rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Line 6 JTV-89F with Floyd Rose - Blood Red Reviews

5.0 stars based on 14 customer reviews
Questions about the Line 6 JTV-89F with Floyd Rose - Blood Red?

Questions about the Line 6 JTV-89F with Floyd Rose - Blood Red?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Colorado May 8, 2017Music Background:
    Singer & Guitarist

    Unbelievable Guitar

    I have been playing my Gibson Les Paul Standard for the last year in my Classic Rock band, but it has been difficult and time consuming either re-tuning it or swapping it out for another guitar. I am simply head over heals with this JTV-89F. I am using this with my Helix and it is just jaw dropping. The neck and finish are superb and the magnetic pickups are great. I have updated my Helix with our complete song list and I never have to worry about re-tuning again. This will be my go to guitar from now on. I am so inspired by the play-ability and sound of this instrument. This could be the most worthwhile investment I have ever made for my band. Just Loving It.

  • from Effingham, SC October 22, 2015Music Background:
    I majored in music, and have played mostly bass for the past 15 years, and guitar the past 42 years.

    Outstanding Action

    I received my JTV-89F yesterday afternoon, and didn't get much time to play with it. However, just holding and playing it blew my mind. I'm a much better player with this guitar than any guitar I've owned before. The neck and frets are blazingly fast and extremely easy to play! The fit and finish are outstanding - with the blood red color remarkable in person!

    I'm looking forward to getting home this evening to spend some serious time. (The battery is charged up now, so I'll be able to try out some of the modeling!) I'll post again once I have a chance to explore further. Again - just sitting down with this guitar has made me a better player!

  • from Jersey City, NJ USA January 31, 2015Music Background:
    Worship Leader (10+ years)

    I like the modeled sound better!

    When Line 6 first introduced the Dream Rig, I have watched demos, reviews and everything out there from Youtube (Line 6, Sweetwater, Andertons, and from many other individuals) because I was skeptical about the idea of modeling. It was mainly due to other comments that said it's still not perfect. Now that I have had firsthand experience with my JTV 89f, I am completely in love with it! I mean, different Strats do not create the same sound. Pickups, core wood, strings, and different rigs/equipment will interpret the sound of the guitar in various ways. The sound from the JTV is in the range where you can recognize the "characteristic sound" of the modeled guitar. It sounds like Strat, Tele and Les Paul. If there is no direct comparison right next to your Variax, it's hard to tell the difference. Last year, I was watching American Idol, and I definitely heard the sound of Tele, and guess what... The band was using JTV!

    Also, Dave Delhomme from "The Tonight Show with Jay Leno" uses JTV as well.

    I mean, pros use JTV on their stage. Need I say more? (Don't worry about the palm muting issue just in case you are concerned. It's been solved.)

    I love the way it sounds especially when I record at home. I don't like hum. So much so that I changed all my pickups to EMG. When I use modeling, there is no hum! It's so amazing! No more sacrifice of sound is needed due to noise gate. Acoustic guitar models sound/record better than the real ones. I don't have to use my Rode NT1-A any more! Just plug in and record. Sounds fantastic!

    Now, the alternate tuning is another incredible feature. Just turn the knob, and you are done tuning. Especially with the Floyd Rose, this tuning capability is a wow-factor. When you want to jam along with a song, and you realize that they have tuned their guitar a half step down? It happened to me when I was playing "More than Words" by Extreme. I was practicing my part for a gig, and I do so while listening to the music. More than Words wasn't the only song I had to practice, so I had to tune my guitar down just to practice this song, or I had to just stop the song and play by myself. Now, I don't have to go through that hassle. It's just crazy convenient. It's like a transition from a regular cellphone to a smartphone.

    Combine the versatility of the guitar with the Dream Rig. There isn't any sound you can't make. I'm pretty sure that was the goal of Line 6 engineers, and I think they have achieved their goal.

  • from Chelsea, MI December 15, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Hobbyist

    JTV-89F

    Very happy with my purchase! Definitely a step up from my Variax 700 due to separate altered tuning knob, rechargable lithium battery, Floyd tremelo and real pickups! Looks, feels and sounds incredible (using with with Vetta 2 head). Arrived quickly and as described.

  • from Pennsylvania June 11, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician in Cover Band, 25+ years

    Awesome Technology

    I want to thank Joel at Sweetwater for making this purchase a breeze. This is the first time I purchased a guitar without playing it first and after this experience, I would not hesitate doing it again.

    This guitar is awesome. I agree with the other reviews on how well the guitar is made and how nice it looks and plays so instead of being redundant, I will provide some insight on this guitars awesomeness from a different perspective. I have been playing in cover bands for over 25 years and give lessons when I’m not at my real job. This guitar makes gigging and giving lessons so much easier. Let me explain.

    In my opinion, to be a successful cover band (one where people are calling you to play and you have booked gigs many months out), you have to be able to play songs from many different genres and eras. The bands I have been in have played everything from Metal (Metallica, Megadeth) to Hard Rock (Rob Zombie, Nickelback) to Rock (Matchbox 20) to Punk (Green Day, Ramones) to Alternative (Bloodhound Gang, Cake) to 80s (Rick Springfield, J. Giels Band) to 70s (Cheaptrick, Foreigner)…you get the picture and so for years I would have to drag multiple guitars with different tunings to our shows.

    When giving lessons, students come with guitars in all different tunings (standard, ˝ step down, open E etc.). Also, students will come to me with songs they are trying to learn on their own and explain that they have it close but it just doesn’t sound right. Nine times out of ten I have to explain that the song was recorded in a different tuning. So again, I had to have several guitars with different tunings laying around to provide the proper instruction.

    NO MORE! This guitar takes the multiple guitar scenario out of the mix. With a turn of the knob you have access to ten of the most common tunings known to guitarists. Even if the tuning you desire is not one of the selections, you can use one of the empty slots to program it in a matter of seconds. Turning another knob provides modeling of the most common guitars out there including pick up selection (Les Pauls, Strats, Rickenbacker, Martin etc.). The guitar by itself is amazing but when combining it with the PODHD500 and Stage Source Speakers to complete the Line 6 Dream Rig it is utterly phenomenal!

    Can you imagine in one set going from Rob Zombie’s Dragula (dropped C, Tele, bridge pickup, heavy distortion) right into GnR’ Sweet Child O’Mine (1/2 step down, Les Paul, neck pickup, rock distortion ) right into Buckcherry’s Lit Up (Open G tuning, Les Paul, bridge pickup) right into Tommy Tutone’s Jenny, Jenny (Standard Tuning, Strat bridge pickup, clean with chorus) right into Queen’s Crazy Little Thing Called Love (Standard Tuning, Martin Acoustic, clean no effects) all with the click of a footswitch and preset change? I don’t have to. With the Dream Rig I do exactly this every show. In the past, this would of involved lugging around at least three guitars and two amps, not to mention the time between songs to switch and tune. So to Line 6 – both myself and my back cannot thank you enough for making this type of equipment.

    The only downside I have experienced is that the Dream Rig is solid state so you really can’t get it to feedback like you can with tube state amplification but this one minus is nothing compared to all the pluses. Yes, the Dream Rig is a little pricy ($3K-$4K depending on options) and so I probably would only recommend this for professional musicians who gig consistently. I have been using Line 6 equipment for years and I think their modeling is spot on. I get compliments on my sound all the time. That being said, I’m sure seasoned musicians who have used the same equipment for years (i.e. Les Paul, Marshall Stack) could pick out discrepancies between the modeling and the real thing. I get that and to be honest, I probably would not recommend this set up for musicians who are writing their own music and basically have one sound and playing only 45 minutes a show. But for musicians in cover bands who need to cover the gamut of musical genres, I cannot recommend the JTV-89F (and Dream Rig) enough. So what are you waiting for? Get with your Sweetwater Rep and order today!

  • from Idaho March 8, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Shouldn't have waited so long to get one!

    I purchased this guitar from Sweetwater. It was a demo model so I got a little off the price. The guitar was setup really good...low action great Intonation. I don't know if Line 6 sets them up this good or if Sweetwater did it. I have a Fender Mex Strat with a Warmouth Neck and Seymour Duncan Pearl gates pickups. The Variax guitar is way easier to play and sounds better. This guitar makes it really easy to change tunings while playing Rocksmith The instrument modeling isn't bad either. A little hard to get used to the software. I really like the Floyd Rose...but I haven't had to change the strings yet. :)

  • from Kingsville, MD July 26, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Very nice!

    I have been playing for 38 years and have owned a number of nice guitars, but this was a big surprise. Rep Tim Holsinger was very helpful in making sure I received exactly what I needed.

    Most of my playing is blues and rock, so overdrive is the norm for me - however this guitar sounds the best pushed clean. The Strat sounds are nice - and I have had a Strat. I can't nitpick one single thing about this.

    As for the workmanship, I was very impressed as I had played one of the earlier version Variax guitars and was less then pleased. Fit and finish are top shelf. The neck is a little flatter than what I am used to, but will adjust. The frets were dressed reasonably well too. I'd played the Variax JTV-59 in person, but that neck was too much like an old Les Paul for me - this one is much thinner and better contoured to my hand.

    It arrived in tune and set up - ready to go. The staff at Sweetwater is great, and I wouldn't have any apprehension of getting another guitar sight unseen.

  • from Hesperia, CA May 6, 2013Music Background:
    Pro

    Amazing guitar!

    I want to make it clear that I am reviewing the guitar itself as if it didn't even include the Line 6 magic that makes it a Variax. That stuff is great but it's a great guitar without it. I purchased a JTV-59 first and was blown away by that guitar. James Tyler's designs are amazing! It beats all my Les Pauls and that helped me in deciding to get the 89F. I didn't think the 89F could be better but it is the best guitar I've ever owned and I've had a lot of them over the 50+ years I've been playing. I think it's a stroke of luck that the factory set up (including string gauge) is absolutely perfect for me and to have a tremelo system that actually works and stays in tune is a new experience. I would highly recommend this guitar to anyone who is willing to put up with the pains that inevitably exist with any floating bridge guitar because all of that is worth it when it works this well.

  • from United States November 11, 2012Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician, teacher, and many other musical roles

    Couldn't be happier, and more surprised

    I have followed Line6 for years. Their first Variax model was something I wanted, but never got around to it, and I had heard some limitations, etc.

    I purchased this guitar about a month ago, and I still can't stop playing the guitar! I honestly can't say enough great things about it. Everything on this guitar is amazing to the highest degree. It feels great to play, and is a great quality guitar, even when the modeling is turned off, and I own some very expensive guitars.

    Turn on the modeling, and an entire new world opens up. The acoustic models alone are worth paying for the guitar three times over; in a PA, this guitar plugged straight into the system, no effects, sounds better than any Taylor I have played through the same PA. If I were to discuss every point about what I LOVE about just the modeling, this would turn into much more than a small review. Every model is incredible, and incredibly accurate.

    Then there's the tuning. Between the ability to change a model and alternate tuning with just a couple buttons (or one button with the POD series, which I will purchase soon), I have had more creative ideas for composing new songs than the last three years combined. I never realized how much time I spent before doing what this guitar does in seconds. Even harmonics sound great when in alternate tuning. These guys REALLY knew what they were doing.

    In summary, not only would I recommend this guitar to other people (or one of the other JTV's if this is not your style of guitar), if I had the money, I would buy every guitar player I know one of these. Honestly, any guitar player I know, when they hear this thing, I don't have to recommend anything, they simply have to have one. I have yet to be on a stage just messing around before playing without people just gathering up close just to see what is going on. This guitar literally stuns people just by itself. Did I mention I can't say enough good about this guitar?

  • from New Mexico June 13, 2017

    Well built and beautiful design

    This is one of the best looking guitars ever made (maybe the Lava Drop + is a little better). It has very good features like the Floyd Rose tremolo and metal locking nut. The humbucker pickups sound good and the blood red high gloss finish is outstanding. My one complaint is the battery does not last long (rated for 12 hours of playing). Unplugging the audio out cable is the only way to turn off the internal electronics (only needed for modeling) but the battery still drains when only using the mag pickups when the cable is inserted. For general practice or learning guitar, I suggest you keep the battery out. They should have a switch to disconnect the battery when it is not in use, removing it is not hard but not very ideal since it could eventually damage the battery contacts. I subtracted a half star just for the battery.

    The body is Mahogany and is heavier than it looks. When received, mine needed a 1/4 turn adjustment on the truss rod to reduce the neck relief, that could have been because of ground shipping. Sweetwater was fast to help by having a guitar tech contact me and walk me through the adjustment, nice guy too. I like the fact that Sweetwater backs it up with a two year warranty and does a check out before sending. They also have a knowledge base with many answers which I was not aware of (look under Support menu). This is not a cheap guitar but it is a keeper you will enjoy for many years.

  • from Waterloo, IL January 20, 2015Music Background:
    All of It!

    Tyler JTV-89F

    Have all models of the Tyler axes. Had been playing the maple neck unit and until the Floyd unit arrived was my favorite. Did not like it at first---neck is very different from other models. In fact the necks on each model are quite different from each other. The Floyd model has an extremely thin, wider flat radius neck like a Jackson. Well, it grew on me real fast and now this is my favorite. You need however to understand how Floyd whammys work and how to make sure they are set up correctly. We are a cover band that plays all types of music from the 60's to the present so the Line 6 'Dream Rig" is perfect for our needs. Love these guitars and how all the components of the system 'talk' to each other!

  • from Lehi, UT January 9, 2015

    Great Guitar ... but had to fix my dent and scratch.

    I got a dent & scratch model. I believe it was a customer return.
    There were no dents or scratches but it did buzz pretty bad.
    I believe that is why it was returned. I certainly would have returned it if I had paid full price. However, I have the tools to do fret jobs myself so I just did a fret job and a setup and I was able to get it playing nicely.
    But It definitely had some high frets. I'm knocking off half a star for that.

    I put on heavier strings (Heavy Bottoms/Skinny tops) and my Variax did not come with a 4th spring for the Floyd Rose. It needs another spring to balance out the higher string tensions. Fortunately I had some.

    I was hoping to get the $150 rebate as well but it appears the upc code was already cut out of the box.

    So I definitely had some frustrations with it but after a little bit of work it is a great guitar. It feels great. I love the neck, it stays in tune, and the models are great. I even like the magnetic pickups.

    The alternate turnings are awesome but I do get bugged by the weird harmonics created when you can hear the real strings(tuned standard) and I can hear them unless I blast my amp or use headphones.

    It is a keeper.

  • from Arkansas January 5, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    What a guitar!!!

    First of all, this guitar is a dream to play - if you like a slightly wider nut, flatter fretboard, and thin neck. The included humbuckers sound great - and you can even get them to sound sort of like single coils with the 5-position switch. But, of course, the modeled sounds are the real advantage. You have to look closely at the YouTube tutorials to get the exact sound you want. For instance, the acoustic models need a very light hand. I realize I won't ever use all the built-in sounds, but the great thing is that you can change them when the guitar is connected to your computer. You can modify the tunings, as well. I don't play Metal, so the included tunings mostly don't work for me. The only thing about alternate tunings is that you have to play loud enough that you don't hear the actual sound coming off the strings (or use headphones.) Playing softly in a drop tuning is quite discordant. The only thing I'd like changed is to put the knobs and 5-way switch farther down on the body. The switch is in the way when I strum widely, and I tend to knock it out of position.

  • from California November 5, 2014Music Background:
    Part-time musician

    The JTV-89F plays like a dream!

    Though I've only had it a week, the JTV-89F has lived up to the hype and stellar reviews! The guitar was set up very nicely right out of the box and plays and sounds great. I got a really good deal buying a "Dent 'n' Scratch" from Sweetwater, but I've yet to find a dent or a scratch. Excellent value for money. This is my first time buying a Line 6 product. If every experience is like this, it won't be the last!

Questions about the Line 6 JTV-89F with Floyd Rose - Blood Red?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway