rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

AKG K240 Studio Semi-open Pro Studio Headphones Reviews

4.5 stars based on 138 customer reviews
Questions about the AKG K240 Studio Semi-open Pro Studio Headphones?

Questions about the AKG K240 Studio Semi-open Pro Studio Headphones?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Kenny Bergle

    K240s have been a studio standard for years. Really a true standard in many ways!

  • from NJ June 20, 2017

    Great Classic Tools...

    These are my favorite headphones to mix on. Just for reference I own several other pairs of headphones from 99 bucks all the way up to 400 dollars. These things tell you the truth. Get the mid range smooth on these and it will translate. Keep the high end in check, and it will be smooth as silk on other systems. Make sure the bass isn't rattling the cans, and it will be tight and punchy everywhere else. Seriously great, classic, studio tools. Also a blast to listen to for pleasure as well. Classic.

  • from U.S. ZIP Code: 99701 June 5, 2017Music Background:
    Consumer and sales at the time of original purchase

    AKG K240 Studio Semi-open Headphones

    Consistency!

    This new pair of K-240's was purchased to replace a pair of the same P/N that I bought a long time ago from Team Electronics in Fairbanks, AK.

    On the headband, the elastic cords had failed on the older pair and the plastic strap has cracked and broken in a couple of different spots, also.

    The brand new pair from 2017 sounds identically the same as the set purchased new in 1977!!!

    The differences between the two sets are minor. The plastic head strap is now solid, the original had some large perforations molded into them and this where I had the cracking and breakage problems. The elastic cords for the auto-adjust when putting the 'phones on appears to be a different material which I hope is more durable than the original cords. AND, you can change or replace the signal input cord with a simple twist of the fitting.

    Thank you for distributing an excellent product!!!

  • from April 19, 2017Music Background:
    Sound Engineer..

    Bang for buck

    I am 56
    ex sound engineer for touring bands in the 80's..
    My sound system is quality, not noise..
    Boston Acoustics, Receptor, "Clock Radio"
    These headphones, just amaze me all the time, how..
    Even with Youtube vids, the sound is tight..
    Dont blow wanker money, on the Dr brand..
    These headphones, will be used by your Grandkids..
    I have slammed them, many a time..
    Next day, yep, still crisp clear..
    Gus

  • from Perth,WA April 3, 2017Music Background:
    Composer

    Just Stunning and weird value

    I write music and spend hours a day with these.

    I fead lots of posts from music guys and they were all good.....no scariily stupendous....so I bought them.

    You do not know you have them on.

    I have had headphones 4 times this price and they did not match and were not as reliable

    Apart from the stunning audio quality, I have dropped these and tugged at the cable many times (you do not know you have them on) and they have NEVER failed me. I bought 2 pairs from the US to spread out the post...I have never needed the 2nd pair in ...how many years?...5?

    They spoil you for listening to speakers. That would be my one downside. They are technically audio better than 99% of speakers and then you take your mix to an amp/speaker and you have to remix. In kn ow Headphones increase separation etc, but there is more than this.

    BUT....they are as good as it gets to just listen...so not just studio .....and so cheap.

    LEGEND...and stunningly priced.

  • from Roanoke,VA April 1, 2017Music Background:
    Former Choir Director

    AKG Headphones

    The fullness and quality of the sound coming from the headphones blows me away. I even use them when I don't have to because I live the richness I hear in everything I play. Thank you helping to select them! You're awesome.

  • from Covington Indiana February 28, 2017Music Background:
    Previous Studio Owner.

    Designed for a purpose.

    I just received my 5th and 6th pair today, and with several reasons.

    When it comes to recording.
    1. Flat frequency response is a must when monitoring and mixing. The K240s have it.
    2. If you want to monitor from various locations without taking your headphones from
    room to room, you have to have several headphones sets, that match. The K240s
    are one of the few headphones I've purchased multiple sets of, that sound alike.
    3. The consistency from set to set, also comes in handy, when sharing mixes with several
    people, using a headphone mixer. You can rest assured the people you are working with,
    are hearing the same thing you are.
    4. Another point with what you mix and monitor on, is that the results have to sound good on other
    systems as well. If they don't, people aren't going to listen. I have found that what I mix on the K240s
    sounds good on my computer, car stereo, monitor speakers etc. I have taken my mixes to a friend
    of mine that still operates a studio, and monitored them on his Mackie HR series monitors, and they
    sound good.
    5. If you are looking for isolation, these won't be among your top choices, the semi open design doesn't
    excel in that area. They offer very little in that respect.
    6. Clarity is another area, that is important when you are working with a raw mix, and are working to mix
    it down. Clarity is hard to define, but it allows you to hear subtle details in a raw mix, that allows you
    refine them into a final mix. The K240s are better at that, than a lot of studio monitors.
    7. If you understand that when it come to mixing and monitoring, you don't want to hear enhancements,
    you want to hear reality, so you can enhance it yourself, then you won't find the K240s lacking.
    They'll deliver, what you deliver. Monitor systems aren't designed to make you sound good, they are
    designed to deliver you the facts.

  • from Georgia February 15, 2017Music Background:
    Video Editor

    Rugged and great sound

    I've carried these everywhere clipped on the outside of my backpack for four or five years now and I love them. They're not great in noisy environments, but I knew that going into it. I'm amazed at how the cable and headphones have held up, being thrown around and bent out of shape whenever they get snagged on something, and exposed to water if it's raining. If you need some good monitoring phones for editing, these are the ones.

  • from NM February 5, 2017

    Chancer

    My son loves it a lot!

  • from January 31, 2017

    Excellent Headphones

    The AKG K240 headphones seemed the best option for playing guitar quietly via my amp, listening to music, and recording playback. They are awesome for all the above! I highly recommend these for all purpose musical uses. Excellent quality sound.

  • from Zion,IL November 30, 2016

    A KG k240

    Comfortable to wear for extended periods. Excellent sound quality for the price

  • from Anchorage, AK November 8, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Sasquatch Approves

    Never realized how big a melon I had until I found a set of headphones that fit correctly. The sound is everything I wanted and more than I expected. I use these for tracking in my home studio. The clarity is beyond belief. Never before has the sound quality of my equipment exposed how much more I need to practice than these headphones.
    Love them.

  • from November 6, 2016Music Background:
    Various

    Great Headphones - Value

    Great headphones... say no more!

  • from illinois September 4, 2016

    AKG K240 headphonss

    I really live these headphones, very comfortable sbd they sound great. For the price, cant be beat.

  • from Texas August 31, 2016

    AKG K240

    I have used these headphones for years. I had to purchase a new pair due to the dog eating the last pair I had. Still great sound excellent low end response. Very natural and neutral.

  • from July 19, 2016

    Good quality and price

    No complaints, decent quality!

  • from Fort Payne, AL May 28, 2016Music Background:
    Have sang Southern Gospel over 30 years as well as playing bass guitar

    AKG K420

    I work in radio where I record, edit and complete mix for customer ads as well as record & edit program cds for listeners. GREAT set of headphones. Eliminates all outside noise. They are light weight and do not hurt my ears. have been using an old set of Koss, that are heavy ad hurt. Will recommend this set.

  • from TEXAS CITY, TX April 29, 2016

    AKG K240

    Supposed to be here today. They arrived yesterday. (Perfect!)
    They are so much smoother than my old Sens. No ice-pick what so ever.
    Just a good all around set of cans!

  • from April 15, 2016

    Great for mixing

    I bought these to replace an old set Iv'e had for 25 or so years.. These have been the "go to" cans for many pro engineers for years. They are great for getting a final mix together before going to your'e field monitors.. I usually find having to make very few changes after going to the reference monitors. They take the room out of the picture, which can be a problem if it's not tuned correctly which most home studios are not.. To many null and hot spots make it difficult to get a handle on low end frequencies in particular.. Putting a good set of "speakers" directly over your'e ears is the only real answer...

  • from Ohio March 22, 2016Music Background:
    Engineer, Multi-instrumentalist, Bassist for The Ohio Express

    Excellent

    Having used multitudinous headphones in my time as a musician and engineer, I was, at first, rather ambivalent toward these headphones. However, having ordered them, I am completely blown away by the combination of cost and quality.

    These are, beyond a doubt, the flattest-sounding headphones I have ever used, and that, friends, is a good thing.

  • from PA March 17, 2016Music Background:
    Home Studio Hermit

    THE Standard

    These are the studio standard! I have mixed through these and not even needed to tweak the mix when I listened through speakers.

    I just replaced my first pair that I got in 1989. They still work fine, but at this price, I couldn't resist replacing the 27 year-old beauties. That pair of phones have been on my head for literally ever take that I have ever recorded, no matter where I was or what instrument I was playing.

    The quality and sound are exactly the same as they have always been, and the design has two small improvements.

    This quality, at this price... just buy them!
    AKG is an unimpeachable company and Sweetwater provides unmatched service.

  • from March 10, 2016

    Head phones

    Very good quality. Very quick delivery.

  • from nc January 19, 2016Music Background:
    Guitarist,midi programer

    AKG K240

    great sounding headphones more so when your doing final mix down. i live in an apartment so it's hard to push your monitors without disturbing my neighbors. now when check out my cd in my car etc. they are dead on!!!!! Peace and Music.

  • from AMSTERDAM, NY January 8, 2016

    ear buddies

    These headphones are outstanding choice. Comfortable to wear isolated from outside noise. Best of all is you can repair these phones with spare ear pads cable and plags. They will last a lifetime.

  • from Tx January 8, 2016Music Background:
    Singer/songwriter/ home recording studio

    Good head. Phone- room for hearing aides

    The and are large enough that I cand wear my hearing aides when using the head phone. The hearing aides are Bluetooth so they are not as susceptible to feedback and that helps, but most headphone cans are too small to allow the hearings space to fit or work. This is my second pair of these I own, I got them for my bass player. I just replaced the cable on the older pair with the replaceable cord - a great feature. Being able to replace the cable and the pads at little cost and effort saves money and frustration. Oh, I didn't mention they sound great!

  • from West L.A. January 6, 2016Music Background:
    Various instruments I mess with.

    Standard

    Standard equipment at Leo Laporte's TWIT.TV for staff and every weekend radio show. I've had them in my purchase radar for years after streaming his show and seeing him wear them, I know they are solidly made. Also doesn't hurt that My set were useless because of one tiny little plastic hinge piece that I couldn't replace or refab.to urge me to shop for a sturdy model.
    This price was too good to skip even though cash was low.

  • from Florida January 5, 2016

    Sing/songwriter's ears

    I did not realize that listening to music is better with headphones. It was like being at a live show. I would suggest these headphones very much.

    Thanks,
    Paula Benson

  • from EAST SIDE LONG BEACH November 14, 2015Music Background:
    I WAS A PLAYA, BUT NOW IM A DOPE PRODUCER

    THESE ARE A GREAT BUY ESPECIALLY FOR 70 SMACKERS

    I HAD A PAIR OF K240S SINCE THE 90'S BUT MY PIT-BULL USED THEM AS A CHEW TOY. SO AFTER MANY YEARS OF USING THE SONY 7506'S I TOOK ADVANTAGE OF THE 30 DOLLAR OFF SAVINGS AND BOUGHT THESE FOR 70 BUCKS. THEY ARE VERY COMFORTABLE AND I TRULY ENJOY THE SOUND BETTER THAN THE SONYS. I WAS ACTUALLY SHOCKED AND HAD TO COMPARE ALL MY MONITORING EQUIPMENT. I USE A PAIR OF KRK ROKIT6'S AND ALSO A PAIR OF KRK ROKIT 8'S AND I SO FAR I THINK I LIKE USING THESE BETTER FOR TRACKING THRU MY ELEVEN RACK7 8PREX AS WELL AS FOR MIXING AND MASTERING.
    IM SURE THERE ARE BETTER DOMEPHONES OUT THERE BUT THESE WORK FOR ME IN MY PROJECT STUDIO. BUY THEM THEYRE GOOD

  • from Saint Anne, IL November 4, 2015

    Buy Them!

    I've had a pair of these for about 30 yrs now and they still are some of the best sounding 'phones I have ever heard, even with slightly worn ear pads. For about $70 bucks you really can't go wrong. You will spend a lot more before you hear a noticeable difference.

  • from Georgia July 22, 2015Music Background:
    Video Editor/Re-Recording

    Better than my monitors!

    I have a set of Roland MA-8's in my edit room, and these things sound even better than them. They're extremely comfortable, I can wear them for hours at a time. They're pretty bulky, so I carry them on the outside of my laptop bag, and they're a lot more durable than they look. I'd recommend them to anybody, especially for the price.

  • from January 28, 2015Music Background:
    Musician and voiceover

    Great sound at a good price

    The sound is really good. When I first put them on to listen, at first, I thought I was still listening to sound coming through my speakers, Then I realized that lovely sound was coming through the headphones. The sound is much better than my old, closed-back headphones. The ear cups are full-size to cover your entire ear. The description on Sweetwater is borne out by the item I received.

  • from July 20, 2014Music Background:
    Singer/Song-writer

    What I wanted

    I've been with AT headphones in my 7 years of hobbyist/student music time, and finally decided to switch to AKG. Man I wish I did it earlier...

    Have only been using it with the Apogee one interface which I purchased at the same time so far, but it's easy to get used to and so comfortable, my AT ones are just lying somewhere right now.

  • from Central Ohio July 8, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician, hobbyist recording engineer

    Perfect!

    I had a set of these a number of years ago that I bought from a friend and I literally wore them out. Years went by and since i've been doing a bit of recording recently I decided to get another set and for the life of me I don't why I waited so long. I just got my new set today and I've spent the last hour just listening to different music on these. They are the most comfortable pair of headphones I have ever worn. If I was going to do a marathon 12 hour studio session, these are the phones I would want to be wearing. Everything is perfect level-wise. the bass is there but not overstated or overbearing. The mids and highs are balanced nicely. The volume level seems a bit low at first but the more your listen the more you realize how perfectly comfortable it is for your ears. Obviously you could raise the volume level with more power if you wanted to. The new detachable cable is a nice touch.

    Invest in a set of these and you won't regret it and Sweetwater's service is second to none. A quick shout out to my sales engineer Ray Leach.

  • from 97202 July 3, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Music Teacher, Semi-Pro Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer

    Very Nice

    The sound is very sweet. Not hyped or anything, just good. It sounds like the music is in the room with you.

  • from WISCONSIN, USA June 14, 2014Music Background:
    In the closet for 30 years

    Anyone seen my head? Blown Away!

    If your looking for professional headsets with a people price, these are the sets for you. These sound like their big brothers and have wide-range sound reproduction. The newly designed ear-cups are larger and are not as uncomfortable than the K141 Studio. Bang for buck here!! A must for any enthusiast and required by professionals. Awesome sound, with the Sweetwater style.

  • from South Central MI June 9, 2014Music Background:
    musical hobbyist/voice over pro

    Fantastic!

    I've used AKG headphones for close to 30 years now - it's hard to believe it's been that long! My last pair stood by me for 22 of those years and only recently needed to be replaced. AKG have proven to me time and again that they are the 'phones I want and need.

  • from May 28, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician, Hobbyist, Student, etc

    Review The AKG K240 Studio Semi-Open Headphones

    The music and the instruments are heard well. The sound is crystal clear. What I hear is what comes out. That's what we call not lie because what we hear is what comes out of our work esn music.
            I feel more than satisfied with the purchase and anyone who is looking for one I would recommend these that are inexpensive and are perfect for mastering and mixing music. With the purchase was good and if any do not regret buying them. They got the degree.
             THANK YOU: LOOKING AHEAD TO BUYER WITH SINCERITY AND HONESTY.
                                          WITH SINCERITY AND HONESTY: EDILGALLO

  • from Maine May 26, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    AKG K240 Headphones

    Cant be beat for the price. I am very satisfied and sweetwater is pleasure to deal with. Thank you

  • from Washburn, MO May 21, 2014Music Background:
    audio technician

    First pair of professional

    Way better than what I was expecting! They are really good at getting the low notes through without abandoning the high stuff! I really think I could not get better headphones without paying hundreds.

  • from Thoreau, NM May 13, 2014Music Background:
    Composer, home project studio.

    They Look Good and Sound Great!

    This is the first time I have actually bought a professional-level set of phones and I was pleasantly surprised at the difference in quality of sound and comfort. I will never go back to the bargain phones again, although these phones were a real bargain in the quality they have versus the cost.

    This is a sturdy, good-looking pair of phones that gives you the clarity and depth sound that you need for mixing or performing in the studio.

  • from LA, CA February 17, 2014Music Background:
    Engineer, Producer

    Fought getting a pair for a long time

    I’m currently searching for the best set of cans for vocal tracking. For some reason there’s a million different headphones specifically for; mixing, master, tracking, drummers, orchestral performers, etc. etc. but not one that’s made specifically for vocal tracking. You would think this would be a staple in every brands line. I used to be a K240 hater. I never saw the appeal of these very old fashioned looking cans. It wasn’t until I finally bought a pair just to have as an option that I realized what I was missing. Build quality is excellent, and probably some of the most light weight headphones in their class. They’re very over-sized. Like a nice hoodie on a cold day (stupid analogy, I know). They can take a beating, and I don’t mind just tossing them here and there. And the sound is by far the best I’ve heard in the price range. Its the most natural and warm. I’ve done direct A/B comparisons with a lot of the ones you’re probably thinking about buying right now. None of them could really hold a candle. This is partly to do with the semi-openback aspect. Just a much better design for sound quality. Okay now on to what makes these the best that I’ve come across (so far) for vocal tracking. The fact that these are lightweight and oversized means that they put very little pressure on the artists jaw. Singing is all in the jaw. Tense jaw = bad performance. The more natural sound means there’s far less sibilance in the cans than with the over hyped stuff these compete with. And yes, EVERY single headphone I’ve used or owned in this price range is hyped. Don’t believe their claims of being “flat”. Everyone says their stuff “flat”. Very few are. Hell even these aren’t flat, they’re just not as hyped. Basically the singer will sound more like what they expect themselves to sound like. And finally the semi open back design. Most people would run away from it for vocal tracking because they’re afraid of the headphone bleed. Well for about 90% of the tracking I’ve done this has NOT been an issue what-so-ever. Especially if you’re using low output mics like an SM7b. But you do have to be mindful of how loud the mix gets in these, especially if there’s a condenser not far from it. But this can be mitigated if you know how to properly gain stage. If you have a loud singer, you should never have an issue with headphone bleed because you should never get a chance to turn the mic up enough for it to pick it up well. Plus the bleed to vocal ratio will be so high it won’t be worth thinking about. And if you have a quiet vocalist, you should never have the mix loud enough to really pop through. Its all a balancing act. And as long as you’re mindful of it, bleed will never get in the way. And the benefit of using an open design is that the singer stays in tune like 500% better. And at the end of the day would you rather have a sterile, lackluster, out-of-tune performance with no bleed? Or an impassioned, in-tune, moving vocal with the slightest bit of bleed that you can only hear when soloing the vocal in its quietest spots? Now until someone comes out with a way to add in the ambience without letting out any sound… like the opposite of noise canceling headphones… these will still be my go to for vocal sessions.

  • from Sedalia Missouri November 16, 2013Music Background:
    Berklee College of Music/Boston Ma

    The same as

    When I uses the The AKG K240 Studio Headphone and to see if my EAW sound the the same. They sound great! When everybody so to bed I can use my The AKG K240 Studio Headphone at night time. The next morning I check the mix with the EAW speaker and they sound great!

  • from Houston, TX USA June 8, 2012Music Background:
    Student

    Some of the best headphones I've ever purchased

    Completely fantastic. For the price, totally more than perfect. The semi-open style may not work for some people with certain projects, but as far as a personal pair for casual listening and the occasional mixing these are the best around.

  • from Ashburn, Virginia USA June 5, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Musician, recording engineer for over 40 years

    Great Headphones for the Buck

    My other Sony MDR V-6's gave up the ghost so I started the quest of finding a set of phones that were accurate, comfortable and NOT flat response. I tried the comparable Sennheiser phones and they were uncomfortable and heavy mid-range. Wayne, my Sweetwater agent, recommended the AKG K240 phones. I then remembered using AKGs many years ago in several recording studios and gave them a try. First thing I noticed was absolutely ZERO ear fatigue! Even after several hours use, it was like they were a part of me. Also they are extremely comfortable with great overall balance of frequencies.I mostly mix from monitors but these give a wonderful perspective of the overall mix. For the price, they can't be beat.

  • from Franklin, TN February 15, 2011Music Background:
    Electronic, Worship, Conceptualizing

    Stunning

    I bought these last week to upgrade from a pair of Sennheiser HD 205s. WOW they are amazing. I love the flat sound. The acoustics are amazing! Get yourself a pair of these! =]

  • from Bergen County, NJ, USA December 29, 2010

    Mind Blowing Accuracy

    1) Super flat frequency
    2) Super comfortable

    What more could you ask for in a pair of studio headphones? They're also cheap without being cheaply built!

  • from Norfolk, VA February 13, 2010Music Background:
    Composer

    Beautiful Sound

    I bought my first pair of AKG K 240's when I was 15. Since then, the improvement of the detachable cord makes it a 5-star product. Excellent range from lows to highs; the treble is the best I've heard in any headphones.

  • from Covington, IN USA December 25, 2009Music Background:
    guitarist, DAW production, recording, hobbyist, bassist, intermediate, student

    The best sound and the most comfortable!

    Wow! These have the best sound of any pair of headphones I've ever used. At first I thought the flat sound might be boring to mix and listen to with, but now I'm enjoying music like never before. Also, when i went to Sweetwater, they had a pair of these in each of there recording rooms, so you know they're great. Now that these are $100, they beat all of the other ones of the same price, so why look any further? also these are probably the most comfortable headphones out there. Way better than my last pair of sennheiser phones, that's for sure. I will never buy a different pair ever again.

  • from NY November 9, 2008Music Background:
    Singer-Songwriter, Producer

    The Best of the Best

    The 240s were my first official studio headphones and since the onslaught of new phones, I went out and purchased several other brands that were good but none are as good as these. The 240s are light and comfortable. They also sound the most true to the source. Theres a reason these phones are still around...

  • from USA March 17, 2008Music Background:
    Southern Gospel live & recording engineer.

    K 240

    My land, these are phenominal! I'm getting a better reference of my mixes on these than on my monitors.
    They are so light and comfortable, that I often forget I have them on.
    By far, the best pair of headphones I've ever worn.
    The only downside is that the cord is long enough that I ,unaware of it, end up tangeling my leg or my chair up with it. So when I move, it crashes onto a brick floor. That has probably happened more often than the times I've put the phones on my head.
    BUT, the best part is, they just keep on working like normall. They must be built like a tank!
    So, I'll work on not triping on these. I have room for improvement. But I honestly don't see how the AKG K240's could be improved.

  • from Tacoma, WA USA January 14, 2008

    BEST HEADPHONES for the money...

    I'm sure you could spend more (lets face it; A LOT More) and get better, but why? Besides being studio standards, and the sonic clarity of these headphones... My first reactions were of COMFORT! As soon as I put these on and experienced the 'Self-adjusting headband' I just new these would be very comfortable... and sure enough after a few hours in the studio my initial reaction was confirmed. They are just so light and the way they fit over your ears, you hardly even know they are on, and I'm sure they would fit most everyone the same. If your looking for great headphones GET THESE!!

  • from Jacksonville, FL June 28, 2007Music Background:
    Recording Technician, Musician.

    One of the best for over two decades

    I purchased my first two pairs of K240s back in 1985 for a small studio. Even with all the changes in technology since then, these are still one of the best in the market . Audio detail, frequency response, and accuracy compare to headphones costing much more. I've owned and used Sony, Sennheiser, Grado, and other brands over the years, and I still use the 240's on a regular basis. One other thing, last year I was easily able to purchase replacement parts for those same 20 year old 240's from AKG. Talk about product support! Try doing that with some other vendors!

  • from Boston June 28, 2006Music Background:
    Musician, recording engineer

    Five stars for the AKG

    As far as I know these have been a staple in any large commercial studio for the past 10 years. Exceptionally good frequency response goes down to 15 Hz and up to 25 kHz, now I am able to hear sonic detail that I didn't even know existed in my CDs and recordings. These are intended to be used professionally with good equipment and have a balanced TRS cable, so if you are someone who will use them on a Walkman just don't even bother. These things have to be used with state-of-the art studio facilities, this is where they belong. Putting them on a walkman or mp3 player is a waste of time since these devices don't even have the full frequency response for the headphones to reveal what they can do.

  • from Bellevue, Washington May 6, 2017Music Background:
    Rapper, Music producer, Song writer

    Great headphones!!

    It's a great piece of equipment to be used in a studio. I really liked it. These give very accurate results. They may sound a little bit fatiguing to many people, but these are made to sound what it actually is and not sound dramatically pleasing as they are pro headphones. The only problem that I got is that the thread with which the earcups were stitched, is coming out. But again, for the price range, they are probably the best studio headphones. Loved the way they look, in fact, many people actually came to me just to say that they look awesome. Really great if you are just starting out and want some inexpensive studio headphones.

  • from Menifee, Calif. January 3, 2017Music Background:
    Pro Tools certified and keyboard

    AKG K240 open back studio headphones

    This is the second pair of the AKG K240 studio headphones. I have one connected to my audio interface and the other to my Yamaha synthesizer keyboard. They are comfortable and they are not uncomfortable.
    The coiled cable would be a nice addition so not be running over cable with roller chair.

  • from Warren December 23, 2016

    K240 Phones

    Great Headphones love them!

  • from September 19, 2016

    GREAT INVESTMENT

    These headphones are just what I needed for recording AND mixing vocals. Due to them being semi open you might get bleeding into your mic BUT if you set your monitor levels just right it won't be a serious issue.. These are not that flat but they can give you a great mix if you know what you're doing

  • from South Korea August 4, 2016Music Background:
    Guitar and recording hobbyist

    Worth The Hype

    I did a lot of research before buying these headphones. Time and time again, these phones came up as some of the best studio headphones for the money. Some reviews said they're the best at ANY price. I play guitar through headphones. With my old set I had to quit after about an hour because my ears would be exhausted. I would take off the phones and my ears would be ringing. I've found that with these phones I can play until my fingers fall off and my ears feel fine! I've done a bit of mixing and recording with these phones and I've found that I can last much longer with them at those activities, too. They're very accurate sonically. They're worth every penny I paid for them. I highly recommend them. I didn't give them 5 stars because they don't quite fit my head. Maybe I have a small head, but it's not that small. They feel just a little loose on me. (Very tiny criticism.)

  • from July 23, 2016

    Excellent Headphones

    I have wanted quality over the ear cans for a while. My grandfather used to listen to, and tape old jazz and big band shows every Saturday night, earphones on, taking notes on the songs and details; My uncle was a musicphile, had 10000 albums or more, and it was always “Listen to it with the ‘phones”. So, when I read the reviews of these, I got ‘em.
    The sound quality is excellent. I can hear the full mix with these. They are comfortable and the self adjustment makes them fit perfect. I used to do a lot of editing work and these will make mixing sound so much easier
    I wish the adjusting wire was metal and not plastic, I can see cracking it down the line, which is the only negative thus far

  • from Eatontown, NJ May 5, 2016Music Background:
    Drummer (40 years), Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer

    Excellent Headphones for the $

    AKG is a name that you know if you've been around audio for any length of time. They are a trusted name in all types of studio and live application microphones and are also know for making excellent affordable headphones. I have owned a pair of the K240s for 30 years and other than having to have the cord replaced (because my parrot got a hold of it and chewed it) they have been flawless performers. I am a drummer and use these for practicing - they allow me to hear the music, but also allow my drums to come through the semi open design. They are very comfortable and I can wear them for hours. I have a recording studio and like to check my mixes on several speakers and headphones and these give me an honest representation of my mix (although my primary mix cans are the Beyerdynamic DT770s). For the money, you won't find a more balanced, more comfortable set of cans.

  • from April 13, 2016

    AKG K240

    Great sound

  • from March 31, 2016

    Great for mixing

    Best deal ever they work great for semi open backs, and the price for the package was outstanding, I am very pleased. My last pair I got in the early 80s if that tells you anything.

  • from Long Island , NY March 21, 2016Music Background:
    DJ / Artist

    Great product

    Enjoy them very much

  • from January 12, 2016

    AKG K240 Headphones

    A great set of headphones for the price.

  • from Seattle January 2, 2016

    you cant miss!

    Forever fighting the battle for flat mixdown had me on the ropes. Solution, K240. I am just a home studio guy and these solved my issues. what you hear inside the K240, is what your material will sound like on sound systems set flat.

  • from January 1, 2016Music Background:
    5yrs Recording, Beat Production, Mixing & Mastering

    Great Phones!

    I've had them for only about 3 weeks, but they sound very clear and give a very accurate sound. I can use them for critical listening without having to worry about the bass being too powerful (as they are semi-open headphones). For the price these are an excellent buy. They are comfortable to wear for extended periods of time. The only small drawback is that they do not have great sound isolation and noises from the surrounding easily leak into the phones. Just make sure your listening environment is relatively silent and you'll be good to go.

  • from December 30, 2015

    Lightweight and true sounding

    I forget I'm wairing them. I like the fact that they give you such a true representation of information that you can do important mix downs when noise would be an issue. Since receiving these headphones I've been able to do mix downs and even a few preliminary masters Anytime I want. 3am sessions are cool but I hate not being able to crank my JBL's. But sense I purchased the AKG 's time is not an issue

    I have yet to record vocals with them. I can't wait to see how loud I can crank them without bleed but it's cool either way because they're mostly for production and mix down.
    Now I can't wait to get a $200.00 pair. Until then I'm 100% satisfied with these. AND I got 'em on sale.

  • from Rochester, N.Y. December 6, 2015Music Background:
    Producer, musician, audio consultant, designer.

    Go to phones

    I have been using these headphones since they were introduced. Detailed highs, full tight bass,
    vocals sound as they should and the imaging is excellent. If you are looking for headphones definitely give these a try, you will not be disappointed. One thing that is important with certain headphones is listening fatigue, it is very subtle and can ruin your mix or listening experience, you may notice something is amiss but you just cannot put your finger on what it is, with these phones that will not happen. At this price they are a bargain.

  • from November 30, 2015

    AKG K240 Studio Semi-Open Headphones

    These headphones were recommended by an audio technician friend as a good choice for a low price, and have stood the test of time. From the moment I first tried them I was impressed with the improvement in sound and comfort compared to my previous headphones. These are an excellent buy!

  • from Ellwood City, PA May 1, 2015

    Great Headphones

    Great Headphones very comfortable. Good price. Sound muds up a touch though. I believe that is because of them being semi closed.

  • from Brownwood, TX November 14, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound, Musician

    Great Headphones especially for the price!!

    Honestly as far as flat response goes and the price of these headphones I'm really impressed. They are great for house and studio mixing. I haven't yet used them as much as I will in-studio, but I have done some preliminary work with them and I am very impressed. I have already started a re-mastering project with them because of how they sound.

    Overall great frequency response in my opinion.

  • from September 28, 2014Music Background:
    Producer

    Great

    Fit Perfectly. Don't get uncomfortable so great for long sessions.
    Sound: clear tops, bass is a bit lacking though but not enough to really warrant a bad review. A steal for the price.

  • from Pismo Beach, CA November 18, 2013Music Background:
    Live sound engineer, recording hobbyist

    K240 a great reference headset for home recording or live sound

    Excellent for soloing channels in live sound for on the fly fixes/imprvements. Great for sampling/dubbing while recording in my home studio. I got my first pair as a gift in the '80s. I have purchased four more pairs for various live systems I have put together and now for another pair for my home studio. The semi open is really helpful for vocalists to reference thier own voice while dubbing tracks. Only downside is the inability to handle low frequncy SPLs with out distorting when volume is turned up.

  • from Indianapolis, IN August 21, 2013Music Background:
    Rock, Progressive-rock, Christian Rock, and more...

    Love These Headphones

    I've been using these headphones! I've been using these for well over five years now and they are still working great. They have a flat and wide frequency response so you really hear the music as it is. They have also been pretty rugged. I don't abuse them, but don't treat them with kid gloves either. The audio quality is great for the price. The only thing that has failed over the years is the cord, but that can be replaced although the $30 price tag is a bit steep. I will probably replace the ear covers soon also. I'm listening to some music with them while I'm writing this review. I am a musician so I use them for tracking at home and listening to music. I would recommend them to anyone who wants a good set of headphones at a good price. Some may not like the semi-open design, but I like it because it seems to add some openness to the listening experience, but that's just my humble opinion. I hear all the music, but don't feel closed in. The only drawback would be using them for a vocalist while recording as you can hear the sound close by. You would get some bleed over into the recording mic. Otherwise, I love them.

  • from Ohio July 20, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Church

    Sound Awesome, cumbersome to trasnport

    My kids usurped my Bose noise cancellation and I expected these to be a temporary way to tide me over. But the sound is so articulate and clear, I am overjoyed. Only complaint is they don't come with a case to travel with or fold up for convenience. Since they are semi-open know that those in the immediate vicinity will hear something. But for the price, your ears will be happy.

  • from United States November 5, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    AKG K240 Studio Headphones

    This is the first pair of professional studio headphones I have owned so I'm not to familiar with the competition. Overall I was blown away. They are very light compared to any other headphones I have worn and the sound is extremely clear. The only reason I didn't give it 5 was because I felt like the bass was a little lacking but I don't know if that is because of my sound card or the head phones. My monster in ear phones have a little more bass than these but I would rather wear these for long listening sessions.

  • from Jackson, TN July 5, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Your Standard Workhorse Headphones

    These headphones are the Yamaha NS10s of headphones. They are used in almost every studio as the 'go to' hp monitors for musicians and vocalists. Make the right choice and get these. You'll be glad you did

  • from Canon cty CO March 25, 2012Music Background:
    former radio broadcaster

    30+ years with K240s

    This is pair number 3 since my first in 1980. My first pair were the absolute best. Back then, they used the sextett diaphragm design which gave a slightly better and defined bass than the current single diaphragm design. But these are mighty close, and remember I paid about $100 for the first pair in 1980.

    I use them for personal listening and adjusting audio for website broadcast. I have used them in on-air work, but for that application I didn't like them as well as cheaper phones. I couldn't hear myself in the mix with the K240s as with a cheaper set.

    Going to the replaceable cord is the best move they've made. For me, at least, the achilles heel of the K240s was that the cord would stiffen near the earpiece. I have oily skin so that may have been a factor. This would cause the solders inside the phones to fail after about 10 years of use. If not for that, I might still be on pair number 1!

  • from Portland, Or October 19, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Studio Musician

    Just what I needed

    My wife just purchased these for me for our anniversary. These are flat, dead flat, and that's amazing. For those times when im mixing late into the night I know I can slip these on and still get a great mix. I haven't tracked with them, and because of the open design there might be a little more bleed than closed headphones, but I haven't tried that yet. I highly recommend these to any one who wants to take that next step in gear and buy these, it is worth your money, and it will become a great reference for your mix.

  • from NH January 9, 2010Music Background:
    Semi-pro Musician/Engineer/announcer

    Excellent open headphones

    The advantage of the open design is they are comfortable for long periods of time. The disadvantages are that you don't get much, if any, isolation and if you are working close to a mic, either working on your singing or doing radio announcing, they can feed back, especially if you turn your head, perhaps to queue a cd.

    So if you need to work close to a mic or if you need to be able to hear a mix in a loud room - recording a live band for example - I recommend the Sennheiser HD280 pro which gives you 30db of isolation.

    There is a lot to be said for having a pair of each. The AKGs clearly win on comfort. You can easily forget you have them on - just as well they stand up to abuse. Both have excellent, though somewhat different, sound.

  • from hackettstown, new jersey usa July 3, 2009Music Background:
    radio station dj/ host of Beatles/Dylan Hour...

    For over 20 years k 240 have served me well.

    The AKG k 240 headphones are truly outstanding! Have used them as a dj for a radio station since the late 80's. The skinny cable I have run over dozens of times with the chairs and they still work as well as the day I bought them. In fact, the price today is cheaper than what I paid over 20 years ago. Very warm sounding and comfortable. One thing, I do have to turn up the 'headphone volume' alot higher than the cheaper Sennheiser headphones the radio station uses. Not sure if this is an impedance thing, or my ears because of my advanced age. Would highly endorse these headphones to anyone looking for long lasting and great sound. Looking for an excuse to buy a new pair, but these babys still work like a charm.

  • from Buffalo NY May 28, 2008Music Background:
    Recording Engineering Student

    Good Mix Translation

    For "Listening" these things are exciting. You'll notice very subtle details, pan effects, hidden doubling and delays etc. that you never noticed before in songs youve heard thousands of times.

    For "Mixing" I dont have a WELL Treated room and i find that if my MONITOR mixes arent translating to the car very well, Ill go back and use these to tweak the mix and its always just extremely accurate. I even started doing most of the mix on these cans and making minor modifications on the Mackies.

    BUT DONT LET ANYONE SEE YOU WEARING THESE, THEYRE MONSTROUS

  • from Denton, TX April 17, 2008Music Background:
    Amateur Music Engineer

    Very Good, So Far

    I almost gave them a 4.0 because of ear fatigue. Sound quality is great. I can hear most every nuance of sound clearly. Actually every nuance. I love them every minute I monitor music through them. However after an hour and a half or so I need to set them down for a few minutes because I start to notice major ear fatigue and need to take a break. So they're great, & most people might not experience this fatigue. I still advise everyone to own a pair of these.

  • from Buffalo, NY February 25, 2008Music Background:
    Music and Production student, 6 years home studio exp.

    So Detailed, So Smooth

    These Phones are F"ing Amazing. They are so detailed, all of the sudden I can hear Tiny TINY nuances ive never heard before in songs ive listened to a thousand times. On the same tip, they show me little imperfections in my vocal tracks that I WOULD NOT have noticed on my monitors. GREAT GREAT!.

    ALSO
    I'VE RUN OVER THE CORD WITH MY STUDIO CHAIR 30 TIMES AT LEAST AND DROPPED EM HALF A DOZEN TIMES AND THEY SOUND AS MAGICAL AS EVER.

  • from Kyiv, Ukraine April 5, 2007Music Background:
    Pro Musician(Guitars, Basses), Recording Engineer

    Bought and calmed down

    Didn't give it 5 - there are some better ones. Well, maybe :) But I'am completely satisfied with this amazing product. Superb detailed sound, it's tat honest, that sometimes I start to dislike some records I've enjoyed before because of finding some crappy moments :) Every time I put them on the world of people is blown away. It's time for music. Nothing else.

  • from Toledo, OH December 31, 2016Music Background:
    Recording engineer intern, songwriter, guitarist and avid music listener

    Great frequency range!

    Great frequency range and I wouldn't have any complaints but you really gotta crank the volume compared to other professional headphones. Maybe because it's like a hybrid of close black but great overall especially for the price.. very comfortable for long periods of use

  • from GA - Georgia December 29, 2016Music Background:
    4043632393

    Good product

    Enjoying, complete studio now

  • from September 12, 2016

    Great the second time as well

    I liked these headphones so much, I bought a second pair. Great sound and comfortable. Sweetwater sweetened the deal by including a headphone hanger (mic stand mount) and 20' extension in a package deal. Love it.

  • from Alabama July 23, 2016Music Background:
    professional singer and musician

    AKG K240

    Very affordable,great quality headphones for studio or live playing....very comfortable...love em !

  • from July 1, 2016

    Recommended by Sweetwater,...

    And I was not disappointed. They are not cheap but a good value for the price. Light weight and sounds good. seems to be a quality product, Fitzin to order a couple more.

  • from June 2, 2016Music Background:
    40 yrs professional musician, 25+yrs recording

    Great sound, comfortable fit, light weight

    Haven't had them long, but after a 4 hour stint they were still comfortable. True sound reproduction, accurate lows & highs. You could definitely do worse.

  • from Portland May 11, 2016Music Background:
    Band 10 years....home recording layman.

    Love these headphones

    Love the sound of these. Comfortable. Great range. Much better than my Bose closed ear headphones...which to be fair are not designed for studios. These are crisp and clear across a large frequency range.

    They do allow quite a bit of sound to escape at higher levels..with the quasi open design. Not to use in bed with the wife sleeping!

  • from 2348 E. Frances Rd. May 2, 2016Music Background:
    I majored in voice in collage & have been recording since 1975

    Owner of A & C Productions by Milks

    I have now 3 AKG K240 headphones & I use them for editing all my projects I record.

  • from January 16, 2016

    AKG K240 Headphones

    The AKG K240 Studio Semi-open Headphones are pretty good, and I did notice an improvement over what I I was using before. I think they will really help in my mixdowns.

  • from Starfish Recording Vallejo January 13, 2016Music Background:
    Recording/mixing engineer, producer,guitarist and singer

    Industry standard improved

    Every studio I ever worked in had AKG 240s. I had a pair but someone stole them. At this price I couldn't resist replacing them. The new ones sound just as good as the legacy headphones. There is one improvement that I like a lot. Back in the day when I was an intern at a local studio I spent a lot of time soldering the wires that led to these headphones as they frequently came undone. The new improved models have a removable cable that clips on with a very well built connector. These headphones have a completely flat frequency response which which to hear what you're actually listening to

  • from Fargo January 4, 2016Music Background:
    Vocalist, guitarist, songwriter, amateur producer

    Less Ear Fatigue = Better Mixes

    I had been using the Sony MDR-7506's, which are fantastic headphones, but being a closed-back design meant ear fatigue became an issue after a relatively short amount of time. I had heard a lot about the AKG K240's over the years and how they were an industry standard. I decided to pick up a pair, and their clarity is great, their response is quite flat, and the semi-open back makes mixing over extended periods far less fatiguing on the ears. They are also quite light, but not cheap feeling, and they sit on the head very nicely. For the price, it's difficult to beat the value here.

  • from COWETA, OK December 31, 2015

    AKG K240

    Great headphones for me!! Use for digital accordion ROLAND FR7 XB.

  • from December 31, 2015

    Great headphones, studio standard

    I already have 3 of these. They are excellent studio headphones, even adequate for mixing if you are using a quality DAW such as LOGIC.

  • from September 15, 2015

    Nice

    This is my first pair of acutal pro headphones for mixing, but my first time using them I could see the difference from using my behringer's that are closed back headphones.

  • from September 3, 2015

    AKG 240 HEADPHONES

    These headphones work really well for my tape to digital archiving project...sound great!

  • from February 17, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Great sound for mixing, but tend to fall apart very easily.

    I have always loved the sound of these particular headphones and have primarily used them for studio mixing, however, every pair I have ever owned (4 to be exact) have fallen apart within 1 to 2 years. Usually the plastic mold around the back of the ear-cup detaches and is a real pain trying to fix. I decided to move to the Audio Technica ATH M50 which is way more durable. It doesn't have the high end open response/sound like the Akg's, but it has lasted much longer and I've still been able to achieve great mixes using them.

  • from Haines City, FL July 16, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Recording Engineer, Recording Artist, Producer

    Review of AKG K240

    I am happy with this set of headphones. I have been using AKG K44's for about five years now, but I decided that it was time to get a new pair. I have used these phones to record. I was concerned about the noise-bleed into the microphone. They are semi-open so there is a little bit of bleeding, but I think it is worth the value in sound quality. I have owned these phones for a little over a month, but I have not used them for too many projects (I'm busy with work and school right now).

    I like the 1/8 to 1/4 plug that comes with the phones. You have to screw it on and this prevents the plug from getting pulled out accidentally. The cord is really long also. It was a decent price and I am happy with my purchase.

  • from Cincinnati, OH July 7, 2014Music Background:
    location recording

    Nice set of phones

    Very nice set of phones for the price. I use a pair of Grado SR225s at home, and bought these for field use. As is typical of open back phones, they aren't the best for deep bass or sound isolation, but overall response sounds flat and very crisp. Physical construction is very good, as is comfort. They are very nice for long listening sessions.

  • from Long Beach, CA July 7, 2014Music Background:
    Playing Piano for over 50 years. Writing & Recording Music for over 42 years. Owning Private Recording Studio for over 25 years.

    Sound Quality, Comfort & Value

    (3) New Headphones for my Private Studio which will make the other musicians that I record with very HAPPY!. Up to know I have been using a mix of various headphones, some wireless, others wired, mostly not very high quality. But now that is all behind for Studio Westside 88. These new AKG headphones sound great, are very comfortable and will improve the recording experience greatly.

  • from Minco, OK, United States July 5, 2014Music Background:
    Live Sound, Keyboardist

    pHONE tHEFT

    These AKG phones are great and the sale price was phenomenal! More reasons to love Sweetwater.

  • from Dallas, TX USA July 5, 2014Music Background:
    Musician and recording hobbyist

    AKG K240 Studio Headphones

    I see why these are so popular in so many studios. AKG has made these phones highly affordable and extremely comfortable with a very nice sonic presence from top to botom. They sound really good and will not fatigue your ears...whether recording, mixing, or playing live, and that is what really counts for me.

  • from Pontiac, MI United States June 30, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist with a bachelors in Music Production

    Very nice

    These are good semi open headphones. I already had a pair and at the sale price I felt I couldn't pass up getting a couple of more. They are very comfortable and have a nice airy sound quality with clear mids.

    They don't have the bass that my Sennheisers have but still useful for mixing and some critical listening tasks or hooking up to the JamHub for late night rehearsals.

  • from Indiana, USA June 20, 2014Music Background:
    Mostly just enjoy listening to music and sometimes "tickling the ivories"

    AKG K240 Headphones - just what was needed.

    After straining my ears in trying to understand what was said in various instructional videos and not being able to enjoy any music listened to through the terrible tiny speaker embedded in my computer, I can finally do those things by using these headphones. Excellent! Nice open and balanced sounds with a good range of tones. The representation of the bass is fine with me as is. I see no need for an amplifier, even though my computer is a bit lacking in terms of being able to fully power the K240s. These headphones are also very comfortable to wear. Enjoy them very much - thanks for the excellent service Sweetwater.

  • from Lexington, Ky June 6, 2014Music Background:
    Producer, Multimedia Specialist

    Excellent sound and quality

    The look and quality of these headphones are great, and they cover your ears completely instead of stitting on your ears. The sound quailty is pretty accurate and great for recording, the only con is the volume is much lower then my Sony pro 7506. For the price I would definetly recommend the headphones.

  • from United States April 23, 2014

    All day wearable

    As a voice over artist, I wear headphones all day. The AKG K240's give me the sound I want and the comfort I need.

  • from Waxahachie, TX March 31, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Musician, Student, Audiophile.

    Decent Headphones

    These headphones sound good. Just that, nothing incredible. I'm listening on my computer and iPhone to live and studio recordings. The lows and mids sound pretty good. On the other hand, the highs and crisp hi-hat/crash hits can be a bit brittle. Overall the sound inside the headphones is good for the money. The sound on the outside however, is a bit much. I understand these are semi-open back, but for recording vocals or even listening in a group of people, you can hear way too much of the sound on the outside.

  • from NJ, USA March 22, 2014Music Background:
    recording producer, orchestral musician, composer

    will be sorry to see these old classics go

    NOTE: you MUST run these in for several hours before they'll blossom. They sound very harsh and top heavy right out of the box but that will go away. I'm sure I had a pair of these when I was 17; that was... a loooong time ago. Fast forward to 2014: I needed 3 matched pairs of good-quality headphones to go with my Sound Devices HX-3 so musicians could sample location recording takes at breaks. For that the K240s are perfect: very accurate and spacious but not expensive enough to worry about. They also passed the girl friend's comfort test (many 'phones don't; she can't get them over her fluffy hair). Are they the best headphones ever? Well of course not, yet for certain AKG knows what they are doing. The first pair of these is now standing in for the $400 Audio-Technica pair that got ruined recently and, frankly, I think the AKGs are much better.

  • from February 6, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Very Good

    It was nice item great quality

  • from Medina, OH September 13, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, DJ, Producer

    Great headphones

    The mids and highs are very detailed and clear, more so when these headphones are properly amped.

    They are extremely comfortable. I could wear them for hours and hours without a problem.

    Imaging and sound stage are superb, they will get the job done as backup monitoring headphones. They do leak a bit of sound though, at least when not being worn. Compared to my open supra-aural Sennheiser HD238s they are even louder when taken off your head. Wearing them is a different story however and most of the sound is muffled with the K240s unlike my HD238s which are like wearing speakers on your ears.

    My only issue with them is how little bass they have. I tend to find myself EQing up the lower frequencies to get them to sound how i like.

  • from Philadelphia, PA February 15, 2013Music Background:
    Producer, Beat-Maker and Composer

    I love these headphones

    Good headphones to use when mixing and recording vocals. I can hear every piece of sound clearly on these. Awesome.

  • from Upstate New York April 24, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, recording hobbyist

    hooked on these headphones

    Light, comfortable, with a warm, full sound. I love the AKG K 240 studio phones.

  • from Savannah, GA October 12, 2008Music Background:
    Amateur Composer/Engineer

    Quality without sacrificing the Benjamins

    These were my first pair of "professional" headphones and ever since then I have been an AKG headphone fan. If you are looking for quality under $100, these are it. Sony's to me are a bit bass heavy, and Sennheisers are top heavy, these are just right. Only drawback is for certain soundcards and ipods they don't get loud enough. One may need a headphone amp or a soundcard with proper monitor levels. Overall though a great buy.

  • from July 5, 2014

    Nice cans!

    Purchased these at an awesome price to replace my 25 y.o. pair that were getting a bit worn. Not as nice as my K612 Pro's, but these still sound great.

  • from Covington , IN September 28, 2013Music Background:
    Former recording studio owner, sound engineer and producer.

    Having to replace my favorite headphones

    First let me say, that these headphones would have gotten a 4.5 to a 5 from me had I not had some problems related to manufacturing flaws.
    I would like to put the positive things right up front, because for sound quality, and flat frequency response, and clarity, and the overall ability to hear exactly what you are recording, you can't beat the AKG 240s. You hear exactly what is on your recording.
    This is the first set of headphones I've owned that I can do a final mix on, play it back on my monitor speakers, move to my regular home system, take it out to the car, send it to a friend, send it to another studio, and the mix sounds right every step of the way. I set the volume level, to about 85 db, and leave it there in order for this to work well. I think a lot of the negative reviews on these headphones has to do with people not wanting to hear what is actually on the recording, and not understanding the art of monitoring. I know this from experience. Sounded great at 115 db last night, sounds like crap at 80 db this morning. That's not the fault of the monitor, it is your own fault for not understanding the nature of the human ear.
    Also many of the negative reviews have to do with bleed thru from outside noise, or lack of isolation, has to do with the misuse of the product, compared to its design purpose. Open headphones were never intended to isolate.
    As you can see, when it comes to flat response, and clarity, I will defend these headphones all day long. Now for the negative part.
    Within a year and a half after my purchase, the right earpiece came loose, and just dangled in mid air. Simple fix, I just glued it back together, and all is well. Well today that same right earpiece started to cut in and out, what the hell. Then that same right earpiece, just stopped working at all. While attempting to fix it, I happened to pull off the cover with the AKG label. I noticed that there was a screw that was backed all the way out, so I attempted to screw it in, but found that I had to force it to thread in. Why, most likely because in the manufacturing process, the screw was never secured, thus the first failure of it coming apart. I compounded the problem by gluing it back together, and might I say quite well, so now it can't be repaired.
    Here's the part most people won't understand. I work in the manufacturing business, so I understand that no matter how well you design, no matter how well you plan your process to never let a product out the door with a manufacturing flaw, the reality is that it is going to happen. Manufacturing is a process, and no process is flawless. I wish it were, but it's not.
    I bought these headphones from Sweetwater on Jan 25 2011. Today is Sept 28 2013, and I just ordered another pair, from Sweetwater, to replace them. I might be disappointed that the headphones had a manufacturing flaw, but I really do love these headphones. As a matter of fact I'm impressed enough with the K240 enough that I also ordered a pair of AKG K77.
    Tell you what I will do. Given that both sets show up with no manufacturing flaws, and work as well in sound quality as the first K240s did, I'll move my rating to a 5. If not, I'll contact AKG, and ask them if they would put me in charge of their quality system.
    As for now, I'm going to tell you that the AKG K 240, is a great product.

  • from Austin, TX December 10, 2010Music Background:
    Freelance Engineer, Drummer

    Great for reference, Terrible for Tracking

    These sound fantastic if you're in a quiet room. They sound natural due to their semi-open design, however this is also the source of its major problem.

    These are NOT made for tracking. You WILL have scratch-track/click bleed through if you use these. Also, they tend to pull your hair out if you have long hair.

    + Sound Quality
    - Click Bleed-through
    - rips hair out

  • from Midwest May 13, 2008Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Comfortable, Good Sound, Affordable

    This is my third pair of AKG K-240s. I like the way they fit (not too tight, not too heavy), I like the way they sound (accent on bass, decent mids, good enough highs), and I like the new Sweetwater price.

    For the same money, I think my Sennheiser HD 280 Pro sounds a lot better, but it fits way too tight for me to wear for long periods.

    When I want to concentrate on sound, I'll listen to my HD 280 Pro. When I want to relax and enjoy the music, I'll wear my AKG K-240 Studio.

  • from Baltimore, MD January 16, 2017

    Worse than they used to be

    I had a pair of these from ~10-15 years ago, and absolutely loved them. I recommended them to everybody I came across who I thought would appreciate a fantastic pair of reference phones. But, I really abused that pair, and over time I started getting some crunch on really loud low-end in the right ear (discovered during the opening Star Destroyer flyover scene in Star Wars Ep IV, fwiw), which become more and more of a problem. So I was sad. I read online, however, that AKG has done a good job at maintaining quality control on the K240s despite some cosmetic changes, so I decided, what the heck, might as well buy a new pair.

    The internet was wrong. I have done many side-by-side comparisons between my old (kinda broken!) pair, and my new pair, and the old pair is far superior every single time. The real killer in my listening is the soundstage: the new pair is just incredibly "closed-off". When listening to orchestral recordings it's like someone shrank the size of the room by 75%. When listening to TV/movie audio, it's like everything was recorded in a little 3' cubed box in front of the listener. It's just all wrong. On the older pair, everything sounds *expansive*. It's so good that I found myself many times taking off the headphones and looking around behind me, thinking that a tiny bumping or shifting sound from the source audio was actually coming from the outside world. No longer. It sounds like whining about something extremely ephemeral, but that kind of "presence" is extremely important when you're trying to get an accurate picture of what the source really sounds like.

    To be clear, these are good phones, especially for the price. The frequency response is fine on the new pair (except for a bit of a flutter with loud low-end right out of the box, which is a bit disturbing), nice and flat, no frills. They're comfy and sound decent. But something changed from what they used to be. I would definitely no longer recommend these to friends the way I once did, because the sound just isn't the same. Honestly, I am actively seeking a new set of reference phones, because I can't see myself using this new pair for 10 years like I did my old one.

  • from Mad Musicians for Hire July 17, 2016Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Producer

    AKG K240

    These are a good value, though they are not perfect. The over ear design will definitely make your ears sweat with prolonged use.

    My JVC cans, which were comparatively priced, are more comfortable. My Bose cans, which fit on the ears (As opposed to around), are also lighter, more comfortable, and carry more bass (The Bose sound okay but probably more colored down at the bottom end. They may be better for listening, but I didn't feel confident mixing thru to the Mastering Stage without frequent comparisons, using several reference sources.

    The AKGs have a more transparent and natural sound. The bass is there, but depending on the music being piped thru them, they may lack some punch.

    That's okay with me because, when mixing, I am looking for a middle-of-the-road type of sound that will translate well, when tweaked on different systems, for the particular music that is being played. I think these will do that well, and will round out the collection nicely.

    However, all that being said, I think it's good to have options. So, I would want to own these anyway... I haven't really had an opportunity to test their accuracy with a new mix but my old mixes sound decent, though different, not in a bad way, but in a different way.

    My instincts say, you can't go wrong with these....but I would want to use other phones as well...or at least until I get used to them.

    The best two words I can use is to describe these: I'm satisfied (Or is that three...).

  • from Central PA January 23, 2016Music Background:
    Project studio owner, artist

    Good, but there's probably better

    I've been using the K240 model for the last 15 years as my go-to headphones for tracking and general purpose use. They seem to hold up pretty well to abuse, and I've always found them comfortable. Lately however, I've noticed differences in the loudness response of some of my older models vs newer models, an I've begun to retire the older ones. I've also noticed somewhat cheaper build quality of the new ones, most recently with the tension adjustment disk on one side of a set cracking after only minor use at my mix desk.

    I'll probably upgrade to a better model with my next string of headphone replacements, but these really do hold a special place in terms of how I hear my projects.

  • from September 18, 2015

    A Bit Fragile

    I bought a pair of these cans based on their long-earned reputation of accuracy and comfort. They lived up to their reputation on these two counts. However, briefly after the warranty ran out, the sound went bad and the cause was a broken wire connection inside the right ear cup. I took it to a local shop for repair and the cost was 1/3 the cost of the headphones. I was happy again. But it wasn't long lived. After a few months, they broke again..in the same way....right in the middle of a job. The phones aren't made in Germany anymore...they're sourced in China. I've read in other locations that the quality dropped as a result. I cannot imagine these being studio standards if this durability is indicative.

  • from November 18, 2012

    AKG K 240 Studio Headphones

    I have used this headphone for both radio broadcasting and music production. Bottom line...great! Wonderful freq. response and flat response.
    For the money...can't beat it!!!

  • from San Francisco, CA, USA June 23, 2014Music Background:
    audio listener, piano player

    pro and con

    Pro: very good sound, I like the cups enclosing my ears and the sound exclusion this accomplishes, dealings with Sweetwater personnel are first -rate
    Con: heavy, hurts my neck to wear them for long, so I keep them handy for short periods of listening to something, very disappointed with this because I intended to use them more lengthily

  • from Belchertown, MA USA June 12, 2014Music Background:
    Voice actor, VO director, VO producer

    Reviewing so that Sweetwater will stop calling me

    They're fine but a lot less high-end than my old Sony's.
    Comfortable. Love the fact that it doesn't have a coiled cord.

  • from portland, Oregon May 13, 2008Music Background:
    pro producer/ composer

    Mix killer... don't believe the hype

    The two and half stars are generous. I really hope this review gets posted because the reviews that I have read about these headphones are simply misleading. These headphones are so flat and empty it's pathetic. Having a flat response is one thing, taking all the fun out of the process is another. The highs and lows are nowhere to be found and the definition is muddy at best. They are uncomfortable, clunky, and bleed TONS! I bought these on the recommendation of a friend and because of the reviews I read here. I don't blame the sweetwater reps at all, but I would hate for someone else to make the same mistake I did because of fluffy reviews. My roommate has the Sony
    MDR-7506s and what a difference! They much more resemble the sound coming from my monitors and make working in cans enjoyable and rewarding. These AKGs are no good. I own other AKG products and have had no complaints.

  • from Santa Rosa, NM December 10, 2015

    Just Alright

    I bought these on sale (luckily), the original price was much higher than what I paid. I had researched headphones and I settled on these ones because of the price and the looks. They are nothing special, just average sounding headphones. They do look very cool though.

  • from Ohio July 19, 2013Music Background:
    Commercial radio, educator

    There are better phones for my tastes

    OK for some uses, such as casual listening or even on-air monitoring at a radio station (I've used the same or similar model in broadcasting), but lacking a bit of high end for my tastes. Overall, I prefer the Audio-Technica ATH-M40fx, the Sony 7506, and the Samson SR850. Your tastes may vary.

  • from dallas April 21, 2010Music Background:
    bassplayer/drummer

    there going back

    I was grealty disappointed. If these are studio standard that explains all the over modulated recordings over the years. They are dead sounding. The sound nothing like a pair of monitors.

  • from Rancho Santa Fe, CA January 5, 2012Music Background:
    Recording engineer

    Reliability problem

    I have been using four of AKG K240 at my studio. ( I do not remember from which store I bought them. ) After a few years of use, one lost cable connection and another one has unreliable connection. The sound quality is OK for the musicians to monitor their own sounds during their play. But, this is not suitable for monitoring mixing, because the frequency response is not good enough.

  • from January 10, 2017

    No sound stage

    I had high hopes when I ordered these. They are no good for referencing at all. The instruments just sound crammed together. It's all high end. The lows are almost entirely missing. I want a nice even sound and these just don't have the ability to deliver it. One star for comfort.

  • from May 8, 2016

    head phone assesment

    very low volume and very cheep made. proving you get what you pay for. low price low quality

  • from Portland, OR January 6, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician

    Caution

    Okay sound for the price but both pairs I bought shorted out at the plug with very little use. I replaced with Sony 7506, same price, better match with my monitors and much more durable. I won't buy these AKG again.

  • from Los angeles January 12, 2006

    A must have ! ! !

    I've had these baby's for a month now, and I must say, they are AMAZING!!!! Whenever I get a new piece of gear, I like to try it out on everything. Recently, my roommate was showing off his new $700 M-Audio Pro Keys 88 keyboard. He handed me his new $60 headphones he had plugged straight into the back of the keyboard and played for me. I said wow, this thing sounds great! I then ran to my room and grabbed my new AKG K240's and plugged them into his keyboard and he played the same thing. OH MY GOD,I said, I asked him if he had changed the settings, he said no. The sound was so rich,full and tight. After letting him try my K240's, he grabbed the phone and called Sweetwater to exchange his new $60 pair of headphones for the K240's, and no this is not an ad for sweetwater...lol, I'm a real costumer who did the same thing your doing now, researching and reading reviews.
    These baby's are strong too, very light weight and are made to flex. They fell off the desk and barely made a sound. For critical listening during mixing, I was amazed how clear I heard the beginning and end of each note, and that goes for any instrument, be it kickdrum or vocals!!! The AKG k240 studio headphones are a must have in the studio. I,ve also used them when playing my PC games...WOW

  • February 1, 2005

    AKG K240

    These are awesome headphones! I reciently bought an iPod and was unhappy with the sound quality of the headphones i had, so i decided to take a chance and buy these. I was more than impressed, they really surpassed the quality i ever thought I could get with a pair of headphones. The earcup covers your whole ear and they are the most comfortable headphones ive ever worn. If you think the price is too high or not worth it, think again because you wount be let down.

  • from Mexico City, Mexico February 1, 2005

    Great sound and feel

    I liked so much them that I'm recommending them to my friends! Great for hours and hours of continuous use. Best feature? Don't have to adjust them like all others. Just put them on and they fit perfectly. They're LOUD! Connect them to a computer and you'll notice they sound louder than other headphones. With these I noticed stuff in most recordings (including mine) I didn't hear with other phones or near-reference monitors. Just what you would expect for best reference for mixing your recordings.

Questions about the AKG K240 Studio Semi-open Pro Studio Headphones?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway