0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

QSC K12 1000W 12" Powered Speaker Reviews

5.0 stars based on 105 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Forrest Powell

    I don't think I've ever been so surprised at the sheer loudness and bass from a speaker of this size. The QSC K12 easily outclasses almost everything near this price range, weight and size. Phenomenal live speakers; you absolutely won't believe your ears.

  • Joseph Secu

    Wow! By far the best sounding and best looking portable speaker I've seen and heard. And lets not forget 1,000 watts of power giving this speaker loud, clean and very hi-fi sound in a very portable package!

  • Scott DeMarko

    In doing over 100 gigs and events per year with live bands, acoustic bands, and DJs, I can attest that having a good solid pair of PA mains that can deliver a solid amount of loudness, clarity, and full range in a package that can be easily portable is like a gift from heaven. The QSC K12s are a nice clean package in a monitor that works great for all of the above and it even works great when the DJs only have RCA, or 1/4 or XLR. The QSC has all of these inputs on the back and more. Its hard to imagine that two of these can cover a room for 200+ people or act as the tops for a loud rock band but they work so well in a variety of situations. Throw in a QSC K Sub and you have a portable solution for every event I can imagine in a small- to medium-sized venue.

  • from April 18, 2017

    Great speakers!

    Speakers sound amazing whether using for vocals or hit the low switch for music playback with a little more bass. Was so happy with my first set, I bought a second pair!!!

  • from South Louisiana April 17, 2017Music Background:
    Producer/Arranger/Guitarist/Engineer

    I Get the Great Reviews!

    I have to give these a "Wow! Blown Away" rating because of this: 10 years ago it would have taken a passive speaker with a 'higher end' digital amp (expensive) to produce what these produce! 20 years ago it would have taken the same speaker system with some very heavy and expensive transformer based amps to get you where these are! The reality is digital technology is of age. It's mature. It will only get more awesome!

    That all said, these speakers do everything you'd expect from a state-of-the-art digitally based PA speaker system. Very clear at loud levels, lots of headroom, light, and affordable! What more could we ask?!?!

    I believe QSC has raised the bar for all prosumer based PA system components. I'm reading now that the newer iteration will be twice the power!

    I work in two bands that have two different QSC systems. Both are above the bar.

    Highly recommended!

  • from Houston, Tx April 6, 2017Music Background:
    Guitar Teacher by Day, Entertainer by night

    QSC K12's are Amazing!

    A huge thanks to Jim Swain and all at Sweetwater. With the purchase of a QSC TouchMix-16 mixer and a pair of QSC K12 speakers... Game ON!! I'm so excited about performing now. Not to mention, confident to sing! The sound quality is absolutely incredible. Before purchasing I had viewed several videos online to be brought up to speed as to what is out there... Look no further. My Trio has stepped up Our game with QSC and Sweetwater.

  • from Wisconsin April 2, 2017Music Background:
    Performing musician

    Amazing!!

    This speaker is everything all the reviews say it is. Power, punch, clarity, response. Even at low volume settings. I am using two of these in my studio as primary studio monitors, and anticipate using in gigs. They are replacing two JBL EON15s. No comparison, and the JBLs were very good. Don't look any further than this.

  • from March 14, 2017

    Works great

    Excellent stuff love it

  • from Kansas March 11, 2017Music Background:
    30 plus years, random music, and venues

    Great Powerhouse, without the weight and size

    A friend who does sound as a profession, recommended I get the k12s. They are so crisp, and for what you get they are so small and light. Last guy that did our bands sound carried a huge set up, that broke our backs. Now I show up with these, and couple subs and get so much more, and better sound, for less space, and less money. Our regular fans couldn't stop talking about the sound quality we know have. Even the old sound guy is jealous with what I have done.

  • from Massachusetts February 10, 2017

    Great speaker

    What an amazing speaker!!! Sound quality is by far the best I have ever heard from such a compact unit

  • from NJ December 26, 2016

    Excellent speaker

    I have 5 of the QSC K12 and it really sound good, it has crispy clear sound, and durable heavy duty plastic casing.

  • from WA. December 24, 2016Music Background:
    Bassist 20+years of experience

    Sweet

    Great speakers with lots of power in a compact package. Well played QSC!

  • from September 30, 2016

    So much detail

    I haven't used it for a live gig yet, but from hearing it in my living room, wow. The sound coming out of this baby is so detailed, crisp and rich.

    I can't wait to show these off at my next gig.

  • from September 19, 2016

    Wow!

    Best sounding powered speakers I've ever heard. We purchased 4 as our FOH speakers. 2 Left and 2 Right with a K10 as Center fill. Suspended from the ceiling, these speakers sound great.

  • from Upstate NY July 14, 2016

    Very pleased

    When looking for new speakers for our sanctuary I did a lot of research. I finally decided that the QSCK12 offered exactly what we wanted. Our sanctuary is decent sized about 75 x 60 with 20 foot ceilings.I was a bit worried that these wouldn't have enough power but was I wrong. They have an amazing sound and can be custom tuned on the pack for your application. Excellent highs and surprising mids and lows. I have them paired with a couple of bass bins on their own amp through a cross-over. They do have a power his if you have the gain up high, but once the music starts that is gone. I would highly recommend these.

  • from June 29, 2016

    Blown Away!

    I was looking for some professional speakers to be used primarily for on-stage e-drum / vocal / band mix monitors. I grabbed a pair of the K12s and flanked them... one on each side of my E-Kit and I was blown away by the clarity, volume and the low end that the 12 inch speakers reproduce. It felt like I had a pair of high quality headphones on. These speakers are super strong, super loud and can used for about anything...not to mention awesome front mains.

    If you are an Electronic Drum kit player and looking for speakers with plenty of kick, low end and volume, don't let this 12 inch speaker scare you. It will pleasantly surprise you. It has more low end and volume than you would ever need for your kit.

  • from June 20, 2016

    QSC K12

    Had been waiting forever to get these and wow...so worth the wait!! Clear and strong......these are the real deal!! So worth it!! If you are thinking of these get them!!!

  • from Georgia June 8, 2016Music Background:
    Worship Pastor

    Excellent Speaker

    Could not be happier with these. We put four in our worship center and they sound amazing. Lots of range and very clear. The best option for this price range

  • from Texas April 26, 2016

    Great Speaker!

    Replaced my standard SM12V passives with a pair of these for FOH and my, oh my, what a difference. It's everything they say and more. And less weight too. Vocal clarity and punch is outstanding. Will never look back as it's worth the extra money.

  • from April 19, 2016

    Clean sound

    Great product at reasonable price. I do not hear any "hiss" or extraneous noise that can accompany a powered speaker.

  • from April 14, 2016

    K12

    Great speakers. I use them for monitors in live band settings and they double as mains for small venues.

  • from St. Peter, MN March 2, 2016

    Tanks with great sound, stunning power

    The subject really says it all. Solid build, great features, powerful, clear as a bell sound.

