0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Happening Now

Boss eBand JS-8 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 16 customer reviews
  • from Northern Virginia June 4, 2013Music Background:
    Gigging Musician

    Great Practice Tool

    Excellent little practice device - fun and easy to use. You start noodling around with this thing and next thing you know 2 hours have passed! Excellent way to keep your chops up. The only thing a little lacking is the small speakers - they are adequate but not very sonic - plug this baby into a PA or a good set of studio headphones for best results. But for $199 I can live with the small speakers - this is a great deal on a soon to be discontinued model and a lot cheaper than the $400+ JS10. Wont break the bank and delivers as advertised. Sweetwater service as always is great!

  • from Needville, TX June 28, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician/Hobbyist at Recording

    Two birds with one stone....

    Not only is this great for jamming with a guitar, it can also be used as a karaoke machine. You can download karaoke mp3s, load them into the JS-8, plug a microphone into the input, select a microphone effect (reverb, etc. - there are a few presets included) and you are set to go. Hit play and start singing. It won't show you the lyrics, but you can print those off the internet.

    The effects on this thing are awesome, as are most of the Boss effects I have used (stompboxes).

  • from NYC June 27, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Solo Jamming

    What an amazing little box to have. Unfortunately, most days i'm playing my electric on my own. Sound familiar? So I've been using loopers quite a bit, which has certainly made things more entertaining. But the eBand brings solo jamming to a totally different place. Love it, particularly when plugged into a PA. This is a box that everyone should have. Seriously!!

  • from March 30, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Amazing!

    It's so amazing. I seriously have not
    Stopped playing it since I've got it.
    Amazing amazing amazing!!

  • from Antioch,IL October 22, 2011Music Background:
    Retired Pro

    Boss eBand JS-8

    Very good for in home practice,great sounds. Very impressed with my purchase.

  • from Royal Palm Beach, FL April 26, 2011Music Background:
    Active Solo Artist, Guitar & Music Theory Teacher.

    Clearing the air...

    Okay, why don't we just get down to it. I've read every possible review on this, and watched all available Youtube vidoe's regarding this unit. With that being said, I now own it and I will clear up any questions you might have. I've seen multiple comments & complaints about the enormous owner's manual. The manual is EXTREMELY user friendly and is only that big because it is written in 7 languages. No big deal at all, don't sweat it. Number two, I have also read complaints about the speakers. The speakers are very nice and clear, but make no mistake, this is not an AMP! This is a bedroom/desktop practice and recording tool only. I mention recording because it has the same effects as the Boss GT-10 and has convenient outs to go straight into a recording device or mixer. The chain of effects and levels can be changed in seconds! This little machine is the next wave of practice devices for guitar player's of ALL ages. The Eband is very impressive for being so small, and the sound blows the Line 6 Spider Jam totally away! I have that as well so I can speak intelligently and compare without being biased. I can't imagine someone not enjoying this product. Take time to look over the manual, watch some Youtube video's, and have a blast!

  • from Anderson, IN May 7, 2010Music Background:
    Live entertainer

    Great for midi single acts or small groups

    Just got this great little baby. I use it for a midi based single, duo, or trio. I transfered my midi sequences from my lap top (which I was using on gigs) to the JS-8.
    Sounds great. EZ song selection, quick load time.
    I call it my R.R.C.R. which stands for Rock and Roll Clock Radio.

  • from Vinton,LA March 22, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Learning Tool!

    This is a great piece of equipment for training and learning new songs. The tracks available in different keys allows you to practice for any type of music. I also purchased the Hal Leonard eBand books with thumb drives that accompany this JS-8, it greatly enhanced the learning effectiveness. This is a very good device for increasing your guitar skills.

  • from Endicott,N.Y. November 28, 2010Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    pitch control weak

    If you like to learn and play alot of older music where tuning may be anything but standard the pitch control is good for LEARNING songs but not for playing along with songs. The warbling sound that comes as a result of using the pitch control will not be music to your ears. This problem I believe is inherent of all devices of this type that I know of(in this price range). So keep that in mind. The effects are excellent when played through a p.a.(good enough to gig with). If you are not changing the pitch wav files sound pretty good too

  • from Albany NY June 24, 2010Music Background:
    Guitar Hobbyist

    Great Device But Don't Be Confused By Other Reviews

    I agree with all of the positive comments in the other reviews. This is an awesome practice tool that has improved my guitar playing considerably. The speakers could definitely be a little nicer (louder) for the price, but they are certainly ok for practicing in hotel rooms, bedrooms, dens, etc. Feed the output into a stereo or decent powered speakers (I use Audioengine) and the sound is awesome. The quality of the tracks definitely deteriorate when slowed down for practice purposes, but the quality is adequate.

    One of the reviews on this site talks about using it to download midi sequences and calls it a rock and roll clock radio. I don't know why. It doesn't have a clock. It doesn't have a radio. It doesn't have an alarm. And it can't play midi files. It DOES play MP3 and WAV files. And it is an awesome guitar practice device.

  • from IRELAND November 13, 2011Music Background:
    STUDENT

    js8 eband, any good for gigging

    THIS IS A GREAT PRACTICE TOOL WITH GREAT SOUNDS AND EFFECTS BUT HAS ANY ONE USED IT FOR LIVE GIGS OR WHAT WOULD BE THE MOST APPROPRIATE WAY IN THIS REGARD. CAN YOU PLUG IT INTO A PA TO GET THE SAME RESULTS UNDER ORDINARY CONDITIONS. ANY ADVICE WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED. I WOULD GIVE IT FIVE STARS IF YOU COULD GIG WITH IT

  • from San Francisco, CA February 4, 2011Music Background:
    20 Years Rockin'

    Very Good Practice Tool

    i've had this thing for more than a year now and it's gotten a lot of play time. firing up the mega rig for practice is unpractical at times, and this thing fills that gap. it has most of the features you'd expect from a practice tool (tuner, metronome, backing tracks, mp3 player, slow-downer, recorder) and the sounds are pretty good. the little speakers actually do a decent job at low volumes, plus you can use headphones or run it into a home stereo or other larger speaker system to get a bigger sound. they did a good job with the physical design, the way it sits on a table surface is very user-friendly. the only thing i wish it did better was looping. it would be nice if you could set it to record a loop based on a tempo, time signature and number of bars. as it is you have to loop based on hours, minutes, seconds. if it could loop in musical time i would have given it five stars.

  • from France April 2, 2012Music Background:
    20 years guitar player

    Not eneough power

    It is really very nice gadget, it has great sound, i know it is not an amp.
    but speakers power are not enough

  • from Texas March 14, 2010Music Background:
    Player

    Pros and Cons

    I have to say the other reviewer's are correct in that it need's more volume however, it was intended for BEDROOM volume's. I got an adapter to plug into my Vibro-King and I can get all the volume I want and then some !! The Boss people should consider this adapter as a part of the package. I have yet to do recording and other thing's but for a guitarist that need's to play along , learn passage's and improvise
    this is a MUST have !! When put thru an amp it's very good. You will NOT be disappointed. The effect's are good as you'd expect from Boss. The manual has got a lot of thing's to learn and seem's overwhelming at first but the actual control's are very user friendly and easy to follow. After using the JS-8 even people that are computer challenged will be using it with no problem.

  • from Canada February 8, 2010Music Background:
    Play gigs, play at weddings & parties, record a little

    Good and Bad

    The speakers do not generate enough volume. This applies to the music being generated by the eBand and the guitar plugged into it. You have to turn you guitar to 10 and the 2 volume controls on the eBand as far as they will go to barely be heard. Even then, played clean, the speakers begin to distort without generating much volume. Headphones don't help. If you are practicing some rhythm with an acoustic guitar, it will drown out the eBand even without being plugged in.

    I found that the only solution is to plug the headphone jack to my Orange Crush practice amp. Only then can you hear the music played by the eBand, your guitar in the mix, either through the practice amp's speaker or its headphone jack.

    Given the incredible amount of effects, it would seem that the emphasis was for learning lead guitar licks. Played clean, it will provide accompaniment for voice, harmonica, and mandolin. I can also play an acoustic dobro with or without distortion using the eBand. I have not tried it but I would guess that an electric keyboard could be used with the eBand.

    The tempo controls are more useful than pitch, at least for me. I have not used this for recording though it claims to be able to work with recording software.

    I use my eBand exclusively for practice. If I am gigging, I will take a scratch recording and play along with it. I will also buy a book/CD songbook or lesson book, rip the CD to a USB Stick, and play along.

    One other niggle is that the eBand will scroll through an SD card or a USB stick only in the sequence that you loaded a track onto the device. It ignores numerical or alphabetical sequence.

    Knowing now what I do about the eBand, I would still buy it. I would give it a pass if you don't have a way to amplify the output.

  • from Lyon France February 20, 2010Music Background:
    Pro.Guitarist for 24 years

    Yes or No

    Everything is good but speakers are not enough which is very BAD

Questions about the Boss eBand JS-8?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close