will hum with any discrepancies. QSC simply makes the highest quality products.

  • from June 13, 2016

    K8 for Keys

    My recent purchase of the K8 to use with a Yamaha MOXF as my cabinet for a jazz gig initially had me reconsidering my purchase but.. I found that between the mode settings (normal and vocal) I am more than satisfied. I went with the K8 for it's light weight. I love my KC550, but it is pretty heavy and if I don't need to schlep it up a flight of stairs, wonderful. This is not to say I am selling the Roland, or comparing as an either or with the QSC. The K8 really is a beautiful sounding speaker, and though I don't use 'deep' mode, it does a great job representing piano patches, which I primarily use. Deep mode tended to muddy things up a little in the mid low registers, especially when using any sustain. emphasis- How your piano patch is written will definitely influence your opinion on how will this little guy covers the bases. I use it with piano, rhodes, and acoustic guitar patches. It's overall quality, clarity, are surprising for such a little guy! I play in a jazz duo with a bass player, indoor and out, and the bassist can't get over how good it sounds out front. The QSC K8 has found a home for most of my gigs. I am very happy with it.

Questions about the QSC K8 1000W 8" Powered Speaker?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close