0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Fender Classic Player Jazzmaster Special - Black, Rosewood fingerboard Reviews

5.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Fender Classic Player Jazzmaster Special - Black, Rosewood fingerboard?

Questions about the Fender Classic Player Jazzmaster Special - Black, Rosewood fingerboard?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from NJ August 18, 2016

    New Favorite Guitar Ever!

    Awesome, I love it!

  • from Central Maine February 15, 2016Music Background:
    Play electric and acoustic guitar, Fender, Gibson

    Finally Found You...

    So, just like another reviewer on this page, I traded my Jazzmaster away in the seventies for a Gibson Everly Bro. Jumbo which I still have and love dearly. I saw this on the SW website last winter and thought - how good could this be for the $$? Well, it's worth a whole lot more than I paid for it, and it's better than the original while staying true to style. It's drop-dead beautiful...The finish is flawless, it's rock-solid construction and the tremolo arm is a huge improvement! Pickups are responsive, finger board soft and clear, no fuzzy rattling, good to go right out of the box. And SW was great to deal with. Recommend the guitar and the dealer. I'm nearly 70 years old, but when I take out my JM, I'm 17 again, only I can play all day if I want to....

  • from December 2, 2015

    Jazzmaster classic player

    I expected a competent reasonable sounding instrument at this price and was a bit anxious about the "hotter" soapbar pickups. I was very pleasantly surprised by the beautiful range of tone, variety of distortion and clean tones and sustain. The pickups maintain the expressiveness I expected from a JM and can drive my tube amps as well. Great fretwork and setup- the care the folks at Sweetwater always take in making sure their instruments are good to go out of the box!

  • from Maine January 20, 2015Music Background:
    Folkie leftover from the last centuryÖ..

    Back to the Future

    I owned a Fender Jazzmaster in the 60's, later trading it for a vintage Gibson Jumbo. Now, a lifetime later, thought it would be fun to recapture those sounds. Never thought a guitar in this price range would match my memory, I was really pleased. Fit and finish are superb, the sound, yeah the sound is thereÖ.and there are nice improvements in the bridge and tremolo piece. Sweetwater was terrific to deal with and made the sale a breeze.

  • from Akron ohio September 24, 2013Music Background:
    Punk/surf rocker

    Surf and slam!

    Great guitar! Easy to play!

  • from San Diego August 20, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, and occasional performer.

    Awesome!!

    This guitar came highly recommended by a working musician. He told me it was now his primary guitar. I tried his and loved it. I ordered one off the website. It arrived a couple days later, and I swear it was pretty much tuned right out of the box. This is now the "living room guitar". The workmanship was great, and the tone is fine. A couple friends suggested switching out the pickups, but they sound good to me!

  • from Chicago, IL November 3, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist of 20ish years

    Fender Classic Player Jazzmaster Special

    I absolutely love it!!! I have always liked Fender's MIM 9.5' necks and this guitar felt like an old friend. My only complaint is that it doesn't come in more colors so I have reason to buy more.

  • from Philadelphia, PA October 17, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Classic Player Jazzmaster

    I purchased the classic player jazzmaster about 3 months ago, so this is a comprehensive review over a few months use. Prior to this, I was mainly a SG player. This has now become my main guitar for every style I play (folk-rock, country, blues, jazz). It gets used every day, and is gigged with constantly. Holds up extremely well to the rigors of gigging, abuse, and feels like a tank. The floating vibrato system on here is the most smooth system Iíve ever used, the arm stays in place perfectly. Iíve had no issues with tuning at all. No sharp fret edges, and getting a super low action was easy. The 9.5 radius yields a not-too-thick neck thatís comfortable up the fretboard. The hotter pickups are nice and balanced, and the rhythm circuit gets beautiful muted jazz tones. However, the bridge pickup is a bit bright for my tastes, but I understand that is all personal preference. All in all, probably one of the best guitar purchases Iíve made in the last 10 years.

  • from Charlottesville, VA USA July 5, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Musician

    My Baby

    I purchased my MIM Jazzmaster in black 5 years ago when they first hit the shelves. Everything about this guitar is great, the stock p-90 pickups sound fine. Everything is just as it should be. I've never had any problems with it overall through the 5 years that I've owned it. Sounds, feels, looks and has the soul like a classic USA Jazzmaster.

    The only reason why I give it a 4.5 is because there is no chance you can customize the guitar. USA Jazzmaster pickups won't fit in the pick-guard or body. And you can get any color pick-guard you want...as long as its brown tortoise shell.

    But the guitar is amazing. (It can get Nels Cline tones....so thats a win)
    Not to mention you cant beat the price.

    Hope this helps!

  • from Rochester .N.Y. 1450 October 15, 2010Music Background:
    play steel guitar and standar 6 string 35 years combined

    great sounding Fender

    I owned a mim Sunburst but didnt care for the screw in vibrato arm would rather have a Socket type outside of that great sounding guitar

Questions about the Fender Classic Player Jazzmaster Special - Black, Rosewood fingerboard?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close