  • from Los Angeles, California January 26, 2016Music Background:
    10+ years musician

    Amazing Speakers

    I owned two of these as recommended by one of the employee from Sweetwater. These speakers are really clean and the bass sounds just perfect. The best purchase I ever made. Thank you!

  • from Solon, Ohio January 18, 2016Music Background:
    Guitarist in an 8 piece 60's-80's cover band

    QSC K12

    My band just purchase a pair of these speakers to be used as mains. We bought these as part of a new P.A. that included the QSC -16 mixer and 2 QSC 10's as monitors. To date, we have used the system once at a rehearsal and at 1 gig. The speakers sound fantastic; clear, rich with a nice low end, prominent midrange and smooth highs. They are reasonable in terms of weight and one person can easily mount them on tripods.Several members of the audience commented on how nice the sound was. So far, I am very pleased with these speakers; I think they compare very favorably to JBL's or EV's that are in the same price range.

  • from WI January 18, 2016Music Background:
    Home Studio Owner

    Awesome!

    These speakers are insane! The clarity is outstanding. Love them.

  • from Naples, FL September 3, 2015Music Background:
    Vocal Jazz Group

    Great Live Performance Speaker

    Easy to transport, solid sound and excellent build quality - buy it

  • from Grayling, MI August 25, 2015Music Background:
    Music teacher, Christian guitarist/songwriter

    Amazing Speaker!

    I love these speakers. I also have a pair of K-8's (with the K Sub) and that system is great as well. I have played at least 100 shows with the K-8 series speakers and they are still kicking strong! Crystal clear sound (I use them for a mobile DJ system). My salesman (Stuart Niven) is incredible! I ordered these on a Monday and received them the next day by 4:00. He is the one that convinced me I should buy QSC and I am so glad I took his advice. Thanks Stuart, you have a customer for life!

  • from Philadelphia August 6, 2015Music Background:
    DJ

    Qsc K12

    Excellent pair of speakers... Totally worth the money. I originally purchased a pair from another brand and I was not satusfied.. I did not feel as though they met my needs. These speakers are amazing and have exceeded all my needs... I'm extremely satisfied with the product.

  • from Fairport, NY July 13, 2015Music Background:
    Recording, performing, writing, and entertaining for years.

    Everything I hoped they would be...and MORE!

    I have been a full-time musician including a 10-year run as owner and performer in an international entertainment group. In addition to my career as a Financial Advisor I am currently a songwriter and perform with two bands in the area. I bought these speakers for my acoustic guitar duo The Venton Clark Band. Head room, crisp clear response, ease of use and power. What's not to love?!

  • from Michigan July 10, 2015Music Background:
    Keys, Drums, Percussion

    Perfect for my keyboard rig

    I needed something to power my keyboard rig for personal practice and band practice so I finally dropped the cash on the K12. I did a lot of research online trying to decide what would be the best amp/speaker for my use. I've used roland keyboard amps quite a few times but it just didn't seem practical for me. Too heavy and not a well balanced sound in my opinion. I'm very satisfied with the QSC K12. Definitely the cleanest sounding speaker I've ever heard whether its playing piano, rhodes, organ, moog or even plugging in music via the rca jacks. Love the design of the back panel. Enough inputs to plug in two keyboards and an rca input. Also the perfect balance between volume and size for me. So nice I tend not to take it to gigs because I don't want it to get scratched or anything.

  • from June 2, 2015

    Amazing Speaker

    I was amazed of the quality of the sound and built. I will be purchasing another speaker in the near future. And thanks to Sweetwater for suggesting me for this amazing speaker.

  • from United States April 29, 2015

    QSC K12's RULE

    I've been a keyboard player for about 50 yrs. I've watched the music industry develop through the decades, along with its technology. I was in need of a good monitor for my Korg keyboard. Brian VanDeKeere highly recommended these to me. When I started playing through that QSC K12, I actually remarked to myself ... "This is the FIRST time I'm REALLY hearing my Korg!! I was so pleased, that I purchased a second one for my studio. Now I'm playing stereo through a mixer to both QSC K12's. WOW !! My final remark is ... what pushed me over to buy these was I came across a Jordan Rudess YouTube vid, and he told his story of how he was somewhere and happened to hear sound coming out of these QSC's. No one has a better musical ear than Jordan, and he asked ... "Hey! What are those speakers? They sound really good!!" (something like that). If they are now good enough for Jordan Rudess to use...........enough said.

  • from New York March 31, 2015Music Background:
    Mobile DJ for almost 35 years

    Best lightweight powered speaker yet!

    At first I was hesitant in buying a "plastic cabinet"but these cabinets sound amazing and have an unbelievable bass response. After listening to other powered cabinets these are by far the best! Also, the great customer service at Sweetwater is second to none and I will be making all my future purchases from Sweetwater. Thanks Grover Braxton, (my sales rep), for all your help!

  • from Cincinnati, OH January 26, 2015Music Background:
    Musician, Recording and Live Sound.

    Fantastic

    These speakers are amazing; they will do justice to any live performance. I use them primarily for a small venue in Cincy and never set them above 50% (12 o'clock on output during live performance); they do wonderfully! I've noticed that if you set the DEEP mode on, the chasis will rattle a bit on maximum gain but with an external sub these go plenty loud and clear. Shout out to Matt McKible for the help!

  • from Fayetteville AR December 26, 2014Music Background:
    Recording, engineer, 60 years of live entertainment.

    QSC K-12

    Great sound system. I use them in a 3,000 square foot restaurant and they amazingly fill the room with all the booms, miss and highs that I like to hear with soft jazz. I'll use them this summer for larger outdoor venues. I have already recommended them to my buddies for their bands.

  • from August 12, 2014

    As good as I've heard

    I play in an acoustic group with a couple guitars and percussion. These speakers are super clear and loud. I've never had to turn them up more than 50% even in outdoor venues. Would definitely recommend

  • from Houston, Tx July 8, 2014Music Background:
    20yrs live singing, bass guitar, sound engineer.

    K-12s Live

    Awesome! Just replaced my EV 15" mains, EV 15"x2ea subs & Crest CA9 with these & 1 18" sub.

  • from Chicago March 15, 2014Music Background:
    Playing guitar since 1963.

    Perfect

    Use 'em for vocals and guitar (through a digital rig & small mixing board). Rarely fire up my customized, NOS-rare-as-hen's-teeth-tube-loaded amps any more. 100% satisfied with the sound. Work flawlessly, look good, easy to carry and set up. How many things in life deliver complete satisfaction? Keep up the good work QSC.

  • from Houston January 30, 2014Music Background:
    DJ

    K 12

    I recently purchased a pair of K12's. They sound great. Easy to hook up with a rich and pure sound. It was also refreshing to know that Sweetwater Customer Service was very pro active with me during my purchase and after. it was an all around good experience. I will be call back on my future purchase for dj equipment.

  • from NAPLES, FL December 21, 2013Music Background:
    Serious Hobbyist

    Great Speaker

    Had these for 1+ year - they are the best. No regrets at all

  • from Johnstown Ohio August 12, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Musician with 40 years experience

    QSC K12 Works Great with Roland SPD-30 OctaPad

    First time I hooked up the K12 to my SPD-30 OctaPad, I thought something was wrong with the K12 as the volume was considerably less than i expected for 1000 watts of power. I was connecting the Octapad directly to the K12 (not running through a mixing board). After to talking to the Sweetwater staff, I changed the line/mic button to the mic side (which I was told turns on the internal preamp which I didn't have turned on because i wasn't using a microphone). Apparently, the line out output on the Octapad doesn't supply a "line level" output level and needs a little help. After making the switch change, the K12 came ALIVE!

    In addition, for you SPD-30 Octa Pad owners out there, I found that within the OctaPad software there is also a boost of 6 db of output that can be turned on. With the additional 6db turned on, this speaker will ROCK your WORLD and your ears! This speaker sounds great for percussion! I'm using it as a wedge monitor currently, but has more than enough power to cover live performance applications if put on a stand which I am going to try this weekend when our Moody Blues Tribute band takes the stage. Thanks Sweetwater for the recomendation and the stellar support. Great Job!!!!!

  • from amsterdam, ny July 30, 2013Music Background:
    pro musician

    THE OPTIMUM SPEAKER

    QSC HAS DESIGNED THE BEST, EVER; POWERED SPEAKER SYSTEM.YOUR MUSIC WILL SOUND BETTER THAN EVER WITH THE QSC K 12 SPEAKER.

  • from Sebastopol, ca July 15, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist, producer, performer

    amazing, loving it.

    I wanted a keyboard amp, but felt like I would get more use out of a powered pa speaker, so I could run a laptop and even a mic or 2 if ever needed. I almost got a Mackie because that is what I am familiar with. I did extensive research and came up with the qsc k12. I was so happy with the sound quality and functionality, I rationalized getting a second one to put together a PA for potential use when needed. Now I want the sub.

  • from St. Johns, MI April 17, 2013Music Background:
    Engineer, Singer, Guitarist, Bassist

    QSC K-12

    I KNEW Going into this,.. that QSC had the Competition Spanked! With the Addition of My Presonus 16:4:2 Board,.. My Life is GOOD! These Speakers are Clean, Clear, & L-O-U-D! Sound Quality Is Beyond Comprehension,.. I Can't say enought Good about them! Thanks To Kent Salliz , For the Great Advice & Help Making this a reality!

  • from East Meadow, NY March 25, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist

    The best out there in its category

    I am reviewing my K12s almost after 1- 2 years .
    As usual Brendan from Sweetwater gave me the best deal.
    there were only about 9-10 reveiws then(09-11) but almost
    all them had given 5 stars for this speaker now today I
    see 50 owners who have given 5 stars.That shows how good these little beasts are.
    I have used it for small parties and mostly I use it at home,
    unbeatable sound and clarity.
    No doubt QSC has another masterpiece to its collection.

  • from Iowa January 7, 2013Music Background:
    Rodeo Soundman

    WOW!!!!!!!!

    I just purchased 6 of these to replace my B-52 ACT1515's. I liked the sound of the B52's but was tired of the 148lb cabs. I got these and put 3x kw181's under them. WOW!!!! I used them all for the first time this weekend and was truely amazed! a 5000 arena and I had WAY more power than I needed. I'm on the QSC team for good. Not sure why anyone else still makes speakers. I called Christopher at Sweetwater today to appologize for not believing him when he said how great these speakers are.

  • from November 15, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    K12!

    Great product best customer service ever.

  • from Framingham, MA September 8, 2012Music Background:
    Weekend Warrior -- Semi Pro

    The Dream Rig For Keyboard Players

    I'm a weekend warrior keyboard player (piano, B3, rhodes, etc.) in various bands. For the last ten years, I've been trying different approaches to getting "that sound" from my amps. With my recent pair of K12s, I'm done -- there is no better.

    Just so you know, I've been through a pair of expensive Roland KC-350s, a Motion Sound KBR-3D, a Bose L1 Model II, and a massive pair of self-powered JBL PRX525s. Each had their strengths and weaknesses, so I would switch around depending on the band, the venue, etc.

    As long as we're listing equipment, my main boards are a Yamaha CP5 and a Nord Electro 3. I love their sound, but I always thought there was more to them that I wasn't hearing.

    When I started using the K12s, all the sound I had paid for was there finally. Enough has been written here about the sound: it's clean, massive, rich and transparent. I have to use a small mixer to boost the line levels to get 100% out of the K12, but -- when it starts cranking -- everyone notices.

    But even at more modest volumes, there's plenty of transient power in reserve for those sharp attacks, fortissimo passages, etc. You can tell it's a hugely powerful amp even when it's quiet. Oh, and the Hammond B3 sounds? You're in church, baby ... hallelujah!

    One on a pole or stand is perfect for a moderate venue. One on a pole and one on the ground as a monitor makes sure you'll hear yourself in louder situations.

    And two on poles? You -- as keyboard player -- have your own PA that often outclasses the house one. I fold back some of the monitor feed, mix it in, and I can hear everything I want to hear.

    And, of course, everyone can hear me. Even the lead guitar player.

    Love the compact size, outrageous power and clean sound. The flexible patching on the back is a winner too. 41 pounds is luggable, although I haven't quite figured out how best to carry two using a handtruck yet.

    And, of course, I sometimes get the stink eye from the sound guy when I wheel in a better rig than his :)

  • from Trosky , Minnesota August 31, 2012Music Background:
    Thunder Music DJ Service, small area Ten years,

    Huge Sound Little Box K12s

    My wife and I ran 2 Peavey 18' subwoofers and 2 sp 15' speakers all together for nine years as a mobile DJ. We were very pleased with them, very good sound and quality until our amplifiers went down and the speakers were just getting to heavy for my pregnant wife and we are getting older and we wanted something lighter but with the same or better quality.
    I've done about 2-3 months of research online and in department stores looking at the QSC K12 speakers. We were just concerned about the prices since we don't have a whole lot of money to invest in new speakers, but we've seen a lot of good reviews and heard them in person at a music store. So we decided to purchase just 2 of them, compared to the 4 speakers we were use to.
    We've used them approx 10-12 times now in small and large rooms and we are SUPER surprised at how well they sound.
    We are so impressed with quality and power that these speakers have. We didn't think we were going to get the amount of bass we were use to having with the 18' inch subs, but wow, just the two k12 speakers sound like, if not better, than the 4 we were use to. We tried to push the speakers past there limit by making them 'redline' and they never did and it was nice, crisp, and loud!!! :)
    We were a little nervous about not purchasing the qsc subs to go with them, but we are thinking we are not going to need them.
    We highly, HIGHLY recommend purchasing these speakers, it is worth the investment!!!!!

  • from Bend August 17, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Muscian

    QSC K12

    My partner and I use the QSC K12 in conjunction with our Bose system. So far they have been totally compatible. Running the master into the QSC has provided a more balanced sound. Especially out doors, and more than enough power. It is super easy to use and we love the three settings as opposed to an EQ, for our various situations. Bottom line it has great, clear, sound, low to high. Very happy!

  • from Chicago and burbs August 2, 2012Music Background:
    DJ since 1960 Played 45's right up to todays technology!

    DJ & Video President

    I heard these playing at a gig and was blown away. I just had to have them! They are light enough to place anywhere, and the sound just speaks for itself. You do not need the subwoofer in smaller shows, but suggest getting one for those larger jobs. Wonderful system and I suggest getting the covers to preserve the "look" for a long time. Very pleased!!!

  • from Monticello, KY usa July 6, 2012Music Background:
    Musician for 15 yrs

    Awesome PA!!

    Can't Beleive how well this sounds. Hits way above my expectations.

  • from Clarksville, TN June 22, 2012Music Background:
    25 years experience Pro Sound

    QSC K12

    Can't buy a better speaker, bang for buck wise. This makes about my 11th pair of QSC's. Enough Said....................................... Use for Mains, Monitors, Side Fills etc. Very, Very Loud, and Sound Quality incredible!
    Lightweight!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • from Sand Springs, OK May 14, 2012Music Background:
    I like to hear it sounding real good!

    beyond my expectations!

    Corey lined me up with these, he asked what I was looking for. I said just some good speakers for the boat. Lots of people peeking in to see what I got. Easy to use, well built, don't need a sub on the boat. Not a 12 volt system around that can get over these. Use a pin connector to RCA jack, easier to control the volume. I still don't know what their limit is, that's never happened on the beach. Thanks again Corey and Sweetwater...

  • from Seattle, WA USA April 30, 2012Music Background:
    No rules, only noise.

    QSC K12 vs. Mackie 450v2

    I've recently owned a pair of Mackie 450v2 and replaced them with the QSC K12s. WOW! If you're on the fence, save the extra cash because these sound shockingly good. Even without a sub, turn the speakers on 'Deep' and the range these project is really, really above expectations.

  • from Raleigh, N.C. April 30, 2012Music Background:
    D.J., Audio Production Teacher, Radio DJ

    The Best EVER!

    I sold my Mackie SRM 450 v2's and got these. I was pleased with the Mackies but wanted to try something different. What I thought was great sound REALLY became great sound when I got these. All the hype around these is actually true. The high end is so warm and rich and doesn't produce any ear fatigue. You can stand in front of these and not feel tortured by piercing high end. The low end has enough punch to elimiate the need for a sub for smaller rooms. These speakers sound GREAT! I am not normally impressed by "PA" sound, but these I would even use as my home stereo speakers if they were smaller. The K10's have a little tighter punch but these have a little extra down low. The greatest thing of all is that these speakers need very little volume to produce a nice "fat" room filling sound. I have these only on the 2nd notch and they will fill most any small to medium room with plenty of CLEAR and FULL sound. This is nothing like I have ever known. If you are considering getting any other speaker but these, please think again. Save a little more and get a lot more! My thanks to my sales rep Jim Swain!

  • from Houston, TX March 20, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    K12's ROCK!

    Lightweight, sound great, easy to use, quick hook-up, what more can we ask for!?

  • from Martha's Vineyard, MA March 7, 2012Music Background:
    Keys, Composer, Producer

    Nearly perfect

    Having been in the biz over 40 years, and toured and tried about everything;with the exception of the Meyer powered 12's (which cost over $2500 each) these are the best I've used. For FOH or as monitors or as keyboard wedges, these are loud and clear. Did I mention loud! I have 4 K12's, 2 K subs, 2 K 10's and 2 K 8's. For large outdoor weddings, I use the whole system, for clubs, Just 2 K 12's and subs. For keys, one k12 (sometimes I add the sub if I'm doing left hand bass-bass players hate me 'cause my bass tone slays!) Really, (sorry, but) this kicks *** on Mackie, Yamaha, JBL and EV. I own every main keyboard amp (Roland, Hartke, Motion, Peavey, Traynor, Barbetta) and they sit in the basement. Thanks QSC [tho I'm waiting on the Line 6 "L3T's " to come out...)

  • from Houston, Texas February 24, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist and church praise & worship

    QSC K12 big improvement over GSR12

    I purchased a pair of QSC K12 to fix a reliability issue with the GSR12 units. So far the K12s have out performed the GSR12s and no reliability problems have developed. I did have to adjust the EQ just a little because the QSC K12 produce much more bass than the GSR12s did.

    I am very pleased with the QSC K12 units and would recommend them. These are being used with a Mackie 802-VLZ3 for keyboard amps. This setup gets the job done and then some.

    I have to credit Sweetwater for standing behind their products. This is a very good reason to stick with Sweetwater.

    Thank you Carson.

  • from February 9, 2012

    Great product

    So far, these are amazing. Compare the sound side-by-side to other speakers to notice the difference.

  • from Sherman Tx 75092 January 23, 2012Music Background:
    pro musician sound man

    Awsome speaker

    I have 4 Of These the clarity And coverage is remarkable . I use them by thereself in small band venu. and they deliver and turn heads . in bigger venues i add some 18 subs and they kick a**!

  • from Dallas, Texas December 12, 2011Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Awesome Speaker

    These speakers are outstanding! Warm, but very clear highs and thumping lows. Unheard of for 12's. Highly recommend!

  • from December 2, 2011

    awesome

    AAAAA+++++++++

  • from Fredericksburg, VA October 5, 2011Music Background:
    Lifetime musician (concert oboe; pro drummer and pro DJ)

    Versatile and Ready to Roll...and Rock

    I'm a professional DJ who has used a pair of these (coupled with a pair of QSC K-Subs) for over a year now. I've played at the Barnes at the Wolf Trap and other larger venues in Northern VA (such as 4 ball rooms joined together); along with a variety of different sized venues to include outside events during all four seasons. While playing for a large event with celebrities, a semi-famous country guitarist and singer showed up as a guest and easily plugged into my system and sang/played several songs. I immediately kicked right in with dancing music after he finished. I write this as a DJ, this demonstrates the versatility of these speakers (an I-Pod can easily be plugged directly into the RCA inputs to play during breaks, or as a separate speaker/system in a lobby, etc.). I've had many complements on the looks and the sound quality. My only recommendation is to pay the extra bucks and purchase the protective cases to keep these looking new (and enhance your overall professional appearance). The cases help me when having to pack in and out as one QSC K12 stacks easily on the K-Sub which has built in wheels....easy pezzy for load-in/out I can roll two at one time).

  • from MI September 24, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Killed At 800 Capacity Venue!!!

    Sorry. I already wrote a review a while back but had to write one again to THE SHEER AWESOMENESS of these amazing speakers!! The 5-piece rock cover band I sing in performed an 800 capacity venue last night with only TWO of the K12s, top spectrum FOH sound, at half volume with "bass boost" enabled and the sound was insanely punchy, crystal clear and loud! It was actually too loud so I turned down the FOH volume a bit on the mixer. I knew at 1000watt per they'd be powerful but not THIS POWERFUL. The limit light never flickered once. I can't believe how incredible these speakers are. I can only imagine what two K12s would sound like with 2 KS181s!

  • from evergreen co September 20, 2011Music Background:
    DJ

    QSC K12 (12" 2-Way)

    So nice to finally have a clean sounding POWERED speaker with real power! I have added my JBL EON 515's to the outs at about 50 to 100 ft away on these QSC's and they are finally worth plugging in to use as an extra punch/filer to the sound in a large room. But OH MY- the power and clarity of the QSC's completely blows away what I've been doing with the JBL's by themselves. If you are considering these vs JBL- GET THESE- Spend the extra money- It's a no-brainer once you've heard the power and clarity difference. Bottom line- I'm a Happy DJ!!!

  • from Findlay, Ohio September 7, 2011Music Background:
    Grammy award winning producer, engineer, pro musician, performer.

    QSC

    Small club fronts convert to great monitors for concert stage. The greatest thing is they sound great at low volume and scale up to crankin' volume perfectly smooth. Surprised at the punch. Very versatile, I look forward to adding another cabinet.

  • from Texarkana, TX USA August 30, 2011Music Background:
    Marketing Manager/Music Lover

    Happy Shopping Mall

    We purchased two QSC K12 (12" 2-way) speakers to use in our shopping mall for events in the common area. We were concerned with how to deliver sound over such a large and open area, but the QSC's performed excellently. Easy to set up and use!

  • from MI August 18, 2011Music Background:
    Professional musician

    Insanely Awesome Sound!!

    I returned a pair of JBL EON515XTs (made in China) and was recommended the QSC K12's by Pat at SWEETWATER. The EON515XTs arrived defective (Thanks JBL quality control) and Sweetwater shipped my QSC K12 replacements crazy fast! After I mounted the QSC K12's on their stands I tested them with my Yamaha board and an iPod Nano with some Motley Crue. Honestly, I was just blown away at the mammoth sound pumping out of these speakers!! And, the bass boost switch wasn't even turned on yet. I turned that feature on and could feel air pushing out of the 12" speaker 10"
    away. I've been in bands since 1988 and have played through all types giant cabinets. I had these turned half way up and my ears couldn't take anymore. We're talking 1000watt (500 per driver) at 131db here! The sound is SUPER clear and rich with deep lows. A rock band could easily use these for high-mid FOH Speakers in a 500 capacity venue. The vocal boost button is insane too. Careful with that feature as the boost is very dramatic to the point of feedback if you're not careful. These speakers DO NOT feel cheap. They're dense, somewhat heavy, and are extremely well made. You can feel the quality when handling them. The JBL's felt cheap compared to these. And they QSC's are made in the USA. I'm absolutely sold on QSC speakers and they're worth the extra $$. A pair of 18" subs are on my mind now. I'm glad Pat talked me into getting them. I'm super happy.

  • from Leesburg, VA August 7, 2011Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Guitarist, DJ, Recording Engineer

    Nothing compares to this

    I use these speakers without the sub and they will absolutely rock your venue. I had these speakers about 1/4 power and had the dance floor jumping. The deep mode packs a punch. You can hook these to just about anything you own. These are my go to speakers for any situation.

  • from Kansas City, MO June 17, 2011Music Background:
    Keyboardist, Recording, Live Sound.

    QSC K12 - I'm Blown Away

    I purchased these speakers to replace my Mackie 450's that had been damaged, and WOW, what a difference. I recently performed at an outdoor wedding in Loose Park (Kansas City), for those not familiar with this location, there is a large fountain in the middle of the courtyard that never turns off (at least not for the ceremony I played). These speakers filled the area and didn't even break a sweat. The bridal party had to enter from the opposite side of the courtyard (about a 2 minute walk) and all of them told me they had no problem hearing over the fountain. Sound was very pristine and I didn't even have to use full volume. These speakers will be my new go-to units for future events.

  • from Palestine, TX (USA) June 6, 2011Music Background:
    Live Sound enthusiast

    Great Addition to my System

    Bought a pair of K12's to use as monitors on stage. Keyboardist asked me to turn down the bass. That's the first time that's ever happened. Was looking to get 2 K10s for my other 2 monitors, but will get 2 more K12's.

  • from Lansing MI May 10, 2011Music Background:
    Owner, Lochabar Sound

    Outstanding!

    Used 4 of these along with 2 K-subs to provide PA, including DJ and announcers, for a live sporting event (Roller Derby) with a crowd of approx 1200 in a 27,500 sf venue.

    Polished concrete floors, block walls, and a 40' metal overhead are NOT the best acoustic conditions to work with. The being said, the sound from this system was exceptionally clear.

    SPL? We don't sacrifice tone or clarity for volume and we were nowhere near peak. The officials still asked us to turn down a bit because they couldn't communicate once the announcers started in.

    The skaters, DJ, announcers, and venue staff all commented on the sound and (long story short) Lochabar Sound is now the Official Sound Services Provider for the Lansing Derby Vixens.

    Obviously there's more to a good production than just the speakers, but these speakers do justice to the rest of your work.

  • from Traverse City, MI January 27, 2011Music Background:
    Professional Broadcaster and Mobile DJ/Karaoke

    These babie's KICK!

    I don't want to rip on Mackie SRM450 speakers because I owned both V1 and V2's for years. They WERE great for their time, but times have changed and the QSC K12's are AMAZING. I did a side-by-side comparison with the Mackie (set comparable level on both and panned left to right from Mackie to QSC). The QSC sounds better. Then I engaged the "deep bass" and "fuggettaboutit" Bass response BURIED the Mackie. Punchy, crisp, clean... WOW! Thanks to Kenny at Sweetwater for recommending them. I couldn't be happier with these speakers.

  • from Michigan December 29, 2010Music Background:
    Lead Vocalist/Guitarist

    Fantastic PA

    I knew as soon as I sent the signal into this PA that I was in for a treat. The sound quality when paired with some of my most detailed mics is simply pristine! Not to mention, the amount of raw power this thing pushes out is more than adequate for any venue that I have played at.

    I'm extremely happy with my purchase! Great speaker!!

  • from Louisiana August 30, 2010Music Background:
    pro musician

    WONDERFUL!!

    I bought 2 of them--I use just one when I play keys in my band. I was using a mackie board with it but hear lately when i do smaller gigs, I use the k12 and just plug right into the speaker!! I use the left side for one board and the right for the other board. I LOVE the sound. I will NEVER go back to a keybard amp. p.s.: I use one board for key bass and it THUMPS!! Great clear distortion free sound. a little pricey but worth it! Actually, with the deal made at sweetwater, the price is pretty good after all! keyboard players rejoice!!

  • from Providence RI May 14, 2010Music Background:
    musician/songwriter/producer

    makes a great keyboard amp!

    I bought the K12 out of frustration with many of the combo amps for keyboards currently on the market. Most of them color the sound, and suffer in the either the high end, or low end department. The K12 sounds AMAZING as a keyboard amp. I run through a tiny mixer, then into the K12. It's smaller and lighter weight than some of the combos, can be pole mounted, and is extremely powerful for it's size. I'll never go back to a traditional keyboard combo amp.

  • from TEXARKANA, ARKANSAS April 25, 2010Music Background:
    SINGER, WRITER. AM JUST FINISHING MY FIRST ALBUM RECORDED IN NASHVILLE TENNESSEE TO BE RELEASED ON ITUNES. TITLED I'D RATHER HAVE JESUS

    GOOD COMES FROM BAD

    THE BAD THING IS MY MACKYIE 450'S WERE STOLEN. THE GOOD THING IS I GOT TO REPLACE THEM WITH THE QSC K12'S. I REALY MISS MY MACKIE 450'S. WHEN I BOUGHT THEM 10 YEARS AGO I USED THEM FOR SO MANY GIGS AND WEDDINGS AND OUT DOOR EVENTS. THEY WERE LIKE TANKS. SPILLED BEER, TEA AND MANY OTHER THINGS ON THEM IN THE LAST 10 YEARS. AND THE ALLWAYS SOUNDED SO SO SO GREAT. BUT THEY WERE STOLEN RECENTLY. SO I WENT TO GUITAR CENTER TO AB THE QSC K12 AGAINST THE NEW MACKIE 450. I WAS TOTALLY FLOORED. EITHER THE MACKIE'S HAVE GOTTEN WORSE SOUNDING OR THE QSC K 12'S ARE JUST SO AWSOME SOUNDING THAT THEY ECLIPS THE MACKIE 450. YES I MISS MY MACKIES. AND WAS HEART BROKEN WHEN THEY WERE STOLEN. BUT WHEN I DROVE HOME WITH TWO NEW K 12'S AND A NEW K SUB. MY HEART WAS HAPPY AGAIN. I SPENT A LOT OF TIME LISTENING TO THEM. THEY ARE CLEAN SOUNDING. NOT FAKE OR OVER SUBED. THEY ARE SIMPLY AWSOME.

  • from New Orleans, LA. February 23, 2010Music Background:
    professional singer, DJ

    wow

    I used two of these and one Ksub on a Mardi Gras parade this month. I had them facing to the sides. When I played the music through these speakers I watched how far ahead did they hear the music. Now be reminded, this is in an open outdoor area...down the streets parading....well, I looked ahead and I could see people dancing to the music about 300 feet ahead....I was surprised. I used these this past weekend in a small venue..I had to put almost down to nothing. So incredible....so much so, I just bought another Sub base to make my package complete...don't need anything anymore...
    At first I thought that the sound overpowered my voice...but I was awestruck when I heard the sound coming out.....SECOND to NONE......do they really make anything better than this....I sing lounge type music...where my vocals are the main focus...and I was blown away....the clarity was perfect....I have a friend who sings and he's nasal....these speakers made him sound incredible....one last thing...I sing some powerful songs from Tom Jones and I was amazed these speakers helped me hits those high notes....even without straining....these are so cool.....light weight.....now I can't wait until my other sub comes in...

  • from East Coast, primarily NYC/NJ/Philly/DC February 18, 2010Music Background:
    Live sound engineer/Audio Design

    "Best Bang for the Buck" - hands down. End of story

    the most UNBELIEVABLE speakers for their cost. I know some complain about the price compared to the Mackies, but for what they produce, their overall construction, the quality of audio, the power, the durability, etc etc etc (I can go on all day) they are most certainly worthy of best in class. I have played with everything from Mackies to Peaveys to JBL to PRG. While PRG stuff is the arguably one of the kingpins of the pro audio, I have to hand it to QSC for designing an amazing speaker.

    It disgusts me to see the first reviewer bash the K12 for the SRM450v2, there is no comparison. You can't go for "strictly power" - for these are 1000 watts distributed 2x500. The K12s make up for it in handeling, durability, size, sound, etc. and rape the Mackies. For $150-200, you get kick a-- sound, bass that sounds GOOD, and speakers that will last you years to come.

    Also, the K12s are bullet proof. I have seen them used in every venue from Frats to DJs to Clubs to touring and you can't kill them. I have seen beer spilled and splashed on them, people drop and kick them, and they just keep holding and trucking on.

    If your looking for a durable high quality yet cost effective solution to your audio needs, you can't go wrong with the K12s. I must admit I was very skeptical when they first came out, but you need only hear them once to be blown away.

  • from Sydeny Novs Scotia Canada January 26, 2010Music Background:
    Disc Jockey and doing some band sound for 20+ years

    A Small Wonder in the world of powered speakers

    Wow, I find it hard to believe that some people in the business only go by the wattage rating on every speaker out there, go by what it sounds like and compare to what you are currently using; look at things is by the db output. I have used alot of yorkville, crown, mackie gear over the years, but I must admit, I am impressed with the K series from QSC. I have traded in my 4 LS800p Bins, Mackie 1521's and NX750's and switched my system over to this K Series. I took a set of k12's & ksubs to a Junior High Dance (300 people), and I was very impressed with them, as I stacked them beside my other current system. Now, don't get me wrong, one can not compare an 18" 1500 watt powered sub to a dual 1000 watt 12, but I was impressed with them none the less. The Ksub's doesn't hit as hard as the LS800p's, but it is some close. You have to keep in mind, I just went from having a 900 lb system to a 465 lb system as well, and half the size! The price on these cabinets are great too when you really think of it. Just think, when the mackie 450's came out, what 10 years ago? Everyone was like, there is no way that speaker is better than my old ones, it's too small and light. Well guess what folks, the future is here and big n' heavy is by the wayside. The 450's (Original) were the greatest thing around for years. The Mackie 450's, which I used and ran with the 18" Mackie subs worked well, but the 450's do not compare to the k12's at all. Especially the new V2 version of the mackies, sure they go for 600-650 (Canadian), but for the extra 300 each for the k12's, it is so worth the money. The 450V2 I can see having problems with them because they may seem to be loud, but it gets distorted and when pushed hard, the limit light won't come on easily like the original series, but just keep on compressing I guess, which may burn a part of the board from over heating. The K12's are a high quality sounding cabinet, that don't screech out when you push them. Two of these will actually keep up with my 4 LS800p bins, no problem. That's impressive. The only thing that I am not happy with is the cost of the speaker bags / covers. However, they are of top quality and I like my gear to look good after years of service. I have had some cabinets for 8+ years and they still look like new, whereas some other copanies don't get the covers and the gear looks old after a couple of months. QSC Has done a spectacular job with these cabinets. I am curious however if they are going to be designing a dual 15" or single 18" cabinet in the future. Keep in mind, that the Ksub sounds increadibly well and sounds better when you get it in a larger room, I personally find the band bass style bass bins sound better as you get them in a larger facilty. On a closing note, in a smaller room , the k12's & Ksub sound really good with the deep function turned on, together or the k12's as a stand alone, but in a larger room, I find they both sound better in normal mode. Oh yes, and the vocal boost on the tops are quite impressive as well, if you need some more desired vocals in the room; it's a lot faster then changing your equalizer. By the way, I find a good quality system can sound good without much done to the EQ, and this series, you could pretty well run the EQ flat. Finally, this K Series system looks amazing.

  • from Athens, Georgia December 24, 2009Music Background:
    Fifty two years of entertaining, studio owner, pro musician, and five years owning a sound company.

    QSC K-12

    I am a 60 year old singer and run sound for several bands. I use Mackie 1230's, Mackie 2801's and 450's for monitors. I ordered one of these K'12's. Now don't get me wrong, the Mackie's have never let me down, sound better than anything that I have heard, but I have desired a smoother sound when I sing. Something more than the 450's wen I use them for smaller gigs. This is it. They are a step above the 450's. Listen, it's there :>) Now if they hold up like the Mackies have which is three years of every weekend work. I just might have to listen to QSC's larger line now. The Mackie's sound great but I have never been impressed with the Chinese workmanship. I am really surprised that they have held up like they have. The QSC's are much more impressive. Now don't tell me that they are made in China :>)

  • from Central FL December 22, 2009Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    "Best in Class", to use car jargon

    Amazing. Everything they're supposed to be and more. We have 2 of these and 2 of the K-subs. A 4000 watt PA system that fits into a medium size car! Truly state of the art sound. The highs are clear, transparent and travel well. The lows are warm, big, and easily controlled. Full of options, yet simple enough that anybody can use them. Will be great for ANY sound application. Can I please have 4 more to use as monitors?

  • from New Jersey, USA October 14, 2009Music Background:
    30+ years as a professional musician and entertainer

    Every bit as good as advertised

    Honestly, I don't know how another reviewer here came to his conclusions. (The fact that he also posted a review on another store's sight might be telling. He bought these from two different stores??) I own these and couldn't be happier. Absolutely the best sounding, most versatile powered speakers I have ever owned. I'm hearing subtleties in the music that were never there before with either my Brand M or Brand J. I can tell you though that if you're using low fidelity MP3's as your material, these speakers won't make them sound better. I discovered that right away. But, now I'm motivated to upgrade many of my files to higher quality. CD's sound outstanding and when I speak over the top of music, my voice is loud and clear. I would suggest you buy the totes to keep them nice-looking. I scuffed mine up and now I'm sorry I didn't get them sooner.

  • from North Carolina October 4, 2009Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    Impressive!

    I bought these speakers because we were looking to change our PA to a powered speaker set-up. We were running PV SP2's on the top (pushing 1000 watts to each), and SP118's on the bottom. I have to admit that after pulling them out of the box, I was a little worried I had made a bad call. Very small and very light. I thought there was no way they could compare to the SP2's. I was wrong. They are every bit as loud as the SP2's, with better sound quality. The horns are fantastic.
    I read the earlier review that said the SRM450's are louder...I could not disagree more. I have used 450's in the past and the K12's absolutely blow them away....now, having said that, I am not plugging a microphone directly into the speaker.
    Our best sound has been running a crossover at 100 Hz to the subs, and put the K12's in DEEP mode. I am very impressed. You need to check these out!

  • from silver city, nm July 29, 2009Music Background:
    pro

    Great Speakers

    These Rock.. Get them and you won't be disappointed.. I use them solo, with a duo and with a band and they always come through.... I love the compactness... The quality is number 1.. and is what I've come to expect from QSC..
    Everyonelse has to catch up, QSC has raised the Bar once again!
    brandon Perrault
    Silver City, NM

  • from Aspen, USA July 7, 2009Music Background:
    DJ, mobile/club/private events. Phat Thai Fridays

    Amazing studio quality sound! Rich deep bass

    I bought a pair of these to replace my JBL Eon G2's and boy did I get an upgrade. I now feel like I have been cheating my audiences from superior sound all these years! I orginally was looking at the PRX 515's but my rep turnmed me on to the K12. It looks a lot nicer at home than in the pics. I also hooked up my apogee duet rca out to the speaker and was blown away by the richness and clarity. These work great without a sub and if you think that a 12" speaker can't do the job, these will prove you wrong. I'm so happy I went with these speakers. They are also very compact and lightweight which is an added bonus. The 1000W is very real.

  • from Trenton NJ September 2, 2016Music Background:
    Solo musician

    Perfect for outdoor events

    Only reason this is 4.5 instead of 5 stars, is the angle of dispersion. For larger and outdoor gigs, it is my go to. Loud, crisp, and clear. One speaker is all you need for anything up to 200 people. For smller/indoor gigs, I still use my Bose L1 system. But outdoor, the lows on the qsc blow the Bose away.

  • from CA June 20, 2016

    Great all aroung

    This speaker is great for small events up to small shows. It packs a pop can can really hit those low notes

  • from Moss Point, MS June 18, 2016Music Background:
    Drummer and Sound Tech

    These Rock!

    These speakers sound great and have handled everything that we have thrown at them. No clipping and no distortion. With the DEEP setting, I don't even require a sub to produce accurate bass and kick mixes.

  • from Nashville April 26, 2016Music Background:
    Full time pro musician; soloist, duo, four pc

    Killer K 12s

    Love the K 12s. Easily covered a school auditorium. But still experimenting with best speaker placement. I had them on outer edges of the stage turned in (criss-crossing). Not the best placement I think. There were dead spots. Next time, I'll move them in closer together and face them out straight. Only grip is the grill on the front is not that strong. Already bent from laying them face down in their bags on a plastic ribbed floor.

  • from May 4, 2015

    QSC K12

    Great Speakers great sound!!!

  • from Cincinnati, OH April 1, 2015Music Background:
    Live Music, Recording

    Very Nice

    Bought these as Mains close to a year ago for a fairly small venue (~45 Max Cap.) and they do well with one or two subs. They are lighter and more powerful than many others like it. I have to note that bass guitar pushed through on absolute max output (in DEEP mode) caused some rattle from the mesh cage, but even then, there was almost no distortion from the speakers themselves; that's what subs are for anyways. Overall, a fantastic PA and confidence in QSC is what the K12 provides. Hat's off to QSC, Matt McKible and Sweetwater for making such a product and experience possible for me.

  • from Allen, TX January 7, 2015Music Background:
    Sound Engineer

    Amazing QSC K12

    I have had my K12s for a few months now and have been impressed with the sound quality. Im thrilled about the Deep mode and numerous inputs available. Excellent service from Sweetwater

  • from Oregon October 14, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Musician & PhD Engineer

    Extremely Nice

    This is a great speaker - The less than stellar reviews that I have read make me wonder if those reviewers are even competent in the area of sound reinforcement... Very Much Worth the Money. Much better than The Mackie, EV and other major players building similar sized / rated speaker systems. They are LOUD and pristine.

  • from Saint Paul,MN June 20, 2014Music Background:
    Performing Folk and Blues Musician

    QSC k12

    This is a game changer in speakers...highly recommended
    Excellent service from Sweetwater

  • from Utah November 10, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Customer Service

    The customer service at Sweetwater is second to none. Great folks...

  • from Greensboro Bend, VT January 27, 2012Music Background:
    Professional career, recording musician, production

    Great sound, clear and powerful

    These speakers are great, they are however more directional than other speakers I have used so I would advise always using a pair.

  • from Dayton, OH October 20, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer

    Great little powered speaker

    Got a pair of these to replace a Bose system that somebody paid way too much for, and it absolutely blows previous (also new) system away. Mine is a permanent install so I can't comment on coverage. I love the input options and convenience of being powered. It isn't as clean and flat as my friends Apogee system (comparable cost), but sounds a million times better than the Bose system, or some other Peavey and JBL systems I've used (also comparable cost). I would imagine that with a sub things would really sound sweet.

    The construction and design is great--very functional and appealing, but sturdy and durable.

  • from Valparaiso, IN August 23, 2011Music Background:
    Long time club musician

    Amazing technology

    Having been in bands for many years with the old separate amp and speaker setups I was not convinced that such compact equipment could ever deliver the same sound. All I can say is hearing is believing. At our first sound check I was really struck by how clear and distinct the vocals were. Paired with subwoofers this is far better sound than we've ever had in the past and setup is a breeze.

  • from Columbus, Ohio USA July 4, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Studio owner, Professional drummer

    Very happy with the K12

    I purchased the K12 to use with my TD20 Vdrums for my personal monitor. Very clean high end and surprising lows. No mud and plenty of power. The K12 does what I need... Recreate all of the frequencies that are used in the vdrum brain.. Very happy with my purchase!

  • from NYC area June 4, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    the most recommended

    I was looking for a new keyboard amp setup and these were highly recommended by everyone I spoke to. No one had any complaints and after trying them, I can tell you I see why.
    You can't go wrong with them for keys. Keyboards amps can't even come close. It's a matter of preference, but it came down to one of these and the JBLPRX612M. In the end, I liked the tighter bass of the JBL and the sound of my Yamaha pianos thru it. This speaker has one of the best warranties in the business. Enjoy !!!

  • from RI January 26, 2010Music Background:
    Weekend gigging musician

    QSC K12 for keyboards

    I play in a blues and classic rock band, gigging 2-4 times per month. I use a Nord Stage 88 and a Juno G for gigging. Just recently I purchased my second QSC K12 for use with the above keyboards. Before I purchased my first one, I tried it against a Motion Sound KP200S, Yamaha S115 IV speakers powered by a Crown 802 amp and a Mackie mixer, a Behringer B215A powered 15" monitor, a 1969 all tube Fender Bassman with the original 15" speakers in the separate cabinet, a Roland KC550, and a Traynor K4 keyboard amp.
    Ranking in order preference, best listed first: 1) QSC K12 (with LF set to deep and HF set to vocal boost), then the 2) Motion Sound, the 3) Traynor, the 4) PA with the Yamaha speakers, 5) the Fender Bassman, 6) the Roland KC 550, and finally 7) the Behringer.

    The combination of using two QSC K12’s gives true stereo separation to the keyboards, and when using the Leslie effect on the Nord, the whole room appears to be swirling. I recently changed to the QSC’s after learning about the weight (much less than anything else I have used). I have found that even when set to the maximum volume level, the QSC’s do not distort the sounds from my keyboards. The pianos never sounded as good from the Nord, and special effect sound, such as harmonica sound from the Roland G, is like having an actual person playing the harp when we perform ‘Texas Flood’.

    While I still have a vintage Leslie that I use for special gigs, I only bring the 2 QSC’s now, and find that not only can I hold my own regarding volume with the vintage Marshall amp/cab that our guitar player uses, and the Ampeg cabinet/amp that our bass player uses, but when I take leads, the leads come across much cleaner and more distinct than ever. You should hear the “sweep” sound I use for Pink Floyd’s ‘Comfortably Numb’!

    The only thing more a keyboard player could want is for the speakers to rotate as in a Leslie, but at 41 pounds apiece with conveniently placed carrying handles, there is no better!

  • from Seattle, WA October 23, 2009Music Background:
    Serious hobbyist - Playing for 25 years

    Delicious sound from a light package

    I've always been a fan of QSC products, but never owned them personally. I was very excited to see this product with much lighter weight cabinet.

    I'm running a keyboard right through this and all I can say is WOW!!! This is what true stereo keyboards are supposed to sound like!

    Deep bass, clean/crisp highs...I get to hear my keyboards in all their glory. I tried the "deep bass" switch, and it's great for running music, but for my keyboards I leave it off as there is plenty of bottom end and my keys cut through the mix of other lound band members easily.

    It's a little more of a pain to carry two around and set them up on guitar stands, but they blow away other stereo keyboard amps I've tried including the Motion Sound KP500SN.

    The only reason why I didn't give it a perfect 5 is that these really don't sound like "1000W" speakers. The feel more like 500w in total coming from each cabinet.

    Other than that, I can't say enough good things about these speakers!

  • from Ridgewood April 6, 2016

    Very Nice

    First time used during the performance and everyone like it. Really a great experience.

  • from Wisconsin January 13, 2016

    does the job

    at 38 pounds, this baby has the punch i need to make the keyboards heard! Nice and light to tote a round too.

  • from Somers CT USA December 18, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound & Hi-Fi Guy. Former Bassist. Student.

    Good. Don't Expect Miracles.

    Mid-level 12" woofer. Man-sized compression driver on a nice waveguide.

    The real selling here is the active crossover and electronic processing that's already been done for the customer, and it's been done properly.

    So it sounds about as good as a 12" woofer and compression driver can. This speaker's greatest virtues are its weight and plug-and-play convenience.

    That said, the rave reviews here worry me a bit. This speaker is very competent, but it's still just a 12" PA top on a stick. You need subs (and not one of those "K-Sub" bandpass jokes). For demanding playback to audiences of 150 or more, you need bigger tops and even more subs.

  • from San Francisco, CA September 23, 2009Music Background:
    Classic Rock, Blues

    Nice sound Not 1000W

    So I bought a pair of K12 (1000W) and to my disappointment they are not any louder than my SRM450v2 (300W) speakers. I bought them strictly for power.

    They are nice looking clean sound and will work just fine for a solo musician in a small bar, as long as you have a nice preamp on your mixer.

    If you think you will be able to connect your microphone directly to it and get potentially 1000W to power for large gig, you will be disappointed.

    I tried contacting their support and it took them 12 days to respond to my e-mail and what they told me is that it’s not a 1000W amp, but rather two 500w amps for low and high end. So how do you bridge them to get 1000W? I actually don’t believe this things even do 500W, but lets give them a benefit of a doubt.

    If you are a band and looking for floor monitors, this things will be fine, but I don’t know why would you want to pay $600-$700 more for these when you can get SRM450’s.

    The speaker is nice, the sound is nice, but the lack of power for a large gig or an outdoor gig is very disappointing.

Questions about the QSC K12 1000W 12" Powered Speaker?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway