0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

AKG K77 Perception Lightweight Studio Headphones - Semi-Closed Reviews

4.0 stars based on 25 customer reviews
  • Eric Dean
    from Medical Lake, WA December 16, 2015Music Background:
    Audiophile

    Excellent inexpensive headphone option

    I recently purchased these as a Christmas gift for a friend of mine, and I took the opportunity to test them before I wrapped the gift, and I have to say that while they are not on the level of higher end AKG models like the K601 and K702, they are an excellent option in the under $50 price bracket, especially for people that need a tonally neutral headphone with good detail, tight and defined bass notes, and a reasonably wide and immersive soundstage for the price. I'm quite blown away with their performance and I know my friend will love them. Highly recommended!

  • Thomas Blackheart
    from May 20, 2015Music Background:
    Musicain/Songwriter/Stage Performer

    Excellent product from AKG

    I've used AKG headphones and mics for some time now. The headphones here are excellent. I prefer 'over the ear'; that is a prime reason for purchasing them, though these are a little tight in some areas, but it's not a big deal. The response is great: bass, mids, and highs sound fine. I use them primarily for listening to music, movies, and PC gaming but I have no doubt that they will work well when recording. Great price, quality, and appearance.

    I recommend them.

  • Leslye
    from May 15, 2015

    Awesome headphones

    great sound and the fit works well for my small head too!

  • Charles Bloom
    from NYC May 13, 2015Music Background:
    I write theatre material mostly.

    Headphones

    This is my 2nd pair as suggested to me by my go-to guy at Sweetwater, David Snyder who also supervised my recent keyboard purchase and a piano light. David keeps me on pitch and on a budget.

    The headphones are extremely comfortable over a long period of time and make composing more precise as I am able to hear more of the inner-voices better while composing.

  • russell thomas
    from winston-salem,n.c.27103 July 10, 2014Music Background:
    pro musician

    k77 head phones

    They are high in quality and low price, which is unusual. I love them!

  • Jon P
    from Fort Wayne, IN December 20, 2013Music Background:
    Audiophile

    Very nice for double the price

    I bought these headphones because I needed a pair of beaters to take with me. While these headphones are not sonically perfect their errors are those of omission, much better than having a pair that has some glaring error you are forced to live with. They have very good well defined bass that also happens to be quite tight! The midrange is well balanced without being too forward. The error of omission is in the highs. I wish the upper end had a bit more definition. While obvious while listening, it does provide a less fatiguing listening experience. Which brings me to my next point, these thing are comfortable and very light. I think I could listen to these for hours on end without the least bit of neck strain.

    So in closing, if you are willing to loose a bit of the sparkle on the high end, give these a listen and I am sure you will love them.

  • kawame davis
    from United States October 6, 2012Music Background:
    Student, Recording Engineer, Music Producer, Hobbyist

    AMAZING

    gotta say that this headphone is one of the best from akg.......amaziing clarity of vocals, high, mids, & lows or prefect when listening to music or for mixing music. could use a little more tump in the bass. but overall i love it

  • Ajene Watts
    from Hyattsville, MD April 30, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Great Headphones

    They sound awesome when i plug them into my amp and play my strat. For the quality i would have expected this item to be more in price, but the great price makes them the best headphones.

  • Jeff Kinzbach
    from Cleveland, Ohio March 11, 2012Music Background:
    Broadcaster

    Great Headphones for the Pro

    Since I am an on-air personality at a radio station, it is important for me to have headphones that respond well to music and voice. I need to hear me as realistic as possible. I don't want the signal "sweetened" or enhanced. The AKG K 77 does the job. It has the closed ear feature, so no feedback. Also, they come with 1/4 and 1/8 inch plugs. For me, it's the perfect fit and very comfortable.

  • Bob Ingram
    from Shreveport, LA. January 6, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician/Sound Tech

    AKG K77

    Excellent quality for the price. I have 6 of these in my studio. They're comfortable for extended times and they sounf great!!!

  • Alex
    from October 17, 2011

    I love these headphones!

    I really needed headphones for a session that did not cost a lot so I decided to pick AKG K 77 and I am extremely happy with them.

    They sorta lack bass but the quality is amazing and they are VERY durable!!! I take them everywhere I go even for running and not even one defect!!!

    Bottom line is I really recommend these headphones.. plus its like $50!

  • Andrew
    from Brooklyn, NY August 29, 2011Music Background:
    Arist, Sound Collector

    AKG K 77

    These are really good headphones relative to the cost. I got them partly based on my sales engineer's recommendation. The fit is excellent and they are very lightweight. I was using them a lot during some of the hottest days of summer and they still felt really comfortable. I will probably remain loyal to AKG from now on.

  • Leslie Egan
    from Dallas, TX April 28, 2011Music Background:
    Student

    Could Headphones Get Better???

    If there are headphones that sound better than these, I must be living in a world of no sound! I have lisened to Rhiannon (Fleetwood Mac) how many times??? - got chills with these.

  • Rob Clark
    from Brunei Darussalam February 7, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    My fortress of solitude is now complete!

    Now I know how superman felt. No kids, no family. Just the drums and I! Great headset, comfy and total isolation. Mmmmmmmmmm!

  • HaveMercyMissPercy
    from Central Tejas December 20, 2014Music Background:
    Been playing and recording since the '80's

    Top notch budget cans;Is that possible?! YES!

    My ears...and YOURS, can promptly hear the difference between $1,500 headphones and $150 cans, and I know what we all would prefer, but in the meantime...try these if your budget is eternally tight. Darn good bass response with clarity, not low-end mud. Balanced mid-range, too...nice. The highs are not harsh or a source of quick Ear Fatigue Syndrome. Compared to Behringer HPS 5000 ($30), the $50 AKG's are twice the headphone. More than just a tracking tool, these cans are enjoyable to listen to. Worth every penny!

  • Dr. C
    from NEWPORT BEACH, CA October 17, 2013Music Background:
    Enthusiast

    It delivers for the price point...

    It's lightweight, very comfortable and the frequency range is fantastic. For the price I paid, I'm stoked. They sure work better than my Bose headphones.

  • Zionstrumpeter Audio
    from April 20, 2012Music Background:
    Session trumpeter and Recording Engineer

    AKG K 77

    Perfect for my session drummer on a headphone mix.

  • Customer
    from January 11, 2012

    A really good value for the price.

    I primarily use these just to listen to music. The sound quality is great for what I use them for. I haven't had any issues with them. The materials could be a little better (hard plastics). It's a great value for the price.

  • Brad M Johnson
    from US January 17, 2011Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    K 55 to K 77

    I have used the AKG K 55's for years and love them. Not only are these headphones great sounding but the design is both comfortable and durable as well. The K 77's have a fresh look while holding all the same comfort and sound qualities. My only wish would be that the cable detach from the unit for replacement. Whether running live events, recording or just watching a movie, this product meets my needs.

  • C F
    from Philadelphia, PA October 23, 2008Music Background:
    Film Editor

    Good Range - Good Value

    I bought these headphones because they were affordable. For the price it looked like it would give me a good range of frequencies from the low to the high. I'm on a budget, and learning to edit the sound on a short film I made. I don't want to purchase high end studio monitors or overly expensive headphones. I will be purchasing a moderately priced computer speaker system, so that I can hear my sound in the real world, but I don't have a sound studio, and I live in a fairly noisy apartment building downtown.

    I've listened to a range of music to see what they sound like. From rap to classical. I'm a little too aware of the signal noise on some of my MP3 tracks, but that to me is a good thing. It means that the sound reproduction is sensitive to the original file and giving me what's there. I was surprised by how "clean" the sound is. It reproduces lows through the highs very well. I listened to the sound files on my project and could hear a lot of distant sounds that I was unaware had been recorded. (more work for me.)

    I also listened to some action scenes from a movie and was more than satisfied with the bass reproduction, as well as the clarity of the sound effects in the mid to upper range.

    I'm not an audiophile, and certainly not a "golden ear." For the price I am satisfied that I will be able to monitor my project and clearly hear what I need to hear to make corrections and adjustments for my film's soundtrack. I'm also happy that I can get an acoustically enriched experience in movies and music.

    Downsides: hard to transport. I'd love to take the listening experience with me when travelling, but I'll have to take someting smaller.

  • Evan
    from San Francisco March 23, 2012Music Background:
    Audiophile

    Flat, built to a price not sure if I would buy again

    Pros:The cans sound flat, are quite light and comfortable and are ok for backups.

    Cons: These headphones do not isolate at all, they are flat and a lifeless throughout the sound spectrum, obviously built to a price, they are bulky yet feel rather flimsy. 20 dollars more and you can get Sony MDR-V6's and well, they are 3x's what these are. Surprisingly given the ohms these are not driven that well from portable devices either?

  • Jerett Franklin
    from Kansas city April 3, 2013Music Background:
    Music Producer, Dj and Songwriter

    Ehhh

    I ordered these because I produce music at home and I can't afford to go to the studio to get it mixed. I decided to stick with my old headphones and use these for Djing. The low end is boosted by default

  • Customer
    from May 15, 2010

    AKG's budget tracker

    these certainly are not in league with my older K240's, but for a back up, tracking and casual use, they're adequate. Good bang for the buck.

  • Leonard
    from February 24, 2012

    Good

    I was looking for recording headphones, and thought as far as the quality this would be at least the 'lower end' of such, but I was wrong.

  • Ray Miller
    from Covington Indiana October 1, 2013Music Background:
    Prior Studio Owner, Recording Engineer, and producer.

    Not what I expected from AKG

    I bought these along with my second set of AKG 240s. My hope was some what the same sound quality. I'm not saying these are junk, I'm just saying they don't stand up to the flat response of the K 240s. The high end is extended, and the lows are cut. I hate products that do not reflect a flat response.
    It depends on your use, if a product fits your needs or not. For the price, not really that bad, but I want to hear, what is on the recording. I don't like extended highs or lows, what I like is a flat response. I'm hoping Sweetwater will let me return these, and keep the K 240s.
    Bottom like is that the K77s are half the price, not bad for the price, just not what I need. Keep in mind that I'm not knocking the manufacture, nor the product. This product does not meet my needs, but the manufacturer, has a product that does. It' just costs more. I'm not knocking AKG as a manufacturer.

Questions about the AKG K77 Perception Lightweight Studio Headphones - Semi-Closed?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway