0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Squier J Mascis Signature Jazzmaster - Vintage White Reviews

4.5 stars based on 34 customer reviews
Questions about the Squier J Mascis Signature Jazzmaster - Vintage White?

Questions about the Squier J Mascis Signature Jazzmaster - Vintage White?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from January 28, 2017

    Awesome Guitar

    Picked up one of these at the Sweetwater complex a few weeks ago and couldn't be happier. The salesman I worked with was very helpful. The pickups sound great, and I really like the satin neck.

  • from December 2, 2016

    Poorly built

    When I first got it, the tuner bushings all fell out to start with and then one of the inputs didn't work so I had to re-solder it. I do like the versatility of different tones, so that makes up for it. I would get something else if I had to do it again.

  • from Montana November 28, 2016

    Love this guitar!

    It had a perfect setup right out of the box! Great feeling and tone (for my taste at least.) Totally worth it. I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a jazzmaster!

  • from August 25, 2016

    Love my JMascis

    What a great looking and great playing guitar! I've had mine a few years now. Lovee the neck. Super comfortable to play. It's like all the other reviews say. Amazing value for the price. Regarding the tremolo bar. Originally I thought there might be a problem with it at well. It would spin freely. After researching quite a bit, it turns out all you have to do to fix the problem is just push the tremolo bar in there.... Kinda hard actually. Seriously. You have to jam it in there. After that it's great. Stays in place perfectly. Zero tremelo issues since I did that. Go ahead. Jam it in there. Solves the problem. No upgrades needed at all!

  • from Huntington, IN July 29, 2016

    My First Jazzmaster (And definitely not my last)

    When originally doing research on this particular guitar, I took a lot of time balancing the different pros and cons I've been reading about before I made up my mind. Here's one thing you must get over if you want this guitar: These are not technically Jazzmaster pickups you're dealing with. They're quite similar to P90 soapbars in construction. Screw-in pole pieces and a thick wind do make them somewhat better than normal JM pickups for noise rock.

    But most of you are looking at this signature and wondering how close to the real thing are we getting? Well as far as I'm concerned, only two inconsistencies stand.
    1: Not a Tune-O-Matic bridge but that's not an incredible problem.
    2: The pickups used in J's are Seymour Duncan Antiquities (Category 1 if I'm correct)

    So standard, this isn't technically a true to form J Mascis signature. Is it a bad Jazzmaster? No. Is it a bad guitar in general? NOOOOO. It's a great guitar. Definitely something nice for you to get if you're sick of the same old stuff with humbuckers and such. It's a beautifully crafted. This is a prime example of a guitar from China that proves that production in China doesn't mean its not worth your time. There is indeed a Jazzmaster from the Squier Vintage Reissue/Modified series for $50 less, but this is the one to get for someone who wants something weird and strange and LOUD. The pickups are still rather fat and full sounding in the neck and sound rather close to standard JMs when going through a clean signal.

    The feel is absolutely wonderful for the price. And for someone who does modding or even knows someone who can mod, the sound should not drive you away if you can somehow tell the difference between standard Jazzies and these pups. The neck is similar in build to a 1963 Jazzmaster with a nice satin finish for play abilities sake. The body itself is glossy Alpine White and doesn't offend too much in even the brightest of lights. And as far as looks go... It's honestly a major reason this guitar got my attention in the first place. The gold anodized pickguard on white was an excellent choice. It's the one Squier I know of that does this and it looks even better for it. Plus the subtle coherence of adding cream colored plastic parts gives this the perfect balance of an extreme white and a comfortable orange to the point the paint even looks cream colored.

    I will give a couple pointers. This needs a tailpiece that locks. Jazzmaster bridges DO come with TremLocks on most models. I am not sure if it is just a Fender feature, but Squier should expand on this. Cause anyone who likes to keep the bridge in one spot like I do, it will take some serious foresight or modding to keep the bridge in place. That and some Jazzmaster pickups instead of P90 styles would have been favorable for a guitar that uses them predominantly. But to be fair to the choice, this is a guitar made in the eyes of a noise rock king. Those who may not know how to pull that particular trick to make these sing like the big JM can (yeah the initials match almost like Mascis HAD to use this) so it is fair to make these use pickups that can handle lots of drive out of the gate. It's a starter guitar for noise rock. Definitely pick this up if you're interested in shoe gaze or noise rock and want something to play loud and proud. This is a guitar that takes a licking and keeps ticking.

    Pros:
    -Good for a beginner who loves noise punk, shoe gaze, experimental rock
    -Lovely exterior paint with a complimenting gold pickguard and subtle plastic details
    -Feels like a Fender Standard model Jazzmaster with a bit more love put into it
    -Familiar neck feel with a nice and smooth satin neck for fast playing
    -The floating trem isn't incredibly drastic but isn't unnoticable. A comfortable middle that keeps in tune rather well for a Chinese product
    -The pickups are not Jazzmasters, but they're ready for crank and drive and sound pretty close to the pups they copy

    Cons:
    -The pickups are not Jazzmasters
    -The paint itself is gloss and that is a personal gripe. It looks lovely, but you might feel the finish get "gummy" after long sessions
    -No locking the trem system outside of work with a screwdriver
    -It does take a little practice to string the thing. Vintage tuners have had this issue but it does take practice to get them in properly, so they're not impossible to string. Just hard

    Overall, you should definitely give this baby a strum if you enjoy bands that you'll never hear on the radio unless they end up in a sports game or Joe Rogan tells you to check them out.

    The J Mascis Jazzmaster gets 4 Freak Scenes out of 5.

  • from June 7, 2016

    Best Guitar For the Money!

    The Squier J Mascis Jazzmaster (or JMJM) is that rarest of things: a guitar that is ready to gig right out of the box, sounds GREAT, and doesn't break the bank. And it looks swell, too. The gold anodized pickguard is darker than it looks in the pictures and contrasts nicely with the vintage white (more like cream) paint job.

    Fit and finish are excellent. The neck on this guitar is a thing of beauty: jumbo frets perfectly crowned and dressed, no sharp fret ends, and a perfect C shape that fills the hand very nicely. The neck alone makes this guitar worth the money.

    The pickups are hotter than traditional JM pickups, and sound a bit more in the P90 range to my ears. That's not a problem. Some folks throw in more "authentic" aftermarket pickups, but I feel no need to. These sound GREAT: there's a midrange bite, but with a glassy top and nice rounded lows.

    Pots and switch are fine. No issues.

    The twang bar is wonderful, and feels wonderfully smooth. The only mods I've done to this guitar were to switch out the stock tune-o-metic style bridge (which had a rattling wire) for a roller-style TOM. It fit right on there. I also, of course, swapped out the stock strings (it ships with 10s) for a set of 11s with a wound 3rd. A 1/8 turn of the truss rod, and she was perfect. Even with pronounced use, the JMJM stays in tune. I'd recommend that anyone buying one of these plan to put on heavier strings. The "floating tremolo" system on these guitars was designed for heavy strings. 10s or lower don't exert enough tension to balance things out, and the guitar won't always return to pitch after using the bar. This is not a flaw in any way, it's the nature of the beast. As for the bridge, I find that it also helps the tuning stability to switch to the rollers. Many folks leave the bridge stock, and have no problems. I had a spare roller-style TOM laying around, so I threw it on.

    Ultimately, I think this guitar is the best value for your dollar on the market today. If it said "Fender" instead of "Squier," no one who's played one would blink. If it cost three times as much as it does, no one who's played one would be surprised. For the price, you cannot find a better instrument. As far as budget JMs go, these are the absolute cream of the crop. And they're certainly as good or better than the Fender-branded Classic Player or any of the others. I haven't played an American Vintage '65 JM, so I can't compare this to them, but it's a moot point. Folks who buy the $2000+ JMs would never even look at this one. Sad for them, good for us.

    In case it wasn't clear, I'm in love with this guitar.

  • from Oakdale, NY May 29, 2016

    J. Mascis Jazzmaster

    I am stunned at how great this guitar is irrespective of the price. It plays better than most vintage Jazzmasters, which always had bridge and vibrola issues. The Tune-O-Matic style bridge and repositioning the vibrola closer to the bridge make a huge difference in playability. The pickups are hotter than vintage, but sound very articulate even with a fair amount of gain cranked in. The hardware seems to be of decent quality- the tuners hold tune even if they are low ratio. The pots and caps seem okay, which is always questionable with import guitars. You can cover a lot of territory with this guitar, more than a traditional Jazzmaster. The build quality is flawless, no issues anywhere. The setup was just about perfect out of the box. This is a fun guitar that you can gig with and not worry about it. Through a Fender amp with reverb and a touch of delay and you're in surf or rockabilly heaven. One good thing about Sweetwater: you can pick the exact guitar by serial number, and it shows the weight too. This one is exactly 8 pounds, lighter than most Strats. I highly recommend this guitar for both amateurs and professionals.

  • from Plymouth, Mass. December 1, 2015

    Just WOW

    Well, while wanting a Jazzmaster and staring at this for over a year, I finally pulled the trigger and I'm glad I did. I had them set this up with 11's with a wound G to give it a much bolder sound. The middle position is to die for while the bridge pup can really grind it. I'm hoping this cures my offset GAS for now, but the Johnny Marr Jag is temping. When the time comes, I'll order that from Sweetwater as well. BTW, it arrived 3 days earlier than the scheduled date and the phone order was pleasant and quick. I may be 46, but I am a rockstar in my basement! Thank you, John.

  • from Grosse Pointe, MI November 30, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist - recording

    Sincerely amazed by this Squire

    I was really skeptical about a Squire guitar living up to the hype that I had been reading about the J Mascis Jazzmaster. I had a very trusted friend, who owns dozens and dozens of great axes of various vintage how much he loved his, and I couldnt find a bad review. I decided to give it a shot, and from the moment I pulled it out of the box, was blown away. Squire has really crafted an outstanding instrument. The playing is precise, the electronics solid and sound fantastic, and the finish is amazingly well done for a guitar of this price. I have been playing it daily and love it. Whether you are looking to add you your guitar collection, or you are looking for a primary axe with great playability and sound on a budget, I couldn't be more sincere in recommending the Squire J Mascis Jazzmaster.

  • from Santa Cruz Ca. October 28, 2015

    nice for the money

    The J Mascis Jazzmaster guitar plays really well. The finish on the neck is really good the fat jumbo frets play well. the only thing is the pickup selector switch on the lower pick guard pops when switched as well there is a static noise heard at times.The Tremolo works well when not over applied if it is fully depressed there is a clunk or pop that occurs. I think it would have been nice to have Strap lock's installed rather then the standard strap holder button's. Over all this is a really nice well playing guitar for the price.

  • from Iowa City, IA October 15, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar Fanatic 25+ years

    Stellar Service!

    I've been a customer for Sweetwater for close to 10 years and have never written a review. They have always provide top notch service, shipping, and followup calls to see if I am happy with everything from strings to guitars. I feel a bit guilty not writing a review earlier, in fact.
    Today, had an issue with my J Mascis and it was resolved within a 10 minute email exchange with the fabulous Ed Needler! The guitar is one of the best I've played under $500, if not the best. The Squire Classic Tele is close. Cheers to Squire and Sweetwater!

  • from New Jersey September 21, 2015Music Background:
    Gigging Musician

    Squier - Not!

    This guitar feels great, sounds great and the fit and finish are as good as any off the shelf Fender product I have ever held in 30+ years. Stays in tune really well (you can't go crazy and not re-center the unit, but once you do, it is back on point). Frets dressed very well and could not find a finish issue. Pickups we very good. Hotter bridge pickup is very good and clear and the neck sounds round with definition. My only gripe is the trem bar doesn't lock in at all. it's in there by friction. I was playing out and the bar fell out. Unfortunately I was playing on a boardwalk stage and was lucky that the bar didn't fall thru the gap in the boards. For that reason, I chopped a half a star off. My out of the box playability was almost perfect. Thanks, Sweetwater and AJ!

  • from August 24, 2015Music Background:
    Amateur

    Awesome!!

    Excellent guitar, beautiful quality, sounds great. Sweetwater/Squier did a great job on the setup, when I pulled it out of the box it was even in tune. Mine has beautiful flaming on the neck, and as many others have said the neck is fantastic.

  • from NY soon to be Florida June 5, 2015Music Background:
    Player for over 50 years

    Dinosaurs are not extinct

    I bought this almost on a lark. I've never owned a Squier before per se, I did buy a Squider Stratocaster way back in th 90's for my 10 or 12 year old son. I rememember I was floored by the quality of the guitar. At that time I had bought a SRV Strat I think in 91 because I rememember that I had gotten lucky because years later I found out that I had one of the original Pao Ferro fretboards.
    That SRV was impeccable in terms of looks and playability and overall quality, well my sons Squier strat was just as good it floored me.
    Well I feel the same way about this Squier Jazzmaster.
    It plays superbly , sounds incredible and feels fantastic.
    I love the look of it and it's just dynamite.
    You can't go wrong
    By the way a nod to Sweetwater the setup was right on it needed nothing to be changed or adjusted

  • from Kansas June 2, 2015

    Love

    I've had this guitar for just shy of two years now. I got it from my buddy who was the lead singer/rhythm guitarist in one of my old groups. This has been just about the only constant electric guitar for me over these past two years, and I've gigged and toured with it a whole lot. Actually taking it on the road this coming July/August with a very. . . uh, radio-friendly, country music act, so that just goes to show how versatile this guitar is! It will handle just about every genre of music you can think of. I actually used to play his guitar in a hardcore band a while ago and it did fine. It handled the super-sludge Code Orange Kids-esque riffs that I did for that band, it handled the tweeny summer pop crap that I played with another, and it handles rock and roll super well. Also, it sounds pretty great for jazz, too! (Hence the name.) The neck plays great- frets are all super big and super awesome, no dead spots or buzzing frets, and the bridge is pretty freakin' great compared to the bridges that come stock on the Squier Vintage Modified jazzs/jags. The tremolo works extremely well and is very comfortable to use, and it holds tune!! the tuning pegs make it very easy to change a string quickly, which is great, too. The guitar does sound nice, but I would like to upgrade the pickups at some point to true vintage Jazzmaster pickups. The pickups in this guitar actually ARE jazzmaster-sized p90 pickups, which is a J Mascis thing. Normal Jazzmaster pickups are wound differently and more thinly giving them a slightly different tone. Nonetheless, these are still cool pickups. Also, the wiring and switches are not the best. I do plan to upgrade the wires and switches very soon, as they crackle pretty badly on occasion, and sometimes the neck pickup cuts out. But this is really a cheap fix, and I mean Squire had to cut corners SOMEWHERE on this otherwise excellent instrument.

  • from April 3, 2015

    Pretty good, but a thick neck and unique tone

    I can only compare this to my PRS SE singlecut. The JM's neck feels much thicker (not wider), and takes some adjustment for me. The rosewood looks much lighter and less dense than the PRS, that is, it isn't as smooth. And the frets did feel "gritty" at first. They seem a little better after playing, but I think I will try some 0000 steel wool on them and also some fretboard conditioner.
    The electronics are OK, not as smooth or solid feeling as the PRS, but not by much. Haven't played with the tremolo bar yet. The neck pickup sounds louder to me and the bridge pickup is pretty bright so I roll the tone way down when using it. The bridge has quite sharp saddles.
    Trying to find a sound I like is still ongoing (using a 50w tube amp and I like playing old school soul, R&B, and my band covers some rock. No metal. And I do like Dinosaur Jr and SY.) I was hoping it would be an instant player for me (it isn't) and was torn between this and a Tele. I will definitely go back and look at Teles.

  • from March 21, 2015

    Squire J Mascis Jazzmaster

    Great guitar! Came to us in perfect condition. I need to find a hard case that actually fits the guitar.

  • from New Jersey March 20, 2015Music Background:
    11 years of messing around

    Great value, doesn't feel like a Squier.

    I bought this guitar because when I was interested in purchasing a Jazzmaster I couldn't find a Mexican Jazzmaster that I liked. None of them were adjusted and all had fret buzz or ringing and I never fell in love with one. I could have went in that direction but I never owned a Jazz and has reservations. So I figured get the nicer squier and figure out if you even like to play them.

    I will now start by saying I like this guitar. I otherwise play an American Standard Strat and I find myself much more comfortable with the Jazz. The neck feels and looks great. It has a quality finish and isn't like the bullet strat.

    So it's basswood, with affordable electronics made in China. If you can get past that, it's a great value. The Neck pick up has a very impressive bass response. Picks up some serious low tones. I needed to adjust bridge pickup because at high volumes it would become muddy and weird. I guess sweetwater doesn't bring them up to 11 or even 5. I was worried it was a bad pickup but after lowering it, it sounds much better.

    This guitar is a great value. This is Squier stepping it up and competing in a tough market despite its name. Everyone that says this guitar is great is right. Put on some 11 guage strings and join us. I love this thing.

  • from Haddam, CT January 16, 2015Music Background:
    Playing since 1979

    OMG great guitar that needs no upgrades

    Frets are finished well, pickups sound great, tuners work well and hold tuning, there is nothing to upgrade!

  • from September 1, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist.

    Crappy machine heads.

    As I wanted to put fresh string on, I realise that all the machine heads screws were turning endlessly and one of the tuning machine is actually broken. So not happy at all with Squier, I understand they have to cut corners but there is a limit. So now I'm left with returning the guitar or change/upgrade the tuners.Nice one guys.

  • from United States August 24, 2014Music Background:
    Pro

    J.Mascis Squier Jazzmaster at #2

    2 years down the road here (mostly rhythm but doing more lead work as well) and this is simply a pro-level guitar of the highest quality... Looks cool too!

  • from Jackson, MS July 31, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Home Recording

    Excellent guitar, excellent service!

    The value of this guitar for it's price is unbelievable. I've always wanted a jazzmaster or a jaguar but never really could afford to buy the high end fender due to the guitar not being my primary instrument. When I read the reviews comparing this to some of the midrange fender jazzmasters, I spent weeks reading reviews and spec comparisons and watching demos. Now that I have it in my hands, it sounds even better. The satin neck feels smooth. The sound is very warm yet still bright when I want it. I love the rhythm circuit. The tremolo is so much easier to use than a strat trem. I can get clean jangle out of it and I can get really nasty fuzz that almost sounds like it's breaking up on itself.

    As far as service, I just want to thank my tech, Aaron, for keeping me updated on the shipping and for answering a few questions for me before I purchased the guitar. The 55 point evaluation was great as well because my guitar came pretty much with perfect intonation and the action is right where I like it. Couldn't be any happier.

  • from United States December 20, 2013Music Background:
    musician, recording engineer, hi-fiver

    A strong contener

    I rarely give something 5 stars but I believe this guitar lives up to all of the hype I read and heard. The first person to tell me about this guitar shared a manager with Mascis and was gifted the guitar and went on about how much he loved it. Like most guitarists, I didn't believe it because it is a Squire. Still, I read reviews and people love this guitar, so I gave it a try.

    The neck is quite different from my American Tele and From my 78 Les Paul, but there's something very appealing to how it fits comfortably between the two necks. I needed to do a little set up because the action was low and gave me some issue on the higher notes of the higher strings.

    I've seen people swapping out the pick ups for vintage pick ups. I wouldn't advise that. These p90 style pickups make up for the lack of sustain in the Basswood body. Put some distortion on this guitar and there's a sweet spot where the sustain turns into appealing and melodic feedback.

    Don't let the Squire tag put you off, this is a solid guitar. It doesn't feel like the Squire entry level guitars. It has a solid build. Certainly the American Ashwood bodies have a bit more tone to them, but for nearly 1/4 the price, this is not something you'll care too much about. You'll likely care more about people seeing you on stage with a Squire tag.

    Where I see issues is some of the hardware, which is easily swapped out. Most specifically, the tremolo arm doesn't screw in so when every I bend over to adjust a pedal setting, it falls out. I will likely upgrade that .

    I find myself using this guitar more than my others right now. It's fun to play and a bit lighter, which feels better on my back. If you're on the fence about this guitar, I'd suggest buying it. It's a solid guitar. I'm thinking about buying an American Jazzmaster but won't sell this one. It has a great sound. I just have a problem buying guitars...

  • from Virginia May 31, 2013Music Background:
    Retired player.

    J Mascis Jazzmaster

    My Jazzmaster arrived via Fex Ex in perfect shape and was setup ready to play! The guitar has a nice vintage look and has a much different feel that a Strat or Tele. Even though it scale is shorter 25" it feels a lot longer because of the way its put together. Great sounding and playing guitar for anyone looking for something different.

  • from Winston Salem, NC April 17, 2013Music Background:
    Semi Pro Musician. Been playing almost 50 years.

    I Cant harly Believe it

    I have a pretty good collection of guitars, a few high dollar PRS's, Fenders, Gibson Firebird, Gretsch, Rickenbackers. I don't know why I ordered this guitar but its one of the greatest moves I've ever made. Its incredible. My other guitars sound great but they're one trick ponies. This guitar will do it all. I love twang, the Rickenbacker jingle jangle and classic rock. I'm disabled and almost to old to gig anymore but if I do this guitar will be in my hands. For a $400 guitar the craftsmanship is great and I've got a lot of guitars to compare it to. Love the looks of the white with the gold pickguard. I was so impressed with this guitar I ordered the Squire Strat with the lipstick pickups. I'll report on it when it comes in. I'm not a big tremolo user but when I do use it it works and stays in tune. The set up was good from Sweetwater. I'm one happy camper!

  • from United States April 10, 2013Music Background:
    Songwriter, home recording dabbler

    You'll never go back....

    Once you plug this Jazzmaster in you'll never go back to whatever else you were playing before the Squier J Mascis Jazzmaster landed in your grubby hands. Sweetwater has supplied me with years of creative fuel thanks to this guitar. Playability, tone, look,...all are on par with the $1800+ reissues that have taunted me over the years. It can be as quiet as if the amp were turned off, and as noise-addled as if Kevin Shields himself was pulling incantation from this alternative rock icon. I love everything about this guitar. The neck, the body, the masterful soapbar pick ups. And the floating tremolo? It's as if I've discovered the joy of a working tremolo bar for the first time in my 39 years. I never had to tune this guitar once. It can go from a muted jazz tone to in-your-face indie rock grit with the flick of a switch...literally.

    Do yourself a favor and get in touch with Sweetwater. This guitar deserves to be played, admired, and adored by you.

  • from Oakdale, CT March 25, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Basement Rocker

    Amazing value

    I'd wanted this guitar for a long time and my girlfriend surprised me with it, from Sweetwater, last fall. She's a keeper! I have a CIJ 62 RI also to compare this to. This has the most comfortable neck I've ever played, I like the wider nut since I have big fingers. The pickups scream through my Big Muff. They're much higher output too. I can get the same sonic destruction with this guitar's volume at 3 as I can with my 62 at 10!! My only complaint would be the whammy bar doesn't like to stay in the tremolo but I can swap that eventually. Incredible value for the money, get one while they are still making them!!

  • from PA December 25, 2012Music Background:
    Student for 3 years

    Amazing Sustain

    It sounds, plays, looks and stays in tune as well as my Custom Shop Strat! I kinda hate to say that cause it was like almost one tenth the price of the Strat but the build quality and the thought that went into the design is pretty amazing coming out of a Chinese factory. Hats off to J Mascis for getting Fender to produce an amazing guitar at a price people can afford..

    Man, I love this guitar! The thing is alive with resonance. Great tone and was a pleasure to play right out of the box. This is the first time I used Sweetwater after seeing some good reviews on a few different forums. They did a nice set up and the transaction went smooth. Nice that you can see pics of the exact serial number guitar you're buying before you buy it. Having a name and face to contact at Sweetwater if there's a problem is a big plus.

  • from Canada November 28, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great jazzmaster

    I picked this J Mascis Jazzmaster at a pawn shop, I took it home and this
    guitar is the best guitar I have ever had, and I have had many. Good sound, good looks, good quality. Squier has turned out a winner.

  • from Baltimore, MD USA November 15, 2012Music Background:
    gigging punk musician, 2-3 shows/month

    SO GOOD

    I purchased this based on stellar reviews and great buzz from a few different forums (OSG, TDPRI, etc.) and I've been absolutely thrilled with it. The neck is—like everyone says—awesome. I love the satin finish. The pickups sound great; I've mostly been using the bridge and it's got plenty of snarl when I'm running it through my overdriven DeVille. I haven't been using the trem at shows, but it's really fun to play around with and tuning stability doesn't seem to be a problem at all.

    Cosmetically it's perfect. I wasn't totally sold on the gold pickguard when I got it but it's grown on me. I might go with tortoiseshell eventually but I'm not in a rush.

    It was set up great right out of the box, low action with no fret buzz. There is a bit of a rattle from the bridge, but this doesn't transfer to the pickups so I'm not worried about it.

  • from USA November 8, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Once again Squier has stepped up!

    Compared to my friends 65 JM there is a difference and all of them are improvements over the 65! Other than the name, scars, and of course value this J Mascis can keep up in sound and playability is better than the 65! Smoother neck and better intonation along with tuning makes this a WINNER!

  • from September 18, 2012

    It's a winner!

    Great guitar - great price. No reason NOT to get one of these.

  • from United States April 19, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist

    "Fathomless"!

    Durable, professional, splinky and splanky in all respects.. I cannot FATHOM how well this unit plays/sounds..

  • from Chicago, IL February 18, 2012Music Background:
    Gigging Musician

    Lord Almighty

    I've been waiting months for this thing to come off backorder and finally received it a few days ago. I'm completely blown away. The neck is the most comfortable I've ever played in my life. The bridge pickup is nice and throaty and the neck is smooth with just the slightest bit of grit. The cosmetics are flawless. It sounds so much better in person than in the few video reviews floating around YouTube that instead of being a back-up I can already tell this is going to replace my Highway One Strat as my main guitar.

    I expected a nice guitar for the money. I didn't expect this. If you're even slightly considering this guitar, buy it now.

Questions about the Squier J Mascis Signature Jazzmaster - Vintage White?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway