0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

DigiTech JamMan Solo XT Phrase Sampler / Looper Pedal Reviews

4.0 stars based on 22 customer reviews
Questions about the DigiTech JamMan Solo XT Phrase Sampler / Looper Pedal?

Questions about the DigiTech JamMan Solo XT Phrase Sampler / Looper Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Jonathan Casarow

    I use the JamMan Solo XT in my studio as a way to easily build up ideas and store them without having to use a computer. And when the on-board storage gets crowded, the JamMan Librarian software lets me archive all the loops I think are worth keeping.

  • Mitchell A
    from Alaska June 4, 2016Music Background:
    Amateur

    Nice Little Pedal

    I was impressed by how much this looper could do n such a small package. I have owned the larger older double pedal style , which I liked but it was for solo only and kind of heavy and cumbersome. I'm looking forward to utilizing the ability to link the jamman solos together when I get the chance. It does not have a separate channel for vocal but the jamman solo vocal looper is on my horizon. For now my Fishman Acoustic amp has a DI output that combines the two channels, vocal and guitar , and that works pretty good for now. Really impressed with the Jamman Solo Xt. Highly recommend it.

  • Doug Graham
    from Bedford TX May 23, 2016Music Background:
    Intermediate occasional open mike player

    Perfect backup for soloing

    It lets you set the drum backing by tapping the rythm onto the peddle. You can easily do multiple dub overs rythm guitar, bass runs and leads. Downloading MP3 easy with hundreds of available tracks. A must have for increasing your skill as a guitarist and performer. I am thinking of adding a second one to increase my dubbing and backing. Tempo adjustment is great. I read a lot of negative reviews on line. As always great customer service on questions from Sweetwater and received one fromDigitech too. I was overthinking what I needed to do on the Jamman. I didn't think it would be this easy

  • Rejyna
    from Burbank, CA June 23, 2015Music Background:
    Professional

    Sync'd JamMan Loopers for Performance, Collaboration, Songwriting

    I've been playing guitar for 2+ decades and have been 'live looping' for the last 4 years. I build 'songs' using loopers to create the sound of a full band using vocals, guitar, drums and synths. I use DigiTech JamMan Solo XT loopers.

    I spent my first 3 years looping with one JamMan Solo. I then did a lot of research before building my new looping rig which has FIVE sync'd JamMan Solos. Now I have a foot-controlled multi-track recorder on the floor. It may sound daunting but it is quite intuitive once you work with it for a little bit.

    There are fancier loopers out there, but I chose the JamMan Solo XT loopers for these unique and empowering options:

    1) layering/stacking with NO playback lag when switching between adjacent loops
    2) saving a loop WHILE the looper is playing back
    3) 200 on-board memory 'slots' to save loops, up to 10 minutes in length in each slot
    4) SD card adds another 200 memory slots for a total of 400
    5) saving to up/down slots for overdubs and subsequent 'chained playback'
    6) patch up/patch down and stop control with the 3-button FS3X external footswitch
    7) chain syncing with 1/8 inch TRS cables
    8) master with unlimited slaves
    9) multiple musicians and/or instruments each can have their own dedicated looper and 3-button FS3X
    10) indiscernible changes in tone even after layering
    11) loops are save as uncompressed .wav files
    12) stereo I/O with mono option also
    13) low cost considering all the options offered
    14) solid metal housing and silent switching
    15) usb interface for transferring loops to and from the looper

    No other looper has all of these features that are critical to live performance as well as song creation, rehearsal and jamming with friends. A multiple memory slot looper is your 'song notebook'. Paging up and down between loop variations helps you construct songs that are more interesting than what one, two or three 'phrase' loopers allow.

    The JamMan Solo and Solo XT also have a 'save' button that allowed me to do a 'save with your foot' modification by adding a little piece of plastic (shelf endcap), making it even easier to create very complex multiple patch variations, all synced to the master. I attached the 'endcap' with Velcro (like a hinge) so it sits just above the Save Switch requiring only a light foot touch to save the currently playing loop. Then hit save again and page up with the FS3X to save it in a new slot, overdub to that, save up a slot - and so on. Then you can page up and down between these slots to chain your loop variations in any combination - with NO playback hiccup between the slots.

    In short, the master looper receives the FX send from the board, allowing each individual channel to go into the master. Also, each instrument plugs into its own looper (slaves) before going to the board. The vocals are looped (slave) using an insert cable and insert jack on the vocal channel of the board.

    I do not use the included software and instead use Adobe Bridge to manage, name and transfer loops to and from the looper. I also do not use the auto-start, tap tempo or rhythm options, but these are included if you need them.

    My newest CD release was recorded using one JamMan Solo Looper for all the musical parts. I then stitched and tweaked the 'variations' in SoundForge. And that was BEFORE I built my multiple sync'd looper rig!

    Once a person experiences 'playing with themselves', many find it hard to give up the habit.

    And to be clear, I do not work for DigiTech (even though I would love to). My goal here is to inspire others to get into looping because it has added so much to my music experience and I want to share that empowerment.

  • Anonymous
    from Kansas, USA September 2, 2014Music Background:
    Songwriter

    MVP -- Most Valuable Pedal

    The ways in which you can use this pedal are only limited by your imagination. With it's built-in drum kit metronome and ability to download backing tracks from your computer, it is likely to take your practice sessions to a new level; if you're a solo performer, the ability to lay down some chords or a bass line to riff over is very handy. As a songwriter, I use the Jam Man as an instant scratch pad, to capture moments of inspiration and sometimes perspiration. This is much easier than attempting to record on computer or iPhone, because it's always on my pedal board, waiting. Tip: Use an external card for more memory, and get the optional footswitch so you can select loops or set the beat, hands-free.

  • Jared
    from Kalamazoo, MI August 2, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Teacher, Music Entreprenuer, 20+ years Playing and Recording

    Indispensable Practice Tool and Teaching Aid

    Took a few minutes to get set up and then it worked great - specifically for practicing chord tone soloing, and general jamming. I like to stay in flow with practice and sometimes working with DAW back and forth gets distracting. This pedal and others like it allow you to keep things simple and easy. Plus, if you're a teacher it is almost indispensable for demonstrating ideas on the fly and it can be used as a quickly programmable drum machine. Overall pretty awesome tool!

  • John
    from July 21, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Jam man

    This pedal is awesome, I haven't use it to its complete ability but I am amazed how fun this pedal is to use. I have always played rhythm Guitar in the bands I have been in and wanted a tool to practice solo's. This works perfect and has plenty of time and room for all the licks I can put on it. Plus I can save new stuff that hit me on the fly and come back later to finish them up. I also like how you can layer and make interesting sounds and songs. The reverse option is fun. I am still learning this pedal but after day one I was completely satisfied with the purchase.

  • Customer
    from October 5, 2013

    amazing toy

    this thing has studio quality sound. when you record and play it back it quickly points out your need for improvement in certain areas. plan to transfer songs to cd's later via computer. totally satisfied with the purchase.

  • T Farnsy
    from June 18, 2017

    Love it once you get to know it.

    First off I want you to understand this thing is amazing. It does what it is supposed to and does it well. HOWEVER, there is a big learning curve. While its possible to loop on the fly, it requires some accurate and fancy footwork so makes it slightly risky to do live. Because of this, I would recommend pre-recording your loops. There is plenty of memory and even a card slot. Once you learn the ins and outs of the pedal its very easy to bend over and push a button or two between songs to get it set up for the next song.

  • Jon Gus
    from Los Angeles, CA April 16, 2013Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter, Guitar Sideman

    Works great, keeps tone

    I had the two-pedal JamMan, which was great, but it took up too much real estate on my board. The Jamman Solo XT works very well for being a single pedal looper. The double tap needed to stop the loop took a few hours to used to, but after that, it works like a charm. After adding the micro SDHC, I have over 16 hours of looping space - possibly more than I'll need. The Jamman Loop Librarian software is basic but easy to use and is helping me add programmed loops and loops from actual songs to the pedal.

    I mainly use this pedal to record a rhythm backing to solo over and for acoustic-derived beats for songs.

    Bonuses are that it quantizes your loop - very helpful when programming acoustic guitar string beats for songs - and it does not alter my tone as much as the previous two-pedal Jamman did. I keep this pedal last in my chain.

    Definitely satisfied with this purchase

  • Jimmy
    from Florida May 24, 2017Music Background:
    Playing guitar for over 20 years

    Looper

    Item arrived on time and it was very easy to set-up and it works great.
    I will use the Lopper for a long time to come Thanks

  • BLT
    from Silver City, NM April 9, 2017Music Background:
    Performer and educator, sometime composer

    Nice pedal/ poor software

    I"ve been using this looper for a couple of years now, with mostly positive results. Like another reviewer here. I've had the thing spontaneously erase all my loops several times--not sure how or why--, and reloading them from the computer software is not as easy as they make it sound. It does what it says it will do quite well; it's when it does what it doesn't say that the trouble arises. There's a latency between hitting the pedal and actually activating anything that took some getting used to. I definitely recommend getting the foot controller with it, but that has it's own issues. Over all comparing price and features, I'd buy this unit again over some fancier, costlier models.

  • Larry Chaney
    from IL November 28, 2016

    JamMan

    Works great and is easy to setup and record loops with.

  • Ray J.
    from St. Pete, Florida October 6, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar, Bass & Vocals

    Great Looper!

    Love this little thing.

  • Dave
    from Lady Lakes July 16, 2015Music Background:
    Semi-pro, play & teach

    JamMan Learn fast

    Ok, I'm a bit older...but the learning curve is a little steep. If you screw around with the settings you can find yourself up against a "factory reset", not the end of the world, but not what you want to get involved with when anxious to put down some tracks fast!
    I suggest using it right out of the box FOR AWHILE before setting up the many features.
    Do I love it, you bet, but you will learn a few work arounds fast, so be ready!

  • Dave
    from Lady Lakes July 16, 2015Music Background:
    Semi-pro, play & teach

    JamMan ****!

    Ok, I'm a bit older...but the learning curve is a little steep. If you screw around with the settings you can find yourself up against a "factory reset", not the end of the world, but not what you want to get involved with when anxious to put down some tracks fast!
    I suggest using it right out of the box FOR AWHILE before setting up the many features.
    Do I love it, you bet, but you will learn a few work arounds fast, so be ready!

  • Franklin
    from Fresno, Ca May 20, 2015Music Background:
    Over 30 years as a closet musician.

    JamMan Solo XT

    Does a very good job of allowing you to compose a song on the fly and along with your computer. The sound quality is very good. I could use a separate stop switch as stepping on the pedal twice is sometimes for me a hit and a miss. ( I can be a bit clumsy ). In that it has various memory locations, 1 to 200, you can save a whole lot of ideas. I'm very happy with it. Technology is wonderful.

  • Larry
    from Kansas December 18, 2014Music Background:
    Lead singer and rythum for two bands about 20 yrs

    JamMan

    A few minutes of reading the instructions and I was up and looping some tunes. Down loading some karaoke took a little more reading but got going and so far it is just what I needed. I am planing to play some small venues with my wife on bass and it fills the bill for that just fine Thanks to Sweet Water for helping out...

  • Tim
    from Silver Spring, MD April 2, 2017Music Background:
    decades semi-professional

    Kind of in between

    I'm new to loopers, so this may not be all that informative. I'm in a duo with a singer and looking for something where I could record the chords to the verse, say, stop the playback during the rest of the song, and bring it up for solos. This would work great--the sound quality is amazing--except an overdub feature means that one has to hit the pedal twice to get it to stop, otherwise it goes into overdub mode. Hitting twice is harder than it sounds; too quick and only one gets through, too slow and it doesn't catch it as two and goes into playback rather than stop. If I could get the overdub feature out, it would be a lot better for live performance. And for practice, overdub might be useful but then someone might want a more full-featured digital recorder, so this may be in between what you'd want for either live playing or making recordings at home. A simpler record-play-stop-play-stop device would be better for live playing or for practicing. I probably should've gotten something simpler.

  • Clint Chappell
    from Mobile, AL August 17, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar 28 years

    Undecided

    As far as tone and quality of signal, this is a nice pedal. My only complaint would be how unfriendly it is to the user for programming. If you pick this item, consider the add-on switch so you don't have to keep bending down top push buttons.

  • Customer
    from Vermont December 30, 2012Music Background:
    Semi Pro musician 45 years

    Not a bad little looper - fairly intuitive

    I didn't have to read the manual for long to use it. Simplicity is a virtue to me. It's a fun little toy.

  • Pat Koeller
    from June 14, 2016

    Not recommended

    Be very careful with this device or you will accidentally delete your recordings when you attempt to listen to them. I wanted to listen to many pieces of music that I had recorded to sort out what I would seriously record and they're all gone now. Extremely disappointing is my description of this device. Unfortunately for me, it is now just a bit too late to return it so I'll have to sell it on ebay.

  • Bruce Jefferis
    from Houston, TX USA September 8, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Needs direct AC power

    I bought this after reading the great reviews, but did not realize it would not plug in with a standard 9v DC power supply connector like on a VooDoo that I use with my Pedal Train. I don't want the hassle of dealing with another walwart, but this may not be an issue to others.

Questions about the DigiTech JamMan Solo XT Phrase Sampler / Looper Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway