0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

AKG K612 Pro Open-back Monitoring Headphones Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the AKG K612 Pro Open-back Monitoring Headphones?

Questions about the AKG K612 Pro Open-back Monitoring Headphones?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from tampaa September 16, 2015

    very natural

    I'm a hobby guy and my only comparator is to AKG K240's. I liked the K240's but they seemed to smooth and bass heavy. My mixes were a bit harsh even in the car. I also noticed my bass was a tad thin in the car. These new cans are comfortable and I can pick out "issues" in my mix that I couldn't hear before. I think that I'm going to love listening for enjoyment also. I power them with my apogee duet which may not be enough power for some folks? I use a Shure SM7 and love tracking with these cans since the SM7 doesn't pick up ANY bleed. I can hear my questionable vocals in the mix while tracking which is probably unusual for open backs?? Like any piece of gear, I can't wait to really get to know these cans. To love them right out of the box is a great sign!!

    thx,
    mitch ( Tampa)

  • from Chicago August 2, 2015Music Background:
    Drummer, recording engineer, producer.

    A no-brainer.

    What can I say? AKG has been making superlative headphones for a long time. The K612's carry on that great legacy admirably.

    The sound is crystal clear, but not harsh. I can't wait to hear how they sound once burned in. The bass is there, not huge, but there. Bass-heads look elsewhere. The mids are phenomenal.

    I also own a pair of K240's and adore them. For $200, you get a lot of headphone. Build quality is top notch.

    Buy em!

  • from Philadelphia Pa April 13, 2015Music Background:
    Artist/Recording/Mixing Engineer

    Pitchy problem solver

    I've been struggling with singing using headphones, as they just didn't allow me to hear myself accurately.
    After years of using semi open and closed back headphones, I decided to give these pair of open backs a try, within a few minutes of using these bad boys my performance improved significantly.

  • from Fairfield, Ca October 31, 2014Music Background:
    Home Studio Start Up

    Simply Sublime

    I just got these as an upgrade from my AKG K77. Absolutely the best reference headphones I have ever heard. So clear and pure, and comfortable. I highly recommend these as a "next" step up to pro gear. The price is right, and you cannot go wrong with the sound. Even the bass response is great. Also, Sweetwater is without a doubt the best online music retailer! Unbeatable customer service. I am very happy all the way around.

  • from Pennsylvania June 21, 2016Music Background:
    DJ (on air} and live sound tech.

    AKG K612 Pro

    Great sound stage and localization. Extended frequency does matter and these cans have it. Extreme low and high frequency noise stay out of the audio band..... very clean sound. Excellent for post mixing and mastering. One caveat, 120 Ohm resistance make it almost impossible to drive from a computer. A USB headphone amplifier is needed.

  • from Mesa, Arizona October 1, 2014Music Background:
    Audio Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician, Recording Engineer, Student

    Awesome headphones for the price

    These headphones are amazing. Coming from the AKG k240 headphones, these are so much more open and wide. You can hear more detail and clarity. The thing I dislike is not having a detachable cable so I have to be extra precocious. They are wonderful headphones and great for mixing but the detachable cable would have made these headphones 5 stars

  • from near Philly PA USA July 10, 2014

    Good for the Money

    Very clear and detailed sound. A bit of a tight fit (but I have a large head). My only real complaint is that they make leather-chair-like squeaks when you move your head around; hopefully this will go away once they are more fully broken in.

  • from springhill,LA January 18, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    natural sounding

    this headphone give a wide sound stage be open back, great dynamic range, killer Mid-range and highs and sub bass. this bring out best in the Focusrite VRM Box.

Questions about the AKG K612 Pro Open-back Monitoring Headphones?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway