0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Marshall JVM205H 50-watt 2-channel Tube Head Reviews

5.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Marshall JVM205H 50-watt 2-channel Tube Head?

Questions about the Marshall JVM205H 50-watt 2-channel Tube Head?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Patrick Weaver

    The Marshall JVM205 is by far one of the most versatile and affordable tube amps I've played. I love the MIDI functionality, which lets me access advanced settings when I play live. And, at 50 watts, I can hit the sweet spot quickly and easily, whether I'm onstage or recording in my studio.

  • from Jacksonville Fl July 24, 2016

    Marshall Family

    After many years and more money than I'd like to admit, I broke down and sacrificed for a few weeks, and bought another Marshall ,I've played just about every brand of amp out there, and although they all have their own strong points, it's the Marshall tone that appeals to me , the clean/crunch channel works great and you can get that clean just before break up which with proper volume control sounds really sweet, the Overdrive channel is a little touchy , it took me awhile to dial in what I was looking for,it has tons of gain, and can get noisy,which is why I only give the amp 4.5 stars , but all in all I'm very happy with the amp, there are tons of bells and whistles, which are handy , but I've yet to find the need for them in a live working situation...Great to be back in the Marshall Family

  • from United States December 16, 2014Music Background:
    Me like guitars!

    I agree, it's GREAT!

    Owned for the better part of a year. This amp needs no pedals, but works great with my TC delay and mods in the FX loop. It is a little big, but the layout of the controls is so simple. Foot switch works great. This is my first Marshall, so nothing to compare there, but easily the best head I have ever played through. It was a tough choice (at first) between the JVM205h and the EVH 5150, but the amount of tones and the pure quality of this Made in England amp easily wins out over the EVH. I would have given it 5 stars but it the FX loop takes some tweaking before you get the levels right. A huge thanks to Joesph Secu (x1232), my Sweetwater rep for the past 10 years.

  • from North Canton, OH September 5, 2014Music Background:
    Regular gigging guitarist

    This amp rips!!!!!

    I'll keep this review short and sweet. I finally got the money to order this head 2 weeks ago and I've been beyond happy with my investment. I play a Les Paul Studio through this and this amp really delivers on tone. The cleans, crunches, and overdrives are all great (my favorite being on the overdrive orange channel). I play hard rock and metal and this gives me just the right amount of distortion with that great Marshall bite to it with great clarity. I played a gig with it 3 days after receiving it (and still hadn't really dialed my tones in yet due to limited time with amp) and I received several compliments on my tone after the show of how great it sounded!!!! If you want that classic Marshall tone this amp covers it all. Lastly, I wanna say that the service that Sweetwater offers is great! My amp arrived within 2 days and the reps always email and place calls out to me to ensure everything is ok. Sweetwater's customer service is the best hands down! Buy this amp!!!!

  • from South Louisiana February 1, 2014Music Background:
    Producer/Guitarist

    A Beautiful Beast!

    I bought this amp the summer of 2012. I've always wanted to own a 'real' Marshall (owned a Haze and have played through a couple of their solid state amps in the past) but the power and price always held me back. Well, I decided it was a priority. And when you focus on things, they can become reality. I'm very happy I bought it!

    This thing is a beast. It's got all the classic Marshall sounds from over the decades packed into one head. If you're looking for the sound of Rock and Roll played loud- this is the amp. It's LOUD! It's not the most versatile amp in the world (if you need that, buy a modeling amp). But if you want the roar of guitar-driven rock, this is it! It's meant to be played LOUD! Did I mention LOUD!! ....although it's not bad at all at bedroom levels!

    After almost 2 years I'm still learning about getting sounds from this thing! The Clean/Crunch channel is pure old-school Marshall awesomeness! The OD channel goes into the metal zone and while I'm pretty much old-school, I've recently been working with the OD channel yellow for some soaring/singing lead tones.

    The bottom line is if you want clean- Fender, jangly- Vox. But if you wanna rock like the big boys- Marshall!

  • from College Station, TX, USA September 30, 2013

    Amazing tone and versatility

    If you love the Marshall sound, this is the amp to have. Everything from clean to Kerry King-like mayhem. It's easy to use, easy to dial in a great sound. It really incorporates the best tones over the generations of Marshall amps. Each channel and each mode within a channel has it's own sound, but they are all unmistakeably Marshall.

    The overdrive channel will get you AC/DC on the green mode, 80's rock and metal on the orange channel, and the red channel is punishing. The effects loop is the best I've had in a head - the wet/dry mix knob makes it easy to get that perfect blend in your effects and really helps take the volume fluctuations out when you kick in your effects. The two master volume controls are very useful. The built in reverb sounds great. This head is also very quiet for a Marshall - some slight hum, but I'm able to use it without a noise suppressor.

    The footswitch is easy to use and easy to program and makes this head a breeze to use live. Even though there are a lot of features, everything is really intuitive and easy to use.

    If you want great tone, a ton of versatility, and ease of use, this is it. Probably the last head I will ever buy.

  • from Columbus, Ohio June 20, 2013Music Background:
    Long time guitar player

    Marshall JVM205H Money Well Spent

    This amp was expensive but I still can't believe how cool it sounds. I was worried that I would only get distortion from this amp but it covers everything. I have a LP Trad and an old Epi Sheraton that sound incredible through this monster.

  • from illinois May 24, 2013Music Background:
    gigging musician

    loud enough

    had my 205h for a yeah and a half so far and I love it. I gave it 4.5 stars only because I had the power cap blow after playing a club with power. But Marshall has an excellent warranty and got fixed N/P. I've played this head every single weekend FRi and Sat and then some and have never had any other probs. Oh yeah and it sounds kick . Want to step up to the big leagues, but still playing clubs? get this head. And of course, Sweetwater has excellent customer service

  • from New Fairfield, CT August 19, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    The Marshall I always wanted!

    Nothing hits a 5 star, but this amp comes very close. It is everything I want in a guitar amp and then some. I loved my DSL50, but often wished for a better clean channel, that's why I sold it for another amp. I am a two channel amp guy. The trouble is I like about 4 ranges of tone from clean to overdrive. Pedals get you so far, but I wanted to core tone to be in the amp. The JVM205H does exactly what I want. I get three options on the clean channel that lets me go from country clean to a bluesy grind to a nice classic rock crunch. Switch it to the differently voiced lead channel and the rock starts to soar all the way to metal territory. I now have the amp I have been wanting - the two channels with the range of tones I was looking for all based on the sounds of Marshall that I grew up on.

    What Marshall added to the mix is a footswitch that has multiple personalities. It is a straightup switcher for both channels and each nuance or it can be programmed to switch to four settings that you can program. It has all the flexibility with an easy way to find the options and, best of all, the complete Marshall sonic pallet.

    This is a great amp and one I plan to keep for a long time. I will upgrade to Mercury Magnetics because I love how they shape the tone.

  • from Yakima, WA May 11, 2011Music Background:
    Musician

    Melt your face off

    This head is everything and anything a guitarist could possibly want. The provided footswitch allows the user to easily move between channels, volume control and reverb. I love it. I run it will my pedal board but if I want that raw Marshall sound I switch it over to the lead channel and let the thumping begin. It sounds good loud or at moderately low volumes. The contruction is magnificent and the amp is very easy to use. I used to own a JCM-800 and this amp sounds better and is one-hundred times more versatile.

Questions about the Marshall JVM205H 50-watt 2-channel Tube Head?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway