0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Line 6 JTV-89 - Black Reviews

5.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews
  • from Austin, TX March 1, 2015Music Background:
    past pro musician, recording engineer, now hobbyist

    Must try this, I bet you'll buy it

    there is lot of talk about modelling tone and alternate tuning on the fly, those are really great features and thats why I was looking for this guitar, but guitar just doesnt end there.
    Its awesome rock/fusion guitar without those features, the neck is one of the best I ever played (been playing 27 years), guitar back-body is very well shaped to fit you standing up or sitting down, and from front side it looks awesome. and tone is just too good, I really want you to try this guitar straight into amp, no modelling and tell me you dont like that very well balanced saturated tone, thats good for both clean and crazy rock riffs...there is a little lag on lower strings when you go all the way to baritone (7 string) setup, but I am too giddy to complain about that cause everything else is really kick ***

  • from Miami, FL. August 19, 2013Music Background:
    So far 5 years playing guitar and getting involved in sound production.

    A must have for your Studio and live rig!

    I got my hands on this guitars just recently, got it at a very crazy price ($699), and let me tell you this instrument is a monster, you can dial or setup many different tones going form acoustics to a electric citar, and just the chance to change tunings on the fly WOW! very very nice.

    Go and grab one, you wont regret it.

  • from Ashville,NC August 2, 2013Music Background:
    45 year guitar player & computer geek

    Stands up to ANY guitar

    I've been using the Pod XT Live for quite a while. This guitar is the perfect
    compliment. It plays up to any of my Fenders or Gibsons. The onboard guitar models amazed me. The quality compared to or exceeded any instrument I own. The bridge is kind of tricky to adjust but a small matter. The included hardware made additional purchases unnecessary. It took me a couple of tries to get the computer set up straightened out & I consider myself a geek. Also,none of us could find the advanced guide online & the included manual is not enough.

  • from Charlotte, NC June 27, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, recording musician, studio musician

    Awesome guitar.

    I just ordered this guitar from Sweetwater. In fact it was there demo version. My actual guitar is the black one that is actually pictured in Sweetwaters gallery. At least thats what the sales rep said. This guitar can handle almost any sound. I'm 30 years old and I've been playing for 15 years. I play all styles of music from Eric Clapton to Foo Fighters to Tool. This guitar can handle it all. You do have to spend some time to find which modeled guitar is going to get you the desired sound for any particular guitar but you can easily store 10 of those models for easy access to any of them. This is a great feature for live use and don't have time to dial in a particular sound. You already have it saved. Let's say you're in a cover band and you guys play Foo Fighters Everlong. You can have that sound stored. Lets say the very next song is Parabola by Tool. You can have that sound and tuning saved as well and access it with the simple turn of a knob. Very versatile guitar. The possibilities are endless. One of the best features is the ability to create your own custom tunings and save them. I've had an open tuning I came up with that I've used for years. It has a Celtic vibe to it. I've used it solely on acoustic because I didn't want to reset the intonation on an electric. Well now I have this custom tuning stored on an electric. It's just awesome in it's versatility. And the acoustic modeling and sitar modeling is awesome. Definitely gets the creative juices flowing. I can have an all acoustic sound on a verse and turn a knob and have a distorted Les Paul on the chorus. I will admit the down tuning can get a little muddy. I expected that to happen. The same thing happens with my Morpheus Drop-Tune pedal. So you will have to adjust some EQ settings if you're down tuning. I'll also admit that when I play this through my Line 6 150 HD500 half stack something is to be desired in the tone when the modeling funtion is on. Especially if playing hard metal. It has something to do with the piezo pickups. However if I play this through my Peavey 6505+ I get PLENTY of tone even while the modeling function is on. For the versatility of this guitar those two gripes are no where near enough to lose a star in the rating department. And I'm sure the modeling will only get better because you can always update this guitars firmware through the Line 6 website as they create updates. It's light, beautiful design, fast smooth neck, nice string tension. Definitely beyond happy.

  • from United States November 11, 2012Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician, teacher, and many other musical roles

    Couldn't be happier, and more surprised

    I have followed Line6 for years. Their first Variax model was something I wanted, but never got around to it, and I had heard some limitations, etc.

    I purchased this guitar about a month ago, and I still can't stop playing the guitar! I honestly can't say enough great things about it. Everything on this guitar is amazing to the highest degree. It feels great to play, and is a great quality guitar, even when the modeling is turned off, and I own some very expensive guitars.

    Turn on the modeling, and an entire new world opens up. The acoustic models alone are worth paying for the guitar three times over; in a PA, this guitar plugged straight into the system, no effects, sounds better than any Taylor I have played through the same PA. If I were to discuss every point about what I LOVE about just the modeling, this would turn into much more than a small review. Every model is incredible, and incredibly accurate.

    Then there's the tuning. Between the ability to change a model and alternate tuning with just a couple buttons (or one button with the POD series, which I will purchase soon), I have had more creative ideas for composing new songs than the last three years combined. I never realized how much time I spent before doing what this guitar does in seconds. Even harmonics sound great when in alternate tuning. These guys REALLY knew what they were doing.

    In summary, not only would I recommend this guitar to other people (or one of the other JTV's if this is not your style of guitar), if I had the money, I would buy every guitar player I know one of these. Honestly, any guitar player I know, when they hear this thing, I don't have to recommend anything, they simply have to have one. I have yet to be on a stage just messing around before playing without people just gathering up close just to see what is going on. This guitar literally stuns people just by itself. Did I mention I can't say enough good about this guitar?

  • from Florida Keys December 26, 2011Music Background:
    Full-time Pro last 15 years

    Jack of All Trades

    Another reviewer mentions this neck being close to his Gibson...can't imagine that. The one on mine is nice and Ibanez thin, but not too skinny. I've tried the JTV-69, and that neck is very close to a roundback Gibson. The fret work was good. The actual pickups sound really good, very usable if the battery were to die (both single-coil and humbucker sounds are available.) This is a very nice update from my older 300 Variax, which I paid $250 NEW for (they were on close-out when I bought.) And even with that price difference, I am very happy to buy this JTV-89! Tuning select knob is kool, and the battery is great. Compared to the 300's, the modeled sounds sound better (especially the acoustic sounds) and the tiny delay is gone. This thing rocks!!! Sold both of my 300's after I tried this. The 300's never saw live use, but this 89 has been rockin' the bar the 3 weeks I've had it! I have a lot of high-end and vintage guitars, and this thing is great and lots of fun! I bought this with the intention of transplanting the electronics, but I'm happy with it just as it is. Highly recommended!

  • from Bellingham, WA October 14, 2011Music Background:
    40 years of playing classic rock to current in with garage band.

    My first review ever.

    This is the first time I have ever taken the time to write a review. This guitar just blows me away. The setup was perfect except for intonation. The finish and craftsmanship is flawless. I bought this especially for the neck and that is just right. It reminds me a lot of my 62 Gibson ES335TDC except I love the sounds of these pickups. I do not play any metal and the tone from the conventional pickups is fantastic. I am waiting on a replacement interface box so I can't tell you much about the modeling except most of the presets sound really good. I would pay the money for this guitar without the modeling!

  • from Talladega May 15, 2011Music Background:
    Player

    Great guitar

    I got this guitar in pretty poor setup condition, but once I got it set up, it is absolutely fantastic. This is a great guitar, even without the modeling. I recommend it highly. If it had a double locking tremolo, it would be perfect for me.

  • from nj December 8, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    versatile

    nice guitar fit ad finish just palm mutting is ok but i can tell the difernce when switching back and forth from mag pup to sim
    im sure line 6 will get right with a couple more updates love the alt tunnings

  • from Chattanooga, TN November 24, 2012Music Background:
    guitarist

    This guitar will change your life!

    A Variax was something I'd wanted for years, and the release of these new Tyler models sent me over the edge. I had high expectations, and this thing really delivers!

    First off, the guitar is great without the modeling. The 89 model is an Ibanez-inspired, shredder-type guitar. The magnetic pickups are top-notch, with plenty of output for rock and metal. My guitar (purchased online) came with a great setup out of the box, but I swapped out the strings for my favorites (Elixirs) and set it up for tuning down a half-step (I'll explain why in a minute).

    My first gripe is about changing strings. The bridge holds the strings in place when they're all on and tightened, but getting them on is kind of a pain. You have to rest the ball ends in the string slots and then find some way of keeping them in place while you tighten them; I used a capo, but you still have to watch for them to slip out. But that's not a major gripe, as putting on new strings has always been a pain no matter what the guitar.

    With everything all set up, the guitar is amazing to play. Feels just as nice as my EBMM John Petrucci model. I kind of miss the tremolo, but not enough to take points off. The frets are nice and big, so you can speed all over the fretboard with minimal effort; and tapping, legato, and pinch harmonics all ring out nice and thick without killing your fingers. I got this model specifically for the extra two frets and familiar knob positioning, but the high-output pups ended up being a godsend.

    The thing about the modeling in this guitar is, it's great for everything but the heavy stuff. It's just a limitation of the piezo pickups that palm-muted riffs aren't going to sound as crisp and thunky. So I tend to use the magnetic pickups (which sound great) for anything heavy, and then I have fun with the models when I want to play some blues or funk or what have you. The acoustic models, as others have said, are amazing and worth the price of the guitar all by themselves. The ability to store custom versions with alternate tunings is even more amazing, and you can do that with every model in the guitar.

    It has some other nice features, like the "virtual capo" function, which lets you set up an alternate tuning on the fly by fretting a chord, hitting a button, and hey presto, now your open strings sound like the chord you just strummed! Took all of ten seconds to set up an acoustic model tuned for Zeppelin's The Rain Song, something I had never bothered to learn because I didn't want to retune my guitar.

    You can also control everything the guitar does via a POD HD, if you have one. You can switch guitar models as a per-patch setting, as well as set knob positions and tunings. Probably my favorite feature of this guitar is the ability it gives me to go from a heavy detuned riff to a spanky clean sound, all with the press of a footswitch. You really should get a POD HD if you have one of these guitars!

    I could go on and on about this guitar, but suffice it to say, it's great, and any guitarist would be thrilled to own it. If the few minor caveats aren't too off-putting, don't be afraid to give this thing a try.

Questions about the Line 6 JTV-89 - Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway