0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

Roland Jupiter-50 76-Key Synthesizer Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
  • from Colorado July 11, 2015Music Background:
    Classic Rock, Progressive Rock, 80's Synths

    The Perfect Add To My Performance Rig

    I play in a classic rock cover band. For many years, I have been using 2 boards for my performance rig: a Nord Electro for organs and pianos and a midi controller driving a iPad for the rest. It did the job but I was missing live controls, rich powerful sound, and a great variety of sounds from acoustic to great analog synths I used to have years ago. The Jupiter 50 does it all! I am one month into owning this new board. I will admit there was an initial learning curve trying to understand registrations, live sets, uppers, etc. But it eventually clicked (the manual is not very good explaining IMHO). I have performed two gigs with the Jupiter so far. I just love its live layering capabilities. Took me about a day to set up the board to my set list. What I discovered is there are many patches I now play (pianos, organs) that are much better than the factory set ups. You just need to get into the edits and tweak hem to your liking. The 76 keys, quality of the keybed, weight and portability, ease of moving through the sounds (once they are set up) are all huge pluses. I am glad I am back to 2 pro boards.

  • from January 8, 2014

    Still learning about my Jupiter-50. So much it can do. So far, so good.

    I'm not a professional musician, but out of all the keyboards I've owned, I find the Jupiter-50 to be the most user friendly and the keys feel really comfortable to play. The sounds are really good, and each instrument sounds as close to the real thing as I think they can. I play other instruments too, and have a real ear for the original way they should sound. So far I'm very pleased, and would recommend Jupiter-50 as a good choice, for anyone that ask.

  • from Klamath Falls, OR February 4, 2016

    Good all-around performance board

    I have had this board for 2 years now and still love it. Since I use it mainly for live performance in a cover band covering 60's, 70's, and 80's music, I find I can easily cover multiple genres/decades with the ability to quickly change sounds on the fly and still have the worship licks ready for Sunday morning. Having a built in 3.5mm audio input and internal song storage is great for those frustrating cover band rehearsals when the drummer can't remember the tempo's and the guitarist argues about that one little rif. The sounds are high quality, especially the Super Natural sounds, and it has not missed a beat in all its usage. My only gripes are the lack of the balanced out's like the Jupiter 80's and the smallish display compared to other boards in the price range. If you a familiar with Roland gear, it is nothing to get this board and get up and running in minutes. If you need an easy to use, quick up and running, high quality board, it is hard to beat this one.

  • from Burlington, NC August 26, 2014Music Background:
    Composer, sound designer

    Interesting sound...

    Roland has been innovative over the years, notably in the analog arena, harking back to the original Jupiters and Junos...and as of late, the rebirth of the Jupiter line. The Jupiter 50 has a fresh sound, a very playable keyboard, and a lot of programming options. Will it sound like a Jupiter-8? Not exactly. Will it sound like a Juno-106? Not exactly. A TB-303? You already know the answer. What it will sound like, is a combination of all of the above, or something completely different. Very rich, very full.

  • from Huntington Beach, CA April 6, 2015Music Background:
    Professional touring musician

    Roland Jupiter 50

    I love the jupiter 50. In the 80's I was touring as keyboardist for Stryper. I had 2 Juno 106 synths and a Jupiter 6. I used those in their show 1985-86 tours.

    After leaving the band, I ended up owning almost 20 Roland units. Jupiter 8, jx10, Jx8p etc. ( too long to list them all ).

    Roland went through a phase where the next keyboard was much the same as previous with a few new bells and whistles. They were not interested in making updates, like most will do now, or sound upgrades. They told me this on a phone conversation, and told me they didn't care that I had spent $4500 on a Jupiter 8 or the like, they were not customer/user interested beyond selling the newest thing.

    In my anger, I sold them all. Stopped being a Roland user and picked up Korg. For the next 18 years, all my money went to Korg or Yamaha.

    I now have a vintage show where I reproduce the stage show of a 1970-82 Elton John show. My Korg and Yamaha synths are great, but the Roland Jupiter 50 is perfect for those fat synth sounds for songs such as Funeral For A Friend/Love Lies Bleeding.

    That was where the need came in for authentic vintage stuff, so I gave Roland some money after 18 years of avoiding them.

    The only reason I did not give this keyboard a full 5 stars was that, you still have to dive into many levels to make something simple happen and it's not always easy on the fly in a live show setting when you are playing multiple parts.

    It brought back many good memories, and I am not sad one minute that I bought this. Glad they went back to their roots and made their Jupiter line again.

  • from Providence, RI area April 7, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician/ documentary film composer

    Roland JP-50

    Have had the Fantom X and now G series (use a G7 as master keyboard in my studio) so the logical keyboard for my part time live situation was the JP-50.
    On most weekends, I work with a first rate function band and play a fair number of cocktail hours. The JP-50 fits the bill perfectly. The USB port allows me to bring my pre recorded bass tracks for cocktail, the board isn't heavy to move from the cocktail to stage and the sounds I love from the G series are all there. The JP-50 and a Hammond XM cover the whole gig and that says a lot!

    With the touch of a button, I can add bass to any sound I'm using to comp with and once you learn the architecture, it's a fast tool for live
    performance.

  • from Indianapolis April 1, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    lightweight powerhouse

    The Jupiter 50 is a great multi-tasker for live performance. Super lightweight, but still has lots of features and a good feel. Decent keybed, extensive library of voices, including some terrific pianos, electric pianos and pads. Interface makes it easy to up patches and combos of sounds, and one of the easiest to use for splits and layers.

    Flexible enough to be your main board, even you only board, and won't wear yourself out hauling it to gigs.

  • from clifton park, NY October 19, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Nice Board

    This is the third Roland to my Rig. It's wonderfully loaded, and is so fully accessable for tweaking. Key bed feels good, and is fun to play. Adding an iPad is a great tool as well.

  • from December 14, 2013

    Roland Extinct

    The Jupiter 50 is a decent board BUT it doesn't offer ANYTHING new except for colored buttons on the front panel. Roland hasn't evolved their keyboard line since the early 90's with that Stuuuuupid D-Beam control. The mod wheel/joystick is literllay the same part number that's been in their boards for over a decade now.

Questions about the Roland Jupiter-50 76-Key Synthesizer?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway