0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale! Ends Tomorrow

DigiTech JamMan Express XT Phrase Sampler / Looper Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 24 customer reviews
Questions about the DigiTech JamMan Express XT Phrase Sampler / Looper Pedal?

Questions about the DigiTech JamMan Express XT Phrase Sampler / Looper Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from New City, NY August 26, 2016Music Background:
    guitarist, recordist

    Bought it, sold it, bought another one!

    Bought this a while back. Loved it. Needed money for other gear, wasn't using the looper that much at the time, so I sold it. Doh. Dumb mistake. Not the first, probably not the last. Thought I could get by on the 40-seconds of looping offered by my delay pedal. I was wrong. I just ordered another Express XT. Very excited to have one of these again and this time you can pry it from my cold, lifeless hands. It's easy to use. The "traffic light" style lights on this thing are fantastic compared to the usual single light you get on other basic loopers. The knob is very big and can be adjusted with your foot if need be. Switch is silent and easy to hit on time. 10 minutes of recording time is very generous. A pretty nice bargain for the price.

  • from Mount Vernon, OH July 1, 2014

    Works as advertised

    I was considering buying a TC Ditto Looper X2 for $180 when I came across the JamMan Express for $100. While the TC has a few special effects the JamMan doesn't, I don't feel those features are worth an additional $80. The JamMan does what I want it to and I'm very happy with my purchase.

  • from Washington, DC May 28, 2014Music Background:
    Dedicated Hobbyist

    Best for the $$, buy a wall adapter

    This thing is fantastic. Buy it. Super easy to use, works flawlessly. The only complaints on here regard battery consumption. Then just buy the 9volt wall adapter. There is NOTHING to complain about regarding its functionality and modeling capabilities.

    You will not be disappointed. Exactly as described.

  • from apple valley, ca April 23, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist with a lot of desire(dreams

    jamman is jammin

    i now have two jamman express... they are awsome, i just need to learn more exciting way to jam with them... been very busy as late no time to experiment

  • from Missouri April 22, 2014Music Background:
    Playing 10 yr plus as a hobby

    Awesome Looper

    This is my first looper and it took just a few minutes to know how it works and to use it. sounds great with a Acoustic Electric.
    For the price ? Yes it's well worth it. It will make you want to play or practice longer each time you pick up your guitar.
    When I started using it and my wife heard me playing she thought I had company over to play along. Freaked her out when she seen I was alone.
    It does everything, if not better then any looper on the market.
    You don't have to spend a lot on higher priced complicated loopers to get a good one because this will fit any ones need for the purpose of a one man band and is very simple to use.
    Check out Youtube and you will find some reviews and how one person can sound like 6 or more playing music.
    I love this looper and will get another very soon.

  • from San Diego , Ca April 18, 2014Music Background:
    Played all my life , 65 now.

    Jamman express xt

    So easy to use , very cool.

  • from Gardnerville, NV USA March 16, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Digitech JamMan Express XT

    I replaced a faulty TC Ditto with this unit and I couldn't be happier. The sound is just as good or better to my ear. (40 year veteran) They took all of the great simplicity of the TC and made a few simple improvements. The "silent clear" feature is the most obvious improvement on the Ditto's most obvious fault. I prefer the 3 individual status LED's as they are easier to see than one LED with 3 colors, especially for a partially color blind guy like me (is that yellow or green?) Lastly, don't overlook the stereo in & out jack. I didn't consider this an advantage until I realized I could route my acoustic guitar into 1 channel out to the PA, and the electric through the other channel out to my guitar amp. Dual duty from one $100 pedal. Very cool! Not the best choice for guys who want to build elaborate tracks with dozens of layers and save them as a recording masterpiece, but if you want a simple looper to let you play a solo over the last verse or chorus you played on stage, buy one of these!

  • from Sacramento, CA December 5, 2013Music Background:
    Longtime hobbyist......

    Fab Fidelity and Features!

    I think the earlier review I just read sums up a lot of the major points about this great looping tool. It's definitely geared towards use in live performances, or just a quick way to get some backing tracks recorded for practicing.

    The combination of the 3 status lights for Record, Dub, Play makes this an intuitive "instrument".... and I call it an "instrument", because you can manipulate and play this looper like another sound source....it's just easy to get to expressing yourself, rather than trying to navigate a more complicated looping system. The fidelity of the recording is great, so you can get accurate samples from a variety of sources and create convincing soundscapes.

    The switch is noiseless and smooth, which allows precise timing. I bought two of them right away because of the JamSync feature..... it's like having a pedal-operated multitrack recorder on your pedalboard. So convenient. The units have a fairly high current demand (9 volt DC at 150 mA), so be advised that your pedalboard wiring may have to be rerouted to make high current outputs available.

    Great product and I think it's at the top of the heap right now for pricing and features. My Sweetwater Sales Engineer, Chris Carter, took care of my requests from the beginning of my pre-order, thru delivery of the units. He gave me regular updates....much appreciated.

  • from chicago, il December 4, 2013Music Background:
    Extreme Hobbyist

    Small, Simple, Cheap, Incredible

    I received this pedal a few days ago from Sweetwater and have used it quite extensively since then. I own a JamMan, JamMan Stereo, and this Express XT. In comparison, as expected, the XT is light on functions, it is a simple looper. It does not store loops, no USB, it is meant to be a live looper.

    What blows me away, and earns a 5.0 star rating, is the sound quality. Without looking at the specs, the XT simply sounds better than either of my full size JamMans. After adding a few overdubs on the other pedals the sound deteriorates and gets muddy; not so much or at all with this XT. Even just one rec or dub sounds cleaner than the other pedals.

    Operation could not be simpler. One quiet, smooth switch and a volume knob. It allows you to record, dub, play, overdub again, etc. From what I can tell, there is no limit to overdubs.

    Oh, and Press twice to stop. The XT switch is many times better IMHO than the JamMan stereo whose switches are stiff and noisy. DigiTech learns if nothing else. (I use my JamMan 10x more often than the Stereo, and now will use the XT more than both combined.)

    I love this pedal. In a perfect world it would include USB, but I guess that defeats the purpose.

    If you're looking for a simple, small, great sounding looper and you don't need to store loops, consider this pedal. It is outstanding.

  • from Hayward , WI December 16, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Digi Tech Jam man xt

    I like how you can have two guitars at one time . Very cool

  • from United States, Kaplan , Louisiana December 4, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    SWEET

    The DigiTech JamMan Express XT is an easy-to-use looper and has great fidelity of sound with no signal degradation. I think that it's a great little pedal and well worth the money

  • from Gilbert Az October 26, 2014Music Background:
    Multi-Instrumentalist for 20+ years

    JamMan Vs Ditto

    I bought the Ditto when they first launched quite a while back. The Ditto doesn't offer battery support, and didn't come with a power cord so I had to go get one to even use it. ( I should have done more reading to find that out ) The Ditto is very easy to use. As is the JamMan XT but they are different in the way they operate. They are both really good little loopers, and neither seems to effect tone in any way.

    Here is where the differences are important. At least to me. The ditto is more expensive, and doesn't even offer battery support. The Jam man comes out of the box with Stereo I/O this is HUGE to me as I run my guitar through one side and my bass through the other.

    I got my JamMan on sale for 80 dollars, and at that price its a much much better deal than the ditto.

    One plus for the Ditto is that you can completely unplug it and it keeps your loop stored.

    My only gripe with the Jam Man is that the big loop level knob can sometimes get turned when using the ball of my foot to turn the pedal on and off. Using your toe with a shoe is fine though. Also the fact that it doesn't store you loop if you unplug it. Kind of a bummer.

    So all in All, if you don't need battery capability, stereo I/O and want to pay more for a slightly smaller perhaps more attractive (subjective) looper, then get the Ditto, but remember you cannot use it without the power cable, and it does not supply one for $130.

    I personally think the JamMan XT express is the much better deal, and I own both.
    Another cool feature is that if your buddy has one you can sync them together. Which you simply cannot do with the Ditto.

    The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is due to the fact that the Loop level button spins too easily in my opinion.

  • from July 18, 2014

    This is great

    I really like this. I got it to do vocal loops on, and although it was designed for guitar, I'm still happy with the quality. Great choice for a starter looper. And it's so adorable!

  • from midwest June 14, 2014Music Background:
    semi-pro

    Almost zero learning curve

    With all the learning needed for much of the computer/pedal items out there, this is refreshing, as a quick read through the quick start manual and you are up and running. 4.5 stars as I think pedals overall are overpriced.

  • from Indiana June 16, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar/Bass

    Jam Man

    Very easy to use. Simple is best!

  • from March 11, 2015

    Nice

    This is a pretty cool little pedal. I use it at home so I can have a "second" guitar to practice with. I debated if I should buy this one or the next step up JamMan Solo XT. I decided to save the $50 and try this out. I guess if I end up wanting more I can still buy the Solo XT and sync them up. Do yourself a favor and make sure you have a power source for this and don't use batteries. It does come with a battery installed but it will eat it up fast and you have to take the pedal apart to swap them out.

  • from Camano Island, WA November 7, 2014Music Background:
    38 years as a professional muscian

    Excellent

    It works as advertised with all the looping time that I need. It is completely noiseless and very easy to use.

  • from Southern Maryland July 26, 2014Music Background:
    Performng musician

    DigiTech JamMan Express XT Looper

    This little guy is easy operate, listens to my foot and gives up a quality sound and has the basic bells bells and whitles I need. I play at small restaurants and bars either solo or with 1 or 2 others. I lay down a rhythm track or 2, then I am free to play lead or tade riffs with one of the ensemble or just jam. Gives a much fuller sound to performances.
    Great for practice at home too.

  • from Southern Calif July 11, 2014Music Background:
    Working musician

    Works as advertised...tricky to operate, though

    It does what it's supposed to do. Ten minutes after unpacking it, I had it working just fine. As expected, the timing can be a challenge. I find it works best to be actually playing and THEN hit record, rather than try to start a loop from a dead stop.

    The hardest thing for me is stopping playback during a song. I want the loop to play during a specific part of the song, then I want it to shut up while I do something else, then start up again later. This requires a double-click to stop playback, but I keep doing a single click or doing it too slow, so it begins an overdub--which wrecks everything. I'm gonna have to get a lot better at double-clicking before I can use it live!

    On the plus side, the sound is perfect. I see some reviews complaining about sound, but I've had no problems at all.

  • from PHX, AZ USA January 12, 2014Music Background:
    guitar, recording, producing

    very impressive

    -simple and easy to use, all around incredible for what it is
    -it's a looper and it does what it's supposed to
    -10 minutes rec time, divided however you choose
    -$100

    -only downside is that there's a pretty noticeable difference in tone (on) running through the circuitry, compared to the bypassed signal. may be a deal breaker for some, but is not a biggie for me.

    -IMHO for $100 this is an incredible unit. I'm really thrilled with mine.

  • from Dover De January 13, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Do yourself a favor and buy the 9V adapter

    Great product and does what it claims to do with easy 1,2,3 operation. But...it is a battery killer; even using "brand new" energizer and/or Duricel 9v's...it killed them like a hot knife going thru butter. I never got one battery to last more then 1.5 hrs. Do yourself a favor and buy the 9v adapter...

  • from north san diego county October 18, 2014Music Background:
    professional hobbyist who performs a couple times each month

    great little looper is you are clever

    I had the JamMan express XT for almost one month but returned it as I am not coordinated enough to use the double tap to stop it when it needs to be stopped. The sound is exactly like my guitar and it seems very durable and well made. I upgraded to a Ditto X 2 as you are able to dedicate the second switch to become a Stop button. Very easy for me to operate compared to the single button models. If you are only using for a practice tool I think it is very adequate but if you are a not aclever performer, get one with a dedicated stop switch.

  • from Ohio June 26, 2014Music Background:
    Music student

    Basic looper

    I wasn't expecting much. This unit works as advertised. I got a 9 vdc power supply (because I don't like when batteries go dead without warning) and I am glad I did. However, all memory is lost when the unit is unplugged. But the Jam Man express xt does its job otherwise.

  • from San Francisco January 9, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Dissapointed

    If you purchase this then don't plan on using this unit on battery power very often.
    Changing the battery involves unscrewing the back plate exposing the delicate PCB. Removing and replacing the back of the unit repeatedly is an accident waiting to happen, not to mention a PITA. It's only a matter of time until the circuit board gets damaged or the screws go in cross threaded (they are held by retainers mounted on the circuit board).
    For a few bucks more Digitech could have designed the unit with a quick change battery box.
    My unit lasted 1 hour on the factory installed battery. After installing a new fresh Duracell it lasted 20 minutes. Installed another 3rd battery and boom... the unit decided to fail/malfunction completely after a minute.
    Digitech has not only dropped the ball on an essential function here (i.e. a quick change battery box) but seems to be having some quality control issues at whatever Chinese factory they are using to produce this product.
    I have since returned it to my local store and purchased a Roland unit.

Questions about the DigiTech JamMan Express XT Phrase Sampler / Looper Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway