0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

Ibanez JEM70V Steve Vai Signature - Sea Foam Green Reviews

5.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Ibanez JEM70V Steve Vai Signature - Sea Foam Green?

Questions about the Ibanez JEM70V Steve Vai Signature - Sea Foam Green?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Campbell, CA December 30, 2016

    Great Guitar - great purchasing experience

    I am very picky. I want things a certain way, and explained this to Chris at Sweetwater, who was very helpful. He assured me that the strings I wanted would be installed, with the action set the way I wanted, with no buzz. I wanted straplocks installed -- no problem. The communication could not have been better.

    I was concerned about buying a premium guitar site-unseen, but I felt very re-assured in this process that everything would be to my satisfaction.

    Chris provided a set of files, with additional photos of my guitar for review. Just, a perfect transaction across the board. The guitar arrived 1 day earlier than committed.

    Thanks Sweetwater !!!

  • from Texas February 22, 2016

    She's a fast machine!

    I've been playing guitar for 20+ years.. I own many high quality guitars.. Gibson's, Fender, g&l.. And I've other ibanez..
    This Jem is now my favorite ax... I've had it for about 3 months now.. Had it professionally set up.. And man.. She's a smooth operator.. From finish, to playability, and staying In tune.. It meets and exceeds all expectations..
    I'd never guess it wasn't built in Japan.. If this is the style you want.. Pull the trigger.. You won't be disappointed..

  • from Phoenix, AZ September 20, 2015Music Background:
    Music/Video Production, Passionate guitar player, home recording

    Pleasantly surprised! It's AWESEOME!

    I ordered the Jem70V from Sweetwater and I was a bit leery at first. Folks always talk about how awesome the Made In Japan guitars are versus other locations in the orient. I had done my homework and read some reviews. I'm no stranger to expensive guitars, but I wanted a daily player and NOT a collectors piece; I loved the seafoam green color too! Chris Goldbach, my Sweetwater engineer was great to speak with regarding my concerns. Chris was so cool, he sent me photos of my ACTUAL guitar right after the purchase! That's pretty classy!

    The guitar came from Sweetwater, expertly packed; it was the first guitar I've bought from them, so I didn't know what to expect. It was very well cared for! It was stunning when I opened the case! You really have to see the color in person to appreciate it!

    To my surprise, once I tuned it up, it played GREAT! (They ship them intonated, but tuned down for easier transport on the strings!) I thought I'd have to have it set up for sure, (and I may once it acclimates) but I was blown away at how low the action was, straight from Sweetwater and how well it played in just minutes!

    This is an IMPRESSIVE guitar! Who cares where it's made! Going head to head with the more expensive Jems from the late 80s, the only thing that I noticed that was different was the lack of scalloped frets from 20 through 24! Honestly? I LOVE that too!

    The Evo pickups are wonderful! They sound great through my SLO100, JCM800 and my Avid Eleven Rack! They even sound pretty darned good through my older Crate G40c practice amp too! What do you expect? Steve Vai plays these same pickups in his more expensive model too!

    Anyone who's ever played an "Edge" bridge knows what they are getting! It stays in tune through the most rigorous dives and pulls too!

    The neck is simply incredible! No "scarf-joints" here! This baby is sensational! Wide, flat, fast and very responsive! It feels like it should cost double the price like the higher end MIJ Jems! The inlay is simply gorgeous! I think I bought this guitar for the neck inlay alone!

    If you're on the fence with buying a Jem, and don't want to spend the hefty price tag for exactly what Steve plays... consider this 70V model! It's beautiful, plays well and is very affordable!

    I've read other reviews around the net saying the fit and finish wasn't that great on these, but the one I purchased is terrific! I even voiced those concerns to Chris, and he was kind enough to take photos of the areas I questioned, like the output jack. These folks are awesome! I'm a customer for life now!

  • from usa April 18, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist, guitar, recording, music production

    Worth every penny

    Great action, no humming, evolution pickups sound great, edge tremolo stays in tune after hard whammy usage, I have no amp, listen through an RP1000 and it just sounds amazing. Had played only guitars below the $500 price range, this is an upgrade and like I said it's worth every penny. If you can afford it, go for it.

  • from Dayton, OH USA October 13, 2013Music Background:
    Student, passionate guitar player

    Excellent Guitar

    I went to the Ft. Wayne store to explore what kind of Jem guitars they had. I played around on a Floral Jem Fp2 a little bit. Eventually they brought this guitar out brand new right out of the box from the warehouse next to the place. It had already been set up from their 55 point check. I was amazed at how great this guitar sounded and felt. So I bought it! I was skeptical at first because of the color, the fretboard radius, the frets, and the type of neck that was used. The only things that were different that I could tell was that the action was a tad higher on this one and the frets were a little bigger. Other than that it felt EXACTLY Like a 7vwh and the Fp2. The color of the guitar is so much better in person than any picture I've seen, EVER! Some small annoyances were present though. There was a little buzz on some frets, but I think it's just the nature of the 9-42 strings that were on it. the buzz is not present coming through an amp. Also the screw holes in the neck and the area of the output jack were unfinished which I think is present on all of them. Finally the case has a black plush upholstered material on the inside. Some strands are showing up on the guitar every time I take it out of the case, but they easily brush off. I am very happy with this guitar! Good model for a first Jem.

  • from Indiana February 5, 2016Music Background:
    Rockin' Since Louie Louie

    Great Guitar Out of The Box

    First, have confidence that Sweetwater will not send you a guitar with defects, as pointed out with the paint issues in other reviews. I've even seen reviews with hair line cracks at the neck bolts brand new. No gonna happen here. Mine came perfect.
    Second, if you are looking for a guitar for easy listening, this is probably not the best choice. I've heard about the drop off on the center pick-up and it is true, unless you are wide open going for it. On the pre-amp (gain) with my amp, this guitar is a complete monster, forcing you to either learn how to use your volume knob for dynamics or you volume pedal (Morley, what else?). The harmonic sustain and feedback from this guitar is unbelievable.
    This is a guitar to play hard, fast and loud. Off the gain, the neck and bridge pickups are very clean and humane, capable of beautiful clean sound. Off the gain, the middle pickup is unusable at low levels of volume. You can hear it, but the neck and bridge give you great low volume sound.
    The neck and frets are magical. No buzz are nasty edges. Easiest playing guitar I have.
    I bought this guitar to have a humbucking guitar with locking trem for harder rock music. It's made to rock, so turn up your amp and fly!

  • from January 19, 2013Music Background:
    pro hobbyist

    Fantastic Guitar!

    I got this in one day! i wasnt sure about it not being made in japan but it plays and sounds as good as my prestige js1200 i love it! Thanks Guys and Gals @ Sweetwater Oh yeah,( the candys pretty cool also)

  • from Middleboro, MA USA September 23, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist, student, avid guitar player

    great guitar. fret buzz, but fantastic.

    I absolutely love this guitar. I own the displayed jem, i can tell you ive changed a bit of the default gear, knobs etc.. this guitar came out of the box ready to gig... the strings were whatever, but i couldnt have asked for a better job done by the guys at sweetwater, the evolutions in this guitar are enough to satisfy even the most picky pick-up professionals. There was some buzz on the fifth and fifteenth frets coincidently enough, so i plan on just replacing the frets with 6105's and calling it a day, if your new to the jem deal you will find some bits on this guitars paint job unfinished, areas like the input jack and the bolt-on screws. But other than these severly minute hick ups, buy this freaken guitar.

Questions about the Ibanez JEM70V Steve Vai Signature - Sea Foam Green?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway