0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

AKG K240 MKII Semi-open Pro Studio Headphones Reviews

4.5 stars based on 15 customer reviews
Questions about the AKG K240 MKII Semi-open Pro Studio Headphones?

Questions about the AKG K240 MKII Semi-open Pro Studio Headphones?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Mike Baldonado

    The K 240 MKII headphones are a must for studio work. These great headphones are the updated version of the very popular AKG K 240. The semi-open ear cups fit all the way around your ear and provide an amazingly clear sound while being very comfortable. I use these regularly while touching up tracks and spot checking mixes. I've even relied on these for an entire mixdown when I didn't have access to a studio. My studio is not complete without them!

  • from Denton,Tx. May 28, 2016Music Background:
    Drums,Guitar, Bass, large collection of albums,45"

    K240 MKll

    This set of headphones were gave yo me ,but they are the best I have ever used,There super!!!!

  • from Denton,Tx. May 28, 2016Music Background:
    Drums,Guitar, Bass, large collection of albums,45"

    K240 MKll

    This set of headphones were gave yo me ,but they are the best I have ever used,There super!!!!

  • from May 27, 2015Music Background:
    Arranger, Lyricist

    Brilliant !

    I had few experience in music studio. There was big speakers, and few tech guys. After few months, there I happened to notice a headphone. One of the tech guy told me about the importance of headphone. So, I went to the market and bought it.
    I am a hobbyist. So, I do not have developed ear. But, what I have learned is, this akg k240 mkii is a must behind 8 inch speakers.

    Usually, here tech guys do not show this but when they are alone, they use it.

    Buy it ! Don't think.

  • from buffalo, NY June 21, 2014Music Background:
    Piano playing synth freak

    Freakin' Awesome

    So comfortable and so great sounding---freakin' awesome

  • from Taylor Springs, IL May 30, 2014Music Background:
    none

    headphones

    Love them. So comfortable, Sometimes I fall asleep with them on.
    thank you

  • from Port Allen, LA USA April 28, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording and Live Sound Engineer

    Great Headphones - Great Value

    With all due respect for some of the known top of the line series of headphones, I can say the 240 MK II are definitely a standard for project and home studios. I have used my headphones in the studio and live - comfortable, clear sound that is balanced and not overbearing. In my experience in studio and live recordings I have always used AKG headphones, and as a drummer/percussionist I never have to concentrate on not doing something too physical that will cause me to think about something as not involved as headphones. Simply said they stay put and give consistant fantastic sound.

    Keep a pair of these in your studio gear bag!!!

  • from new york city August 29, 2013Music Background:
    actress, author, audio book narrator

    love them!

    I went through five pairs of $200 headphones before I settled on these. I bought cuter ones first (beatz, bose, sol republic) but an apple tech support guy (who happened to be a studio engineer) recommended both these babies, and Sweetwater. Am I ever happy I spoke to him! These guys sound fantastic, are comfortable, work perfectly, and I even like how they look.

  • from Payson, Arizona May 13, 2012Music Background:
    Recording artist, former church sound man

    Excellent value - great sound and comfortable

    I asked my Sweetwater Sales engineer what phones I should use for recording vocals and mixing in my portable studio, without breaking the bank. He recommended these because they are semi-open for accurate sound reproduction and very comfortable. I am using Shure SRH440's for the vocalists because they are closed back, but they are a bit too tight on my head for extended wearing, AND they artificially boost the bass because of the closed design. As the engineer, I am far enough away from the microphones that I don't worry about sound emanating from the semi-open back. Again, this was all based on the recommendation of my VERY knowledgeable sales engineer, and everything works as I expected based on the information I received from him. For the price of these headphones, I seriously doubt I could have done better. Check out my review of the AKG K 271 phones I used at my last studio session.

  • from Chula Vista, CA December 24, 2011Music Background:
    Amateur Musician

    Beautiful Sound, Great Isolation

    I bought a pair in January of 2011 for my in-home studio where I read and record books. These cans reproduce the human voice so well.
    They let me hear even the smallest adjustments to my EQ, and are really the only way to go when it comes to editing.

    The ear pads are extremely comfortable. I have worn them for five hours straight on many occasions, and I believe I could have kept them on the rest of the day. The semi-open back allows me to hear sounds around me which is very helpful when recording, because if I can hear it then so can the microphone.

  • from Dallas, TX November 24, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist/student taking up playing again

    AKG K240 MkII Headphones: No hype, just great sound

    Really glad I didn't spend a fortune on some more expensive 'phones in pursuit of that last amount of sonic bliss. These babies are very neutral, comfortable, and the semi-open design makes for a good compromise between open back and closed WITHOUT the penalty of sound escaping to disturb anyone else.

    My best 'phones so far were a used pair of Sennheiser HD590 which might have offered a smidgen more detail in the mids and upper end but were definitely better in low bass definition and clarity. We're talking double the price to get that performance though now.

    No regrets about taking the suggestions of some of the Sweetwater gurus on these headphones.

  • from April 28, 2011

    Extremely Comfortable

    These headphones sound great and I can wear them for hours comfortably.

  • from Glendale, CA February 19, 2016Music Background:
    Orchestra Conductor/Music Producer/Composer

    AKG K240 MKII Pro Studio Headphones

    They're light, comfortable and sound great. Highly recommended!

  • from NW Indiana January 25, 2016Music Background:
    3+ decades

    Great sounding

    Love these, they work well in the studio.

  • from Lewistown, PA December 5, 2014Music Background:
    Retired band director, former radio employee and home recording fan.

    Works great

    I bought my first K240 headphones in the 1970's. They tend to short out on one side and the cord is not replaceable, but they have lasted almost 50 years. My second set bought in the 1990's work fine. This is my third set. I needed another for my home studio and decided to try these higher end phones. I don't hear a difference, but they're certainly every bit as good as the regular K240's. They come with extra pads and an extra cord. That extra cord will come in handy in 50 years!

  • from NY March 16, 2017

    Ouch.

    Designed for boys.

    I produce EDM, the response is nice and even. An honest sound, but holy shniz my hair gets ripped out if I forget to put my long locks in a pony tail. The worst feeling is finishing a mix down and taking your earphones off, only to get your hair pulled out of your skull in a clump. Worth the price if you can keep your hair away from the band. I'm keeping my review score low since the only problem I've found is glaringly obnoxious.

Questions about the AKG K240 MKII Semi-open Pro Studio Headphones?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway