0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Marshall JVM410HJS Joe Satriani Edition 100-watt 4-channel Tube Head Reviews

4.5 stars based on 13 customer reviews
Questions about the Marshall JVM410HJS Joe Satriani Edition 100-watt 4-channel Tube Head?

Questions about the Marshall JVM410HJS Joe Satriani Edition 100-watt 4-channel Tube Head?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from May 6, 2017

    Near perfect

    This amp is top of the heap if you love that Marshall tone. I've had it for a couple of months and I still have all controls, except volume, set at noon where I started. It nails every era of Marshall plus some. I've always wanted to have a rig with a plexi, a jcm800, the afd100, and something for metal. Now I do, and all in one box! I think the cleans are some of the best I've heard from any Marshall.

    The noise gates are transparent and effective. The dual master volumes make for easy rhythm to solo changes. The footswitch is solid, silent when switching and programmable too. I run it with just a little reverb or delay in the effects loop (it's transparent) and nothing else, I don't need anything more because all the tones are in the amp! This head and a 1960 Marshall cab and you can do country to classic rock to metal and anything in between.

    I've got an EVH 5150-3 that I've used only once since I got this. That's because this Michael Missouridoes classic Van Halen better than the EVH does. It's more open and dynamic than the EVH. More versatile too. This may cost more but it really is like a half dozen amps in one package. Worth every penny.

    If they ever do a 50 watt combo, I'd get it with no hesitation since the only drawback is that it's not easily transported. It would be nice to have a half or quarter power selector too but hey, it's a Marshall and they are all about loud and this baby does that in spades.

    Sweetwater is the place to buy. Top notch customer service, the best in the business.

  • from U.S.A December 17, 2016Music Background:
    Family of super stars

    Page

    I have been in the game since the 60,s , and played with several rigs. This is truely a B.A of Marshall,s . Thank you England and Joe.. PAGE

  • from Los Angeles May 31, 2016Music Background:
    Semi-Pro

    Best Marshall Ever!!!

    I've owned several Marshalls over the years in between about every amp known to mankind and this is clearly the greatest Marshall ever! From beautiful clean to warm crunch to face melting metal grind, this amp delivers up every great tone you need no matter what style tou play.

  • from Florida March 28, 2015

    JVM410 JS

    The Best Ever!!!

  • from Raleigh, NC July 12, 2014Music Background:
    Recording, live sound, rock guitarist, writer

    Absolutely my dream powerhouse amplifier head

    This is the most versatile amp of this type I have every played but the sad part of my experience is that I may not live long enough to explore all of the cool ways to set up the channels for all of the sets I typically play. There are just so many possibilities in the setup. From the heavy and dark side to the clean rhythm sounds this amp is just the best all around in its class and price. The gating is great when the amp is cranked up but doesn't detract from medium levels. The foot switch serves up the presets instantly with no delay and no abnormal switchover clicks or static. The range of tone on every channel is awesome. The fact that Marshall has applied musical semantics (clean, crunch, od1 and od2) to the channel setup save much time in deciding where to apply different settings and I appreciate the way the front panel is laid out making the learning curve fast. All in all this amp is very well made and I sure appreciate the fact the Sweetwater delivered it fast, on time, and in pristine condition. I am glad I chose the right vendor to get this amp from.

  • from Fort Wayne, IN January 21, 2014

    Not you average JVM410

    First off this amp only has slight resemblance JVM410H in appearance. The tones you get out off the JVM410HJS are not like your average Marshall. This is the most brilliant modern Marshall I have ever played through. The tones you get are outstanding! The noise gates are mastered beautifully and don't interfere when you hold lone notes. Now what really impressed me was the clean channel. Most multi-channel amps lose that brilliant clean tone. This has every bit of clean tone as a Mesa Lonestar or Fender Twin. If I really had to be picky I'd complain that you can't attenuate the power. It is a loud and I do mean loud amp! If you want bedroom volume look into a Rivera Power Attenuator. Other than that this is an amp does it all, whither or not you're a fan of Joe Satriani, it's brilliant. It really is the Swiss Army knife of amplifies.

  • from Dallas, Texas November 28, 2013Music Background:
    Collector and guitar player

    Jvm410hjs

    Great amp, the noise canceling feature is true studio grade. The amp is crystal clear on all channels allowing for extreme voice playing clean or distorted. I highly recommend ths amp over the regular 410!!!

  • from PA April 25, 2013Music Background:
    musician, project studio "sound chaser".

    What took them so long to make this?

    I've had this amp for a while now. Getting it was a looong wait with several stated release dates passing by & no amp being released. Highly anticipated. Highly frustrating. I bothered Paul Rowan & other Sweetwater professionals with "where is it" emails over the months. I had music and recording waiting! I was expecting historic greatness from this amp.

    When Satriani described what he was asking for, he sounded like my dream amp representative, as he proved to be.

    The bottom line was that Sweetwater could not ship what they didn't have but they came through with speed and great service as only Sweetwater does as soon as Marshall set these things free, so... apologies to the Sweetwater crew for being a nuisance and thanks for coming through!

    Absolutely worth the wait. Historic greatness indeed.

    I've owned quite a few amps including numerous Marshall amps. I've dragged them from studios to clubs, pubs, piers, parks and other venues for decades. I even played in a pit once in Queens, NY, looking at knee caps! THAT was a really weird gig.

    Amp sounds and response preferences are personal, but Marshall has been the defining answer for so many through the last 50 years and it is definitely my preference. It's NOT just about gain & volume as so many other amp companies seem to primarily focus on, but about establishing tone and feel and adding the crank element as only Marshall can.

    I've played through the original JVM410H and it is a great, Marshall edged competetive charge through the field of high gain & volume amp companies that I just described, but I expected (and needed) more of the "historic" part of Marshall tones and response that established Hard Rock, Metal and Rock through the 60s, 70s & 80s, (The time periods when most of the great legends took Marshall amps and forged the path that inspired the rest of us.)

    WHat I expected in the original JVM410H is actually in this JVM410HJS. There is still a lot of high gain in the OD channels and raw, chunky, hard rocking sounds in the crunch channel. There are some absolutely beautiful clean sounds in the 3 clean channel options. The most obvious difference between the original and the JS models is that the JS model has the classic Marshall power section tone bringing the preamp sounds to the speakers. There's no place like home!

    The preamp sounds are EQ'd differently than the the original JVM. There is a mid shift option on the OD channels to bring you closer to the sounds of the original JVM. I make use of the mid shift gain AND the JS EQ'd gain. Great sounds. I had a TC Electronic D TWO in the serial effects loop until this week and that sounded absolutely incredible, especially on the 2290 setting. I recently bought an uncertified preowned TC Electronic G Force. Also incredible, but with a tuner and more effects. The G Force was a little noisy in the serial effects loop, but I put it in the other loop (preamp out/power amp in) and it pretty much rules the world after spending time getting sounds together. I think the D TWO delays may be slightly better (more open), but the G Force delays are really great. Using both is an option, but I'll likely just use the G Force to shrink the rack.

    That would be the whole rig. Between the JVM410HJS and the G Force, there is no place I can't go. I don't recommend leaving rack gear on top of the head (even slightly elevated) because it makes the rack units hot and blocks airflow from the head, likely shortening tube life.

    If you want the brighter side of the classic Marshall sound, this amp and a brighter sounding pick up will get you in that neighborhood. An EQ pedal or EQ in one of the loops would help too (you'd have to experiment), but the amp does does get bright if you set it bright. It's a warmer bright more than a thin bright though. It'll take you towards Slash, but not as bright as say, Neil Young.

    I can tell you that this amp can cover many sounds. Just this one head. I have been testing that statement out recording some diverse project ideas. I'm highly impressed and playing more than I have in years just because of how great this amp sounds. The noise gates are also much better than the several that I've used in the past. They are very gentle in the way that they turn on to gate the noise, but you can set them to be more abrupt too. As I saw in another review here, I also recommend a Marshall 1960 cab with this.

    This amp is pro gear. It has a pro gear price, but I have to say that I've been around the guitar-gig-studio-gear block more than a few times & I expect it to be a future legend. When more of these start to show up at gigs, other bands' guitarists will take notice and the rest will be history. A very small learning curve and a parting of cash, but I expect it to be the last amp that I and other guitarists will ever own!
    GREAT AMP!

  • from Southern California December 30, 2012Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Musician

    Lives up to the hype

    I've had this amp for about 3 weeks. I read all of the reviews in the magazines and must say it lives up to all of the hype. Very versatile-you can get so many different sounds out of it-from amazing cleans to down and dirty metal. There is no reverb, Joe replaced it with noise gates-and they work wonderfully...you'll need a separate reverb pedal or rack-mounted reverb if reverb is a must-have. The 6-button pedal is so easy to program. The silent recording mode works great! The amp is expensive, but it works wonderfully, is built like a tank (in England, not subcontracted to a pacific nation) and provides wonderful tones. The master volume allows you to crank the channel volumes and still maintain your sanity when practicing in a smaller environment without the need for a power brake or hot plate. All in all, there are very few musical items I have spent this much for that I have felt were worth every penny...but this is one of them. Matches perfectly with a Marshall 1960 4x12 cabinet. I have played through it with my '57 Les Paul Reissue and '99 American Strat, both sounded amazing. Utilizing the crunch channel with my Kramer Nightswan brought back the 80's by sounding like the shredder guitar being played through a cranked JCM800...and there's still the two OD channels after that. If you are considering this amp and you have the means to get it, don't hesitate...it's worth it!

  • from Ft. Pierce FL December 2, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Only the best...

    This amp is amazing. Just go for it. I had a stock JVM for 4 years and now it is sitting in the box, ready to ship out. Clean channel is super clean, Crunch channel is great, OD1 and OD2 are very usable. This thing makes the old JVM sound like a sizzle box. I highly recommend it to anyone who likes Marshall amps...and I have owned several.

  • from California July 30, 2015

    If you like British amps, you'll love this one

    Extremely versatile, feature rich, exceptional quality in this VERY British sounding amp. I'm personally more of an American voiced amp guy, but I honestly can't slight this amp on any facet. If you listen to JS's new Supernova CD, it's a great representation of how this amp sounds.

  • from Jakarta, ID December 12, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Just A Fantastic Amp!!

    To my ears the marshall jvm410hjs doesnt sound like the original jvm at all but dont get me wrong the original jvm is a fantastic amp! The only difference is that this amp is based on satch demanding approach in tone and what a great head should look, feels and sound.

    Playbility: I often play in the red mode OD1 with the gain at 3 o'clock (fairly high) and from there i usually back off my guitar volume to get that
    clean tone... and Voila! This amp cleans up very nicely.

    Overall Sound : If your looking for that legendary signature marshall sound, you wont get that in the jvm 410hjs. IMHO
    But what you get in this amp is satch unique tone on each n' every channel. (of course,satch is known for playing marshall amp for many years)
    I was blown away by how close this amp could sound simillar (if not the same) to joe's tone on that Chickenfoot Get Your Buzz On DVD. If you are listening to cf and want to duplicate that big fat warm and organic guitar sound and want to applied to your own thing, than this is the only amp that could delivered that very unique sound. End of story, this is the real thing!

    Thanks to Jim Marshall (RIP), Santiago Alvarez, everyone at Marshall and the man himself, Mr. Satriani for creating this beautifull amp. It's a classic...

  • from May 6, 2017

    Played better

    I've had several heads and this is by far the least favorite that I've ever played through. Decided to get rid of it and get something worth while. My JCM2000 blew this head away. The Marshall JVM410HJS just sounded cheap. There are far better heads out there, especially for that price.

Questions about the Marshall JVM410HJS Joe Satriani Edition 100-watt 4-channel Tube Head?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway