0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Fender Johnny Marr Jaguar - Olympic White, Rosewood fingerboard Reviews

5.0 stars based on 13 customer reviews
Questions about the Fender Johnny Marr Jaguar - Olympic White, Rosewood fingerboard?

Questions about the Fender Johnny Marr Jaguar - Olympic White, Rosewood fingerboard?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from January 1, 2017

    I love this guitar

    i have loved Johnny Marr's guitar playing for a long time. I have played many Smiths songs trying to recreate the tone that he gets. I haven't bought a new guitar in a long time. I happened to mention to my wife Christmas week that I had found my next guitar after watching many video reviews of this guitar. Bless her heart, she ordered it from Sweetwater and had it in three days. When she gave it to me in the box, I nearly wept. It has more than lived up to my expectations. These pickups are extremely lively and each note is meant to be heard with this guitar. It came perfectly set up and I am very pleased.

  • from November 6, 2016Music Background:
    8+ years guitar

    Classic fender tones in a versatile, fresh design

    I first played this guitar when I was studying abroad in London about four years ago. I was very impressed by the sound and playability. Back in the states, my local music store frequently carries American teles and strats. I'm a fan of both and could never pick between the two. This guitar showed up a few months ago and I couldn't resist picking it up.

    This guitar continues to impress me after months of ownership. Aside from it's gorgeous aestetics, it's evident that Marr put time and careful thought into the functional design of this instrument. There are so many classic fender tones available at your fingertips - this jaguar can sound like a strat or a tele while maintaining its own unique voice. The tremolo system is very player friendly and fun to use.

    I'm very glad to add this guitar to my gear lineup, it will be a workhorse axe for years to come!

  • from Butler, PA February 3, 2016

    WOW

    WOW! That is all you can say when you open the case on this. Pictures can not do justice to how beautiful this guitar really is. And I do not think this particular combination comes on anything but the Johnny Marr. It is almost an aged white or light cream. Stunning. And when you pick it up it instantly screams quality. The fit and feel is fantastic. Sweetwaters setup was perfect. The Bareknuckle pickups and switching take the Jag to another level. They keep all the original Jag tones but add others in that we're not possible. The bare knuckles are punchier than standard Fender Jag pickups and can get you a little more dirt, but they remain clear and articulate . The upgraded bridge is wonderful as are the tuners. This is what all American Jags should be.

  • from September 4, 2015

    Amazing

    This guitar sounds amazing, plays great and has so many sounds. If you dig Marr's sound or looking for a Jag that sounds great with versatility, this is it!

    Ordered Tuesday, delivered Thursday; let it acclimate a day before opening today which is always torture.

  • from July 1, 2015

    A Counterpart to my Other Jaguar

    Ah yes, the Fender Jaguar. I'm a big fan - the shorter scale, offset body, tremolo system, and plenty of pickup selection and switching options. The purchase of this guitar marks the second time I've purchased a Jaguar.

    My first Jaguar is an MIJ JG66B with a Mastery Bridge and some Curtis Novak lipstick pickups, as well as the tremolo and collet by StayTrem, which, if you didn't know, is the same tremolo and collet used on this guitar. My MIJ Jaguar is a loud and fickle beast, but totally worthwhile. The pickups are reverse-wound and reverse-polarity, as well as wound as hot as possible, doing some degree of humbucking and noise cancellation.

    How does the Johnny Marr Jaguar compare? They are two different animals, each offering a different approach to the Jaguar's sound.

    Let's break it down by components:

    Bridge: The modified Mustang on the Johnny Marr is not, admittedly, as adjustable as a Mastery Bridge and it actually sits a bit wider as well. The low and high E get closer to the edge of the fretboard as you go down the neck. If you plan to play this guitar in the manner of Oliver Ackermann, you may want to get a Mastery Bridge...but in all actuality, you may want to not pick up this Jaguar...more on that later. What the Mustang bridge does offer though is the vintage, plucky vibe of Jaguars as they were originally design. It's percussive, bright, and comes with that oh-so-cool looking bridge cover.

    Pickups: The Bareknuckles are low-out, but high-articulation pickups. You aren't going to get anymore clean than this. They are sparkling/jangly and optionally smooth. As mentioned before, this isn't a guitar you dime your amp to 11 for. You have overdrive and fuzzboxes? Still going to be vastly different than any high-output guitar. This is not at all a knock on the guitar or the pickups (obviously I gave this guitar 5 stars!). It is a different approach though. This is a guitar meant for articulate playing. Melodies shine through; notes are heard individually.

    Switching/Controls: This is the best part about the guitar. All of the switching makes sense and almost none of the switches are easily accidentally knocked or engaged. You've got a universal brightness switch (mid-cut like on the old Jaguar), and then you have an additional high-pass when the humbucking mode is engaged. The pots are smooth and the electronics are well done. Fender still lazily grounds the guitar (sandwiching a wire between the tremolo plate and the body). That is easily fixed by using copper tape - the kind with conductive adhesive. Otherwise, you can tell everything in this guitar was designed with playability in mind.

    Build: As good as it's going to get. The neck is nice, the finish is nice, and the overall feel is great.

    Tremolo: Best tremolo Fender has put into a Jazzmaster or Jaguar. Great work to them and the folks at StayTrem.

    Case/Accessories: I love G&G cases, and this one is really quite beautiful. The blue interior is luxurious and the outside of the case with that peppered patterns looks great. The guitar strap that comes with the guitar is not the greatest - easily replaced by something better. I always install StrapLoks on my guitars, so I have already done that to this one with a nice Couch strap.

    Overall, the Johnny Marr Jaguar is a refined machine. It is not meant for people to be blasting solos on or playing doom metal. If you are looking for high-gain, high-volume destruction, this is not your machine. However, if you are a guitarist looking to add that perfect little melody in your band, or really sitting in the proverbial pocket, this is your guitar. Johnny Marr isn't known for his smokin' hot licks. He's known for finding the perfect parts for songs. I enjoy this guitar very much as an alternate take to the way I've set up my other Jaguar.

    As always, Sweetwater customer service is phenomenal.

  • from United States December 28, 2014Music Background:
    musician, hobbyist

    Just Amazing

    This guitar rocks! Blown away really, it feels and plays amazingly!
    I love the changes Johnny Marr made to it, he really made it into a players heaven! The tone is just great! The pickups are really to die for and bring out the tone nicely! Best fender i've played period, and i've owned many American models. Fits in perfectly with my little collection!

  • from Rancho Santa Margarita, CA January 5, 2014Music Background:
    guitar freak

    Johnny Marr Jag

    This is a beautiful guitar, in its look and in its sound. I really like Marr's personal touches with the 4-way toggle switch. In the 4th position both single coils act as one humbucker which gives you some thick crunch. I usually play through the bridge pick up which has a mean snarl to it. The neck and body look and feel great in my hands. I find it to be a versatile guitar with several rock, surf and country sounds that come from it. I play through a 35 watt tube amp and the Jag can be sweet and mean whenever I ask it to. I'm glad I finally bagged one of these iconic Fenders.

  • from Madison, WI USA September 26, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Fender Johnny Marr Jaguar

    This is the 33rd guitar in my collection - many brands...lots of Fenders, Gibsons, PRS, Ibanez, Danelectro etc. This one is everything it's been represented to be. Lot's of tones available, great design, super sounds. Very clear and precise when clean - lots of growl and presence when overdriven. It's my first Jaguar and what a monster! I love it! Seems guitars are just getting better and better as time progresses.

  • from Washington, D.C. May 19, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Interesting, not Definitive

    1st--I am a diehard fan of the Jaguar. I love the offset body, the short scale, the spicy, snappy tone. I play ambient psychedelic cowboy surf music, and I never had a problem with the existing RI model. However, the new pickups and the new circuitry are interesting alternatives to the traditional model. I like the beefy neck, could have used a more modern radius and bigger frets, wish they had put the truss rod adjustment at the other end. I think the mustang bridge is too wide for this neck. All of that said I like the tone of the guitar. It's a little hotter than the stock pickups, and the new parallel switching circuitry with the strangle switches IS an interesting mod.

    I don't like the overzied toggle right in the strumming area. Telecasters have them offset to the right--they could have used a smaller more discreet knob. I like the fixed trem arm, but the main reason to get this model is for the pickups and the new circuitry. When I first saw the ads I was never more excited about a new guitar model--but in retrospect it isn't all that much different than an AVRI with a Mastery bridge. I had debated getting the Thin Skin jag with the larger radius and frets, but I will probably keep the Marr for it's distinctive character. I got the copper color, which I think is very nice.

    The thing to remember--if you already have a Jag, this isn't going to be a revolutionary upgrade. If you are a Telecaster guy who wants to move to a short scale guitar, this might be more familiar territory. I don't have a problem with the high E being so close to the edge of the neck, but a Mastery bridge would definitely address that issue. Considering the hype and the price, they could have made a few more improvements that would have really put it over the top--instead, what they delivered isn't so much an improvement over the AVRI as an alternative.

  • from Rockford, MI USA April 25, 2013Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter, Producer/Engineer

    Johnny Marr Jaguar

    Really fun and quirky little beast! Got off to a rough start as the first one came with an AVRI collet and the trem arm wouldn't fit. 2nd one came and wasn't grounded so buzzed like crazy even when touching the strings. 3rd one came and is fantastic. This thing loves gigantic reverbs and delays. Sounds magical!!! The shorter scale is weird at first but as you get comfortable with it, it will make Andy Summers chords a breeze. Very inspiring guitar to play. The low output pickups are hard to dial in but when you do....MMMMMMM! Cuts through a mix with brilliant punch! LOVE IT!

  • from Massachusetts October 16, 2012Music Background:
    Occasionally gigging hobbyist, funk and soul band.

    Johnny Marr Jaguar

    The promo vid that Johnny Marr did for his signature Jag was compelling enough for me to buy the guitar, but Iím always a skeptic and had reservations. That said, after over a month of ownership, the guitarís totally won me over. I was pretty bummed for the first 20 minutes after taking it out of the box because I couldnít get used to the shorter scale, but by the end of the hour it became a non-issue. The unique features are best explained by J. Marr in the promo video so I wonít go over those in detail, but I will point out that the 4-way pickup selector and the two high-pass filters work brilliantly. As a player who only needs a humbucker for 3-4 songs per night, this is a perfect solution. The fit, finish, looks, and functionality are all top shelf, and canít imagine another Fender covering more bases than this one.

  • from May 10, 2012Music Background:
    Play for fun, 15+ years, still learning

    Credible

    Heard about this guitar and was immediately intrigued. Saw JM back in the early Smith's days and always admired not only his style and skill but approach. Watched the video where he was talking about the development of this signature model and was impressed by his genuine enthusiasm for the instrument and attention to detail. OK bought it. I'm just a regular player, for enjoyment in my own time, write my own tunes etc

    Great range of tones - from sparkly to thicker but still energetic (not just bright). I have the Classic Player Special HH and they complement one another really well (this is darker, more solid tones). You can see the vid for the various tweaks but I can say - switches work great and make a difference to tone, body shape is really comfortable and the neck works well for me. No blemishes or rough edges on finish. One thing - though this is mustang type bridge -strings do not slip off - I do get buzz at the bridge which is annoying, hence slight mark down. Doesn't really affect tone in meaningful way but worth sharing. BTW - nice hard case and crushed blue velvet interior frames my Olympic White model really well. Sounds great straight and also works really well more creatively with delays etc. Not a high gain monster!

    I waited a long time to be able to buy a guitar of my choice, this is it and shall absolutely keep it. It's not the only guitar I'll ever own (have owned) but that's not how we work is it.

  • from April 6, 2016

    Great guitar

    I'm not good enough to give anything a 5 star rating but this guitar was a lot of fun to play and I was very surprised. Warm clean tone plus the weight of the guitar is heavy enough to give back some good punch. I dont think you could limit it to one style of play. Wish I had one. This will be my next guitar.

Questions about the Fender Johnny Marr Jaguar - Olympic White, Rosewood fingerboard?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close