0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Squier Vintage Modified Jaguar Bass Special SS - Candy Apple Red Reviews

4.5 stars based on 29 customer reviews
Questions about the Squier Vintage Modified Jaguar Bass Special SS - Candy Apple Red?

Questions about the Squier Vintage Modified Jaguar Bass Special SS - Candy Apple Red?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Vermont May 9, 2017Music Background:
    Professional drummer, guitarist, singer and producer

    Da Bomg if you want a short scale and are short on cash

    I hesitate to give a 'low budget' instrument 5 stars but it's really hard to say anything bad about this bass. On top of that, I got a demo so I saved $20. I got this for recording. The fact that it's so pretty, makes me want to play it out live. Darn you, Fender and Sweetwater for making want a bass amp now.

    The only thing I would say in the negative has been said multiple times before. The bridge J-bass pickup is definitely not as high gain but I have to say that I am not sure that matters to me. I like either the pure P-bass pup or a combo of the two, with the P-bass pup out front so...

    The fit and finish are really amazing. The electronics are clean. What else can you say.

    To give you some background, I am not a real bassist (more guitar and drums) but both my father and my son are among some of the finest bassist I have ever known and being both an engineer and a drummer, I know what a good bass sounds like.

  • from May 1, 2017

    Plays nicely and is cheap!

    This is the first bass guitar I've brought so I don't have that much experience with the bass rather then the drums or guitar. But all I have to say is wow. This is truly a great bass, he plays nicely and has a smooth neck so sliding your hand up and down isn't a hassle. Another bonus is it just looks beautiful. It can get that nice smooth jazzy sound but it can also have that hard rock grunge sound too. Plus, as the title says it's cheep and honestly I would still think it was a steal! I named my bass Murdoc and I haven't been able to put him down since I got him.

  • from California January 13, 2017

    First electric bass

    Bought this for my son per the recommendation of his guitar teacher. Excellent price, shipped quickly and arrived in perfect condition. Sweetwater has the best customer service I have experienced in a very long time.

  • from Elkhart September 20, 2016Music Background:
    Musician- Producer

    Amazing

    I was looking for a short scale bass on the order of a Mustang so I called Mark my bass aficionado. He immediately sent me links and customer reviews on the Squire Vintage
    Modified Jaguar Short Scale in Candy Apple Red. This bass has a mini Jazz neck that has no rough edges and plays smoothly.
    It has a P bass neck pickup which is really
    strong and a Jazz bridge pickup which is a bit weaker. Overall you can conceivably dial in any Fender bass sound with this little great sounding and playing beast.
    At $200 this is a modders dream.
    I replaced the Jazz PU with a Custom Shop 60's and now it's a comfy little monster.
    Amazing!

  • from PA April 7, 2016

    First Bass Guitar

    This is my first bass guitar, so I didn't really have anything to compare it to sound wise. With that being said, I've owned a handful of 6 string guitars, so I know what I like and don't like about them. This bass is awesome to play on, simply from a physical standpoint. The neck is super straight and nice and smooth. the scale is very manageable. I tried some full scale basses in Sam Ash and Guitar Center, and they seemed a bit much for me. I typically prefer lacquered maple necks, but this one doesn't bother me at all.

    I've been using Rocksmith 2014 to learn how to play, and I've been able to get to 80%-100% song accuracy on most songs in just 4 days of playing. I'm not saying that I'm good at playing, but I feel like this bass is very inspiring. I'm sitting at my work desk right now typing this, wishing that I were playing this bass instead :)

    As for the sound, I'll mirror what most other users have said. The neck pickup sounds pretty good (though too much low end at high volume), the bridge is very thin. You can get a really nice tone by placing the neck around 60-70% and mixing in the bridge to your liking. I'm going to replace the bridge with a Seymour Duncan Quarter Pounder shortly.

    NOTE: this base is very beautiful (candy apple red), but the pick guard is really a medium-dark gray than black. It's not a huge deal, but I do wish it was black. It's nowhere close to the black color of the pickups.

  • from Southern California April 7, 2016

    Very nice bass!

    I highly recommend this bass to everyone..Whether you're a beginner or pro just looking for a spare this is a great choice. Definitely worth twice the price. It sounds and plays great, i especially like the neck feel. I was able to get it setup very comfortably and it stays in tune without issue. All in all you i don't think this bass can be beat for under $500... at $200 it's a steal. Very nicely done squire, this bass has changed my opinion of "squire quality"

  • from January 23, 2016

    squire jaguar bass

    I have a 72 Pbass, it's a monster with incredible tone, and now into my arthritus years my reach is getting iffy. I have been in blues bands where I would raise a rukus if I tried to play my framus or my vox or eb! But my band days are gone and studio days are here and this bass is fantastic. The easiest to play next to my framus. quality is perfect. this fender design, German Engineering and Indonesia (cort) factory and great tone out of that agathis wood. so my cort and greg bennet go to goodwill. and I'm still working up my bullet strat, new tuners and maybe my EMG setup and I'll see??

  • from June 13, 2015Music Background:
    church, school, home

    WOW

    this bass is totally worth the money. I would still recommend it if it was 100$ more expensive.

  • from Murfreesboro, TN February 21, 2015Music Background:
    Always a student...

    Very nice!

    I've been playing bass for over 46 years. I'm not what I would call a very good bass player, but I've stuck with it. I have a vintage Ampeg Dan Armstrong Clear Body Bass and a Gibson G3 as well as another bass. On a whim, and also influenced by several reviews, I decided to buy the Squier Vintage Modified Jaguar Bass. Boy am I glad I did. It has rapidly become my favorite bass. It has great tone and with the different pickups, you can easily vary that tone. It also plays very nicely. This is a real bargain for the price. I am totally pleased with everything about this bass and I highly recommend it. Also, Sweetwater is always the best to deal with. Great people who really know their stuff and are always just a phone call away to help. Who else assigns you your own personal specialist to help out when you need it?

  • from MANTEO NC October 19, 2013Music Background:
    PRO MUSICIAN ,

    squier

    I bought this for my grandson at less than 200 dollars and i also bought the FENDER delux active jazz bass which cost over $500 dollars more.
    I could have bought three these in different colors and been just as satisfied.this little short scale guitar after a few tweaks on the neck and bridge sounds almost as good a my big bass as far as tone goes.I have been playing over 50 years so i am not a amature ,this little guitar rocks and i would especially reccomend this for any beginner or medium
    bass player

  • from OH USA May 16, 2013Music Background:
    Experienced Bass Player for 24 years

    Very Impressed!

    First off, when reading any review about a cheap product there has to be a lot to write off because most reviewers are beginners. I am Not! I have played bass guitar for over 24 years and my baby is a German made Warwick Streamer. I have played just about any bass you could think of and to be honest have never been much of a fan of Fender throughout my years of playing. Anyways, I was in the market for a 30" scale bass just to toy around with...I've toyed around with some at local guitar stores but thought they were just toys and and sounded awful. So, I come across Sweatwater here and read the reviews and it got me intrigued. I went ahead and bought the Squire Vintage modified jaguar short scale ( it almost makes me laugh when I think that I actually bought a Squire!!)
    Ok, So here is my take on the bass:
    People raved about the neck and commented on how good it was....Well, It is! Very Nice for the money! Granted it's not an ovankol with an adjustable nut like a Warwick but for a Maple neck and rosewood, it is quite nice....you would normally expect the frets to cut into your hand on a bass this cheap, but hey...the other reviewers were right...Nice job Squire! I tend to like my action a little higher than what some people choose because an extremely low action seems to lack a little punch for me...if I wanted the action extremely low I would have to shim the neck a bit....I lowered the action to see how low I could get it and it wasn't much lower than the stock action as it was shipped, although the stock action works great for me. So if you like super low action you may need to shim the neck to get it. Overall the neck has true tone on each note and every fret....I've had some basses that were cheaper over the years and had considerable dead spots....this one is very , very good for the price....you wont be disappointed....in fact you will be awed!
    The body Finish was superb, I can not find a flaw anywhere....and you normally would expect that in this price range.
    Of course the bridge and tuners are not the highest quality out there but for the price are suitable and do what they are supposed to do.
    The only downfall on this bass is....just what others have said...the bridge pick up or "J" pick up in other words is quite lacking. There is definitely an output difference between the P and J pickups.
    The P pickup does sound good. I actually expected this from the other reviews and am going to put a set of Dimarzios in and cant wait to do that!
    I have yet to play this in a band situation as of yet and look forward to see how this bass comes through in the mix.
    One thing I want to add is that I play bass with a pick...started on guitar for a couple of years and in fact I like the edge that I get playing with a pick.
    This bass does carry the low end nicely as others have stated and I was a bit skeptical about that, in fact it might be a touch too much! Will have to see in a band situation how it plays out.

    If you are a beginner...buy it! Very much worth the price!
    If you are an experienced musician like I am ...it is up to you. I bought this primarily because I wanted a 30" scale to mess around with and expecting to replace the pick ups but may only replace the J at first because the P sounds pretty good. I also expect to replace the bridge to give it a bit more mass...and BTW , it does have a little neck dive, it's not horrible...kinda wants to sit at about 2 to 3 O'Clock when held....but since it is a 30" scale it doesn't really bother me much.

    So, overall I gotta give out the kudos to Squire!...although I never liked them before, I am considering getting the 34" scale version next. Oh and ordered the bass and received it in two days! Got tthe box candy from Sweatwater and had to LOL! Real Candy! Nice touch Sweetwater....will do business with again!

  • from LA, CA March 27, 2013Music Background:
    Pro- semi retired

    At twice the price, it would be a good deal

    For the price of this guitar I'm amazed at the quality, I was just looking for a knock around. It plays great, sounds great. beginners can get a great starter guitar for the price of an ipod. That's cool to an old guy like me.

  • from LA, CA March 8, 2013Music Background:
    Pro, semi retired.

    Man, this is almost too good to be true

    As a old guy, I have to say, If they had guitars this good, for this money, I'd be better today. I'm a guitar player, I wanted a knock around bass. I thought, worse case, i put better pickuos in, no need. It sounds great. A great short scale option.

  • from April 9, 2016

    Even at twice the price, this bass would be worth it!

    I play bass and own about 6 total, including a 1977 Rickenbacker 3001 series and a decent Michael Kelly acoustic/electric bass. My wife also fools around on the bass and was looking for a short scale to play. I found 1 of these used on CL and picked it up for $120 and was really, really surprised at how well this thing plays and sounds! Compared to my Rick, I typically have to turn the volume up almost twice as high on the amp in order to get the same volume and punch on these other basses. But the pickups on this Squier Jag Bass, really put out a nice, loud & punchy sound. It's not as loud as the Rick, but very close. Besides that, the bass sounds great, is fun to play and stays in tune. I would not hesitate to use this as a backup bass for gigging and would really recommend it to anyone. Don't be fooled by the Squier name.

  • from Beaverton,OR. October 31, 2015Music Background:
    Bass,Piano,Drums,Guitar. 22 yrs.

    squire vintage short scale jaguar bass

    Excellent bass for people with messed up hands and wrists or small hands! I've play'd a lot of bass's in my day, and I think this is the most comfortable and easy to play bass I've played! Replace with Seymour Duncan SPB-3 and SJB-3 pickups and the thing will be thunderous!!! Even if you have play'd bass for a while, you will be pleasantly surprised at how well and easily this bass plays! ENJOY!!

  • from United States October 31, 2014

    Very nice bass, great price!

    I bought this because of the looks and the price, and based on other reviews. It played great right out of the box and is every bit as good as everyone else has said. I really like it a lot

  • from Tucson, AZ March 21, 2014Music Background:
    Always a student

    Beat baby bass

    I find myself playing the Squire more than my vintage Fender J bass. It's fun and has great sound. Thanks to my SE Adam Chesi.

    You'd have to pay a lot more to get this nice a bass.

  • from Jennings, La. March 5, 2014Music Background:
    playing for 49 years , I play worship music now!

    Sweet as Candy

    I just recently got this bass in Candy Apple Red finish! The color is a beautiful shade of red candy pearl. The only flaw i found is a spec of fuzz under the clearcoat. The neck on the bass i wonderful, easy to play and light on the fingers. I recently purchased a Gibson SG , the neck and weight on the SG are night and day with the Jag. I enjoy the sounds of the two different pickups, mostly the deeper sounding P's !Glad i stumbled on this little gem of a bass. Get you one , enjoy it!!

  • from November 1, 2013

    Great Bargain

    Looks good. Sounds good. I would recommend changing the strings. The frets were a little rough, but a couple minutes of filing had that problem fixed. I can't imagine finding a better bass for the price.

    If you've never bought from Sweetwater before (I hadn't before this guitar) you are in for a customer service treat. It is the best customer service I've experienced from any company...ever.

  • from pa July 25, 2016

    Hard to Beat for the Price

    honestly you cant beat these squiers for the money. some people review these things like the are comparing them with a american standard fender (and they are not that), but if you look at what you get for the money you spend, its hard to beat. like most squiers, it needed a little tlc on the setup, but over all its pretty solid.

    these are the specific things that i picked out on this particular bass that i got (being extra picky):

    -frets seem pretty level, smooth and not sharp on ends
    -the back of the neck having a thin coat of satin on it is nice
    -feel of the neck is reminiscent of my j bass
    -neck was pretty close out of the box
    -had to adjust the saddles slightly
    -there are better pickups out there, but honestly these work pretty well for punk and harder rock (nice and simple, but still a decent dynamic with the p-j config.)
    -pickups were all out of whack and needed the string distance set (sounds a lot better after that)
    -the body is actually quite a bit smaller from the waist back than my jaguar guitar body and throws the strap balance off a little
    -small finish flaws (seriously had to look to find any)
    -side of frets sanded on a little more of an angle from the 15th to 20th fret on the low e side of the neck (has no effect on playability)

    all of that said, its a $200 instrument, and i am pretty stoked on this little guy... it is a great base platform to mod into your custom machine.

  • from New Paltz March 18, 2016

    Bang For The Buck!!!

    What a great value! This little hot-rod bass is so good for its price point, it's hard to believe. Good build quality (even the fret ends were smooth), decent pickups (although as most reviewers point out, the bridge PU by itself is not much to write home about), and great playability. The one real quibble I have is the string gauge these ship with. On a short-scale instrument, you need heavier strings, or else (particularly in the case of the E string) they tend to feel somewhat akin to rubber bands. Take off the strings it ships with, throw on a decent set of medium or heavy bass strings of your choice (flatwounds work very well on this bass, BTW), keep it on the neck pickup or mixed between the two, and rock out. A very nice little bass, and I do mean LITTLE. The short scale length makes for very easy playing (especially for short-fingered guitarists like meself) and the offset body shape in this candy apple red is super sexy. Good stuff.

  • from May 30, 2015Music Background:
    Long time hobby bass player/guitar hack

    Good Value

    I snagged a demo (In beautiful condition. I looked really hard and found just one teeny, tiny scratch.), which made this Jaguar short scale an even sweeter deal than it already is. Out of the box: I gave the action a little tweak and that was it. No fret buzz, and the intonation was right on. I was so surprised I re-checked it a few times and sure enough, right on the money. Really nice neck - no sharp frets, nice smooth back, great feel. If there is one part of this bass that really seems too good for the price it is the neck.

    The weakest part of this bass is the J pickup. It doesn't bring much to the party, and when turned all the way up seems to suck the life out of the P pickup, too. Fortunately, the P pickup is enough to get the job done on its own, so I just roll back the J pickup a bit and this thing delivers a decent tone and a pretty good thump.

    Everything else does what it is supposed to do. I would recommend this to someone starting out, not because it's small, but because it has such nice feel and playability. For the experienced player this little Jag is a fun change of pace and worthy of upgrades. My biggest problem now is that I was looking for a cheapo backup bass that I wouldn't have to care about getting banged-up a bit, but this thing is so nice I just can't help wanting to take care of it! Try one and I think you'll see what I mean.

  • from Seattle, WA USA November 24, 2014Music Background:
    Taylor enthusiast (T5; R Taylor Style 1)

    A screaming buy

    I bought this as a gift for someone who had small hands and was having trouble learning bass on the 34 inch scale instrument that he had been given. I don't know much about bass (being a guitar guy), but this baby rocked right out of the package. The strings appear to be high quality, the controls function well with lots of treble plus and treble minus, and the size makes it easy to play. It may have a slightly raw sound compared to more expensive versions, but it's a lot of bass for the money. Get it to travel around with, or as a secondary instrument to work out song parts. You can't go wrong for this price.

  • from Weiden, Germany August 6, 2014Music Background:
    Hobby

    A nice bass

    I am very pleased with the Squier Short Scale Jaguar. Some thoughts after having played it for a few weeks now.

    The construction and finish are excellent; it is beautifully put together. The candy apple red finish has a metallic sheen to it; it's seriously cool. The black painted headstock would probably be more appropriate on the black model, but it works ok on the red. The neck is finished nicely, with no rough frets.

    The tone is generally good; the P- pickup is definitely better than the J- pickup. This seems to be a trend among reviews. Perhaps I'll try dropping in a hotter J- pickup. Probably not though.

    The controls work well. No issues. The tuners, though probably low end, hold it in tune well. Again, no issues.

    Despite consciously ordering a short scale bass, I was surprised how small it really is. Amazingly light weight, and the body is just very slightly larger than a Stratocaster guitar. The neck is thin and fast--exactly what I was looking for. The Jaguar body shape is way cool, but it does make it a little more difficult to reach the upper frets compared to a P or J.

    So far, my biggest complaint is neck dive. Definitely a consideration.

    Overall: fun to play, sounds good, looks cool, a great value. I would recommend it.

  • from Kalamazoo, MI April 8, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great For Young Players

    Got this bass on a recommendation from my daughters guitar teacher. She had been interested in bass but is still a little too small to wield a full size. For that purpose, this bass is perfect.

    I play guitar so I don't really know how to rate the bass other than it plays well and sounds pretty good through our PA. The setup out of the box from Sweetwater was very playable.

    My only negative, and it's not really a negative is that the low E seems a bit floppy. It's dramatically different than the rest of the strings. Maybe a setup adjustment or heavier strings would cure this. It doesn't impede play, it just feels really different.

    Once again, Sweetwater delivered with awesome customer service and sales support. As hesitant as I am to purchase guitars over the internet, I wouldn't think twice about ordering again from Sweetwater.

  • from GA June 23, 2012Music Background:
    Drummer & Bass Guitarist

    Squier Vintage Modified Jaguar Bass

    A lot of bass for the price and surprisingly good sound. I get a fairly decent range of tones using a Vox pathfinder amp. I really like how light weight this bass is (weighs about as much as a strat) I don't know why they call it a "Jaguar Mod" because it is more like a jazz-master. Overall this is a beautiful bass that sounds like a much more expensive model.

  • from Indiana September 20, 2011Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Nice bass, great price

    My daughter grew too big for the mikro ibanez bass. We saw this bass in a store and tried it out. It is lightweight and comfortable, sounds full.
    I play USA jazz basses, but I would not hesitate to use this bass in a pinch. Sweetwater's service was great.

  • from Norway September 12, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist (Marabakke on iTunes)

    Great all round bass

    My first and only bass through 10 years was an Epiphone Thunderbird, bought mostly for it's bad (b)ass look. It served me well for a studio bass, but I never found that simple, clean bass sound on it. It was always rumbly and deep, and had a very long neck that was hard to get used to for a guitar player.

    I started to look for an affordable, verstaile bass and this baby popped up in my search. Short scale, feels almost like a strat, with both P and J pickups. Good looking, comfortable to play, no noticeable neck dive with a leather strap (compared to the Epi Thunderbird that really sags). It sounds great. Best from the P pickup. The J pickup is a little low and I dunno... thin sounding. But it works well to blend between the two pickups to dial in the sound you want. I was looking for a decent pop/clean bass sound and found it here.

    The finish is pretty good, not perfect. Just a few small specks of uneven/missing paint - you can't see it unless you're looking for it. The neck needed a bit of adjustment and I could probably releave it a bit more to get string height down a tad. The bridge is okay, but rattled a tiny bit in the beginning, not anymore. Tuners are good. All in all a good looking budget bass, perfect for studio use (short scale in front of a computer is a good idea). Recommended.

  • from Cedar Park, TX August 1, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist and amateur musician

    Gotta Love A Short Scale

    The bass is put together well enough that it feels solid, and doesn't feel like it's going to fall apart. A little more care in assembly would have been nice, like the rear pickup was pretty dead because someone had banged two of the volume pot posts together and they were shorting out. This was an easy fix, and now the bass plays quite well. I popped in some GFS Vintage pickups and some new pots, and now it sounds like a much higher quality bass. I really love short scales, and no, I don't have small hands. The fact is short scales have a string sensitivity to bends and vibrato that 34" scale completely lacks.

Questions about the Squier Vintage Modified Jaguar Bass Special SS - Candy Apple Red?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway