0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Apogee Jam Reviews

4.5 stars based on 37 customer reviews
Questions about the Apogee Jam?

Questions about the Apogee Jam?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from July 30, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbiest and Performer

    Solid interface

    This is a neat little interface. I wouldn't take any stars away from it for what it is. I like that the plug locks into my iPad so the weight of it can dangle without coming unplugged, the cables (two for both iPad plug formats: older and new) are plenty long, and it seems like it delivers a quality signal to me. Lot's of headroom!

    I bought one of these for exploring the ever-growing choice of apps for acoustic guitar signal processing (EQ) and amp simulators on my iPad Air 2 for on-stage use thinking the slight latency of the iPad processing wouldn't bother me, but I was dead wrong. If you can hear both your guitar and the processed signal, latency is enough to be very annoying, and even a little annoying when you can't, especially on faster playing where you need a more immediate response to stay in the groove. I think I'll hang onto this in case it comes in handy, though. It is pretty cool for what it is.

  • from Santiago, Santiago April 23, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist, composer

    A must have for guitarist

    I wanted to upgrade from the iRig, and instead of going for the iRig HD, I switched to Apogee. The Jam is a huge improvement from the iRig, the Jam sounds a lot cleaner with a lot more headroom, practically zero hiss or hums. I practice a lot with backing tracks, and I find myself using it everyday as a practice tool, and frankly, I'm using it more than my amp. It feels sturdy and has a nice soft finish, and it's a breeze to hook up to my iOS devices or my mac.

  • from Rochester, MI June 5, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome!

    The Jam is a perfect interface for the price. If you're just wanting to plug into Garage Band or similar tool then this is the right interface. Easy to use, just plug it in and you're ready to record.

  • from Central Florida May 28, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Great Purchase, Great Price! Sweetwater.com is Awesome!

    Works as advertised and is recognized by all my music apps and software on my iPad. Does not seem to drag battery down and blows away the iRig I was using. With adjustable gain it makes it easy to dial in a perfect sound without sounding to soft or too loud. Sweetwater is the place to buy as well as their customer service is second to none! Great products and great prices! Sweetwater gets all my future business!

  • from United States February 25, 2013

    Simple and Perfect.

    Plugs right into my Macbook Pro and works like a charm with Garageband and Amplitube, no nonsense.

  • from Salt Lake City, Utah February 20, 2013Music Background:
    Playing guitar for about 49 years

    Apogee Jam

    Very clean sound coming out of this small device. Extremely east to use
    and well worth the money.
    The staff at Sweetwater was extremely helpful in making the right choice for the level of expertise or lack thereof.
    I love buying from these guys!

  • from Mequon, Wisconsin October 15, 2012Music Background:
    Retired guy who plays guitar all day......

    As Advertised

    Just perfect. This thing makes recording my guitar through the ipad a snap.
    I sense no latency at all, if there is some its to slight for me to note.

    MultiTrack DAW By Harmonicdog allows me to record, add pre-recorded tracks, multi-track my guitar, all with the flick of a finger.

    Jam is the perfect mate to my guitar and ipad.

  • from Waxahachie, TX July 30, 2012Music Background:
    Amateur Guitarist.

    Apogee Jam

    Apogee has hit one out of the park with the Jam. I have been disappointed with other interfaces I have used with my Mac Book Pro and Garageband. The Jam is not only easy to use, but sounds great. My guitar tracks are clean and the gain control ensures that my signal is strong. Any reservations about the price evaporated once I started using it. This is a serious recording interface.

  • from CT May 2, 2012Music Background:
    recording , musician

    Jam Is awesome !

    This is great product to connect your ipad to your guitar. I am able to play and record in garage band easliy using my apogee jam interface.

  • from United States January 10, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician 35 years

    Fantastic Product!

    Worked without a flaw on a Iphone 4s. Used with Garageband and Daw Multitrack. It's great that it sets itself up and that you can control the input level. Very clean and no latency issues whatsoever. You will be happy with this product. Price seems reasonable too.

  • from Brasil December 15, 2011Music Background:
    hobbist

    JAM is awesome!

    Very clean sound, no latency problems are what I was waiting for when I bought Guitar JAM. It works really fine and I have nothing negative to say.
    The fact that it works on mac AND IOS devices is important as well.

  • from laguna niguel, CA October 31, 2011Music Background:
    hobbyist

    You won't be disappointed

    This adapter rocks. Love the gain control, and sound quality is excellent.

  • from Charlotte, NC September 26, 2011Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Superior to adapters/cables like iRig!

    If you're using an iPad or iPhone, this is the way to get your instrument and audio signals into them to record, etc.! Built in A/D conversion and superior sound through the dock connector. No feedback from poor separation in the circuitry like iRig. Yeah, it's more expensive, but not as expensive as buying an adapter, then throwing it away and buying this anyway.

  • from Germany September 26, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    The first accessory for my mobile rig.

    I love how technology is transforming the way we make music. After the wife (God bless her!) bought me an iPad for my birthday, I quickly wanted to utilize it as a mobile rig.

    I saw the Alesis ioDock and I was blow away, but I wanted something that can be completely independent of power supplies to use outside, so my first buy was the Jam.

    Man, what a nice piece of equipment, simple, elegant and gets enough juice into Garageband to use their effects. My guitar, which is the same cheap one I got to learn guitar, sounded very clear and nice. I cannot imagine how well it will sound when I upgrade to a better guitar.

    Seeing how well Apogee does these great accessories that are as mobile as the iPad, I cannot wait for them to release their Mic.

  • from San Francisco September 12, 2011

    Exactly what is needed

    Superior guitar interface for the IPad. Simple, Clean, accurate. Very low noise. More than worth the price difference between it and the Irig.

  • from Tulare, California September 8, 2011Music Background:
    Amateur but improving

    If the Apogee Jam meets all my expectations

    This is the best thing I've purchased in a long time. (Well, other than my two Giibson guitars). For a solo guitar player the Apogee Jam can't be beat. Took me a while to get it because it wasn't in stock, but it was well worth the wait. And ease of use is just the best. You basically plug it in, open Garage Band and your playing. Thanks so much for a product that has made an old man a happy camper.

  • from Santa Barbara, CA February 24, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great quality!

    It's super portable and easy to use. The only problem is that it sometimes lose connection with the computer, but after setting the input preferences everything works fine.

  • from July 4, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Product!

    Clear sound. Great quality. Portable. It's the perfect addition to my portable studio collection.

  • from Rochester, MI May 9, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Straight forward and works well

    The Jam was so easy to start using. Just plug one end into your guitar and the other into your Mac and it works.

  • from Roanoke, va March 27, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist - intermediate

    Awesome

    I love this baby. It's super small and great to carry around and great sounds and super simple to use.m

  • from New Albany, IN August 24, 2012Music Background:
    Play in a band.

    Apogee Jam

    Great Unit! Easy to use and fun to play with. Sales person was very informative and courteous. Very Satisfied

  • from Chapmanville,WV January 6, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Does the job well

    Works well with my Ipad and my macbook. At first I was a little disappointed because it didn't work with garageband, however, after updating my Ipad it now works great. I was extremely pleased at the great service I got from Sweetwater. They were a real pleasure to deal with. Extremely fast shipping. I ordered it on Wednesday night and received it Friday morning. Plus, someone even called me from Sweetwater to see if I was completely satisfied. Now that my friends, is what I call service. Others companies should be taking notes.

  • from Lewes, DE November 16, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Apogee Jam works great

    This is a no grilles plug and play interface from your guitar to your iPad or Mac. You just plug it in and it works. No complicated setup. Nice and simple!

  • from Las Vegas October 26, 2011Music Background:
    gigging player

    Size matters

    For those of us who travel, size matters. Anything smaller and lighter, I'll buy and e bay the old. Thanks Apogee

  • from Seattle September 28, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Apogee Jam Rocks!

    This really works.
    Easy to set up out of the box on my iPad, MacMini and MacBook.
    Garage Band is a kick with the different amps, sounds, and other instruments to play with.
    I was going to buy a Line 6 Jam but am going to hold off for now while I get a bit better.
    This is great for practice and light "studio" recording but probably not for playing in public.

  • from beanfield, MO September 27, 2011Music Background:
    Retired Pro

    What's in a Name? Apogee Jams!

    Simple and to the point, a HOT interface with sonic purity. You will not be disappointed, a steal at under 100.00!

  • from Portland, Or August 15, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist Guitar Player, Student

    Great Product for the iPAD 2

    I finally received my Apogee after a 2 month wait. I have been using it for about a week. It works great with the iPad 2 and Garage Band. It is really simple to install and really makes Garage Band that much more enjoyable. It came with a simple instruction sheet that was helpful to explain the different colored lights on the Apogee JAM and their function. I've been able to easily add my own guitar licks to my previously recorded GB tracks.

    Lastly, the guys at Sweetwater were AWESOME and kept me informed on the shipping ETA from Apogee which helped ease the pain associated with the long wait.

  • from Sunland, Ca. July 17, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Apogee Jam man!

    Love the style of the Apogee Jam, easy! does it come with cable for iPhone 6 plus?

  • from New York City June 19, 2013Music Background:
    Amateurs musician

    Works Great

    So far it is working perfectly. Very easy to get started using it. My main issue is learning to use garage band.

  • from United States September 18, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Great guitar sound for iPad

    It's a royal pain that Apple makes you buy expensive proprietary adapters to connect anything to your Apple equipment, but, given that, this ridiculously expensive 1/4" jack does the job as advertised -- great sound, very easy to set up and use. A "stomp box" configuration would have been better, but this is still a superior product to the iRig stomp box with its headphone-jack iPad interface.

  • from Los Angeles, CA USA June 27, 2012Music Background:
    Session Guitarist, Recording Engineer

    SOUNDS GREAT

    Definitely a novelty item when paired with my iPhone & iPad, but when recording guitar on your DAW, it definitely is a dream. I would have given the JAM a 5 star rating, but while recording through GarageBand on my iPhone it would "pop" every now and then. Also, I don't like the fact that I can't charge my iPhone, or iPad, at all while using the JAM. I mainly bought this product for a quick go-to input while traveling for work, but I definitely have been using it more on my mac and haven't had any problems. Not to forget that it sounds great for such a cheap price. Great buy!
    ***Recording through ProTools and Logic***

  • from Philly, PA February 24, 2012Music Background:
    Working musician

    Does what it is supposed to do

    Sound is good, the gain adjustment is nice. I use it for garageband on my ipad and works fine. Once I upgrade to Lion on my macbook I will be using it on my macbook pro. Soundwise, I prefer a mic'ed amp but this makes it so easy to get your thoughts to disk quickly it's perfect. I had previously used protools which was nice but 95% of the time it offered more than what I really needed which is recording basic tracks, not recording and producing an entire album-for that I still let the pro's handle it in a real studio.

  • from Winfield KS January 26, 2012Music Background:
    guitar player

    Jam for Ipad

    The device is great for playing acoustic guitar with my McIntyre Feather pickup. Plenty of gain and sound is solid. Also great with my Les Paul. I reccomend it for any guitar player with a IOS.

  • from Pittsburgh, PA July 6, 2011Music Background:
    Musician

    Good product. Great company!

    I bought one of the first batch which turned out to be problematic. Apogee identified the issues and were great to step up and make it right. Now have the replacement which works really well. You have to tweak the gain a bit to get it to pick up the guitar consistently but otherwise is a perfect companion to GarageBand. Thanks Apogee for not only coming out with good products but standing behind them 100%!

  • from New Orleans, LA USA May 29, 2011Music Background:
    Guitar player/hobbyist for 40 years +

    Skip the iRig & AmpKit...get the JAM!

    After reading hundreds of reviews (good & bad) of the iRig & Peavey AmpKit interfaces for iPad, I was concerned with reported problems and decided to wait for the Apogee JAM to arrive. Just bought one and glad I did!
    Out of the box simple! Plug one end into the iPad dock port and your guitar in the JAM input and off you go. Has a handy input level control with colored LED's to let you know if output signal gets too hot.
    Plugged in my Tele and was recording a song in GarageBand in minutes. Sound quality was excellent - tried all GB amp models and effects and had no problems with noise, signal loss or latency. Granted, it's still no substitute for live sound (no modelling set-up really is) but for recording guitar ideas with GarageBand it's near perfect! Although like the others, it's still made of plastic (for $99 a metal casing would have been better) but JAM seems very well made. No input jack issues (like AmpKit), no level problems (like iRig). And the JAM is made in the USA! ...Get one!

  • from Cal September 13, 2011Music Background:
    Live sound, Musician

    Not the One

    After getting the Apogee Jam and hooking it up to the iPad I found it very easy to use and much better to use the USB input while leaving the headphones for monitoring. Sounds better than interfaces that use the I/O jack for both. But even though it's an Apogee product it is not the One or Duet in sound quality. I would love to see an interface like the Duet that could work with the iPad. It's limited but so convenient and if it could work on the Mac and the iPad I would definitely buy one.
    Overall a nice interface for the money.

  • from United States October 25, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    great sound, lousy construction

    An otherwise fine product is marred by an exceedingly cheap iPad connector. The connector pulls out of the iPad very easily (since the connector is tethered to the guitar cord) and creates screaming feedback when it does. The connector is housed in an extremely fragile plastic shell which fell apart the first time it endured a small impact. This is not what you'd expect from a simple jack adapter that cost $100.

Questions about the Apogee Jam?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway