rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Squier Vintage Modified Jaguar Bass Special - Black Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Squier Vintage Modified Jaguar Bass Special - Black?

Questions about the Squier Vintage Modified Jaguar Bass Special - Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from April 22, 2016Music Background:
    Composer/Producer

    A Bass that Rocks!

    I haven't owned a Jaguar Bass in quite awhile, and miss the feel and tone of what I once used in the recording studio. I recently purchased the 5-string version, and for the $$, this is by far the best choice, hands down!! Great weight, and excellent tone options. I'm constantly writing music for film and television, and am also a producer to the rap group Public Enemy since 1989, and I need a bass at my disposal ALWAYS. This bass pleases me!

  • from New Milford CT March 24, 2016Music Background:
    Bass guitar, Classical guitar, Metal, Punk, some Classic Rock.

    Good neck & body construction but poor electronics.....

    I ordered this 4 string Jaguar (active) bass because I have the 5 string version of this same exact bass. The first one they sent me was beautiful and sounded great but it had a loud static noise when you turned one of the volume knobs. They sent me another one and that bass had the same problem. I was surprised because my 5 string version is very quiet. I never had problems with it.
    I did not want to deal with problems at this time so I ended up not getting the bass and got a Fender Mexican (passive) Jaguar version instead.
    The built (woodwork) quality of these Squier basses is exceptional for the price. I might still get this bass in the future but I will wait for a different batch to come in. Even if you have to change electronics on them, the price point is so low that you still come out ahead. Hopefully next time I can give this Bass a 5 star.
    The Sweetwater guys were excellent. Jeff Jent was very patient with me and accommodating. ZZounds and Musician's Friend better take notice because Sweetwater cannot be beat when it comes to customer service and I think the key to their success is their sales people. I will only buy from Sweetwater from now on.

  • from Los Angeles November 9, 2015

    GREAT BASS

    Bought the Squier Jag 5 string for a different project, and had to come back for the 4 string. THis is a GREAT bass. The slim satin - almost wood feel of the neck is a joy to play. This bass sounds every bit as good as the 5 string and sounds as good, but a bit different as my Fenders.. Don't know how they can build this quality and great sounding bass at this price. Seems like all the Squiers need a bit of set up, but so do most new-bought guitars and basses. A good setup is to personal feel and individual instrument - not some standard of measurement.

  • from Mason, OH June 24, 2015Music Background:
    Living room guitar player

    Nice bass

    Bought this bass for my son. Got it less than 24 hours after I ordered it. I play guitar so I don't know much about the setup for a bass. I think it plays nicely though. Neck feels good and no rough fret edges. It looks killer. I expected a little more boom from the active bass. I also don't notice much difference when I fiddle with the treble/tone knob. Maybe I need to get a better amp. My son loves it. For the price it was worth the $. My sales rep Tyler was awesome and I will definitely buy from Sweetwater again.

  • from Austin Texas Area April 22, 2015

    Good instrument

    The slim Neck is fast and easy to get around on. The pickups and Electronics are basic, but they are enough to cover most types of playing. Fit and Finish are excellent. For a beginner bass student or a guitar player wanting to move over to bass as a second instrument this would be a good choice. I also own and play a G & L 2000 bass, so I have a pretty good standard to compare it to. Sweetwater Music is a really great store to buy from.

  • from Gainesville, Ga. USA January 21, 2012Music Background:
    Active musician,

    Great bass

    Although, the name says Squier dont let that be your deciding factor with this bass. This is a great instrument !
    Out of the box needed a good setup, that should go without saying.

    Solid contruction with great electronics. Not sure why they didnt go with the Duncan pickups as with the other jags, but that aside still sounds aesome.
    The bass boost circuit really adds low end that you wont find on any other bass in this price range.
    The body is light weight and balanced just right and wont stress your back to play it for extended lenghts of time.
    Again, this is a great all around bass, and a 1000 dollar price tag wont help you sound any better than this 200 dollar gem.
    However, if your a gear snob look elsewhere, the headstock does say Squire.

  • from tucson az January 12, 2012Music Background:
    musician

    top shelf

    my wife bought this bass for me Christmas. I must say it is amazingly full of beautiful tone. The two band eq pre amp really makes the difference between a active and passive bass. The jazz pickup is very strong, turn the p bass pickup half way up, and set the bass boost at 9 o'clock treble how you like and you have one great bass for a low price. Im playing through a laney rb7 combo amp......350 watts. sounds fantastic.

  • from Haughton,LA January 9, 2012Music Background:
    Semi-Pro

    A Steal ... If you can stand the weight

    Out of the box this bass needed a serious setup. Significant neck bow and the action, intonation and pickup height we're whacked. After a good setup the bass plays and sounds great! Punchy with a great bottom end. This bass is very heavy so get a good padded strap. It will probably need a setup but well worth the money.

  • from Seattle WA USA January 1, 2012Music Background:
    Newbie

    Begginer Bass with a Boom

    Buy this Bass!!!!!!!!! Ok, do that first THEN read this review........, this thing is a beauty it really looks great and feels comfortable, this is my first bass, got it on christmas and boy, am i glad my parents skipped the cheapo train. Its got some nice tone and the bass boost is really helpful, very versatile but i like using it in rock. Buy it!

Questions about the Squier Vintage Modified Jaguar Bass Special - Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway