rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Roland Jupiter-80 76-Key Synthesizer Reviews

4.5 stars based on 16 customer reviews
Questions about the Roland Jupiter-80 76-Key Synthesizer?

Questions about the Roland Jupiter-80 76-Key Synthesizer?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Syracuse, NY January 19, 2017Music Background:
    Pro Keyboardist

    STR8 MONSTER!!!!!!

    Very few keyboards blow me away and the Jupiter 80 exceeds my expectations. Initially looking at the interface you may think it's limited and impractical for editing and tweaking but it is definitely easy to get around the keyboard. The sound is super huge and there are so many tones, live sets and registrations to choose from. The sound potential is only limited to your imagination! This thing will go down one of the greatest keyboards of all time and this will have a nice place in my keyboard collection!

  • from June 30, 2016

    Jonathan Cain of Journey uses one. can't be that bad!

    Jonathan Cain of Journey uses one. can't be that bad! Actually, it sounds great!

  • from Dallas, Texas November 27, 2015Music Background:
    Musician/recordist

    Perfection!

    Love my Jupiter-80 and glad I purchased it! Although the SuperNATURAL sounds aren't as good as my Tyros 5, they are nonetheless good and some have articulations that the Tyros 5 doesn't have. The synth sounds are pure legendary Jupiter-8. It has tons of sounds, and I love the ability to layer any and all of the sounds, which makes for great sonic textures and the combinations are limitless! You can dive very deep into this classic monster synth and you could spend hours on end just tweaking your sounds! I also love that the keyboard has aftertouch, not seen that frequently anymore. The keyboard is solid and feels great to play. A+++++!

  • from September 25, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Amazing Sound

    I've owned this board for a little more than a year now, so I've had a fair amount of time to get acquainted. Let me say first that it's not the holy grail of synthesizers--but the thing about the holy grail is that it doesn't actually exist. That's one of the reasons why so many professionals have 10 or 20 (or more) synths in their arsenal. Nonetheless, for what I do, it's fantastic. So let me get right to the pros and cons.

    Pros:
    1. Huge sounds--just massive! I was blown away the first time I turned this machine on. It's hard to make this machine sound cheap or tinny. I remember I just went through the presets playing around, and I looked up and it was dark out, and I hadn't eaten. I still do this sometimes!
    2. It's so easy to mix and match sounds. Creating keyboard splits is trivial, and turning on and off the various parts of the sound is fluid and professional. Even when you've shut off the part, it continues playing the notes you're currently holding.
    3. SuperNATURAL sounds, holy crap. I know this isn't the typical use for a synth, but it is something I typically like to do. I have this stacked with a Yamaha CP-5, and I play the piano on the Yamaha and the guitar or sax on the Jupiter. Fantastic. Done correctly, people may not even be able to tell the difference.
    4. Layering. You can layer to your heart's content. Not only are there 4 parts, but within each part you can layer more stuff (moreso on the two middle parts, but I find it's more than enough). Like the sound, but you want it more "bassy"? Replicate it at a one octave transposition and mix it with the original, simple.
    5. Refills. If you don't like to make your own sounds, or if you are just looking for something new, Roland has tons of sounds you can download from their website. Run out of space? No problem, just get rid of some of the crappy presets and free some up. It's kind of a pain (I wish I could do all of this on my computer), but it can be done.
    6. Combined mod/pitch bend control. It's really fantastic and makes using both at once easy. Only downside is that the mod setting doesn't "stick"--the knob comes back down the moment you release. So you can't adjust mod on the fly and keep playing.

    Cons:
    1. Menu diving, argh! This was my first synth. I had to learn a lot just to figure out how to mess with the synth engine, but that's to be expected. But trying to work with all of the virtual knobs and dials on the touch screen--they've got all that empty space on the right side of the board, why not put some filter and LFO dials on it? This is the biggest barrier to creating new sounds. In their defense, they have an app for the iPad to make this easier. But I don't want an app, I want knobs!
    2. Aftertouch. I never had aftertouch before, and I really like it. BUT, using aftertouch on this thing makes me feel like I'm going to break my fingers. I'm not the only one who's said that, so I know it's not just me. I've seen videos of aftertouch on much cheaper keyboards and been jealous...nuff said.
    3. Blender knobs. In theory, you can do so much with them, simultaneously changing many characteristics of the sound. In practice, I find them too hard to use. They don't change the sound smoothly enough. I bought a control pedal because it was just easier to work with. That's a big downside.

    Other notes:
    1. This keyboard seems to expect that you do your sound designing up front. When you get to the stage, you shouldn't be expecting to twiddle knobs (foot pedal is okay, though). If you're okay with that, you'll probably like this keyboard. If you want to be able to twiddle the dials while you play, you probably won't like it too much.
    2. Some people complain about bumping the buttons on the front. I don't have this issue, but if you do, you CAN lock them down. It's an option in the menu.
    3. I wouldn't recommend it as a first synth for people who want to dig into the nuts and bolts. I ended up buying a Microbrute so that I could more clearly understand the general principles.
    4. The keybed does take some getting used to. But then, I was playing a fully weighted keybed before.

  • from Chula vista ca June 29, 2015Music Background:
    Maz tekila

    Jupiter

    Great keyboard!!!!! And exellent service all the way, thanks

  • from Irvine CA, February 22, 2015Music Background:
    Song Production

    Not Really .

    I return my Jupiter 80 . I bought this keyboard for the " Super Natural Sound " but I got disappointed . I Compared it with my softwares and it failed big time , The synth sounds are kind of the same but I loved the bass and some synth sounds .
    The Acoustic sounds such piano, flute, oboe, harmonica, guitars , elec guitars etc. were joke to me !
    Registrations knobs in the front can be accidentally changed by touching them with the left hand or the mid body part .
    This keyboard is easy to work with . I never used the user manual .
    I decided to take my laptop and use my softwares for live play .

  • from Meridian, ID April 17, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Home Studio, Programmer

    The Holy Grail Of Keyboards

    I got this keyboard because I wanted something that I could record with, take on stage, that basically could do everything. The Roland Jupiter 80 does it all and more!!! It will take me two years just to learn all the different things it can do. But for example, it is very difficult for synth to really do a good grand piano. This sounds EXACTLY like one. Moog? No problem. It seems there is nothing this keyboard can't do it. LOVE IT!!!!! You will not ever find a better keyboard. `

  • from india October 26, 2013Music Background:
    synth player, background music scorer, and music arranger in varios private album, and a band leader also

    outstanding polyphonic depth

    Great sound, outstanding polyphonic depth that what all music creater wants. I proud my self that I am owner of jupiter 80. The depth of synth tone is amazing and I surprised the reality of indian tone that what I want, if u have budget then don't late buy it and be a owner of world no 1 synth.

  • from Dickson, TN August 2, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Player

    Great Board

    This board has taken a lot of flak for the Jupiter name. So get this out of the way quickly - this isn't the reincarnation of the old Jupiter and it isn't intended to be. After hearing a lot of stuff both ways, I decided to take a chance at adding this to my live rig, and I'm very impressed.

    Pros: Killer sound - the "supernatural" software stuff allows for some really killer expressive playing. The interface (for me anyway) is laid out well and very easy to pick up on. It makes a lot of logical sense and it's very easy to use on stage - this board has a lot of great tools that make live work easier. Things you often find yourself needing quickly (fast patch changes, arpeggio control, etc) have dedicated controls within easy reach. Even deep editing and sound design is quite easy (and made easier by the iPad app, which I now can't live without). Very possible to take "risks" and do some deeper editing on the fly, on stage, if you so desire.

    Cons: I'm not hot on the simi-weighted keybed. In fact, I really don't like it. The keys are weak and feel cheap. I think on a board of this caliber Roland really did their clients a disservice by not using a better key action. Achieving quick runs and technically challenging licks are doable but take a bit more concentration to pull off flawlessly - especially if you're simultaneously using another board with a better action and have to go back and forth between the two. That's a major gripe and hence the lost star in this review - it would have been easy to fix that. Less serious is the 76-key-only option. I would have paid more for an 88-key board - 76 is perfectly usable, but the option would have been nice.

    Overall: Now a permanent part of the stuff I carry to most gigs. I expect to have many years of enjoyment out of this.

  • from Phoenix, AZ May 19, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Does Everything Extreamly Well

    I feel like Roland created this thing with me in mind (A little self absorbed, I know :-) It just seems to be everything that the perfect synth should be. Amazing sound potential, and geared for live players. I currently play in an 80's pop tribute band, and man, has it made my life so much easier. My old rig consisted of a JP-8000, Sh-201, and a Yamaha P90 digital piano. That combo was sufficient to reproduce 80's pop, but was in no way convenient. My new rig: a Jupiter 80..... by itself, no multiple synths to organize and load. It a heavy mother, but worth its weight in gold. I bought the Jupiter 50 first, then sold it to upgrade to the 80 because I wanted the extra tones in the lower part. I will say this, what makes the 80 powerful is the ability to layer lots of single programs into on massive sound scape. One most of the single sounds on their own sound fine, but the real shock and awe comes from the mix. It's like having 8 JP-8000s running in unison.

  • from Grand Haven Michigan January 14, 2013Music Background:
    Piano player by heart. Keyboard player in classic rock bands for 30 years and counting.

    Roland Jupiter 80

    Sorry for the 4.0 rating. Mostly because of the new language Roland has moved to. (Registrations instead of patches etc.). I love the sounds the board has. I have yet to spend any length of time learning to program any presets/banks though. I've always been a Roland fan and have several of them. I am sure this board will do more than I'll ask it to but I purchased it for the sound qualities. (Sounds that no other manufacturer comes close two). I purchased this board for a lead synth to be used in conjunction with my Fantom X8 for live performance.

  • from Missouri October 24, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Teacher, Musician and Composer

    Having owned both the original Jupiter and now this, the legacy of sonic power continuesÖ

    Back in 1985 (I hate to even say that) my keyboard rig consisted of a Roland Jupiter 8 on the bottom with a Yamaha DX7 on top. At that time I thought that that was the finest 2 board keyboard rig on the planet.

    Today my new rig is a Yamaha CP1 Stage Piano on the bottom with the new Roland Jupiter 80 on top, and I think that this is the finest two instrument keyboard rig on the planet. A lot has changed since then, but one thing that hasnít changed, when Roland sets their mind to building a premium synthesizer, they know how to deliver. Theyíve put out a lot of junk the last several years too, but not here, this instrument is special.

    I played my original Jupiter 8 for ten years, and I plan on playing my new Jupiter 80 for at least that long.

    Right now there is more misunderstood information about this instrument (on the net) than any instrument in recent history. Many of the expectations were based upon the fact that people were expecting something closer to the original Jupiter, and when Roland gave us something quite new and unexpected, some musicians have been critical. However, they are severely mistaken for this ax is a tonal monster.

    This instrument pays homage to, and is an extension of the original in every capacity. It builds on the dynasty of the original and offers fantastic sound sets and function in a modern 21st century setting. Here are three important reasons why you should consider purchasing this ax:

    1) Live Performance Synthesizer
    This instrument is designed for musicians who play live, musicians who play gigs regularly, musicians who need an instrument that is easy to navigate and change sounds live on stage without scrolling through menus. Roland gives you 8 sets of 32 live Registrations organized into 4 banks of eight presets for each set, and that gives you 256 total registrations accessible with the push of a button located right below your right hand on the keyboard. The original Jupiter only had 64!

    If youíre gigging, you can organize the Registrations from Set I to correspond to your Gig Set List. Registrations from Set I = Gig Play List - Set I; Registrations, Set II = Gig Play List - Set II, and so on and so forth. So as you play your gig, push a button and go to the next sound, and if you need several sound changes during one song, no problem, push the next Registration button while youíre playing and change sounds. Therefore, you can concentrate on playing live and not worry about the technology. Iíve set my board up with the first four sets of Registrations covering my Jazz Quintetís first four set lists, and man is this convenient. On my Registrations Sets 5-8, Iím storing new sounds that I create and develop. Hey if you need more than 256 Registrations to play a gig, then youíre doing more sound changing than playing.

    2) Quality of Sounds Available, and Quality of Sounds Possible
    There are over 2000 synth sounds (patches called live sets) in this thing, and over 2000 Super Natural Sounds (Rolandís new Instrument Modeling Technology) in this thing. You can layer/split these in infinite combinations. You can go into the synth sounds and Tweak yourself into the next universe, I mean every parameter of every possible element of sound creation can be tweaked and edited. Then you can set up your Registrations, and did I mention that the combinations are infinite, itís incredible. WARNING, you have got to spend some serious time learning how to navigate this ax and get around the programming functions and master the tweak aspect of this thing, or you are wasting your money. Plan on spending some serious time learning and setting up your Registrations, for the stock Registrations that come with the instrument are for the most part average to lame. But once you learn how to develop and create your own sounds and registrations, look out, youíre going to have the fattest sounding ax around, I kid you not!

    Hey, there are over 500 monophonic (Moog type) lead sounds alone and many of them sound fantastic, and when you start to stack/split and layer these in your registrations, itís off the charts. If you want thin and singular sounds, if you want multi-layered and over the top stuff, synth brass, orchestral, strings, pianos, usable organs, and on and on, itís all there, but youíve got to master how go get the sound, manipulate the sound, and then set it up in your Registrations. And the new Super Natural Sounds, trust me, they are very valuable in creating new sonic possibilities; you will use these natural instrument sounds a lot, for they can really ad to your various synth patches. The only sound group that is sub-par in this instrument is the guitar sounds, for the most part they are weak. Other than that, every sound group has usable, good, and very good stuff.

    3) Build Quality and Future Development
    Roland instruments have fantastic build quality and sturdy design, and this rig tops the charts. And Roland has already come out with version II (a big improvement over version I), and they are just releasing the Legacy Collection of sounds (based on their past synthesizers) that you can download. And from what Online Users Forums have intimated Roland is committed to showcasing and developing sound designs for this instrument in the future.

    By the time you buy this instrument and then accessorize it with instrument case, pedals, cables and such, youíre tapping into some heavy bread. Itís designed for the professional user that is willing to spend the heavy bread and then take the time to master the instrumentís capabilities to the fullest. And trust me there is a serious learning curve, and like all instruments, this instrument has its own idiosyncrasies and personality. But man what a personality it is. I love it. Thanks Luke (my Sweetwater sales rep) for helping me set this new awesome rig up, and the legacy continuesÖ

  • from Free state, SOUTH AFRICA August 13, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician, recording engineer

    Monster synth

    If you are looking for monster synth go for this one. From piano to synth you get great sounds if you know your story.

  • from Walnut Creek, CA April 12, 2012Music Background:
    Keyboard Player & Audio Engineer

    JP80 is excellent

    This keyboard not only sounds great it play great also

  • from MARTHA'S VINEYARD, MASSACHUSETTS November 4, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Keyboardist and Composer

    too kool for school!!!

    I've now had it for a month, and still finding new ways to make and create sounds. I am a bit of a gear-head, but I actually had to crack open the manual to get a handle on navigating this Roland. (Plus checked out the great tutorial videos online)I've got Rolands, Kurzweils, Emu, Korg, Yamahas and Casios, but this one is pretty deep. The sound quality almost rivals any of my plugins, or my (East West, Spectrasonics,Vienna,etc )sample libraries. I bought this for live gigs and am very satified with the sound, weight, and performance of this rig. Love the synth action-maybe the best non-piano non-waterfall action I've ever played. there is nothing like a real piano for piano sounds, but I can actually get a lot of nuance from the action (and a little velocity tweaking) I do have the Roland RD700nx, and the pianos are THAT good. Rhodes-excellent, Basses, great, vocal stuff-hmmm, strings good, clavinet, good but needs tweaking, synths-that is in a league by itself: that could be an entire keyboard in itself.
    The way this [Jupiter 80]is setup(registrations) is unique, kind of an expansion of the RD700nx setup, with the ability to layer and split 4 sounds over 4 individual layers (totaling 16 sounds). If you can't get a fat enough sound from that, there is something wrong with your programming. But even just using 1(!) sound is extremely fat, and it must be the updated analog output circuitry that puts this in a class by itself. Is this the perfect keyboard? NO! There is no such animal, but this fills this nitch for a live keyboardist nicely. There are very few gigs that this wouldn't cover, and cover well! (Roland: Have you considered a dual manual keyboard-top a great synth action, bottom, piano action like the RD700nx, tremendous sounds like the Jupiter 80 with an onboard sequencer AND the ability to loop live midi performance or audio (with a pedal) that you could play over, that weighs 30 pounds????? Just sayin'......)

  • from Indianapolis,Indiana September 28, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome Keyboard

    Great Keyboard. Love the 76 keys. Super easy to split the keyboard too.Great Action too. Sounds are incredible. Pianos are suberb. Strings are Lush and syth sounds really cut through. Great LIve and Great in Studio also!

Questions about the Roland Jupiter-80 76-Key Synthesizer?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway