0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Squier Vintage Modified Jaguar Bass Special - 3-Color Sunburst Reviews

4.5 stars based on 18 customer reviews
Questions about the Squier Vintage Modified Jaguar Bass Special - 3-Color Sunburst?

Questions about the Squier Vintage Modified Jaguar Bass Special - 3-Color Sunburst?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Bloomington, IN. September 6, 2016

    SquirerJaguar Bass

    Played bass for about 33 yrs. have had or tried several basses through the years. Got this Jaguar completely blown away. The feel, sound is unbelievable. Well worth the money!

  • from Middle Point, OH September 13, 2015Music Background:
    Multi-instrumentalist, aspiring producer

    Feels Great, Plays Great

    Drove to the corporate HQ in fort wayne to try it (awesome place by the way) ,and was absolutely floored by the tone on this bass. Very comfortable to play and with the classic look plus the price, you can't go wrong.

  • from Oxford, MS August 4, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Jaguar Sunburst - Superb Value!

    I'm so impressed with this bass and even more so because of the price. The quality and finish are expensive in appearance like you'd find on a high end guitar. I couldn't find a single flaw- surfaces are spotless, frets and fret board are perfect, and the Sunburst color job on the body is gorgeous. The bass plays nicely and was set up well from the factory. I tuned up and was playing immediately. Sound is great, and again, reflects a more expensive quality than this guitar costs. Love the tone of both pickups and the active boost is a fantastic bonus. For just an extra $20, I got my favorite color on a guitar and active pickups. I don't think anyone would be disappointed by this bass.

  • from San Jose Ca June 17, 2015Music Background:
    Tejano,Jazz

    Squier Vintage Modified Jaguar Bass Special - 3-Color Sunburst

    I own several bass guitars including a 78 Fender Precision this is a great bass for the money you spend on it. It is not the equal of my old Fender but WOW it is great! The active pickup gets the bottom end to sing! When you slap the highs are there with authority. The bass feels great in my hands mine had a blob of solder floating around in the input jack compartment easy fix two screws and done. If you have the disease and own several of everything this is a keeper. If you are looking for a 1st bass you will have great time with this one.

  • from pontiac michigan March 16, 2015Music Background:
    multi instrumentalist

    Best for the price

    Amazing bass. got it as a gift and less then 12 hours i am impressed with its sound and tone . $200 is quite a steal for this . highly recommended

  • from Livonia, MI September 16, 2014Music Background:
    Recording musician, gigging musician.

    Definitely a great bass

    I've been wanting to learn to play bass for a while, and when the bassist in the band I'm in quit, I was given the opportunity to do so. Picked this little doozy and was definitely very happy with it. I knew nothing about using a bass with active pickups, but it definitely gives you a better range of sounds. I was definitely amazed at how great this guitar is for the price. Great looks, great sound. I would suggest a nicely padded strap for it, though. It does have a bit of weight to it, which would cause some discomfort when playing it for a couple hours.

  • from Granbury, TX August 29, 2013Music Background:
    Adult student

    A Great Deal

    As a beginning bass player, I couldn't have made a better choice. It's low price and beautiful appearance attracted me and I wasn't disappointed, Highly recommend.

  • from Atl, GA November 23, 2012Music Background:
    Record Producer, Multi-instrumentalist, Record Engineer

    Professional Sounding Bass

    I mean the amount of tones you get out of this is insane. You get that deeper P bass tone and that clear jazzy/funky J bass tone all in one bass. And the kicker is, you can beef up the bass on each tone with the bass boost knob and roll off some highs with the smaller knob. You can do so much without touching the mixing board or EQ. I feel like I hit the jackpot. I know some pretty great bassists and they even love it.

  • from ZION,CA. October 31, 2012Music Background:
    Praise & Worship. Songwriter

    OMG Killer Bass For The Money...:-)

    This is a very nice Bass Guitar: Has an awesome Jazz neck-very smooth, very fast. You can get lots of of different tones from this Bass. The active Boost/Cut control is sweet,and makes a very noticeable difference in your sound. Stays in tune well, and overall is a tremendous value-period!
    The price is definitely right! I encourage you to get 1 or 2 or 3 of these before they get wise and change the price. You WIll Love It!

  • from Fair Oaks, ca April 15, 2012Music Background:
    Pro bassist, currently with www.anotherbricklive.com and Mason Dixon

    Wow, Just Amazing

    I bought this bass for my daughter who is 10 and playing for a few months, she loved it, I however have been playing for 34 years and play a pre fender Kubicki, a custom shop P bass, a G&L J2 and a few other, I could have given her one of mine however I wanted something she could call her own, I received it, did minor set up on neck and plugged it in and just floored at the tone, playability, action, fast neck and did I mention tone? Nothing you can't get out of this bass, it plas li,e a dream, looks amazing and just plain rocks, I ended up using it at 2 gigs until she said dad give me back my bass or im taking your Kubicki. i cant believe that for a buck 99 you can get a bass of this quality, I'm a true squire believer now and am gonna now check out some of their vintage mod jazz, p's etc if you are in the market don't hesitate just buy it you won't be disappointed

  • from Folsom, CA USA February 3, 2012Music Background:
    Engineer, Musician.

    Great Bass

    I bought this bass because I had read about it on Talkbass.com and thought at $199 what the heck. It has become my main recording bass since buying it. I have Fender basses, Gibson, Epiphone, Warwick, Carvin and even (recently) a Fender Jaguar. I like this one better than the rest for recording. It has a fantastic neck. Get it set up right and it plays like a dream. The amazing thing to me is that for the price it has an active pickup system.
    I am blown away with the great tone of this bass, love the light weight, and the look is outstanding. I bought the Three color Sunburst and it is just a beautiful finish. The Electronics have simple controls and I like the output jack being on the edge of the bass vs. the electronics plate. I like the Squier even better than my Fender Jaguar, as the pickups and electronics are very quiet. If you like to play bass and want an alternate axe... this one is a keeper (IMHO).
    The Sweetwater customer service was wonderful. They try very hard to make sure that their customers are well taken care of and will return for more. I did buy my Fender Jaguar bass from Sweetwater and recommend the company as one of the best in the country to buy from. Josh has been a great Customer Engineer and it is very nice to have a single point of contact at the company. Keep the great customer service up and I'll be back.

  • from Clearwater, Florida January 15, 2012Music Background:
    All the above or below, whatever I'm over 40.

    Excellent value!!

    I had never bought a string instrument from Sweetwater before. I was impressed by the packing used to send the instrument. No worries there, plus a fantastic warranty. The Jaguar vintage modified bass (Squire), is nicely crafted, extremely versatile, and sounds great. Oh yeah, it plays like a dream, and I'm a guitarist.

    Thanks so much!

  • from United States April 24, 2014Music Background:
    beginner

    A great looking, feeling, and sounding bass guitar!

    I bought this bass guitar because of the fantastic reviews for the price, and of course it looks amazing! I got the 3 tone sunburst. I'm just getting started as a player so I'm not an expert but as far as I can tell the guitar feels & plays great. It has the active pickups so I don't hear any unwanted noise through the electronics. It sounds awesome played through my Fender Rumble 15. I wanted a guitar I didn't have to replace in a few years as I became a better player and this is perfect. I would be proud to play it if I were an advanced player as well. I also have to say Sweetwater is a fantastic company. They are wonderful with their customers. They even call their customers to follow up...who else does that??? I plan to do business with them for a long time. They're great!!!

  • from Makanda, Il August 23, 2012Music Background:
    Strings, Drums

    Nobody can believe this bass.

    I love this thing. The active P/U is great. I paired it with roto sound strings and the sound is fantasic. Squier is doing some great things, for so much less money. Recommended.

  • from April 21, 2016

    Squier VM Jag

    Their were some issues with the nut when it arrived. It was easier to fix myself than to send it back. Now it plays great. It's a great sound and playing bass.

  • from Bloomington, IN March 31, 2014

    Can't beat it for the money

    This bass exceeded my expectations. Out of the box, it played and sounded good. Comfortable to play with a variety of tones. It's not a high-end bass, but it's definitely nicer than most other basses in this price range.

  • from North Central Indiana December 3, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist guitar player and tech.

    Looks great, versatile bass sound, great price, Feel may need some adjustments for some.

    First of all, I'm a hobbyist guitar player who has never purchased a bass before. However, I am a manufacturing engineer and have taught myself to be a decent guitar tech though many years of dialing in my own guitar set ups, performing routine maintenance, repairing electronics, and completing a couple of nice fret jobs. My daughter is interested in learning bass and would be spending her own money on this bass so we drove to the retail store to check it out.

    My fist impression was that this bass looked great and maybe felt a bit lighter than the Squier J bass and P bass we picked up in the show room. With the sunburst finish you can see the wood grain and this one has one very small knot in the grain that we both agreed gives it some character. Got to try it out in a loud electric guitar showroom just to make sure there were no obvious defects in the electronics, fret buzzes, etc. and everything checked out good. The action looked a little high to me but not being a bass player a wasn't sure.

    Once we got it home and played it though a medium sized PA the versatility of the pick ups and active electronics was very apparent. Everything from very deep and full lows to clear and defined mid range (and everything in between or a mix of both) is at your finger tips. The entire spectrum of tones sounded very good to me without the bias of any particular bass amp.

    Once I got a chance to take some measurements, as suspected, all of the adjustments affecting the action were on the high side of Fender specs. The neck had a too much curve but the truss rod adjustment was very smooth and accurate. The individual string height was easy to adjust but the set screws for this adjustment were very easy to turn and time will tell how soon they will move out of adjustment with the vibration of playing. Intonation was also easily adjustable on the individual saddles. The tuning keys worked perfectly while setting intonation with a strobe tuner. Very fine and predictable adjustments can be made with the tuning keys. The nut slots were shallow but did not bind the strings at all. I'll have to adjust the nut slots and recheck everything else once I get the right nut files for bass strings. The ends of the fret wires were just the tiniest bit high maybe less than .001". Not something felt when playing, maybe just as close as can be made by a machine vs a person masking the neck and hand finishing each individual fret end with a file. I probably won't bother to change this but it could be done if desired.

    After all but the nuts slots had been adjusted to spec, I asked the budding bass player if she noticed a big difference and she said "eh, not a big difference". Lol. So maybe the point is, for the novice this bass is very good as is and for an experienced player who used to having everything to manufacturer specs it has that potential.

    Bottom line is I think this a great looking and sounding instrument. Maybe perfect for a beginner and can be a great instrument for anyone willing to put a little more into it.

  • from St. Louis May 7, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician on and off for 35 years

    Great Playability, Great Tone and...

    I just got the Squier VM Jaguar Special today. I've been playing it for 6 straight hours and can't put it down. Right out of the box this bass was setup good enough to get to jammin, just a quick tune and off into the bass clouds I floated. The P-Bass pickup sounds like a P-Bass should. No question. With both pickups blended via 2 volume controls, I dialed in just about every tone I could hope for. The bass boost is very useful, and all the pots rotate smooth with a good feel. The neck is very fast and the action is fun. Slap style, finger or picking, it sounds fantastic through my Carvin. The 3 tone sunburst is a great finish. Tuners and bridge could be upgraded, but hell, I got this for $200 and have owned basses that cost $1000 more I enjoyed less. Very happy here, great buy, very good bass. You can't go wrong for $200.

Questions about the Squier Vintage Modified Jaguar Bass Special - 3-Color Sunburst?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway